Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Foundation Publications Inc NASB Compact Leatherflex Bible, Brown with Diamond/Cross

Foundation Publications Inc NASB Compact Leatherflex Bible, Brown with Diamond/Cross

Attractive cross & diamond design in compact size convenient for purse, pocket, or briefcase. Contains the complete text of the New American Standard Bible.

Features:
  • Presentation page
  • Verse Format
  • Black letter text
  • Two column text
  • Ribbon marker
  • Gilded page edges
  • Table of Jesus' parables
  • 6.8-point type
  • 4.25" x 6.5" x  0.75"
Average Customer Rating:
4.412 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
6 out of 875%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NASB Compact Leatherflex Bible, Brown with Diamond/Cross
Review 1 for NASB Compact Leatherflex Bible, Brown with Diamond/Cross
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love this Bible

Date:December 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Meanie
Location:HK
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have used this version for some years (since 2001) and like it so much I bought this one, with the clip, for easier transportation (as I like to keep my Bible clean and the pages in nice condition - just don't like crumpled/ripped pages). This is just what I ordered. I'll be using this for another many more years.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NASB Compact Leatherflex Bible, Brown with Diamond/Cross
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good value but larger print would be even better

Date:August 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Charles
Location:La Vernia, Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I feel like it was a good value and a nice compact bible. The print is very small however so make sure you have your reading glasses.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NASB Compact Leatherflex Bible, Brown with Diamond/Cross
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good features, small print.

Date:July 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Pam Syrett
Location:Gaylord, Michigan
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Workmanship, size, & covering is good, but the color & opaqueness of the pages lets the print show through from previous pages. The 6.8 print size was smaller than expected; not as crisp & clear as a smaller New Testament I recently purchased. It is difficult for me to read. However, as a 'Travel size Bible' & considering the price, it works for short term use.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NASB Compact Leatherflex Bible, Brown with Diamond/Cross
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
iamHisbeloved
Location:Rochester Hills, MI
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice compact easy to carry Bible. High quality. Button down flap protects edges from getting bent.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NASB Compact Leatherflex Bible, Brown with Diamond/Cross
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Nice Bible

Date:November 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
jwc33n
Location:Southwest Arkansas
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought for a gift for my daughter. This is the one she wanted. It is very nice
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NASB Compact Leatherflex Bible, Brown with Diamond/Cross
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Small

Date:April 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Carol
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product was way smaller than I had expected. I don't remember seeing dimensions listed so that I could have gotten a better understanding of the size. Nor did I see it listed as "Compact." I was unaware of all of this until I open the box. The quality is beautiful but the picture verses the actual size is misleading.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NASB Compact Leatherflex Bible, Brown with Diamond/Cross
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Compact with solid construction and a great cover.

Date:January 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Michael Kruger
Location:Vermont
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pro's:
Well constructed with sewn in signatures. Very compact. It can easily be held in one hand, and travels well. For comparison's sake it's roughly the same height and twice the width of a modern cordless telephone. The Bible is very flexible, allowing it to lay flat nicely when open. The imitation leather cover is well decorated, has a soft velvety feel, and provides excellent grip. Other features include a page marker, the absence of red print, and a somewhat affordable price.
Cons:
The 6.8 point print is rather small (8 point would be better). While the text is far too small to be a primary Bible, it's not a bad choice for bringing to fellowship meetings, or to be used for quick referencing. The paper however is thin, prone to wrinkling easily, and offers little protection from text bleed through. The paper thinness also makes turning pages somewhat of a challenge. The text to edge margin is inconsistent. The Bible is made in China versus Korea, or Belgium where the quality is generally considered better.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NASB Compact Leatherflex Bible, Brown with Diamond/Cross
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great

Date:December 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
JACarver
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
loved the ease of ordering / a Christmas gift for S/S high school student , she was overwhelmed ..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NASB Compact Leatherflex Bible, Brown with Diamond/Cross
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Diane E.
Got it today and love the cover, so soft in my hands. Inside is nice too. Type size just right. A good bargain for the money. Thanks, CBD!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for NASB Compact Leatherflex Bible, Brown with Diamond/Cross
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Michelle Hardwicke
It's small but the print is readable; I love that I can carry it in my purse or suitcase when traveling. Nice design on the cover.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for NASB Compact Leatherflex Bible, Brown with Diamond/Cross
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
K. Steppe
I was impressed with the quick delivery of this engraved compact Bible. The protective snap flap was made well, and I look forward to the Bible being kept in good condition for years to come. This is my camping Bible, hence needing to withstand lots of backpacking, canoeing, etc. and variable weather, yet being small and readable. It fits in a quart size baggie for protection, along with a devotional. The print is quite readable - even with a red bulb headlamp. My only issue was the tip of the cloth bookmark apparently had some sizing or glue on it, and when it arrived folded in between the pages stuck it tore a page as I extricated it - easily fixed with invisible tape though.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for NASB Compact Leatherflex Bible, Brown with Diamond/Cross
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Thomas Dalzell
This is a great travel Bible!The only things that I would like to see different or offered as an option, are:(1) To have a tabbed/indexed version (2) I would like to see a version with a larger print, maybe 1 or 2 font sizes larger. This would add more pages, not increase the size of the pages.(3) Like other small/compact Bibles that I have and have seen, I'd like to have this one with Jesus' Words in Red. If adding red print is not an option, maybe Jesus' Words could be underlined and still in Black!(3) I think that most of Revelation 21;5-6 should be in Red and all of Revelation 21:7-8. I have seen some Bibles have those verses in Red and others do not. I know that there are considerations that these are Words from God the Father and some that they are Words from Jesus. For consistency and the New Testament, I would like to see them in Red. To get really technical, maybe make all Words from God the Father in Bold or Blue. This would involve going through the entire Old Testament and making a determination regarding Revelation, Chapter 21.Maybe the Words of God can be in italics and bold in black!
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for NASB Compact Leatherflex Bible, Brown with Diamond/Cross
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Forest San Filippo
Good quality for the price. The size is just right to carry in a backpack or purse. The lettering is small, but not as small as most "pocket" bibles.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for NASB Compact Leatherflex Bible, Brown with Diamond/Cross
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:August 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
JLG
I ordered this as a gift and had it imprinted. I wanted a portable NASB version with a flap, w/o a "themed" concept (e.g. Woman's Bible, Teen's Bible, etc.). This Bible does fit that bill, but I would not recommend it overall. The cover is stiff and the font is 5-6 pt. The entire length of the spine has "New American Standard Bible" printed on it--a plus for the library shelf but it smacks of a pew Bible. NASB is known for its ftnts that provide an alternative translation, but there are VERY few of these (most pages have zero notes). No cross referencing. If you are looking for NASB, stick with a reference version. Personally I will no longer order Bibles from a photo! Be advised that imprinting from CBD on Bibles with flaps will always be done vertically on the flap.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for NASB Compact Leatherflex Bible, Brown with Diamond/Cross
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Carolyn Hopler
This is an excellent Bible! I am so thrilled that you finally offer the NASB in a smaller version. I am sad that you hide it way down in the listings. On trying to reorder more, I had to go back thru the listings to find it again, could not get a recognition of the numbers on my invoice in your system.The Bible is a great one! Very readable and portable, which enables you to have God's Word with you at all times. I would love to see a real leather version with thumb index.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for NASB Compact Leatherflex Bible, Brown with Diamond/Cross
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jill Salmon
I ordered this bible as an "extra" bible as the Lord seems to prompt me to give my bibles away. I thought I would order a less expensive one to have on hand. I also ordered a leather full size NASB for myself to replace the last one I just gave away. I LOVE this bible! The cover material is THE most comfortable thing to hold ever! That coupled woth the lovely thin size and beautiful design is just wonderful. I am keeping this one for me and ordering another to give away. The pages are a bit thin so light touch with a highlighting pen is suggested but making notes in regular ink is no issue. I'm just so pleased. I would highly recommend this lovely reference bible for everyday use.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for NASB Compact Leatherflex Bible, Brown with Diamond/Cross
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 2, 2009
About the binding & coverThe cover of this Compact Bible is made from Leathertex, an artificial leather which is soft to the touch. This Leathertex edition has a very nice smooth feel, which my husband really likes the feel of. Artificial leather should prove to be close in durability to bonded leather, although they haven't been on the market long enough to know for sure.Trim Size: 4 1/16 x 6 3/16 x 3/4What's inside?This Bible is black letter edition. The text size is 6.8 type, which is good size for a compact Bible. 6.8 type is very readable when compared with other compact editions. The format of this edition is double-column, verse format, with subject headings. The paper is an off white color, and is non reflective which many people like in a compact Bible. The paper also has a semi-transparent quality. I do not recommend using highlighters in this Bible. If you would like to highlight passages I recommend Crayola color pencils they work best on thin paper. This edition includes a built in navy blue marker, which matches very well with the cover. The paper is edged with gold gild, which looks very nice with the navy blue cover.In the Front1. Table of contents2. Books of the Bible in alphabetical orderIn the Back1. The parables of Jesus2. The miracles of JesusMy Personal OpinionI like the style of this cover, the design is simple yet elegant. I also like the rich navy blue color. Its always nice to see beautiful cover styles for Bibles. This edition comes in four other colors, and styles. The compact size & light weight of this Bible makes it a good choice for traveling. The New American Standard Bible Compact edition can make a very elegant gift for someone on the go
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.