Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NavPress TrueColors Series #4, Pitch Black: Color Me Lost

NavPress TrueColors Series #4, Pitch Black: Color Me Lost

If Morgan thought her life was tough before--what with a drug-addicted, klepto brother and a cradle-robbing mother-t just got worse. Last night, her close friend Jason took his own life. Smart, funny, a good listener, and perfect in just about every way, Jason Harding is gone forever.

Someone please wake me from this nightmare.

Jason's death sends Morgan reeling. She copes--or tries to--by attempting to piece together vague clues that might explain her friend's suicide. Making matters worse, Morgan can't help but feel responsible because she wasn't there for her friend when he needed her most. Some times she thinks maybe Jason had the right idea all along. Morgan feels lost in a pitch-black abyss, and her only way out is to turn back to the one Friend who will never leave her.

Average Customer Rating:
4.643 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for TrueColors Series #4, Pitch Black: Color Me Lost
Review 1 for TrueColors Series #4, Pitch Black: Color Me Lost
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Shows what teens really go through.

Date:December 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
jewl
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is so well written, the auther, Melody Carlson, has such a talent. I've read her other books but this is my favorite. It's about how she needs to make choices between life and death. I totally reccomend it!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for TrueColors Series #4, Pitch Black: Color Me Lost
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Mom Approves =)

Date:June 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
luv2readjen
Location:Lisle, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pitch Black tells the story of Morgan and her friends, who are dealing with the recent suicide of a close friend and member of their youth group. As the teens discuss the problem, they begin a spiral of deepening sorrow, and while some are able to rely on their faith, for some it feels less than helpful. As the days go by, the hopelessness of those who are relying on themselves begins to overwhelm them, and they begin to seriously consider drastic measures to fix their problems. The question becomes will they stay in the pitch black abyss or turn to the One who is a true friend.
I’m pretty far from being a teenager. I do have a teenage daughter, and as an avid reader, I insist on reading any materials she brings home, especially if they are unfamiliar to me. Having read the Hunger Games series, I find that it’s not always a waste of time, and while I don’t censor my daughter’s reading material, I do know what she’s reading, and I can talk to her about the topics. I say all of this to say – I feel as though I have recently become an expert in the teenage fiction arena, and so when I tell you that Pitch Black is an artful fit with a great message in a genre that is full of nihilistic and self-involved titles, I say it truthfully and armed with some experience.
In my life, I have had days when it seemed ridiculous to go on - every human being has. I’m grateful for a God who loves me enough to forgive me when I can’t forgive myself, to love me when I don’t love myself, and to turn desperate sorrow to infinite hope in the midst of any circumstance. Melody Carlson has the voice to explain that to teenagers and adults alike. That is a gift I’m glad she shares, for my own sake and my daughter’s.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for TrueColors Series #4, Pitch Black: Color Me Lost
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

True to Life

Date:May 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Abbie
Location:Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Morgan's life has always seemed tough but in one week it seems to spin utterly out of control and a black cloud of thickening despair settles over her. With her parents divorce everything seemed to spiral into a darkening abyss. Her older brother became involved in the drug scene so much that she installed a dead-bolt on her door. Then to make matters worse her 40 something mom starts to dress like a teen and dates a younger man.
With the announcement of their marriage Morgan could not imagine that her life could get much more chaotic. In fact by now she had formed a firm opinion that being in youth group and knowing God never helped her. The more her life shatters around her the more that opinion solidifies itself in her heart.
However, little did Morgan know that morning she woke up for school that this would be the pivotal week of her life. That in this week Morgan would discover some soul-shattering truths about herself, God and life in general.
When her best friend commits suicide Morgan must decide if life is bearable, if God is worth counting on. While learning more about herself and exploring the depths of the darkness of Satan's pull and evils despair she also learns more about the one true God. Searching for answers everywhere she trudges through the weekend, discovering bit by bit the reasons that her friend committed suicide. And as if things were not already overwhelming Morgan feels absolutely suffocated by a sense of guilt for not being able to prevent the tragedy.
This novel is true to life and a little gritty. However, each of us needs to be totally honest with ourselves - as teens we all felt over whelmed at times. And if we were to be absolutely honest with ourselves (even if we never admit it out loud) some of us have questioned just like Morgan early in faith if knowing God has really helped to bring a since of order in our lives (after all there is a certain security in the midst of storms that is only developed through the storms and as we mature spiritually).
In today's increasingly evil and oppressive society teens are faced with a myriad of issues. Sometimes as parents we don't like to admit that they too may face the issue of suicide. Either through a friend or as a personal contemplation - the question to be answered: Is it worth it? In this book Melody Carlson explores just this - with a fresh look at scripture. I appreciate the true to life aspects of this book and am sure that it will guide more and more teens out of the bondage's of suicidal thought into the realm of victorious living through Jesus Christ.
Though it explores the darkest depths of despair it also illuminates the greatest heights of faith. Teaching a great lesson that suicide is never God's plan - and that if resorted to you will never see the light dispel the darkness, you will never see the Son break through the clouds of your despair, you will never see God work something beautiful out of the tattered and torn life you currently live. And most of all you will never experience the amazing power of God when he takes something shattered and redeems it to something more extraordinary.
Thank you NavPress for this review copy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for TrueColors Series #4, Pitch Black: Color Me Lost
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

engaging and interesting

Date:May 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
donaldmurdo
Location:Isle of Lewis
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Melody Carlson is a much loved young-adult fiction author and on this evidence, it is easy to see why. Writing a book about teen suicide sounds like a difficult task as the theme can be dark, finding the right words can be challenging and confronting the reality and fallout can seem almost taboo.
The central character, Morgan is a quite wonderful and partly vulnerable character whose life is surrounded by equally flawed but very human and recognisable fragile friends and family, including a well portrayed drug addict brother and a ‘cradle-robbing mother’. But the book’s opening chill comes when her best friend Jason, an intelligent, humorous and perfect youth with everything to live for takes his own life.
Like nearly all suicides, it is a shock to his community and the individuals within. What seems a greater shock to our narrator Morgan is that while Jason was a patient listener and insightful sounding board to others, she was not there to listen when he needed her most. The tone of this book is set perfectly between the roller-coaster of denial that this could ever happen to the jolt of acceptance that it has. What is striking perhaps is that the reader almost physically identifies with the characters portrayed – you might find yourself physically reacting at parts of the story as Morgan goes through her cycle of emotions.
This is a story told honestly and with hope. It is a convincing narrative with the dialogue, action and references found in teen novels. What marks it as different is a wonderful grasp of what teenagers say and what goes unspoken in informal understandings. For the reader, this novel might seem like a difficult journey but also a real confrontation with the reality of a life beyond this and of the claims of the one Friend that will never leave us or forsake us.
Engaging. Outstanding. Exemplary.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for TrueColors Series #4, Pitch Black: Color Me Lost
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 4, 2009
The night I bought this book I stayed up all night reading it I just could not put it down. This is so far the best out of the three pervious books in the series. Peace out!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for TrueColors Series #4, Pitch Black: Color Me Lost
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
Ally
This book is so good! It deals with real issues unlike all those lollipop and rainbow books. I hope Melody Carlson writes more like this!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for TrueColors Series #4, Pitch Black: Color Me Lost
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
Abbey
I think this is the best Melody Carlson book I've read. Anyone who thinks this book is boring must not be ready to face the issue. I attempted suicide 3 times and this book helped me to cope. While it didn't give much of a recovery process, it was an amazing book, with the pictures Morgan decided to take for a memory of herself and the feeling of hopelessness and not knowing if anyone cares. I recommend this book to everyone, even non-Christians (as I was at the time I first read it.) Especially for those ready to accept that people do get depressed and do attempt suicide. I also recommend this to those who like me, have attempted, especially if they are in a psych hospital (its always good to get encouragement while you're there, too.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for TrueColors Series #4, Pitch Black: Color Me Lost
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Anna
I love this book. It is so real and honest, holding nothing back. I do not feel at all that it encourages suicide. I read this book shortly after a suicide attempt myself, and thought that it captured exactly the way I had felt. Rather than bring about new suicidal thoughts, it helped me to overcome them. Melody Carlson is superior in the field of capturing teenage emotion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for TrueColors Series #4, Pitch Black: Color Me Lost
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:March 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kiersten
Well, this book was really depressing and not really all that interesting, even. I guess it's probably good that M.C. writes about tough things, but I just didn't like this book nearly as much as I like her other ones.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for TrueColors Series #4, Pitch Black: Color Me Lost
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 18, 2007
Customer Avatar
Chloe
I absolutely loved this book. I feel that just because it confronts suicide, it does not suggest it. This was the only book I've ever read that made me cry. I highly suggest reading this book because it is very touching. It shows that even though your life may be bad, you can always make it at least a little better by asking God for help.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for TrueColors Series #4, Pitch Black: Color Me Lost
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:June 6, 2007
Customer Avatar
Gabriella
I did not like this book at all. I thought it was poorly written, and dangerous to those with suicidal tendencies. Melody Carlson should be more careful in the future, and avoid triggering such harmful things.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for TrueColors Series #4, Pitch Black: Color Me Lost
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 13, 2007
Customer Avatar
Mmmmm
This book was excellent!!!! It talks about the depressing subject of death and suicide. I, just a couple of monthes ago, had thought of suicide. I was gonna drown myself instead of an overdose,though. I can really relate to this book.Melody Carlson does a wonderful job at writing about the thoughts of a depressed teen who is considering suicide. Melody Carlson is an outstanding author, with books that really grab ahold of your attention. Pitch Black is a wonderful book!!! Be sure you have time to read before you start reading because it is almost impossible to put this book down!!! Great job Carlson!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for TrueColors Series #4, Pitch Black: Color Me Lost
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 30, 2006
Customer Avatar
Jessie
This book is definitely on a serious subject. It's sad that people even consider checking out. But there are many that do every minute.They just don't realize what God has in store for them. Thanks so much for writing this book! I have to admit it was a little depressing but still awesome! Once I started it I could not put it down!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for TrueColors Series #4, Pitch Black: Color Me Lost
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 24, 2006
Customer Avatar
Deborah
Pitch Black, book 4 in the True Colors series, takes a look at teen suicide, a sensitive yet important issue. Morgan's best friend has taken his life and she and two friends are struggling to figure out why. They come up with the solution that it is best to join him and they make a suicide pact. As Morgan finds out what really happen, she decides to rethink her stance and help others realize that it's not worth it to end your life.I feel that this was a very good book that teens should read. What I found interesting is that Jason tried to kill himself not for the sake of his peers' attention but for his father's. Imagine the guilt his father will now face the rest of his life. The essay about the effects of Tylenol overdose was very informative and should be made more public. I also appreciated Carlson's acknowlegement that Christian teens sometimes shy away from situations they are uncomfortable in handling. When Morgan found herself questioning God, her youth group and even her best friend distanced themselves away from her. Those are the times when they should have been there for her the most.I feel that many teens believe that no one would care if they died and everyone would be better off if they were gone. I know that because I used to feel that way myself. This should not be the case. Suicide is a topic that many Christians are afraid to bring up. Churches and youth groups need to be aware that even their members are struggling with this idea. I hope that more people, teens and adults, read this book and understand that there needs to be more attention brought to this issue. It might even save a life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.