Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Once Upon a Prince, Royal Wedding Series #1 -eBook

Zondervan Once Upon a Prince, Royal Wedding Series #1 -eBook

When crown prince Nathaniel takes an American holiday to St. Simon's Island, he's not looking for love. Like everything else in his life, the choice of a bride is out of his hands---a matter dictated by his royal position. But when he meets Susanna under the ancient Lover's Oak in southern Georgia, will romance trump responsibility?
Average Customer Rating:
4.566 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(53 Reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (53 reviews)
5 stars
35
4 stars
13
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 star
0
50 out of 5394%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Once Upon a Prince, Royal Wedding Series #1 -eBook
Review 1 for Once Upon a Prince, Royal Wedding Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

In danger of turning into a fangirl over this one!

Date:March 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
JCMorrows
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Oh my word, I am in definite danger of turning into a giggling, gushing, fan-girl over this book.
Over a year ago I skimmed through it at the insistence of my mother and I surely wish I’d done more than skim. Of course, it may not have had the same impact on me then that it has now so perhaps it was for the best.
I’ve just finished reading the book and, despite being under the influence of a nasty stomach bug, I feel the most wonderful glow inside and out.
WHAT an amazing story!
WHAT a wonderful idea!
SO MUCH better than a silly story of magic slippers or enchanted spinning wheels. I do think the cover designer might have benefited from reading the book a bit more closely but my personal morals are so different from almost everyone else’s, I’m sure they thought the cover was positively pure. It’s just me and my son who look at it and wince. However, at the end of the day, the cover art can not possibly diminish the wonderful message contained within the pages!
Like so many other young girls, I grew up on fairy tales and it took me one failed marriage and several failed relationships to admit that believing in fairy tales was not such a good thing for a grown-woman but “Once Upon A Prince” is a real-life fairy tale that I can get behind. You’re still left with a story book feel and you still end up with a happy ending (I feel no danger in revealing that because it’s not the one you’ll be expecting and… the book has been out a while now) but it really feels real through and through.
BRAVO Rachel Hauck!
And now I get to jump right into the next story! SO there is a bit of a bonus for me waiting so long to really read the book. I don’t have to sit on tacks while I wait for book 2. YAY!
Watch for the review! It’s coming soon and don’t miss out on the Facebook party that Litfuse is throwing to celebrate on March 6th! LINK
And if you haven’t read the book, you definitely should!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Once Upon a Prince, Royal Wedding Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:February 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
cricket
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Princess Diaries movie remake in a different setting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Once Upon a Prince, Royal Wedding Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Thinking Thoughts RE:View

Date:January 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
EAHendryx
Location:Santa Clarita, Ca
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There is something about a fairy tale that captures a deep part of my heart. The notion of leading a kingdom, royalty, and elegant balls all resonate with my imagination and leave me daydreaming in a world where nobility is a reality and true love is always found.
Rachel Hauck's Once Upon A Prince, the first book in her Royal Wedding Series, meets all the qualifications (and more) for an honest-to-goodness, real-life fairy tale.
I found Susanna and Prince Nathaniel to be genuine, honest characters. From the moment I was introduced to the initial setting of St. Simon's Island, I was captured by the beauty Hauck described. I felt the soft Gerogian wind and could see the rolling sea oats lining the shore.
Rachel Hauck has a way of painting a story on your heart. Her descriptions are more felt than read and create the type of experience that transports her readers into the book.
For a plot that could be viewed as 'over done' or 'cliche', I didn't get that feeling at all from Once Upon A Prince. Hauck dealt with a fictitious country, politics and laws of this country, and ceremonies and customs all in a believable and understandable way that added to the plot.
I'd highly recommend this to anyone who enjoys Christian Romance, fairy tales, or just good writing in general! It's an excellent book and I'm looking forward to the next in the series.
Originally posted on my blog: http://eahendryx.blogspot.com/2014/01/once-upon-prince-by-rachel-hauck-review.html
_____________________
I received a free copy of this book for review purposes, but was under no obligation to read the book or post a review. I do so under my own motivation and the opinions I have expressed in this review are honest and entirely my own.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Once Upon a Prince, Royal Wedding Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a Modern day fairy tale

Date:January 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
Marianne
Location:Wanham, Alberta
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jilted! And from there the story of Susanna, flows and ebbs. Adam, who has been in Susanna's life forever has just returned from a tour of Afghanistan. This is the first day she sees him, though he has been home for three days. Instead of the proposal Susanna is expecting, he tells her he loves someone else.
Rachel Hauck is a fantastic author and uses her unique voice and superb use of words to paint vivid images of the scenes around her characters while making the people realistic, though not perfect. Walking along a beach, I could almost feel the sand between my feet and smell the ocean while seeing the waves rolling in. A modern day fairy tale, Once Upon a Prince is a story that every girl dreams of, where a simple girl can truly win the love of prince.
Faith when plans go awry, Trust that although God's plans are not my plans, things will turn out the way He has planned for me and I can feel His love as well.
I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers for the purpose of reviewing it. A positive critique was not required, just an honest one. The opinions are my own.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Once Upon a Prince, Royal Wedding Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome love story

Date:December 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jennie Lynn
Location:Bronx, NY
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I could not keep my hands off of this book. If you are a hopeless romantic and believe in true love you will love this book. Embedded in the story is an important Christ centered message. It spoke to me personally and I know it will speak to you also. I definitely recommend this book.
Happy Reading! :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Once Upon a Prince, Royal Wedding Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Viki
Location:FT. Wright, KY
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love Rachel Hauck's books. Read the first book that Sara Evan's co wrote with Rachel had to finish all three in that series. Since then I have been reading Rachel Hauck's books. Just finished reading The Wedding Dress. Once you start reading her books you can't put them down. It is so good to read a good book with Christian characters.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Once Upon a Prince, Royal Wedding Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Cinderella meets Ruth

Date:November 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Gringa93
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a fun romantic "Cinderella" story. There is a touch of the Bible woven in that reminded me of the story of Ruth. All girls would love to find a true prince to marry and this was a fun read.
Susanna thought she had her life figured out. She was going to marry her high school sweetheart. After all she had waited 12 years for him, on the night of her "proposal" he tells her he has fallen for someone else. Deep in her heart Susanna knows that this is the right thing, but what will her life look like now?!
Susanna runs into Nate after being dumped. Things do not seem to go right, but Nate takes her to her family restaurant, where he is put to work scrubbing bathrooms. Little does the family realize that he really is a prince. Susanna and Nate form a friendship before Nate has to return to his duties as a prince. Eventually the family finds out Nate's royal bloodlines.
Nate has to return home and take over the family business. Susanna tries to start her own landscaping business, but that doesn't work out the way she had planned. Everything seems to be falling apart for her when an invitation from Prince Nathaniel arrives to attend his "crowning ceremony". Susanna and her sister arrive for the festivities. Nate's family thinks that this is just a short lived romance, but as any good romance goes, Susanna gets her prince. Lessons are learned along the way and once again we see how God does care about our lives. His higher ways are always the best ways, so we learn to relinquish our trust to Him once again.
I loved this fun fast paced story. I loved being reminded of how God does care for each of us. Our lives tend to take unexpected turns that we can only understand in reverse.
My thanks to Netgalley and Zondervan for giving me the opportunity to read this story. Rachel Hauck is an author I look forward to reading more from in the future.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Once Upon a Prince, Royal Wedding Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Totally worth the read!

Date:October 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
The Quiet Eccentric
Location:Canada
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fairytales? Who reads those anymore? I mean, they're cliche romances stuck in a paperback.
Or are they...
Once Upon a Prince is well written, sweet and fun, but best of all we get to indulge our inner romantic, because deep inside, every girl wants a royal fairy tale!
I mean, you can't compare this novel to a great, epic classic because that wouldn't be fair. This is a lighter read with lots of heart and it treats us to princes, castles and the type of fairytale everyone dreams of. So sprawl out on your bed with a cozy blanket, keep a cup of tea close by and enjoy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Once Upon a Prince, Royal Wedding Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Modern Romance

Date:October 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would describe this story as a modern day style romance. I gave this book 4/5 stars. Although the story itself was a little boring the characters made the story entertaining. The main character of Susanna was written very well and you could see her change over the course of the story. The male lead was Nathaniel and he was also written as a changing character. Overall the story may have been a typical story of poor girl rich boy but I did enjoy it and would read it again. I would recommend this book to anyone looking for a modern yet clean romance.
I would like to thank the publisher for the copy of this book I enjoyed reading. I gave an honest review based on my opinion of what I read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Once Upon a Prince, Royal Wedding Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

ultimate fairy tale

Date:August 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
suetur
Location:Rockdale,TX
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved, loved, loved this book.....very witty dialogue. I read it twice, and I never do that!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Once Upon a Prince, Royal Wedding Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A fun modern-day fairy tale

Date:August 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
aschae92
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Summary:
Susanna Truitt spent the past twelve years of her life waiting for the day Adam Peters would ask her to marry him. But then he breaks up with her on a stormy day on St. Simons Island, GA, claiming he’s “found the right ring but not the right girl.” Now Susanna has to learn to live without the plans she’s been making for more than a decade. And then she meets Nate, a European guy vacationing in St. Simons Island who she keeps running into. Nate has a history of his own, though. A royal history, complete with plans to become king of his home country…and a requirement that he marry a woman also born of noble blood. Why would God allow Susanna and Prince Nathaniel to fall in love if they can never be together? Could He have a noble purpose and a “happily ever after” in store for a Southern girl and a royal heir?
My Thoughts:
Once Upon a Prince is a present-day fairy tale. Combine that knowledge with the title and cover of the book, and you might be confident in your prediction of how it ends. But I love a good fairy tale, and this is certainly a good one, complete with twists, turns, and unpredictable situations. The story alternates between the perspective of Susanna and Prince Nathaniel. Being from the South, I could identify a lot with Susanna’s world and easily see things through her eyes. That was even more interesting when I got to see how she sees royalty and all of the customs and privileges that come with it. I felt for Susanna throughout the different trials she faces, and I enjoyed Nathaniel’s perspective, too. Her side of the story is that of a “commoner,” while his side is official, prestigious, and…well, royal. It’s definitely a fun contrast.
The novel opens with Adam breaking up with Susanna. While I’m not sure how many pages this scene actually was (I read it on my Kindle, and I like to customize my font size), it lasts for a long time. Since the story doesn’t revolve around Adam and Susanna’s relationship, I thought all of this background info could’ve been condensed a little. Likewise, some conversational scenes were lengthy, but there were always lots of details to hold my interest.
The story is both serious and light-hearted. While reading this book, one minute I’d be saying, “Awww!” and the next minute I’d be laughing out loud. The interactions between characters are always entertaining, and each has a unique voice. Especially Avery, Susanna’s hilarious younger sister.
In Conclusion:
As a little girl, I dreamed of being a princess. I dreamed of castles and fancy ball gowns and Prince Charming. Actually, those things are still fun to daydream about. And that’s why Rachel Hauck’s newest book is such a fun read. It’s light enough that you can pick it up, read a few pages, then come back to it later. But it also weaves an endearing story about two characters you won’t want to leave.
Rachel Hauck is a master at crafting Christian romantic comedy novels filled with clean, uplifting content. I’m looking forward to the next book in the Royal Wedding series!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com http://BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Once Upon a Prince, Royal Wedding Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A charming story...

Date:July 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jen Pen
Location:Midwest
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SUMMARY:
Told from her boyfriend of twelve years that he “found the right ring but the wrong girl”, Susanna vows to search for her one-true-love. Through a series of misfortunes and heartbreaks, Susanna does meet the man of her dreams but discovers he is unavailable due to his birthright of being a future King as well as an outdated, ancient decree. True love does have a way of winning though…
A PENNY FOR MY THOUGHTS:
From the absolutely adorable book cover to the modern day fairytale (albeit a bit relevant while waiting for the Royal baby to appear), I found myself positively enjoying this novel! Though a new author for me, I am sure I will no longer be a stranger to her books. Inspired by Prince William and Princess Catherine of Cambridge, the author, Rachel Hauck, does a gracious job of bringing the Prince of Brighton and everyday, simple, issue-ridden Susanna together through funny moments and endearing junctures all within Christian perspectives. I appreciated the contemporary love-story with morals and values intact. As the pages continued to turn faster, I found myself hoping for a sequel (which there will be)! Definitely a book worth reading and sharing!
RATING: 4.5 (out of 5) pennies
*I received a complimentary copy of Once Upon a Prince from BookSneeze in exchange for my honest review*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Once Upon a Prince, Royal Wedding Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Modern day romance

Date:July 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
GodBlessAmerica
Location:Hills of Kentucky
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A beautiful romance that breaks down social barriers between Royals and Commoners. Once Upon A Prince is a lesson in getting out of your comfort zone. Suzanna "Suz" finds out there can be
"the right ring, but the wrong girl." Does God have a better plan for Suzanna? Sure he does and
she gets more than she ever expected. I really enjoyed this modern day fairytale.
I give Once Upon A Prince 4 out of 5 stars.
I received this book from Net Galley and Zondervan Fiction for my honest review. I was not paid in any way for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Once Upon a Prince, Royal Wedding Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Modern Day Fairytale

Date:July 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Trudi
Location:Bath, NY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Okay, maybe you say – too farfetched, for an American girl to marry a Prince from a small European monarchy? Well, it happened in the 50’s…and it’s a fun speculation as well as a recipe for an entertaining story!
Take one American girl, whose long engagement has just ended in broken dreams.
Add one European prince, who retreats to the family’s American get-away spot for some much-needed reflection, as he faces seemingly impossible choices.
Mix them together – one surprise meeting leads to an unexpected friendship.
The result – a romance that just can’t be – or can it? When other members of the Royal family get involved, their scheming doesn’t work out quite the way they thought it would. Humor adds spice to the story!
This is the story of two young people facing difficult decisions with faith, strong character, and true love. Altogether, a delightful story! I’m definitely looking forward to reading more in this series.
I received a free copy of this book in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Once Upon a Prince, Royal Wedding Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Every Girl's Dream

Date:July 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tammy Sotela
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What girl does not dream of meeting the Prince at some point in her life? In this book the dream comes true. I read this book while traveling with my husband/my prince as we celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary. It was just the right book at the right time. Deep Sigh!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Once Upon a Prince, Royal Wedding Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Prince among books

Date:July 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sarah H
Location:Texas
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age Appropriate For: 13 and up (thematic material, romance)
Best for Ages: 15 and up
I am going to start this review with the one thing I didn't like about this book: the cover. For me, the cover gave me pause. It made it look like the book would have content that might not be appropriate It isn't so much what is shown as what is implied. Thankfully, the cover had nothing to do with the story. I hope this type of cover doesn't become a trend for Zondervan books.
Thank goodness I chose not to judge this book by its cover, because it was an amazingly wonderful story. The romance in it was so clean and so God honoring that even younger readers might find themselves liking it. Seriously, I don't think I have read a romance from a traditional publisher that made me jump up and down saying "That is the kind of romance I want!" until I read this book.
Both characters like each other from the beginning, but feelings are not the center of the romance, only a factor. Most of the time Nate and Susanna spend together is spent talking, often about faith. When they are apart, they don't spend all the time dreaming of kisses, hand-holding, and such, the miss each other's advice, thoughts, and presence.
Nathaniel was so amazing. There are not many heroes in books who think more about duty and honor than their hormones. He was the type of guy I am looking for - the type who treats girls with respect and honor; the type who cares more about a girl's heart than her body. That isn't to say he wasn't attracted to Susanna. Let's be honest, it would be weird to have a romance where there was no attraction. It is simply that he thinks more about who she is than the fact that she is pretty.
The fairy-tale aspect was so fun. So maybe it wasn't 100% believable, but who cares. It was so fun! The settings were so lovely that I could hear the accents, and the history of the fictional country was well presented. Some of the political aspect was murky, but not too bad.
The faith message was awesome. It was well-constructed, not too heavy, and central to the story. Both Suzanna and Nate helped build each other's faith.
I highly recommend this book to anyone looking for a clean fairy tale, God-honoring romance, and characters that are strong of faith and character.
I received this book from Zondervan through Booksneeze in exchange for my honest review. I was under no obligation to write a positive review. The opinions in this review are entirely my own.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Once Upon a Prince, Royal Wedding Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Summer Read

Date:June 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lois Lane
Location:Los Angeles
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is a perfect “Beach Book” for an entertaining and romantic read. I only wish I had been at the beach when I read it! Rachel Hauck has taken an old theme and given it a lot of twists to make it an enjoyable modern fairy tale. It is a fun clean romance that I would be happy to share with my teenage daughter.
Unlike the subservient fairy tale Cinderella, Susanna is a strong female lead who would make today’s young girls proud with her “Girl Power”. Ironically her main character flaw involves her need to have control and put her plans first. Throughout the book, Susanna has to learn to “let go and let God”. When she does, she finds that God’s plans are so much better than her own which leads to a beautiful and romantic fairy tale ending.
Prince Nate turned King is every girls’ dream. Though he often rescues Susanna, it is not done in a way to weaken her character at all. Besides, what woman doesn’t like a man, let alone a prince, who is willing to do dishes and clean bathrooms.
The only character that I felt didn’t really work was Aurora. Her back story is very fascinating as an independent wealthy business woman who has turned homeless by choice. Her insight in giving Susanna advice really works; however, the parts where she comes off more as a fortune teller seem outlandish and not really in character with the rest of the book. But, it is only a minor plot line and easy to overlook.
I love the fun and clever dialogue that puts this book on the top of my summer reading list. It is definitely a keeper with 5 stars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Once Upon a Prince, Royal Wedding Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fabulous!

Date:June 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Beach Breeze
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Once Upon a Prince, Royal Wedding Series #1
I am an avid reader of contemporary fiction and a Rachel Hauck fan. This book represents what true abandoned for Christ really means. When a prince, soon to be king, meets unsuspecting Susanna, it is just like Jesus meeting an imprisoned needy soul. This is perhaps her best novel yet; however, I say that whenever I complete any of her writings. She truly has a heart for the Savior and represents the Father with a tenderness and firmness of His WORD.
I was moved beyond words.
Jeremiah 22:3
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Once Upon a Prince, Royal Wedding Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A fun read

Date:June 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Beth
Location:Covina, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Once Upon a Prince: Book #1 in the Royal Wedding series by Rachel Hauck is a fictional modern day romance.
Who could possibly help Susanna after the soldier she’s been dating for twelve years breaks off their relationship because he loves someone else? Who can help her when she suddenly quits her job as a landscape architect and ends up working at her parents’ restaurant? And who can help her when she finds herself being confronted by a vagrant after her tire goes flat? Of course! A prince! Prince Nathaniel. But she obviously doesn’t know he’s a prince. Susanna’s mom has him cleaning toilets and bussing tables at Rib Shack until Susanna recognizes his face on a coin from his country, Brighton. Though Nathaniel begins to develop affections towards Susanna, he explains that Brighton law prohibits royalty from marrying foreigners. Now what are they to do?
I enjoyed the twists and turns, vivid location descriptions and emotional tugs of this book. More than once, I found myself reading “one more chapter” just because I couldn’t leave the characters in their current state of turmoil. Romance and princes are my preferred elements in any book!
There was one character I couldn’t quite figure out why she was in the book at all, Aurora. She is an eccentric tent dwelling former politician who seems to prophetically declare what’s going to happen. I just didn’t see the need to add her to the storyline.
However, overall, I was very pleased with this e-book and will look for other books in this series in the future.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com® <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Once Upon a Prince, Royal Wedding Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jenn
Location:Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
I ordered this book last night as an e-book and could not put it down. I was fist introduced to the author when she wrote with Sara Evans and love her books. I was so excited to be able to get the first book in the series. It is about a girl who had a life plan and basically, God showed her that He is in control of her life and not her. That he is going to take care of all of the details. This is such a great book and I'm really excited to read the next books in the series. I hate that I have to wait for the next one to come out!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.