Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Competent to Counsel: Introduction to Nouthetic Counseling - eBook

Zondervan Competent to Counsel: Introduction to Nouthetic Counseling - eBook

A classic from the dean of Christian counseling! Adams has helped thousands of pastors, laypeople, and professionals to implement a nouthetic, or Spirit-led, approach to counseling. Promoting use of biblically based discussion, he offers profound insight into the way sin affects human personality, and how confession and taking responsibility restore counselees to wholeness in Christ. Hardcover.
Average Customer Rating:
4.583 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
5 out of 5100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Competent to Counsel: Introduction to Nouthetic Counseling - eBook
Review 1 for Competent to Counsel: Introduction to Nouthetic Counseling - eBook
This review is fromCompetent to Counsel.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent

Date:September 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
marti
Location:San Diego, Ca
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The author amazing and just knows how to word things where I could understand. Very helpful, informative.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Competent to Counsel: Introduction to Nouthetic Counseling - eBook
This review is fromCompetent to Counsel.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Joseph Huff
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I highly recommend this book to anyone who has been exposed to secular theories of counseling for dealing with the issues of malfunctioning human nature.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Competent to Counsel: Introduction to Nouthetic Counseling - eBook
This review is fromCompetent to Counsel.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Know someone with a problem? You need this book

Date:August 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Karen
Location:Suffolk, VA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This text was on a recommended reading list for counselors at the crisis pregnancy center when I serve. The focus is that most problems Christians deal with in their personal lives are a result of personal life choices or attitudes. As Christians, we are given the Scriptures to address those issues. Remembering our standing with God, and releying on the guidance of the Holy Spirit, are critical to every day and every decision of our lives, as this text explains. Rather than blame outside factors, we are responsible only for our responses to those factors and God have given us the power to respond as Jesus would have done. "Must read" for counselors, but every Christian should read this text. We all know someone who is trouble or comes to us for advice. The author wrote several other texts which explain practical application of the Christian principles, and how to help in specific situation. If you are interested in counseling, you should order every text by Jay Adams!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Competent to Counsel: Introduction to Nouthetic Counseling - eBook
This review is fromCompetent to Counsel.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Outstanding

Date:June 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
firedog
Location:New Jersey
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am working on my Bachelor's Degree in Divinity and Christianbook.com has had the books needed for me to complete my studies at reasonable rates. The selection of books is outstanding as well as the quality of the books. Thanks Christianbooks.com....
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Competent to Counsel: Introduction to Nouthetic Counseling - eBook
This review is fromCompetent to Counsel.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An outstanding overview of Christian living.

Date:December 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
Dave
Location:Alabama
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is an excellent introduction to and overview of Christian counseling as well as Christian living. It debunks traditional secular approaches to therapy such as Freud, Rogers and Skinner and makes the point that the only true hope for meaningful and lasting change is by our taking responsibility for our actions, redemption through Jesus Christ and sanctification by the power of the Holy Spirit.
Many counseling approaches look at either “nature,” “nurture,” or a combination, for the source of the problem as well as the treatment. But, as Adams says (p. 250), “[T]he Christian knows that a third factor, the Person of the Holy Spirit, enters the picture to enable Christians by his power to respond in accordance with the commands of God. Personality, then, is nature and nurture. But Christians by the Spirit have become more than ‘natural’ men (cf. 1 Corinthians 2). They have been changed and may continue to change their personalities by the work of the Spirit.”
The book points out that Christian counseling is effective because its approach is applicable to daily Christian living, not just resolving the “problems” in our lives. In this regard, the book is a valuable resource for all Christians. Again quoting Adams (p.248), “Perhaps one of the reasons why the reading of Scripture has become academic and irrelevant, influencing life so little, is because people have read it as a book apart from living. The Scriptures are full of principles (usually connected with or imbedded in concrete situations) that really can be put into practice. Verses come alive as they become part of one’s life.”
It has been said that you can give a man a fish and he will feed himself for a day; teach him to fish and he will feed himself for a lifetime. This book is perhaps the best overview I have read on the subject of “biblical fishing.” It touches on how to biblically address issues such as anger and forgiveness in our own lives, how to deal with problems in relationships with spouses and others, how to raise children in the way most likely to produce responsible adults, and even how teachers in Christian schools can use a biblical approach to teach problem solving in a way that is honoring to God.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Competent to Counsel: Introduction to Nouthetic Counseling - eBook
This review is fromCompetent to Counsel.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 25, 2010
Great Book! I think this is the BEST ever! Nouthetic Counseling is biblical, and eternally helpful. Most "Christian" counseling is merely a band-aid to the latest "sickness" and "hang-up." Biblical counseling goes to the root of the problem, sin, and helps people turn away from it and turn to Jesus for help. BRAVO Jay Adams.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Competent to Counsel: Introduction to Nouthetic Counseling - eBook
This review is fromCompetent to Counsel.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Robin Butler
This is an great book. I believe all christian would benefit from reading this bhttp://www.christianbook.com/Christian/Books/customer_review?sku=60006&email=butlerrobinlee@gmail.com&name=Robin+Butler&location=Princeton,+IL#formook.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Competent to Counsel: Introduction to Nouthetic Counseling - eBook
This review is fromCompetent to Counsel.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:January 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sam Lowry
This is a good book for people who are intimidated by counseling someone. It gives a lock-step approach to counseling based on select scriptures and isolated experiences. It gives the Counselor the ability to declare success (i.e. victory) over a "client" (as Adams refers to counselees) without the messy need to know the client or understand his problems. For example, Adams has decided that all depression is the result of the client's sin, based on a few verses from a Psalm of David, but ignoring the entire book of Job. If Adams had met Jesus in the Garden of Gethsemane, Adams would have told an agonizing Jesus he needed to confess his hidden sin. Then Adams would have walked away, confident in his superior understanding. That is, Adams gives his Counselors a simple way to deal with complex issues such as depression: tell the client he is hiding some sin, and unless the client identifies and confesses the sin, the counseling is over. It's that easy. The Counselor doesn't even need to name a specific sin. If the Counselor is a Pastor, he can even threaten excommunication. Whether or not a sin actually exists doesn't appear to be the issue. The issue seems to be extracting one's self from a difficult situation. (It's the same concept as throwing a woman in water to determine if she's a witch. If you're wrong, she can't defend herself, anyway.) Adams is very big on the need for the client to confess and take responsibility, but the Counselor can shed all responsibility by blaming the client for failure. Indeed, all of Adams' examples are success stories, based on his presuppositions. It's a good book, if you love the praise of men more than the praise of God.
-2points
8of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Competent to Counsel: Introduction to Nouthetic Counseling - eBook
This review is fromCompetent to Counsel.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
Rhonda Sanders
I ordered 25, then 5, then 6 of this book. That's how satisfied I was in reading it. I believe it will be a good book to show the sin issue in people's lives.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Competent to Counsel: Introduction to Nouthetic Counseling - eBook
This review is fromCompetent to Counsel.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Daniel Markham
A "five star" work. I first read this book in 1986 but bought a new copy recently to refresh myself in the necessities of counseling bibically. This book is not just for counselor's, but for every believer who truly wants to reach those around him or her effectively and biblically.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Competent to Counsel: Introduction to Nouthetic Counseling - eBook
This review is fromCompetent to Counsel.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 28, 2008
Customer Avatar
Donald
I don't know if a few words in a review will do this book justice. This book is a real eye opener. If a pastor/elder in a church could only read one book on counseling, this would be it. Every person in the ministry should read this book. It is well worth the price and anyone who chooses not to read it is doing themselves as well the people they shepherd a disservice.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Competent to Counsel: Introduction to Nouthetic Counseling - eBook
This review is fromCompetent to Counsel.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 14, 2001
Customer Avatar
Allen Blake
Jay Adams is a leader in the movement to restore Christian counseling to its proper foundation - a biblically based world view. In Competent to Counsel, Adams reveals the anti-scriptural ideas on which various schools of secular psychology are based and the inroads those ideas have made into the church. He explains that the root problem of man is sin and shows that the biblical model is one in which Christians counsel one another. He especially addresses the role of a pastor as counselor, emphasizing that the basis for good counsel is good applied theology. Adams also draws from his experience to outline practical ways to impliment a counseling ministry.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.