Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Foundation Publications Inc NASB Ultrathin Reference Bible--imitation leather, blue/gray

Foundation Publications Inc NASB Ultrathin Reference Bible--imitation leather, blue/gray

Discover the truth in the inspired Word of God by reading the New American Standard Bible. The updated edition continues the NASB's commitment to accuracy while increasing clarity and readability. Vocabulary, grammar, and sentence structure have been carefully updated for greater understanding and smoother reading. The NASB remains the most literally accurate Bible in the English language.

This NASB update contains:

  • Double-column text layout
  • Center-column cross references
  • Concordance
  • 8 pages of color maps
  • Smyth sewn binding
  • Words of Christ in red
  • Presentation page
  • Family record pages
  • 8 Point text
  • Gilded page edges
  • Ribbon Marker
  • Two-tone blue/gray imitation leather
Average Customer Rating:
4.558 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(104 Reviews) 104
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (104 reviews)
5 stars
73
4 stars
21
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 star
0
54 out of 5992%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NASB Ultrathin Reference Bible--imitation leather, blue/gray
Review 1 for NASB Ultrathin Reference Bible--imitation leather, blue/gray
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

NASB Ultrathin Reference Bible

Date:July 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
xiqtem
Location:Idaho
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Lockman Foundation has been producing some affordable and well made NASB (New American Standard Bible) Bibles for quite some time now. The NASB has become known for its excellence in staying true to the original languages. The NASB Ultrathin Reference Bible is no exception. It is bound in genuine leather and is smyth-sewn. A sewn binding makes the Bible more durable and helps it to lay flat as opposed to a glued binding. Pages are folded into groups of pages and stacked, then sewn together. In a glued binding the pages are just cut and glued in the spine. These types are always loosing pages. Sewn bindings are far less apt to fall apart that way.
The Bible has center column references and is a two column format in approximately an 8 point font.
This Bible is almost 9 inches long, 6 inches wide, by almost and inch thick. It is a light bible to carry.
This Bible is light to carry and the pages are pretty thing because it is an Ultrathin. Here is a shot of one page held up to the light.
The page thickness is sufficient and doesn’t lend itself to as much show-through as is prevalent in similarly priced ultrathins.
The font is clearly printed and easy to read. There is some room in the margins for limited note taking. This Bible is crammed full of quality and features for the price making it a very good value for the price of around $25.00 depending on where you pick one up.
This Bible is a red-letter addition.
I mentioned that this Bible is a smyth-sewn binding and you can tell from this picture that right out of the box it lies flat on the table.
It would be a bit more supple if it were lined with just vinyl, but this one has card paper covered with vinyl and glued down. It adds more durability to the Bible by making it more rigid, but by no means is it as rigid as a bonded leather binding.
The pages are edge gilded and the spine is gilded as well.
There are some pages in the front that record family info and the like,
One thing I noticed and liked about the construction is where the first and last pages are glued into the lining to stop the Bible from falling apart as easily.
There are also decorative head and foot bands.
The Bible came in a hard cardboard box. The Bible was wrapped in clear plastic.
This Bible also comes with a quite useful concordance which is a surprise for a Bible this thin.
As well as a concordance there are 8 color maps.
There is also on ribbon marker to keep your place. I hope all of the pictures were helpful. Lockman did a good job of making a “users” Bible. This thing is a good value and can take all the punishment of being dragged along where ever you happen to go… within reason, I mean come on, it isn’t water-proof or fire-proof. If you are in the market for an ultrathin and you don’t want to spend big bucks for a premium Bible this is the way to go. Again it is genuine leather, and has a sewn binding all for about $25.00! Come on people, that is pretty good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NASB Ultrathin Reference Bible--imitation leather, blue/gray
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Low Price for High Quality!

Date:May 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
Bible Lover
Location:Hagerstown Md
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are looking for an easy to read, extremely well made Bible that could last for generations...this is one of them. I ordered this Bible when I returned a disappointing purchase, from a different publisher, and I am glad I did. The calfskin is not only soft and flexible, it is very thick. The paper is a very good weight and the printing is consistently dark on every page. I own MANY Bible versions, from different publishers, with just about every type of binding/cover available. I love this Bible already and look forward to handing it down to one of my children/grandchildren in the future. Distant future. Hopefully. Or whatever...I'm Prepped.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NASB Ultrathin Reference Bible--imitation leather, blue/gray
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:March 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
K man
Age:45-54
Gender:male
The nasb ultra thinline is a hair bigger then my nasb thinline and heavier.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NASB Ultrathin Reference Bible--imitation leather, blue/gray
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Horrible cover!

Date:January 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
Kevin Grady
Location:Greenup, KY
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have over 75 Bibles. As a pastor. I have every Bible that you can think. I have many types and translations. From paperback, hardback, bonded leather, genuine leather and premium leather. I love the inside of the Bible. It is Smyth Sewn, the print and paper are great and the Bible lays flat when you open it. The problem is the so called genuine leather. It feels plastic, it will not close but curls up. Not the paper, the cover! It's as if you left it in the car during the summer in the sun. It is stiff, not flexible and will not stay closed. Matter of fact I have a bonded leather by this publisher and it lays flat with no problem. I contacted the publishers about this and they said it was normal. Well maybe for them, but not for genuine leather. Sad to say, but I am not happy with this Bible at all. I really was looking forward to enjoying it.
-1point
5of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NASB Ultrathin Reference Bible--imitation leather, blue/gray
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
fullquiver
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this for our son. He loves it. Preferred this one for the great cross-references it includes at its price. Cover seems to be good leather. Will see how binding wears over time.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NASB Ultrathin Reference Bible--imitation leather, blue/gray
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
fullquiver
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this for our daughter. She loves it. Preferred this one for the great cross-references it includes at its price. Cover seems to be good leather. Will see how binding wears over time.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NASB Ultrathin Reference Bible--imitation leather, blue/gray
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

For the price -- Very, very good quality product.

Date:January 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
Osteralia
Location:Australia
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Putting aside the translation, thinking about the book itself...
The cover and binding is a very high quality. It is smyth sewn. The cover and linings are glued very well.
The paper quality (for the price) is adequate. It has a slight shadowy (grey) color BUT I see that marking pen notes do not bleed into the paper.
The printed text does not show through the paper any more than the average bible-paper book might. The font itself, though not a big point-size, is readable -- though from a typographical viewpoint, the "kerning" might have been better [I'm a typographer and type designer].
Printed in China. This used to bother me somewhat. However, if any of the Chinese print house employees have any English skills, what a great way to spread the gospel of Christ in the process.
I would highly recommend this particular edition (leather bound) NASB Updated for general reading or gift-giving. (If you need to write copious notes, think of a wide-margin edition.)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NASB Ultrathin Reference Bible--imitation leather, blue/gray
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

quality bible

Date:January 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
dane
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not a normal ultrathin it's about 1 1/4 inches thick witch I knew before I bought it goatskin very smooth and flexible. Pages opaque 2 ribbons, overall a very nice bible and compared to other goatskin's 100 bucks is a deal hoping to have it for a very long time and by the looks of it I think it'll last. If your looking for a goatskin nasb and not looking to have to shell out 240 for an allan or 180 for a cambridge this is the book for you
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NASB Ultrathin Reference Bible--imitation leather, blue/gray
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent quality, and readability.

Date:December 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Deborah
Location:Oregon
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very happy with the NASB Ultrathin. It is light and easy to carry, yet it is referenced. I find it to be of excellent quality and the pages are easy to turn. The print is clear and easy to read. I am especially happy with the literal translation of this version. It provides a deeper meaning to God's word.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for NASB Ultrathin Reference Bible--imitation leather, blue/gray
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Font is WAY too small

Date:November 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kathleen M
Location:Charlotte, NC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This Bible keeps showing up under the filter for "large print" Bibles, and for "font size 11-13" and "font size 9-10". What I unfortunately didn't notice until I received the Bible is that the font size is actually 8 (which is listed on the page with the description, but I overlooked that).
I cannot read this Bible, with or without my bifocals.
I also would like it better if each book of the Bible began on a fresh page, instead of beginning on the same page that another book ended. (This is a minor point that I would have overlooked, if the font size had been appropriate.)
However, this Bible is attractive and seems well put-together. The cover is a bit stiff, but is made of nice material.
It is very hard to find a large print, inexpensive NAS Bible without "study notes" telling me how I ought to interpret what I am reading. I will consult a commentary for further thoughts on what I am reading. I prefer NOT to have those thoughts/interpretations mixed on the same page as the actual word of God.
Since all the NAS Bibles I can find with font size large enough for me to read also have study notes, I am apparently going to have to settle for a NKJV.
Except for NASB, NKJV, and KJV, all the translations available seem to omit verses and parts of verses that do not appear in all manuscripts, including them only in footnotes. (NASB puts a bracket around those sections, NKJV adds a footnote that not all manuscripts contain that verse, and KJV does not always mark them at all.) I do NOT want a Bible with missing verses hidden in the footnotes where I might miss them, and I have found that I understand more and read my Bible more regularly with a non-KJV translation. So, I am left with NKJV and NASB, and for the font and study note problems I am left with the NKJV.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for NASB Ultrathin Reference Bible--imitation leather, blue/gray
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Shelley
Location:dallas, tx
Age:35-44
Gender:female
How blessed we are to have the word of God at our fingertips! This is a great Bible but I wish I would have known Christ's words were not printed in red ink. Perhaps it is just me but I've never seen a bible with Jesus's words printed in black - I thought red was standard. Had I known this I would have purchased a different Bible.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for NASB Ultrathin Reference Bible--imitation leather, blue/gray
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great bible!

Date:August 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Grizzly
Location:Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent quality in genuine leather, cover is a little stiff but very nice, text has excellent readability without bleed through from other pages.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for NASB Ultrathin Reference Bible--imitation leather, blue/gray
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A good quality product

Date:August 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tony Kissell
Location:New Zealand
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A nice bible, good quality with excellent cross references.
The print is small but readable by people with good eyesight.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for NASB Ultrathin Reference Bible--imitation leather, blue/gray
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Take-Along Bible!

Date:June 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
A Kid's & Parent's Review
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thumbs up! Bought this Bible a little over 1 year ago.
~~ Here's my Take ~~
Translation ~ Those whom I respect & who are in the ministry of our church recommend the NASB as to accuracy. We've been reading this translation out loud in our family devotions. Seems the kids pick up the understanding quite well.
Physical Aspect ~ I still love how this Bible handles softly as it conforms to my hands. It lays open nicely & almost feels like my mother's well-worn Bible. Also, it fits well in my bag as a take-along Bible to church. As to physical wear, so far this Bible is doing well.
Extras ~ I've used the cross-referencing numerous times as well as the maps. The concordance is also quite handy with quite a few words for a small concordance.
Trivial, but nice ~ I like the silvery shine to the page edges as well as the pink/chocolate sewn cover. Pleasing to the eye--- at least to mine. Ribbon is a great plus for me to help me to pick from where I last read.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for NASB Ultrathin Reference Bible--imitation leather, blue/gray
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exceeded my expectations!

Date:May 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
oilbarron
Location:Jamestown, ND
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I do teaching and fill-in preaching in my church and I wanted a bible of the best quality with readable type. I got it in this bible. I have many bible already and didnt need another one, but I saw this and took a chance and it was a gamble that paid off. The calfskin cover is the softest and most deluxe I have ever had on a bible. The bible lays open flat when it's open which makes it easier to use for teaching and preaching. The type size is just perfect. I am so glad I purchased this bible. In fact, I want to order another one just to have on hand. The quality is the best I've ever seen and owned and I have several other top of the line bibles that dont measure up to this one. I prefer the NASB translation and this is exactly that. Of coarse it's the scripture is why we get bibles, but the extras sure help make it nice. If your looking for a top quality bible, this is it. I am so happy with my purchase.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for NASB Ultrathin Reference Bible--imitation leather, blue/gray
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very nice, all around.

Date:March 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
RPowers
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am quite pleased with the leather binding, the print size, and the boldness of the print. The reference notes are in very small font but apparently that's necessary to stay within the thin format.
The overall size is very good and handy for a carry Bible.
I prefer thumb indexed Bibles and do wish that option had been available.
This is an excellent, easy to read, carry-size version of the NASB and I am quite pleased.
As always, CDB's service was excellent.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for NASB Ultrathin Reference Bible--imitation leather, blue/gray
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

very good

Date:December 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
reader
Location:Mooresville, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The Bible was very good. My eyes are not as good as I thought and the print was too small for me to read comfortably. Therefore, I had to return it. I would like the same Bible in large print but still be thin and light weight. I have the NABS study Bible. My husband is reading it and likes it. It is too heavy for my to read everyday.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for NASB Ultrathin Reference Bible--imitation leather, blue/gray
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A good value, good size print for a thinline Bible

Date:November 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Pepper
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to read for a thinline Bible, easy to pack for trips, sewn binding for lasting quality......
has maps, concordance, all that one would want to be able to study.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for NASB Ultrathin Reference Bible--imitation leather, blue/gray
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfection

Date:August 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Tricia Firestone
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Given that a bible is God's Word, and that the NASB is supposed to be the most literal translation, then this particular binding is the closest to the glory it deserves that I have ever run across. It is very inviting and dependable. The format, the pages, everything about it is simply the best. I just wanted to quit comparing versions and find one that is comfortable and easy on the eyes so I could spend more time focusing and relying on what I read. This is it.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for NASB Ultrathin Reference Bible--imitation leather, blue/gray
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Light weight bible that is easy to tote around

Date:June 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Apologetics guy
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This Bible is very easy to carry around. I keep it in my car for quick access. I really enjoy the cover and the color combination. I wished the print was a little larger font but overall this is a good bible that is light weight and very easy to tote around.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.