Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell Choices of the Heart,The Midwives Series #3 -eBook

Revell Choices of the Heart,The Midwives Series #3 -eBook

Esther Cherrett comes from a proud line of midwives and was trained by her mother to take over the family calling. But when a scandal threatens all she holds dear, Esther takes a position as a teacher in the western mountains of Virginia instead. There she finds herself in the midst of a deadly family feud and courted by two men on opposite sides of the conflict. When it seems as though her past has followed her all the way into the mountains, all she wants is to run away again.
Average Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
19 out of 2095%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Choices of the Heart,The Midwives Series #3 -eBook
Review 1 for Choices of the Heart,The Midwives Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

struggles in rural Virginia mts--mid-19th-century

Date:October 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
MaryAnn
Location:OR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When a preacher’s daughter who has been trained as a midwife and a healer runs from her seaside city to hide out in the rugged Virginia mountains, questions are sure to be raised. Esther Cherett has answered a call to educate children in hopes they will be able to avoid the poverty and feuding their families know too well. Instead of quiet fulfillment in such service, she encounters conflict—both physical and emotional. Is she making things worse or can she help by staying in the rural community.
What Esther learns changes her perspective and her own life. But can they all find healing from the past? Choices of the Heart by Laurie Alice Eakes tackles tough topics and causes the reader to ponder choices and their outcomes. This third book in The Midwives series stands strong on its own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Choices of the Heart,The Midwives Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love,Revenge,Redemption

Date:October 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
GrandmaCee
Location:Missouri
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This whole series is a MUST READ! Each book will keep you locked in. They each one show the tenderness, chastening and forgiveness of God. How He has his hand on us and wills us to come to Him. Each of us has value to God regardless of our station in life. If we are willing He will use us. Like Esther we all have things to learn in life, none is perfect, but we can have a fulfilled life. She thought running was the answer but found God had other plans for her.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Choices of the Heart,The Midwives Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Interesting

Date:May 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Esther is a trained midwife who has worked at her mother's side. But then comething happens that sends her to the mountains and straight into the middle of a feud between two mountain clan families.
I hate to say this, but to me it just didn't feel like this book lived up to the potential or use all the great material in the backround. While there was a good mystery, and a lovely setting, there were some things in the plot that just make sense to me. I won't go into a lot of detail because I don't want to give too much away, but there were details that just didn't seem to make sense to me, especially in the way that the main characters interacted.
Overall this book just kinda let me down, and while it was a nice read and Esther was a great character, she never was able to truly let go of her misplaced guilt, and I felt like the Esther suffered so much more than she should have and that some people could have been less condemning of her. So i guess this just wasn't the book for me :/ I've read other books by Ms. Eakes in the past and this one just wasn't a favorite. There was plenty going on, with the feud and the many mysteries that get unravelled bit by bit. And Esther learned that no matter how far you go you can never run away from God. So while this wasn't exactly my kind of book, there were parts that I enjoyed and I look forward to reading more books from this author in the future.
“Available January 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.”
I received this book from the author in return for an honest review. Thanks!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Choices of the Heart,The Midwives Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An intelligent read written with deft artistry

Date:May 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Christine Lindsay
Location:British Columbia, Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The intrigue of who would win the heart of this honest-to-goodness heroine, Esther, had me gripped from page one. I thoroughly enjoyed this third of the Midwife series. What I especially liked were the realistic blurs between what appears the bad guy or woman in the story, and that by going beneath the veneer of a person, you find a troubled heart.I think this is my favorite of the Midwife series because of that fact.
In real life, the lines between hero and villian are not so clearly defined. Wounded hearts make it hard to make the best choices in life. Very apt title for that reason.
I recommend Choices of the Heart as an intelligent, gripping human historcal drama, written with deft artistry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Choices of the Heart,The Midwives Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When circumstances force Esther Cherrett to leave her beloved home and family, her only choice is to answer a newspaper advertisment for a teaching position. She soon finds herself caught in the middle of a decades old feud as well as being caught between two cousins, Zach and Griff who are competing for her attention.
I have to be honest, Zach really irritated me. Esther had made it clear early on that she didn't want a relationship with anyone, he kept pushing Esther to fall in love with him and because of that I skimmed a lot of places that had him in it.
Griff on the other hand, although he knew he could develop feeling for Esther tried his best to keep his distance. He put a real effort into respecting Esther's wishes.
Esther was to docile for my taste's but I really liked that fact that she didn't just sit and feel sorry for herself. She developed and put into action a plan for her life. That in itself takes courage.
Choices of the Heart overall was a nice ending to the series. I think the best thing that I brought away from the book was the circumstances that surround Esther leaving her home. She is seen in a certain set of circumstances that someone misunderstood, and began to spread rumors about her forcing Esther into exile. It really bring home the fact that we shouldn't judge others and we don't always know the whole story about someone, even when we think we do. It was a great lesson.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Choices of the Heart,The Midwives Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Can it get any better?

Date:March 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Clover, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Laurie Alice Eakes just keeps out doing herself. Her latest and final book in her Midwives series is brilliant. I love a story where I don't know in the first chapter who our heroine will end up with and Ms. Eakes pulls it off in Choices of the Heart. Her descriptions as always are wonderful and vivid allowing you to see the story play out around you. Not only her hero and heroine are well fleshed out but so are her secondary characters. Laurie Alice Eakes in my opinion is on her way to the top of the charts. Just when I think she can't write any better she has another book out there that blows me away. This story has so much to offer, romance, rivalry, mystery, feuds, midwifery, family, oh my goodness the list is fabulous. I highly recommend Choices of the Heart!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Choices of the Heart,The Midwives Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

ANOTHER MIDWIVES HIT FOR THIS AUTHOR!

Date:January 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
My Book Addiction
Location:North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
CHOICES OF THE HEART by Laurie Alice Eakes is an exciting inspirational historical romance set in the western mountains of Virginia in 1842. It is book 3 in "The Midwives" but can be read as a stand alone. See, "Lady of the Mist" and "Heart's Safe Passage". Filled with deception,a Midwife,suspense,secrets,lies,scandal,seeking refuge,feuding,trust,faith,mountain people,romance, love, and a bittersweet loss. Follow, Ester Cherret,a Midwive,who is running away from a scandal,Zack Brooks and Griff Tolliver,mountain folk on a mission, on a journey of secrets,danger,and "Choices of the Heart". A fast paced story that is bittersweet at times,filled with faith,and love at others. Be warned, Ms. Eakes has woven a story with realistic characters that will have you turning pages with your heart in your throat. The plot is intriguing with realistic actions. You will be sucked into the drama and the people of the Mountains of Virginia during the 1840's. A must read for anyone who enjoys historical romance, Mountain people, and love. Received for an honest review from the publisher. For more information visit the author's website,Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group and My Book Addiction and More.
“Available January 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.”
RATING: 4.5
HEAT RATING: SWEET
REVIEWED BY: AprilR, My Book Addiction and More/My Book Addiction Reviews
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Choices of the Heart,The Midwives Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Just another Hatfield-McCoy feud

Date:February 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cora
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Midwife character seemed a bit stiff and I got so tired of the colloquialism "right" used so repeatedly. I've lived and practiced in Appalachia and I may have heard it said once or twice but not in every W VA sentence.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Choices of the Heart,The Midwives Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Riveting Historical Fiction

Date:January 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
KavR
Location:Canada
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The last book in the Midwives series, Choices of the Heart, delivers the same riveting historical fiction of the earlier books. This time Eakes takes us into the backwoods hill country of Virginia. I loved the setting and the way the author managed to capture the essence of it as well as the inhabitants who lived there. It kind of had a Christy feel for me.
I love the way the book unfolds -- Eakes expertly delivers tantalizing tidbits of back story in measured degrees and that kept me reading in haste to get a handle on the big picture. The scandal that Esther flees plays a big part in the way she perceives herself and in how she relates to others. I did feel a bit of a let down though when a key issue -- Esther feels the scandal is her fault -- wasn't addressed fully. She took the burden of it upon herself and nobody told her it wasn't hers to carry. Not even the hero. I kept giving her pep talks, but she paid me no mind! Very frustrating.
This is a multi-layered story with more then one mystery to solve. Even the romance is filled with suspense. Choices of the Heart is the kind of read that will quickly immerse you in another time and place. Perfect for these long, cold winter evenings.
"Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group".
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Choices of the Heart,The Midwives Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Choices of the Heart by Laurie Alice Eakes

Date:January 19, 2013
Esther is running away from something—exactly what that is, we don't find out until a ways into the book (and all of the details don't come until closer to the end). She accepts a position as a teacher in a mountain community that just so happens to be feuding among themselves. As Esther's secrets start coming out and the feuding starts up again, she must figure out whether she will continue to run or if she will accept God's forgiveness and learn to forgive herself.
After reading the second book in Laurie Alice Eakes' Midwives series, I knew I wanted to read Choices of the Heart as soon as it came out! The book was a bit different than what I expected, though still very good. All of the drama of the feuding families an the love triangle definitely brought some tension to the story, which was interesting to try to figure out. And Eakes did a great job of allowing readers to be conflicted about which guy should win Esther's heart, which is sometimes hard to do. I also enjoyed getting to know the people and the setting of this mountain community. The scenery was well-written and gave me a great picture of what the area must truly be like (or at least back in the 1840s!).
While I did enjoy the book, I was bothered by the way that the issue in Esther's past was addressed. I don't want to give anything away, but it was made to seem like it was Esther's fault—which it was not, no matter what she did prior to the actual event. (Possibly the author wrote it this way since that is how Esther felt for much of the book, but it just bothered me.) I also felt that the pacing was a bit off. We didn't find out all of the details about this mysterious "thing" that happened until close to the end, and then everything wrapped up pretty quickly.
While I enjoyed the previous book more, this was still a wonderful read. I recommend the entire series! [3.5 stars]
Available January 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
I received a free copy of this book from Revell Books in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Choices of the Heart,The Midwives Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
sunny island breezes
Location:a sunny island
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
She wanted to leave it all behind — her past, her vocation and all the ugly rumors. She slipped out in the middle of the night without leaving a note.
She ended up way out in the boonies as a teacher. It was an odd situation that put her in the middle of a family feud.
As a nurse, I know you can’t really leave behind the healer in you. Esther couldn’t. It could even get her killed. It might also bring about her redemption. Esther’s dilemma will touch your heart as you see possibilities for a love match on either side of the feud.
I’m definitely enjoying Ms Eakes series, The Midwives.
***A special thanks to Donna Hausler for providing a review copy.***
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Choices of the Heart,The Midwives Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Book That Touches on Delicate Subjects.

Date:January 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
kingsdaughter1611
Location:IL
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have to admit up front, this is the first book from Laurie Alice Eakes I didn't really care for. I have read her other books, flew through them to be exact, and this one had some things I didn't like. I read all of it, she still kept my attention, but there were a couple things I think could have been left out.
This is the third book in the Midwives series and has to deal with Dominick and Tabitha's daughter. Esther has followed her mothers footsteps and also learned how to become a midwife. But then a scandal arises and she leaves town without telling her parents where she is going. Turns out she is going to the mountains to teach children to read and write. But she doesn't know about the feud going on in those same mountains. Caught in the middle as two men from opposite sides vie for her attention makes for an interesting read. I wasn't sure who she would pick in the end.
This book deals with a delicate subject and I understand that. The scandal was something that happens quite often and you deal with in books many times. But I had a hard time with Esther's attitude. She knows that the flirting has gotten her in trouble before, and yet she uses it as a ploy with both men at different times. And I know some people will flirt, whatever, but the whole running her hands through his hair, touching his arm, etc just got to me. Again, some people may have no problem with this. It may not bother you at all. I just felt like her attitude was wrong about it.
I loved learning more about the herbs and medicines that were used back then. A midwife was also somewhat of a healer of sorts and didn't only help with birthing children. She wasn't always looked kindly upon and back then, many people thought she used strange spirits to help in her treatments. And the history of the feuding in the mountains of Virginia was quite interesting. You hear about the Hatfields and McCoys and it kind of ran in that vein.
This is a book that had a great plot and wonderful characters. Believe me, I raced through the book:) But I would recommend this for older ages because of a couple topics talked about. Can't wait for the next book from Laurie!
Available January 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
I received a copy of this book for my review purposes. I did not receive any monetary compensation. All thoughts are 100% mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Choices of the Heart,The Midwives Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Family Feud and Romance

Date:January 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Laurie Alice Eakes in her new book, “Choices of the Heart” Book Three in the Midwives series published by Revell brings us to Virginia in 1842.
From the Back Cover: She thought she had left her old life behind . . .
Esther Cherrett comes from a proud line of midwives and was trained by her mother to take over the family calling. When a terrible scandal threatens all she holds dear, Esther flees, taking a position as a teacher in the wild western mountains of Virginia. But instead of the refuge she was seeking, Esther finds herself in the midst of a deadly family feud–and courted by two men on opposite sides of the conflict. All she wants is to run away again.
Yet could it be that her past holds the key to reconciliation–and love?
In this gripping story of trust, deception, and bittersweet loss, you’ll discover the true meaning of choices of the heart.
In “Choices of the Heart” Laurie Alice Eakes gives us the story of Esther, a girl on the run from a terrible scandal. “Choices of the Heart” is a story that has a long family feud, two men vying for Esther’s affections and Esther who really is trying to have nothing to do with men. It is a tale loaded with the past that, unless dealt with, will prevent all the characters from really moving forward and reaching their destiny. “Choices of the Heart” is a great way to finish a wonderful series and Ms. Eakes creates really fun, believable characters that you care for as they live through this adventure. I am sorry to see this series come to an end however I am looking forward to the next series from this very talented author.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
Available January 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Choices of the Heart,The Midwives Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Finding Where You Belong

Date:January 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ah the title is correct...what are the choices of our heart? The story takes place 1840 Virginia, a very different world than today. Young Esther Cherrett is a young woman what has been rather spoiled during her life, she is the only daughter. Her father is a Pastor, and her mother is a Midwife, who learned her skills from her mother and has passed them down to Esther. Esther does have a big problem...she is a terrible flirt, and when things go awry, she is blamed. No one will believe she is innocent...she has a reputation, and is not able to live it down.
She decides to take a teaching job, way up in the Mountains of Virginia. What she has run away from is now mild compared to what is going on here. More like the Hatfields and the McCoys...or the Tollivers and the Gosnolls. Brookses. Neffs. It appears that there is so little value for human life. They really are all related, and Mrs Tolliver is a sister to Mrs Brooks....terrible.
Esther is now giving up her medical knowledge...not, and going to be teaching. She is also being looked at as a potential wife for either Zach Brook or Griff Tolliver. Even though her past haunts her, she is not looking for a husband.
Loved looking at this beautiful Mountain area through Esther's eyes...so wonderful. This is a page turning, and compelling read. Travel back to old time Virginia, and enjoy!
I received this book through Revell's review program, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Choices of the Heart,The Midwives Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Kept me guessing

Date:January 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Faith and Family Reviews
Location:Chicago, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In Choices of the Heart, Esther Cherrett, a midwife, a healer runs from her past when personal scandal forces her to abandon all that she loves for the sake of her loved ones. The scandal not only separates her from her family but wreaks havoc with her self-belief and her relationship with God. You’ve heard the saying that hard times either draw you closer or put a distance between you and God. Well, it’s a matter of choices, thus part of the reason for the title of the book Choices of the Heart.
I loved how more details of Esther’s healing gift were shared in this book, if you remember in Book One I complained there were not enough.
Esther possessed a lot of strength to leave everything that was familiar to her and to start anew in a foreign place without all the necessities she was use to with her privileged upbringing.
What I didn’t like about the book is the blame put on Esther, by herself and others. Perhaps it was a reflection on the time in which the book was set but still it didn’t set well with me. Inside I was screaming, “Don’t blame her/yourself!” You know how we all can belittle ourselves into almost nothing over silly mistakes or misjudgments? That’s exactly what happened to Esther.
The romance part wasn’t as predictable yet it was. It was a typical love triangle in which Esther had to choose. I was guessing for quite a while as to who she was going to choose.
The family feud aspect of the book had me guessing to. I was rather surprised at the culprit’s identity and results of the feud.
“Available January 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.”
Faith and Family Reviews received the following product in exchange for writing a review. While we consider it a privilege to receive products to review, our reviews are our honest opinion and thoughts of the product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Choices of the Heart,The Midwives Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A hornets nest of feuding among mountain families

Date:January 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Vera
Location:North Carolina
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My thoughts: I previously read Laurie Alice Eakes' book A Flight of Fancy and reviewed it here on Chat With Vera. Click to read review. However, reading Choices of the Heart is a totally different reading experience in my opinion. This third book in Eakes' "midwife" series is set in the isolated mountains of Virginia in 1842. Esther Cherrett leaves her home of affluence in coastal Virginia under cover of night to obtain a position in the mountains as teacher for the uneducated and very isolated families. As they travel by horseback to reach their destination, she learns that she is entering a virtual hornets nest of feuding amongst families similar to that in Scotland. Dangerous indeed.
Esther is a midwife but wishes to keep these skills a secret and not practice this profession she learned from her mother. However, upon seeing injuries and illness from knives, guns, and life in general she can not withhold her tender care of folks.
The rugged terrain of Appalachia, the desire of men for her company, the feuding over long held animosities, and ignorance are wonderfully described by Laurie Alice Eakes as she unfolds this tender story of romance and choice. The characters are well developed and come alive on the pages of the story, and the story plot is realistic and well chartered.
The period detail provided by Eakes is indicative of her research and brings to mind visions of the mountain folk and their times and troubles. You feel the poverty of the people and the emotional strife as well as the longings they experience.
Without giving a spoiler clue, I'll just say the conclusion might be a bit surprising to some of you that normally get a book figured out before you reach mid-read.
I regret that I have not yet read the first two books in the midwifes series and will look forward to "catching up" later. Though the books most likely build on the previous story, Choices of the Heart is a well-written stand alone book and there is no problem reading it without previously reading the first two.
About the author: Laurie Alice Eakes is the author of Lady in the Mist, Heart's Safe Passage, A Necessary Deception, A Flight of Fancy, and several other novels. She won a National Readers Choice Award for Best Regency in 2007 for Family Guardian. Laurie Alice writes full-time from her home in Texas, where she lives with her husband and sundry dogs and cats.
DISCLOSURE: I was provided a complimentary copy of choices of the Heart by Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group on behalf of the author for the purpose of rendering my honest review. No positive remarks are required. Opinions expressed are solely my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Choices of the Heart,The Midwives Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nothing can separate from the love of God.

Date:January 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
crtnybc
Location:British Columbia, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Something has happened to make the town turn on Esther and she escapes to the Appalachian Mountains, landing squarely in the middle of a decade-old family feud. To make matters worse, two cousins from opposite sides of the feud are wanting to court her and her actions could potentially spark the feud back into a full fledged war. So much for a place to hide for a while, and she wasn't planning on marrying in the first place!
Laurie Alice Eakes weaves a tale full of suspense, romance, and very human characters with shortcomings and feelings, not flat, one dimensional figures. They feel like people you can understand and possibly relate to. I really enjoyed the setting of the Appalachians, a place I haven't read much about. Wild and rugged, like many the equally fascinating characters in the book.
"Nothing can separate from the love of God. Nothing. We can run as far and as fast as we can, and He still loves us." The author weaves into her story the truth of the unconditional love of God. Our love as humans is imperfect but God's love never fails. This theme is brought out in the story such a way that the unconditionalness of the love of God really shines.
I received this ebook from Revell Books for an honest review. My opinion is my own. Thank you Revell Books!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Choices of the Heart,The Midwives Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One of Easkes' Best

Date:January 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Louise
Location:Florida
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Laurie Alice Eakes never fails to deliver an exceptional story. No matter what the setting, she draws the reader into the location and makes it real. Her characters are always well fleshed out, with very human struggles one can relate to. In addition, Eakes always includes elements of faith in a way that is never preachy but very true to life. Be prepared to enjoy Choice of the Heart, one of her best stories.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Choices of the Heart,The Midwives Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It was wonderful

Date:January 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
trisha
Location:Montrose, Colorado
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was wonderful. I would recommend this book to others in fact I have passed it on to my daughter already.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Choices of the Heart,The Midwives Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A story to savor

Date:January 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Stephanie
Location:Minnesota
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Choices of the Heart, by Laurie Alice Eakes, was a fully rewarding read. I knew from the first pages, as Esther left her home to venture into the wild with a strange man and even more puzzling woman, that this would be a book to savor. I wasn’t disappointed.
Why did Esther leave her loving home of Seabourne and why had the townspeople there turned against her? What is going on in the deep woods and hollows of Appalachia, where a family feud seems to be a just the beginning of Esther’s troubles in her new home?
The dramatic setting of Appalachia in the 1800s caught my interest and enticed me to turn to the first page of Choices of the Heart. The fascinating historical detail, romance, and a sprinkling of mystery hooked me, and before I knew it, Esther, Zach, and Griff kept me turning pages deep into the night. Thank you, Laurie, for a satisfying story that stayed with me long after the last page was read. Laurie Alice Eakes is a gifted storyteller, and I’m looking forward to delving into the lives of the rest of the women in The Midwives series this year.
I received a copy of Choices of the Heart from the publisher, Revell, but was not required to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.