Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House A Lineage of Grace

Tyndale House A Lineage of Grace

In this compilation of the five books of the best-selling Lineage of Grace series by Francine Rivers, we meet the five women whom God chose--Tamar, Rahab, Ruth, Bathsheba, and Mary. Each was faced with extraordinary--even scandalous--challenges. Each took great personal risk to fulfill her calling. Each was destined to play a key role in the lineage of Jesus Christ, the Savior of the World.
Average Customer Rating:
4.944 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(36 Reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (36 reviews)
5 stars
34
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
21 out of 21100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for A Lineage of Grace
Review 1 for A Lineage of Grace
This review is fromA Lineage of Grace - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great storytelling of Biblical women

Date:September 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jjnb
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The author paint a realistic picture for your imagination and provides different perspectives for famous Bible stories. The sections at the end of each book were redundant, could have been shortened.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Lineage of Grace
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome book, great compilation of the series!

Date:April 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Derek
Location:Roseburg, OR
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife is loving it just as much as I loved the "Sons of Encouragement" Series. I can't wait til she's done, so that I can start it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Lineage of Grace
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
kath
Location:Buffalo, NY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent read about women of the Bible that makes you put yourself in each of their places in time and circumstance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Lineage of Grace
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
cindy
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wonderful, doctrinally sound presentation of the gospel in narrative form.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Lineage of Grace
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a great book with excellent story lines.

Date:December 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rainbows Promise
Location:Amarillo, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:female
I loved this book. The enrichment of the basic stories from the Bible were very believable and related to the world today. Any reader of this book will be able to relate to the stories. Enjoying this book does not require an in-depth knowledge of the Bible so I would recommend to all readers.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Lineage of Grace
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome Book! Brings Bible stories to life!

Date:June 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
cassbl
Location:Mobile, AL
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this book after reading Redeeming Love by this same author, so I had high expectations. I was excited to learn more about the five Biblical women. This book exceeded my high exceptions and upon completing it, I now feel like I better understand these women and their stories, as well as what it was like during their time and the way God's people felt as they experienced God's love, mercy and judgement. The book is divided into five sections and each section into chapter. Each section covers a different character and her story, staying true to the scriptures but adding some details and dialogue to help bring the stories to life. At the end of each chapter you get to read the actual text from the Bible (I liked this so I could compare what parts were actually from the Bible vs. the parts that the author addds) as well as other scripture to help analyze and dig deeper into the story and lessons learned. Love this book! Am only sad its over.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Lineage of Grace
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful!

Date:May 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Phoenix
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This set of stories of women of the Bible was inspiring and encouraging in many ways. Insight into their character and their lifestyle was touching as well as motivating. I felt as though I could relate to these women who all loved the Lord so much and understood their place of significance in the Bible so much better. I highly recommend this book.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Lineage of Grace
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A muct read

Date:May 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kay Monroe
Location:Telford, PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taken as a novel, you can understand how these women lives MAY have lead them and how they felt. Very well written and close to scripture.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Lineage of Grace
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

excellent for a women's study

Date:May 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Elizabeth Schwerdtfeger
Location:Oklahoma
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
makes for an excellent study for a women's group. study questions after each chapter are good reinforcement.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Lineage of Grace
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Tammy Long
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have enjoyed this book very much and I gave one to my best friend for a Christmas gift.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A Lineage of Grace
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great book.

Date:November 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Vandetta
Location:Marion, OH
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I thought this was a wonderful example of how these women have the same things to go through that we do in our lives today.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for A Lineage of Grace
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
sweetservants
Age:25-34
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great book! I love how the author has written from the point of view of a few women that we "know" from the Bible but whom we have little background on. (Rahab, Bathsheba, Tamar, etc.) The author does a great job of painting a picture of what the women's full experience might have been like and the different emotions they must have felt throughout it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for A Lineage of Grace
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Joyful
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had read the book about Ruth, as I am studying women of
the Bible, to get all five condensed in one volumn was ideal.
Have read about Tamar and am truly satisfied. Love the
book and would recommend it to anyone interested in
women in the Bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for A Lineage of Grace
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is worth reading again

Date:June 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Tina
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I thoroughly enjoyed this book and have recommended it to every woman in my office. This was the first book I have read by this author and I cant wait to read another.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for A Lineage of Grace
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great women of the Bible

Date:June 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jean Schuett
Location:Edgerton, WI
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Francine Rivers is so gifted. She makes these people of the Bible come to life. I pick up anything she writes and can't put it down till I've read it all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for A Lineage of Grace
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a great read with meat to chew on

Date:May 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Shannon
Location:Greenville, SC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been a fan of Francine Rivers for some years now, but I was hesitant to read her novels on these women of the Bible. I was afraid that suppositions would dilute the accuracy of the Biblical record. However, Rivers' skill at telling a great story made this a book that was hard to put down. Additionally, her attention to detail, both Biblical and cultural, made me go back and reread the Biblical passages to see how she came to her interpretations of the possible stories of these women's lives. I was surprised at what she had gleaned from the Scriptures that I had overlooked. I also appreciated the study guide after each story, and the constant reminder that these were only her interpretations. I realized that God has a lot to teach us through these five unlikely ancestors of Christ, and I look forward to reading this book again.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for A Lineage of Grace
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
sal barbera
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was pleasently surprised by the indepth research of Mrs. Rivers' team to tackel biblical characters and still maintain a somewhat hermeneutical balance. We need to be careful not to let scripture speak where it has maintained silence.
Non the less, Rivers, true to her novelist approach, gives us brief glimpes of what could have happened and still keep true as a fiction novelist.
I found this book riveting and i highly recommend it anyone who love God and loves grace. Thank you Francine for being a Godly authors. Great read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for A Lineage of Grace
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great book for young ladies to read

Date:February 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
joycie
Location:Wilm, De
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyed this book and am waiting to pass it on to my granddaughters to read
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for A Lineage of Grace
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love this author's

Date:November 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Beverly Alfonso
Location:Antigo, WI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
work and though I have purchased this book as a gift, I've read other books by her and love them. This one will be as wonderful as her others, I'm sure.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for A Lineage of Grace
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book to read

Date:November 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mary
Location:Montana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this book twice for gifts for ladies. Couldn't put it down once I started reading, it goes quickly. Stories, based on actual women, are so alive and real. The last section was a little harder for me to get through because it gets emotionally deeper to tread through it. Loved what I 'took away' from the book that any woman is good enough for God and He can use any woman, in any situation. We don't have to be perfect and we are good enough just as we are!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>