Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NavPress TrueColors Series #1, Dark Blue: Color Me Lonely

NavPress TrueColors Series #1, Dark Blue: Color Me Lonely

Kara Hendricks and Jordan Ferguson have been best friends since kindergarten. By now--sophomore year--they're more like sisters, really. Jordan has always been the leader in the friendship, but still she's the perfect friend. That is, until she stars to hang with a new, "cool" crowd and decides Kara is a popularity liability.

Best friends forever? Yeah, right.

Devastated, Kara feels betrayed and abandoned by everyone--even God. How could Jordan do this? Why did God let this happen? Yet for all the hurt and insecurity, these dark blue days contain a life-changing secret. Now that Jordan is gone, Kara had the chance to discover something about herself that she never knew before. But first, she must learn to trust again. It won't be easy.

Average Customer Rating:
4.786 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for TrueColors Series #1, Dark Blue: Color Me Lonely
Review 1 for TrueColors Series #1, Dark Blue: Color Me Lonely
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved this book!

Date:October 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Chelsea
Age:Under 18
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read this book first, and it hooked me to read the rest of the series. I've read all of them and really love Melody Carlson's book! I have to say this book is for teenagers though, as some of the stuff in it may not be appropriate for tweens or children. Parents will just have to use their own discretion on that. But, overall, I love Melody Carlson, and I loved this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for TrueColors Series #1, Dark Blue: Color Me Lonely
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

For everyone who is lonely...

Date:February 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cookie703
Location:Marksville,LA
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Once upon a time I was VERY lonely. I had no friends and no sisters and no anything. It wasn't because I was a total outcast or loser. I was too shy and when I did have friends I would kind of avoid them. I didn't even want to talk to my popular friends! Even when I did I had this emptiness inside of me. No poem or short story I wrote could ever explain what I was feeling.
Just like Kara. Which was why I bought I book. I read it and bawled at the end. Then I gave my life to Jesus. And I planned to live happily ever after...and never EVER be lonely again...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for TrueColors Series #1, Dark Blue: Color Me Lonely
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book!!!

Date:September 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Netta
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is the first Melody Carlson book I read. I've since read several of her books. I loved this book. The main message that Jesus is the best, best friend you can ever have came through loud and clear. I finished it in less than 3days but it felt like an eternity because it felt like I was taking the emotional roller costar with Kara. That is Carlson's gift, to completely transport you to wherever the character is. Love Love Love Melody Carlson!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for TrueColors Series #1, Dark Blue: Color Me Lonely
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Recommended with caution

Date:June 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Linda Kerr
Location:MA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Carlson has a gift for writing from the perspective of a teenage girl. The first-person narrative immediately draws the reader into the world of Kara Hendricks and her tenth-grade public school drama. The majority of modern teens have experienced the kind of loneliness, detachment from parents, and friendship struggles depicted here. Carlson draws the reader through the ups and downs of Kara’s thoughts and conversations which lead her eventually to invite Jesus into her life as her best friend. The presence of the Holy Spirit is clear as Kara’s attitude changes and, as a result, her relationships in positive ways. The testimony of a geeky kid who has a difficult life impacts kids beyond Kara.
Although Carlson brings a positive ending to Kara’s struggles, I would recommend this book with caution. The gospel – as far as man’s sin and Christ’s redemption – is never clearly stated. Carlson focuses on the friendship of Jesus, a point with which her character struggles. Additionally, the book is straight-forward and realistic, mentioning suicide, drugs, smoking, and drunkenness. Carlson does not write swear words, though she indicates when characters use them. The realism of this novel from the perspective of an unsaved contemporary American teenager might give parents pause. Is it appropriate for your child to be exposed to these thoughts and issues if they don’t struggle with them? On the other hand, if your daughter is drawn to modern teen lit found at the local library, by all means supplant those books with anything by Melody Carlson. The feel of the writing and the issues covered are similar, but the author’s perspective is God-honoring.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for TrueColors Series #1, Dark Blue: Color Me Lonely
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Tom Lutz
Bought this for my 13 year old daughter and she ended up getting sucked into the story and really feeling for the Kara...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for TrueColors Series #1, Dark Blue: Color Me Lonely
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 7, 2007
Customer Avatar
Lola
Once I started reading it, I couldn't stop! It was amazing how well the book grabbed me from the very first words. But not only did I discover this amazing book series, but it brought me back into God's arms, where I belong. If you are or aren't a Christian, PLEASE READ THIS BOOK!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for TrueColors Series #1, Dark Blue: Color Me Lonely
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 28, 2007
Customer Avatar
Abigail
I liked this book because a lot of people lose their best friend, but not all of them accept God as their Savior after. From reading this book I learned to go to God with all my problems, including losing a best friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for TrueColors Series #1, Dark Blue: Color Me Lonely
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 9, 2007
Customer Avatar
Kim
This was an amazing book! I am currently reading the sixth book in the True Colors series, Fool's Gold, but Dark Blue is the book that I can most relate to. It's amazing the way Melody Carlson can write these books as though she has lived each and every experiance. Hat's off to Melody for a job well done!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for TrueColors Series #1, Dark Blue: Color Me Lonely
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 28, 2006
Customer Avatar
Allison
I absolutely loved this book! It is intrigueing and draws you in from the beginning. I can't wait to get the rest of the series. It is truly a book meant for girls and it relates to us very well. We all have lost a friend and this is the perfect example.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for TrueColors Series #1, Dark Blue: Color Me Lonely
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 9, 2006
Customer Avatar
Katie
I loved this book! It was as if she was writing about my life! My friend just joined cheer and she is a totaly different person now! Melody did an excelent job. It was very true to life !
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for TrueColors Series #1, Dark Blue: Color Me Lonely
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 27, 2005
I loved this book! I stayed up late last night just to finish it. A book that is easy for an teenager to relate to.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for TrueColors Series #1, Dark Blue: Color Me Lonely
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 18, 2004
Customer Avatar
Leah Ashley
I love this book, because Kara isn't perfect. She's totally opposite- she sits at home by herself every weekend, even though she has friends. I didn't think anybody but me did that, and it's so easy to relate to Kara! This is totally a good book for teens to read. L.A. :-)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for TrueColors Series #1, Dark Blue: Color Me Lonely
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 27, 2004
Customer Avatar
Sarah
This book was suprisingly good. I have been having trouble enjoying ANY book these days; this was one of the first book in a long time that actually grabbed my attention and kept it. I was up till midnight reading it! You can really, truly relate to Kara. She feels so sad and lonely and alone...but the one thing I have a problem with is that Melody Carlson paints Christianity as warm-fuzzy happy thing. Kara accepts Christ into her life and instantly becomes and happy and it seems like all her problems disappear. The line, "Christianity can be wonderful, but it is also a very hard road to travel." A line something like that should've been included. But other than that, the book was very cool. Better than the BrioGirls books, but it doesn't measure up to the classic Christy Miller books. Still...very good. Can't wait for the next two books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for TrueColors Series #1, Dark Blue: Color Me Lonely
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 10, 2004
Customer Avatar
Bri
Kara's best friend has just deserted her, and she feels like her world has ended. Now she's stuck with only nerdy Edgar Peebles for a friend, and she'd rather die than be near him. Actually, she considers the idea of committing suicide, but then she finds a new hope that keeps her going. Melody Carlson is my all-time favorite author, and her latest work of fiction captivated me up to the very last page. I wish this book was longer, but I'm glad that this series comes out every 3 months. READ the TrueColors series!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.