Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Foundation Publications Inc NASB Topical Reference Bible, Leathertex, Burgundy

Foundation Publications Inc NASB Topical Reference Bible, Leathertex, Burgundy

Contains over 20,000 topics and sub-topics cross referenced to over 50,000 verses. Topics were researched and prepared by Biblical scholars, and include contemporary topics relevant to today's issues.

Also includes a 4,200 entry dictionary—concordance—thesaurus and over 95,000 center-column cross-references to enrich your reading.

Features
  • Full Column Cross References
  • Concordance
  • Maps
  • Paragraph Format
  • Red Letter
  • Two Column Text
  • Presentation Page
  • Family Record Page
  • Ribbon marker
  • Gilded page edges
  • 8.75" x 5.75" x 1.25"
Average Customer Rating:
4.444 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 989%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for NASB Topical Reference Bible, Leathertex, Burgundy
Review 1 for NASB Topical Reference Bible, Leathertex, Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

NASB Topical reference Bible, imitation leather.

Date:November 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
JayH
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this Bible. Beautifully designed, and excellant for daily reading. I have compared it to the 1599 Geneva Bible, and I would say it lives up to being the most trusted modern translation. It reads very, very close to the 1599. I just love it! If you are serious about Bible reading and want a very trusted version when it comes to accuracy, this is it. And the way they designed the imitation leather cover is gorgeous, accented witb a handsome Greek cross. Awesome Bible, and I'm extremely happy with my decision of this purchase. You will be too.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NASB Topical Reference Bible, Leathertex, Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love it!!

Date:June 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
sher595
Location:Everett, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very satisfied with the Bible in every way. Thank you!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NASB Topical Reference Bible, Leathertex, Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This Bible is of quality craftsmanship.

Date:June 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
cterry
Location:ny
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When I first learned of this edition of the Bible was being produced by Foundation Publications, I became very intrigued. I have used the NASB as my primary translation since my freshman year of Bible college (2000). As I came to discover, most editions of the NASB (especially at that time) were in verse format. Over time I found an Ultrathin Reference edition of the NASB produced by Foundation Publications, which was in paragraph format, had a sewn binding, and was genuine leather. After learning of the high quality of Foundation’s Bibles, I also purchased the following editions – a wide margin single column reference NASB; and a large print, ultrathin reference NASB (I also have the calfskin edition of this Bible – beautiful). I have found the editions which Foundation Publications produces to be of the highest quality and very reasonable in price.
Now, on to the review at hand. The Topical Reference Bible which I received from Lockman Foundation (produced by Foundation Publications) is the burgundy, leathertex edition (the material other publishers refer to as – duo tone, or tru tone). I have seen the publication shot on the Lockman site which promotes the Topical Reference edition and it does in deed show the details of the cover, but I have to say that the lighting of the picture does not do justice to the visual beauty of the Bible in hand. It is a very attractive, deep burgundy color. It is not washed out as the picture may lead one to believe (this is the difficulty of camera shots, at times the image does not accurately capture the quality of the item). The cover is very soft to the touch and feels great in hand. This edition is similar in size to the HCSB Hand-Size Giant Print Reference Bible and it seems slightly larger than the ESV Classic Reference Bible. It does have a ribbon marker which is a good length (not too stubby). In my personal estimation, the size of this Bible in hand is perfect. It is not too bulky or cumbersome, making possible to hold the Bible in one hand.
The text formatting inside of the Topical Reference edition is identical to the Foundation Ultrathin Reference Bible. This means that the text is in paragraph format and it is a red-letter text. I am so glad that it is in paragraph format, which makes responsible textual study easier on the mind and eyes. The size of the text is not large print, but to me it is very visible on the page. It also features center-column references, which are a strength of the NASB (95,000 references). Some will not care for this feature, but more on this later. As is true of all other Foundation Bibles which I have had the pleasure of using, this edition uses quality Bible paper. There is some bleed-through but not enough to be troublesome.
The one area where the Topical Reference edition sets itself apart from other references Bibles is what Lockman included in the front and back of this Bible. Located in the front of the Bible is a 255 page Topical Index, which alphabetically arranges various relevant topics (from abandon to Zion). As previously noted, many do not care for the cross-reference systems in most Bibles because they do not appear closely related the subject to which they are linked. I think that usually the disconnect is that the person studying is thinking topically and the references are connected grammatically (associated because of a common word). Well, this edition features the aforementioned Topical Index, which will point out the verses and sections of Scripture dealing with the desired topic/area of study. This index also contains detailed explanations of certain topics which may need such as mystery. It provides a very clear and concise explanation of the biblical usage of the word mystery. I think this is a very valuable tool for engaging in inductive Bible study, letting the text interpret the text.
Located in the back of the Bible is a 210 page Dictionary-Concordance-Thesaurus. This tool features, “main entries followed by explanatory notes or by synonyms or related words, which are intended to assist the reader in locating a verse.” It is arranged like a concordance but with more detailed information.
Following the 210 page Dictionary-Concordance-Thesaurus is: a one page genealogical chart for Jesus Christ; a two page reference featuring biblical promises and where to find them; a one page reference detailing the miracles of Christ; two pages of Old Testament prophecies fulfilled in Christ; one page listing the parables of Christ; one page of the titles of Christ and a listing the twelve apostles; a section providing introductions to each biblical book; a one year Bible reading plan; and the color maps usually found in Foundation Bibles.
This Bible is truly a quality piece of craftsmanship (quality Bible paper, sewn binding, soft leathertex cover). The size of this edition in my opinion is perfect. It is truly a hand-size, personal reference Bible in paragraph format. It is produced by Foundation Publications, which means that it will be of high quality and affordable. The 255 page Topical Reference guide at the beginning of the Bible, along with the 210 page Dictionary-Concordance-Thesaurus make this the ideal Bible for doing inductive Bible study. I would encourage anyone who is looking for a high quality Bible with all of the features I have mentioned to purchase this one.
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NASB Topical Reference Bible, Leathertex, Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not what I had hoped

Date:March 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Elizabeth Hurt
Location:Texas
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This Bible has a beautiful and durable cover. The Topical Index is not what I had hoped for. In hindsight, what I really needed was a cyclopedic index the way the "Open Bible" had. The print of this Bible is a bit small and the paragraphs all run together. I ordered this for a new believer, but will look for something else.
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NASB Topical Reference Bible, Leathertex, Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This Bible is beautiful with good study helps.

Date:March 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
ActsToo
Location:Madison, TN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This Bible has a very nice cover and expenive look. It is a great research and study Bible for those less familiar with God's Word. The only 'hang-up' is that the concordance is at the beginning of the Bible; it's not very attractive when opened and misplaces the importance of the Words of God.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NASB Topical Reference Bible, Leathertex, Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful

Date:January 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mimi
Location:Fair Oaks Ranch, Texas
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've never had a topical Bible before, but I am excited about how this can help when talking to people about Christ and His message. The NASB is the only version I read because of its accuracy. The cover is beautiful and looks like very expensive leather. I recommend it to any serious student of The Word.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NASB Topical Reference Bible, Leathertex, Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

NASB Topical Reference Bible

Date:October 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ron Johnson
Location:Round Lake Beach,Ill.
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you like a commentary with your bible then this bible is not for you. If you want an inductive bible study than this bible IS for you. tha topical index alone is worth the price of the bible. It is a very quality bible at a reasonable price. The immitation leather is awesome. Print is very good with very little bleed through. It is very hard for me not to buy anouther one.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NASB Topical Reference Bible, Leathertex, Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful cover & great concordance

Date:July 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lisa
Location:TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a beautiful Bible, full of helpful features. It's "leathertex" cover has a very soft / supple leather feel and smell with a beautiful carved celtic scrollwork looking cross. It seems much nicer than actual leather covers. It has a presentation page and 3 (6 front and back) family history & special occasion pages as well as 1 blank page in front and 1 blank page in back. In the front is an excellent 255 page Topical Index & in the back is a 210 page Dictionary - Concordance - Thesaurus. Both of these make it easy to find the scriptures your looking for. It gives in-depth, Biblically accurate definitions of baptism. (Biblical Christian baptism is full immersion in water "for the forgiveness of sins" to be as a burial & resurrection; God's one route for believers to get into Christ -Mat 28:18-19, Mk 16:15-16, Acts 2:38-41,47, 8:36-38, 22:16, 1Pet 3:21, Rom 6:3-13, Gal 3:27, Col 2:12. Since it isn't a "study" Bible you won't find the doctrines of men that led us astray being pushed -Jer 50:6, Psalm 146:3-4, just the pure Word of Truth that unites, sanctifies, & sets us free. The NAS version is known to be one of the most accurate translations. God looks to the humble who TREMBLE AT HIS WORD -Isa 66:2. He wants true worshipers who "must worship in spirit AND in Truth"-Jn 4:23-24. May God give us wisdom and guide us in His perfect Truth.
Other helpful pages: Geneology of Jesus, God's Promises, The Miracles of Jesus, OT Prophecies Fulfilled in Christ, Parables of Jesus, Titles of Christ, Introductions to the Books of the Bible, Read through the Bible in One Year, & 8 color maps.
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NASB Topical Reference Bible, Leathertex, Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cedric Credle
Location:Raliegh
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like the style of the Bible and loved the Topical and the references.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.