Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Harriet Beamer Strikes Gold - eBook

Zondervan Harriet Beamer Strikes Gold - eBook

Harriet settles into a new life in Grass Valley, California, and gets caught up in another adventure when she decides to lease a gold mine. After listening to the pleas of a desperate teen whose daddy needs money right away---and happens to have a gold mine to lease---Harriet falls hook, line, and sinker into the venture. Although she is nervous about her investment, Harriet chooses to keep it a secret from her son, Henry, and his wife who have just learned they are expecting a baby. And besides, this just may be the ticket to a golden windfall.

But when Harriet's friend Martha comes for a visit, she convinces Harriet to come clean because she is suspicious and just doesn't buy that the operation is legit. Harriet may never see an ounce of gold, but it is the fate of the young teen that really begins to matter. And it takes an emergency with her daughter-in-law, Prudence, for Harriet to learn where her true treasure lies.

Average Customer Rating:
4.308 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 out of 13100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Harriet Beamer Strikes Gold - eBook
Review 1 for Harriet Beamer Strikes Gold - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Location:Ontario, Ca.
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the second book in what I’m calling the Harriett Beemer series. In this book, Harriett has finally arrived in California to live with her son Henry and daughter-in-law Prudence. She has recovered from her hospital stay and has a nice place to live with a loving family, but in truth she is a little bit unhappy. She doesn’t feel as useful as she once did, so when Henry and Prudence push her to get out of the house and meet new people and try new things, she gets involved with a con-artist and his daughter. Things go from bad to worse when Henry and Prudence announce they are expecting, and Harriett decides she can help with the baby’s expenses by investing in a gold mine.
Ok, in all honesty, I just wasn’t as smitten with this book as I was with the first one. Maybe it’s because of what I do for a living, I see just how easy it is for some people to take advantage of the elderly so the book wasn’t nearly as enjoyable for me.
However, there were a lot of great things about this book. We get a great back story about Harriett’s best friend Martha when she come to California to visit. We have some great funny moments with Henry as he makes Humphrey, his mom’s basset hound, his new best friend and how he worries over his mother and the lengths he will go to make sure she’s alright. Harriett seems a bit more gullible in this book than in the last, but her heart was definitely in the right place, and in the end Harriett discovers where her real “treasure” lies.
All in all this was a good light hearted read and I can’t wait until the next book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Harriet Beamer Strikes Gold - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Queen of Quirk Strikes Again!

Date:January 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
Terri Gillespie
Location:Outside Philadelphia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Who says you can’t be adventurous at any age? Ask Harriet Beamer! In the second book of the series, Harriet Beamer Strikes Gold, Joyce Magnin has given readers another charming and laugh-out-loud story.
Finally arriving in Grass Valley, California—after a hair-raising adventure in book one, Harriet Beamer Rides the Bus—the heroine moves in with her son, Henry and daughter-in-law, Prudence. While Henry is breathing a sigh of relief that his mother is safely ensconced in their nice suburban home, Harriet feels out of place—she is itching for another adventure.
She doesn’t have far to look when she meets a young girl and her father who are searching for investors in a gold mine. Harriet is drawn into the dream of finding gold and being able to be less of a burden and more of a support to her family.
Readers will not be disappointed in Harriet’s foibles and faith.
Magnin’s voice for quirky, believable characters in exciting adventures continues to entertain and bless.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from Zondervan in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Harriet Beamer Strikes Gold - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Sequel to HARRIET BEAMER TAKES THE BUS

Date:September 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cora
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
HARRIET BEAMER STRIKES GOLD is a light-reading fiction but not as delightful as Jan Magnin's previous Harriet Beamer tale. Harriet is now living with her son, a writer, and daughter-in-law, a lawyer, in mid-California when she gets taken in a gold mine scam. Harriet and her son Henry do a lot of fussing. Prudence wants to get pregnant...and does. There is a neighbor who bakes superb pies for Henry but I was unsure at the end why this character was not more developed...or eliminated. If the main character can travel across the U.S. by bus, motorcycle, etc, as in the previous novel, why would she be gullible enough to invest thousands of dollars in a goldmine scam?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Harriet Beamer Strikes Gold - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Story

Date:September 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
deanna13
Location:Jonesboro, LA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Harriet Beamer Strikes Gold by Joyce Magnin is a most delightful story about a seventy plus widow and all the adventures she has and all the scrapes she gets into. Harriet is living in Pennsylvania but her son, Henry, convinces her to move to Grass Valley, California to live with him and his wife, Prudence. Harriet has reservations about moving but she and Humphrey, her basset hound that loves donuts, make the move across the country. Shortly after arriving in California, Harriet learns that she is to be a grandma and that a “Grammy suite” is going to be added to the house. Harriet is almost as excited about the suite as she is about the expected grandchild for now she will have a place to display her enormous collection of salt and pepper shakers. Harriet is always getting involved in one adventure or another and she gets drawn into the life of a young girl after listening to her explain that her dad has a gold mine to lease but he needs money right away. Harriet falls completely and gives money to the man but she decides to keep the venture from her son. When her best friend, Martha, comes to visit, she has doubts about the mine and convinces Harriet to go to the police. Both women are fond of the man’s daughter and do everything they can to help her.
All the characters were very well developed and they came to life as I read the book and I felt as if they were friends of mine. Descriptions of scenes were so realistic that I could see them clearly in my mind and even see myself in the middle of what was going on. There was even a good bit of suspense in the story. Prudence has had two miscarriages and at one point it seemed that she was going to have a third. There was a surprise when they learned there would be twins. The biggest suspense was if Harriet would ever see a speck of gold and would Martha decide to sell her home in Pennsylvania and move to California? I do not want to spoil the ending but I will say that it is a happy ending.
I highly recommend this book to everyone who enjoys a good Christian story and especially one that has an adventurous female senior citizen as the main character.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from Zondervan as part of the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Harriet Beamer Strikes Gold - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very Good!

Date:September 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ragdogs
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First, I thank Zondervan Publishing for sending me this book for this honest review.
This was a very enjoyable book. Lots of humorous moments that made me laugh. Harriet is lovable character that you would love to meet and listen to her tell stories from “back in the day”.
Henry and Prudence were also very good characters. I really enjoyed the parts where it described Henry writing, how he would use things that had happened to him and weaved them into the story. I also enjoyed the families they mentioned that had 5 or 6 kids, and how Henry reacted to such a great number!
The dog, Humphrey, also made the book that much better, because he was a part of the family! This book is very highly recommended and I encourage you to read it! Have a wonderful day!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Harriet Beamer Strikes Gold - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The adorable Harriet Beamer...

Date:August 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jen Pen
Location:Midwest
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SUMMARY:
Harriet Beamer recently moved across the country to live with her son and daughter-in-law. Harriet’s son eagerly suggested she find friends in the area to help her become comfortable; however, Harriet found more than friends. Harriet befriends a young girl and her father – yet, she also takes on so much more than she ever bargained for. Suddenly, Harriet is swept away in an unforgettable journey that all starts with a gold mine…
A PENNY FOR MY THOUGHTS:
Harriet Beamer is such an adorable character, the readers will be left wishing they could meet her in person. Of course, Harriet’s trusty side-kick, the Basset Hound Humphrey, seals the deal (just check out the darling cover). When taken as a fast, light read, the novel is filled with humor, adventure and just a touch of mystery; however, it can become choppy at times within the dialogs exchanged. Overall, the novel will leave the reader hoping for another book in the series. (This particular novel is not the first in the series.) Definitely a story to enjoy this summer yet.
RATING:
4 (out of 5) pennies
*I received a complimentary copy of Harriet Beamer Strikes Gold from BookSneeze and Zondervan for my honest review*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Harriet Beamer Strikes Gold - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

“Harriet Beamer Strikes Gold” by Joyce Magnin

Date:August 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
tickmenot
Location:Kansas City
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a fictional story about senior citizen Harriet Beamer. She has recently given up her independence by selling her home on the east coast. She and her dog, Humphrey, have moved in with her son, Henry, and daughter-in-law, Prudence, in California. The move has left Harriet feeling anxious and alone.
One of her passions has been collecting salt and pepper shakers. Unfortunately, there isn’t room for them in her new abode, and they all remain packed in boxes in the garage. She doesn’t feel at home with her children, instead she feels like a guest–that she must ask permission to do anything in the house. Harriet hasn’t met any new friends, and she misses her best friend, Martha, from her old hometown. She doesn’t feel at home at her kid’s church, either. There is no one her age there, and whenever she goes, they always give her “the bum’s rush” to do nursery duty.
Henry has been encouraging Harriet to get out of the house and try to meet people. During one of those attempts, Harriet meets teenager, Lily, and her father, Win–a gold miner. Win attempts to convince Harriet to invest in a venture that he promises will pay well.
Harriet’s life goes from dull to over-the-top. Prudence has become pregnant, an exciting but stressful event because she has miscarried her previous pregnancies. Prudence and Henry surprise Harriet with plans to build a home addition for an in-law suite. Her good friend Martha comes for a visit which brings comfort, but also some unexpected news. Both Martha and Harriet find themselves really connecting with Lily and are very concerned for her.
Will Prudence be able to carry this baby to term? Will Harriet get fleeced by a con artist? Will Harriet ever feel comfortable living under her children’s roof, or will she start over someplace else? And lastly, is Lily a nice girl, or a wolf in sheep’s clothing?
This is a fun, light-reading book with humor spread throughout. However, it does cover some real issues such as con men preying on the elderly, and the problems of trying to blend two families together under one roof. Also addressed is the plight of some churches concentrating so much on younger crowds that the seniors are forgotten or “shoved” into nursery duty, or some other area where they will be out of the way.
The title definitely fits this tale. This is entertaining fiction that is easy to read. Although this is the second book in a series, I felt this book could stand alone. I do want to read the first book, however, because I liked the characters, and would relish a new adventure with them. I enjoyed this book, it is a good, clean story. It receives my recommendation and five stars.
The publisher has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book through Thomas Nelson/Zondervan Publishing for the purpose of review. All opinions expressed are my own, and I have not been compensated in any other manner. Despite my receiving the book free, it has not influenced my judgment, and I have given an honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Harriet Beamer Strikes Gold - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 9, 2013
She’s baaa-aaack! The zany yet lovable Harriet Beamer is back in all her glory! She has completed her cross country move and is settling into her new place with her son and daughter-in-law. The problem is that it has been three months and she still feels like a visitor. Her room is tiny and her daughter-in-law just doesn't seem to share her sense of style. Harriet is missing her own space and her best friend Martha.
It doesn't take long for Harriet to get mixed up in her next adventure. When Harriet meets Lily and decides to become an investor in the gold mine Lily’s father Winslow is involved in, the shenanigans begin.
From her red high top Converse All Stars to her hip yellow Vespa scooter Harriet Beamer is a force to be reckoned with. Her son Henry, daughter-in-law Prudence and her friends Martha and Florence have their hands full just keeping her out of the trouble that just seems to fall in her lap.
Joyce Magnin has put together another rollicking adventure for her readers. Her characters are quirky, funny and delightful all rolled together. While this is book two in her current series I think that you can still enjoy this book as a stand-alone but of course you’d really be treating yourself if you went back and read HarrietBeamer Takes the Bus.
I received a copy of this book to facilitate my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Harriet Beamer Strikes Gold - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

a good book for elderly readers

Date:August 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is the second novel about Harriet Beamer, aged 72. She's made the move from the east coast to California to live with her son and daughter-in-law. It's been a few months but she is just not settled. She misses her good friend Martha and she hasn't made any friends here. Her son's church is all young people. There is no room to put out her salt and pepper shaker collection. And she doesn't have a car, just her Vespa. At least she does have her donut loving basset hound.
Adventure comes to Harriet as she meets a young girl in a restaurant. A young girl who has a scraggly father who has a gold mine to lease. Harriet falls for the scheme, thinking it will provide some extra income to help with the addition her son is building on the house, and who knows what else? While she does have some second thoughts, she hands over cash.
This is definitely a novel for older readers, at least Harriet's age. The action is slow and methodical. The issues Harriet faces will be of interest only to older readers. For me, the action was too predictable and the dialog too common place. There is a little bit of humor here and there, but, in general, the dialog is unremarkable.
The strength of this novel is the lesson Harriet learns, where her real gold lies. There is a great deal of compassion shown by Harriet and her friend Martha. It was refreshing to read about the elderly wanting to help a teen girl whose father was a crook.
A good book for elderly readers.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Harriet Beamer Strikes Gold - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Just Plain Fun

Date:August 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Columbus, GA
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Harriet’s back! And I still want to be just like her when I grow up. Well, maybe I don’t want to be quite so gullible or quick to jump to wrong conclusions. But I like her adventurous spirit--and her bright, red sneakers!
In the first book, in case you haven’t read it yet, 72-year-old Harriet Beamer travels from Pennsylvania to California by rather unconventional means and learns all kinds of lessons along the way. In this second book, "Harriet Strikes Gold," Harriet is now living with her son and daughter-in-law, getting used to her new town. Of course, Humphrey the dog is with her, and he’s still eating all the donuts he can get his paws on. But Harriet is feeling a little bit discouraged. She hasn’t made any new friends, nor does she want to. She wonders if her family really wants her there or if they feel obligated to care for her in her senior years. And worst of all, there is no room in their little house for her salt and pepper shaker collection.
Things change quickly, though, when a neighbor from down the street takes Harriet to visit a real gold mind, then tells her about placer mines for lease. Harriet is picturing herself panning for gold with Humphrey when a teenage girl and her father approach with the opportunity of a lifetime, and Harriet’s new adventure begins.
This book was so much fun, I read it straight through. It ended just perfectly for everyone involved. I’ll be watching for book 3. I thank Zondervan Publishers for sending a complimentary copy of this book for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Harriet Beamer Strikes Gold - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Light-hearted Adventure

Date:August 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sally
Location:Tampa, FL
Harriet, a delightful seventy-two year-old lady lives with her son, his wife, their cat, and Humphrey, a basset hound. I easily connected with her. I found myself chuckling at various passages. The novel is written in a light-hearted style that's easy to follow.
Food is one theme of this story. In one day, three people consume a dozen glazed doughnuts, a blueberry pie, and a peach cobbler! (I wonder at the size of these characters.) I love sweets, but this seems to be way too much. I wonder if the author is using meals and food as padding for the storyline.
Some mistakes in editing are hard to ignore. At the bottom of page174, Harriet is talking to Harriet. (She should have been talking to Martha.) On page 258, Pru and Henry park; however, on page 259, they get "ready to leave the house." (Sections are misplaced.) A reader is easily distracted with errors like these.
Thank you to Thomas Nelson Publisher for providing me with a complimentary copy of this book through BookSneeze®.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Harriet Beamer Strikes Gold - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Review of the book Harriet Beamer Strikes Gold

Date:August 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
britluver20021
Location:Arnold, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this book. I read it in 4 hours on an airplane trip. This story is about a woman named Harriet who ends up living with her son and wife in law and she gets anxious and tries to find more friends. She ends up getting into a scam with this man and his daughther into buying a gold mine to mine gold and she ends up giving that man and daughter a lot of money, so her son looks into it and finds out that she is being scammed and gets the fbi into it and they end up arresting the man and the daughter and then Harriet goes out into her normal life.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Harriet Beamer Strikes Gold - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fun!

Date:August 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Aquinnah Shores Book Reviews
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Harriet Beamer Strikes Gold is a delightful book! It's a fun, easy read perfect for travel, beach, lunch break, or bedtime. I was sent my free paperback copy from Thomas Nelson Publishers last week and from the very first page I was engaged and smiling. Harriet Beamer is a senior citizen from Pennsylvania who moves to California to live with her son and daughter-in-law. Even though her son and daughter-in-law don't think she can take care of herself, she has a thirst for adventure. Harriet collects salt and pepper shakers and travels with her faithful companion, Humphrey (a Bassett Hound) and a fun, quirky personality. She has short, grey hair, wears white Capri pants with blue anchors on the cuffs, and red Converse sneakers. Describing her own outfit she thinks she looks "patriotic and nautical." So cute!! Her best friend is Martha who is her encourager and with whom she shares some of her adventures. They're kind of a senior version of Thelma and Louise (without the sad ending.) This book will make you laugh and cry. It's so witty, cute and entertaining. I was surprised how much I enjoyed this book. Lots of fun and wholesome adventure. If you liked The Golden Girls, the movie Calendar Girls, Enchanted April, Rosamund Pilcher books, or cheeky British comedies, you'll enjoy this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.