Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for WaterBrook Press Dandelions on the Wind, The Quilted Hearts Series #1 -eBook

WaterBrook Press Dandelions on the Wind, The Quilted Hearts Series #1 -eBook

Average Customer Rating:
3.667 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
5
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
0
9 out of 1275%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dandelions on the Wind, The Quilted Hearts Series #1 -eBook
Review 1 for Dandelions on the Wind, The Quilted Hearts Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Same book?

Date:July 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mary Brennan
Location:California
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I like Mona Hodgins' books as a rule but I could not understand Dandelions on the Wind. It's like they spoke another language after the civil war so many PaPa's and I guess Woolley was Marin's Pa Pa. What exactly was this story about? I gave up about 1/3 of the way through. I guess the rave reviews of this book were given by Mona's writing buddies . I just didn't get it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dandelions on the Wind, The Quilted Hearts Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:June 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Leahhhh12
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Dandelions on the Wind is the first novella in Mona Hodgson’s series: Quilted Hearts. Normally I am not a big fan of novellas. I enjoy novels more because I feel like there can be so much more character development and depth to a story. That being said, while this book was not one of my all-time favorites, I was still able to enjoy the sweet story that was told.
The Civil War has just ended and Maren Jensen is working at Mrs. Brantenberg’s farm, helping with the farm chores and taking care of her granddaughter, Gabi. When Gabi’s father returns, after not having heard from him in several years, Maren realizes that now is the time to go back to Denmark. Having come to America as a mail-order bride, her groom decided he didn’t want her and while she has grown to love Mrs. Brantenberg and Gabi, she doesn’t want to impose forever.
However, Woolly, Gabi’s father, has come to enjoy the presence of Maren and he doesn’t want to see her return to Denmark.
Ms. Hodgson did a great job of creating an enjoyable story in this short novella. I liked the characters and overall setting of the book as well. I really like any story set during the civil war time period, whether pre-civil war, during the civil war, or post-civil war. I look forward to reading the other books in the Quilted Hearts series as well.
I received a free copy of this ebook from the publisher Waterbrook Multnomah through the program Blogging for Books in exchange for my honest review. All opinions stated are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dandelions on the Wind, The Quilted Hearts Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Inspirational, historical novella...

Date:June 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jen Pen
Location:Midwest
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SUMMARY:
Maren Jenson, originally from Denmark, calls Mrs. Brantenberg’s Missouri farm her home now. After being jilted as a mail-order-bride, Maren has found purpose in caring for young Gabi, even with her now failing eye-sight. When Gabi’s father, Wooley, returns back from the Civil War, things begin to change…
A PENNY FOR MY THOUGHTS:
Though only a novella, I found this book to read as a full-length novel. The title intrigued me but the meaning soon became apparent. I especially liked the christian themes throughout the book in times of trial and thankfulness. I found this be a heart-warming, inspirational tale by an author I will seek to read yet again. (I am glad this is the first book of a trilogy.)
RATING: 4 (out of 5) pennies
*I received a complimentary copy of Dandelions on the Wind from Waterbrook Press for my honest review*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dandelions on the Wind, The Quilted Hearts Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Great Read!

Date:June 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
back to the basics
Location:Forest, Va
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you like to read a good read, I suggest you read this book. Dandelions on the Wind by Mona Hodgson, is the first novella in the Quilted Heart series, and you won’t be able to put it down. The book is about a mail order bride , Maren Jenson, who has come to America from Denmark. But the man she is supposed to marry, leaves her when he finds out about Maren’s ailment. She finds a home with Ms. Brantenberg , and her young granddaughter, Gabi.
But the winds change when Gabi’s father shows up. Maren finds herself falling in love with him, and his daughter Gabi. But the strain between “Wooly” and Ms. Brantenberg is strong and the tension is high. One great lesson this book shares is that “Grace cannot be earned, only given”.
I found this book to be a great read. The only downside is that it’s short. Also there needed to be more about the characters themselves to help the reader feel as if they knew them. The lessons on grace and forgiveness in this book is nice and refreshing. Also the last few chapters of the book don’t talk much about Maren’s ailment. Overall this little novella was an inspiring book, with lessons on grace and forgiveness throughout the book.
* I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dandelions on the Wind, The Quilted Hearts Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kara
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dandelions in the Wind, by Mona Hodgson, is the first book in The Quilted Heart series. It is set in Saint Charles, Missouri in 1865, when many men who fought in the Civil War were finding their way back to their homes.
Maren Jensen had come to America from Denmark with the intention of marrying a man upon arrival. The man, however, backed out of the agreement when he found out that her eyesight was steadily failing. Mrs. Brantenberg had taken her in and given her a home in exchange for help around the farm and assistance with her granddaughter, Gabi, age four. When Rutherford Wainwright, known as Woolly, appears in the barn one morning, she is startled and surprised to find that he is Gabi’s father, come home from the war. Maren, who has taken on the role of Gabi’s mother, and Woolly quickly become attracted to one another. Maren, however, feels that she must return home due to her failing eyesight.
This was a charming book. I loved the characters from the very beginning. The social dilemmas of this time period were very real, and the author did an excellent job of working them into her story. I look forward to reading other books in this series.
Kara
I received this book free from the publisher and was not required to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dandelions on the Wind, The Quilted Hearts Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Short and sweet, but not challenging

Date:June 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Janet Albertson
Location:Johnstown, CO
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Dandelions on the Wind was a quick and sweet read. I got it as an e-book and read it in one afternoon. Maren Jensen, an immigrant from Denmark, was a helper (in exchange for room and board) for a widow, Mrs. Brantenberg, on her farm in Saint Charles, Missouri. The Civil War had ended four months before. Times were hard and money was scarce. Maren loved the old lady and her four year old granddaughter, Gabi, but was longing to go home to Denmark to be with her family. She had come to the United States as a mail order bride, but when her husband-to-be found out that she was going blind, he had refused to marry her.
Gabi’s father, “Woolly” showed up on the farm unexpectedly. He had abandoned his newborn daughter when his wife died in childbirth and had joined the army. His mother-in-law is not happy he has returned and she has to decide whether she believes and can live out the wise sayings she has told the quilting circle, like: “Grace cannot be earned, only given.” Maren sees Woolly’s arrival back on the farm as a sign that she can now get a job to earn money in order to return to Denmark. Gabi’s daily prayers for her father’s return have been answered, but she doesn’t want to lose Maren who has been like a mother to her. Woolly has to forgive himself for all the wrong decisions he made and find God’s light for his future.
This book was enjoyable and easy to read, but not the challenge or spiritual benefit that my more recent reads have been. I obtained this e-book from Blogging for Books and Edelweiss in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dandelions on the Wind, The Quilted Hearts Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:May 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Marbie
Location:The Netherlands
Age:35-44
Gender:female
After reading Two Brides Too Many back in 2010, I knew I wanted to read another book by Mona Hodgson. The publisher kindly provided me with a copy of this ebook for review purpose, so I sat down and hoped to be entertained as much as I was by the story about the Sinclair Sisters of Cripple Creek, but…I was disappointed.
Although the characters in this novella are lovely, they lacked depth and I felt that the line of thought of the characters was repeating—which made it a bit annoying and predictable to read.
It is a quick read and nice enough, but for me not appealing enough to make me want to read the other books in this series.
Thanks to the publisher for providing me with a review copy through NetGalley.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dandelions on the Wind, The Quilted Hearts Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Wonderful novella

Date:April 28, 2013
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well-written. Good story. Believable characters. Dandelions on the Wind by Mona Hodgson had all these things, and I yearned for more. I don't mean it didn't have a satisfying ending. It did. I enjoyed Ms. Hodgson's writing and Maren and Wooly's story grabbed me from page one and I wanted to read more.
***I received this book from the author/publisher for the purpose of review. The above opinion is my own.***
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dandelions on the Wind, The Quilted Hearts Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

EMOTIONAL READ!

Date:April 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
My Book Addiction
Location:North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
DANDELIONS ON THE WIND by Mona Hodgson is an exciting inspirational historical romance. #1 in "The Quilted Heart",the first in a three serial novella set in 1865 post Civil War,Missouri. A quick read filled with emotion,faith and hope. A post Civil war novella during a time of hopelessness and loss where love can blossom still on a small farm in St.Charles,Missouri. Maren is going blind,and wish's to go back to her native Denmark. Wooly has finally come home from the war looking for forgiveness and healing what he finds is love,faith,and hope. A great read,very emotional and compelling. With realistic characters and an interesting plot. Ms. Hodgson writes from the heart and it shows in her wonderful,powerful stories. Received for an honest review from Waterbrook Press.
RATING: 4
HEAT RATING: SWEET
REVIEWED BY: AprilR,My Book Addiction Reviews
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dandelions on the Wind, The Quilted Hearts Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Two Lonely Persons

Date:March 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
mcaldwell
Location:Erie, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I found Dandelions on the Wind to have an interesting setting of Missouri, several years after the Civil War. Missouri was a state with divided loyalties and, like so many places, much destruction during the war. Our main characters, Maren and Wooly, are lonely souls in search of family. This novella gives a peek into a history and leaves you rooting for the futures of the characters.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dandelions on the Wind, The Quilted Hearts Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
debbiedeefisher
Location:comstock, NE
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dandelions on the Wind is the first of Mona Hodgson’s The Quilted Heart trilogy. This story set in the time of the Civil War is about Maria Jensen who arrives in America as a mail-order bride. Unfortunately her groom to be rejects her when he finds out that she is slowly going blind.
Maria finds a job caring for a young motherless girl, Gabi, on a farm in Missouri. Gabi's father is fighting the war and when he returns unexpectedly, life is turned upside down for all.
Read about how two hurting hearts are healed in this story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dandelions on the Wind, The Quilted Hearts Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Dandelions on the Wind

Date:March 2, 2013
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Dandelions on the Wind is the newest novella by Mona Hodgson.
Maria Jensen arrived in America as a mail-order bride. She was excited about her upcoming wedding; however, her groom turns her away when he learns that she is slowly losing her eyesight.
Maria next finds a home with Elsa Brantenberg caring for her young granddaughter Gabi on her Missouri farm. Maria joins Elsa and Gabi as they wait for Gabi’s father to return from war.
When Rutherford finally returns home, it is an adjustment for everyone!
Join Maria on this journey to learn about Rutherford and discover if she still has a place with this family!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.