Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Renegade, Called to Serve Series #2 -eBook

Tyndale House Renegade, Called to Serve Series #2 -eBook

Having grown up in the foster system, Private Pike Morgan's rough exterior and problem with authority earn him few friends among his fellow Marines. When he's not on missions for the Marine Reserve, Pike's rebellious attitude and eagerness for vigilante justice have the local police regularly at his doorstep. Struggling to set down roots, and nervous of his desire to, Pike's eager to answer the military's call for another deployment.
Average Customer Rating:
4.154 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
12 out of 1392%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Renegade, Called to Serve Series #2 -eBook
Review 1 for Renegade, Called to Serve Series #2 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pike Morgan's childhood in the foster care system has made him rebellious, cynical and hard. His rough exterior and disregard for the judicial system has the police department on his doorstep more often than he would like. With his faith in vigilante justice and himself, Pike is part of the Marine Reservists and it gives him a sense of purpose he wouldn't otherwise have. Eager for another deployment, he is anxious for another tour.
When his deployment finally comes, he and his team find themselves in a peacekeeping mission in Afghanistan. What they find is a war zone in a country reaching it's breaking point. When an American journalist is kidnapped, finding the al Qaeda terrorist responsible becomes their top priority. When the terrorist makes a break for neighboring Pakistan, will Pike find himself alone in completing his mission? Or is it too late to save the hapless journalist and convince his team that completing the mission is vital?
This was a great second installment in the Called to Serve series by Odom. I was very excited to read a book with Pike being the primary character, and Odom delivers all the fast paced action and adrenaline rush I've come to anticipate. I love how we get a look into the "bad guys" perspective and point of view. Everyone has their own reasons for doing things and you almost sympathize with both sides of the story; and at the very least understand what drives and motivates them to action. This is the kind of book you don't want to end because it just was that good.
This book was provided by Tyndale House Publishers for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Renegade, Called to Serve Series #2 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Renegade

Date:August 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
bookworm
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In Renegade, Pike is a tough guy with a past that he keeps hidden. Because of crimes that he and his friend committed, his friend was murdered causing Pike to be in the witness protection program. Pike has been assigned to a neighborhood in Tulsa and though he is a loner, he has become close to a few people: Monty, who is his mechanic boss, Monty’s family, and a young boy named Hector. Pike is also a Marine and he has been assigned to work in Afghanistan to battle the terrorists that have been causing trouble there. While serving on duty there, Pike helps train new Marines, faces combat that tests his mettle, and gets himself in serious trouble when he kills a crooked Afghan Police Officer. Pike is arrested and is thrown into the Brig while the situation is investigated. When it is discovered that the officer was in cahoots with the Russian Mafia, Pike is released to continue to serve the rest of his duty. As Pike and his fellow Marines get closer to finding the terrorist leader, Pike is thrown into combat that cause him to face the affects of his troubled childhood, best friend’s death, and his life in Tulsa. What will Pike do, however? Will he run away from his responsibilities and leave his fellow Marines in the midst of combat? Will Pike deny that he belongs in Tulsa with Monty, Monty’s family, and Hector? Or will Pike find a way to overcome his inner demons and return to Tulsa a changed man? These are just some of the answers that will be answered when you read Renegade.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Renegade, Called to Serve Series #2 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exciting Realism by a Gifted Writer

Date:August 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
eb7bibliophile
Location:High Desert West
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Having read a few other books by Mel Odom, I was excited to read this one. I was not disappointed. I enjoyed the action, the motivations, the character development, and the skill and realism of his writing style. The story stands on its own, but reiterates some scenes and deepens some characters from the previous book, Deployed. Both the men and the women are strong characters. It is a lot about what is happening inside the heads of the characters, but also masterfully describes dangerous military missions, with heart-stopping action. I always appreciate a clean story, with no prurient scenes and no foul language even in the combat scenarios, and I am happy I discovered Mel Odom’s books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Renegade, Called to Serve Series #2 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

renegade review

Date:August 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
beckie
Age:35-44
Gender:female
"Renegade" by Mel Odom is book two of the Called to Serve series. I haven't read book 1, and though it sounds good, it isn't necessary to read before this one. In "Renegade", Pike, a low level criminal is in the witness protection program to testify against the killers of his best friend, Pete. He has been there for three years. Strangely, the witness protection has given him the most stability he has ever known and Pike isn't sure how he feels about that. Pike is also in the Marine reserves. In book 1 of the series, the main character is Bekah, who is Pike's partner while deployed in Afghanistan in book 2. The book takes turns in focus chapter by chapter with Pike being the main character, but the reader is also introduced to Bekah and Yaqub, an al Qaeda leader. Yaqub has kidnapped US CIA agents. The three characters become entangled in the war in Afghanistan.
I really liked this book. It is well written, the characters are clear. Pike, though a criminal is still a likable character that the reader becomes invested in. Macho is his middle name. Yaqub is even humanized and clear. I will be reading Book One to catch up and if there is a book 3, I'll read that one too. B+. I received this book from Tyndale Publishing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Renegade, Called to Serve Series #2 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

engaging, thought provoking

Date:August 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
ssemah
Location:California
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wonderful characters, good plots that keeps you wondering. Loved the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Renegade, Called to Serve Series #2 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent.

Date:August 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jessica Dowling
Location:Jacksonville, FL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
I enjoyed 'Deployed' but this second book in the series in outstanding. A great read for anyone interested in the current deployments, situations and experiences of our military. I highly recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Renegade, Called to Serve Series #2 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

New Gritty Military Suspense from Mel Odom

Date:July 29, 2013
When I first began reading Renegade, I'll admit, I didn't love it. I set it aside and came back to it a couple of weeks later, and I'm so glad I did! While Pike isn't a main character that you immediately fall in love with, the more I got to know him, the better I liked him. (Isn't that true with so many things?!) The author did a fabulous job of unpacking Pike's life story and giving reasons behind his behavior. When he was finally sent off to Afghanistan, I felt like a friend was being sent off to war.
The story alternates between two main stories—Pike's and a terrorist plot in Afghanistan. The terrorist plot wasn't the highlight of the book for me, but it did add another layer and things actually tied up quite nicely in the end (which I was unsure of in the beginning).
Mel Odom is a new-to-me author, and I'm looking forward to reading more by him! Fans of suspense fiction or readers who are looking for a story with some depth to it will enjoy reading Renegade! [4 stars]
I received a free copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Renegade, Called to Serve Series #2 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good story

Date:July 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Virginia
Location:upstate NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pike Morgan is in the witness protection program after a friend is killed by a gang. He is in the Marine Reserves and keeps to himself most of the time. On a tour of Afghanistan, he is involved in a war zone that makes him think about his past and future.
I thought the book was good, but like the first in the series, rather violent. It is a war book, so some violence is to be expected, but parts of the book had a little too much for my taste.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Renegade, Called to Serve Series #2 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another tense and enlightening read

Date:July 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Gree
Location:Sacramento, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is another good read. It shows how a person can change in their thoughts and lifestyle. It is brutal at times, but war is brutal.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Renegade, Called to Serve Series #2 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pike Morgan's childhood in the foster care system has made him rebellious, cynical and hard. His rough exterior and disregard for the judicial system has the police department on his doorstep more often than he would like. With his faith in vigilante justice and himself, Pike is part of the Marine Reservists and it gives him a sense of purpose he wouldn't otherwise have. Eager for another deployment, he is anxious for another tour.
When his deployment finally comes, he and his team find themselves in a peacekeeping mission in Afghanistan. What they find is a war zone in a country reaching it's breaking point. When an American journalist is kidnapped, finding the al Qaeda terrorist responsible becomes their top priority. When the terrorist makes a break for neighboring Pakistan, will Pike find himself alone in completing his mission? Or is it too late to save the hapless journalist and convince his team that completing the mission is vital?
This was a great second installment in the Called to Serve series by Odom. I was very excited to read a book with Pike being the primary character, and Odom delivers all the fast paced action and adrenaline rush I've come to anticipate. I love how we get a look into the "bad guys" perspective and point of view. Everyone has their own reasons for doing things and you almost sympathize with both sides of the story; and at the very least understand what drives and motivates them to action. This is the kind of book you don't want to end because it just was that good.
This book was provided by Tyndale House Publishers for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Renegade, Called to Serve Series #2 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Looking Forward to More

Date:July 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dalyn
Location:Yakima, Wa
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Renegade is about a man named Pike Morgan; a loner with a rough past who grew up in various foster homes. It is this past that has shaped Pike today, and today his past haunts him as he struggles to avoid relationships while trying to right the injustices he sees around him. When Pike is called into service by the Marines, he believes he may find some solace from his current struggles but instead finds himself in a life and death battle with a determined and ruthless terrorist as well as with the marine corp. As the walls he has carefully created to begin to crumble, he must make a decision between selfless honor or returning to his selfless retreat into a life on the run.
I thought Mel Odom’s Renegade was a well written, fast paced thriller that demonstrated that even the hardest of hearts and toughest of men can find redemption through selflessness. I enjoyed the read and will look forward to following this character in any subsequent books. In fact, Renegade is book 2 of the series entitled “Called to Serve” and I’ll be searching for Mel Odom’s first book in this series entitled “Deployed” so I can see how Pike Morgan got his start.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Renegade, Called to Serve Series #2 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A very exciting read!

Date:June 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ragdogs
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First of all, I want to thank Tyndale publishers for sending me this book for the purpose of this review. All thought and opinions are my own.
This was a very good book. I loved the way it was written and it caused an incredibly crazy and insane adrenaline rush within every chapter!
This is a Christian book and had quite a few Christian characters in it that are all telling Pike Morgan, who thinks he better off without anyone in his life, in different ways that God is in control of his life, whether he wants to believe it or not.
I have to say that my favorite character is a little boy named Hector. I think he is supposed to be 10 years old and Mel Odom (the author) gave him an excellent role to play in Pike's life, as the little boy that makes Pike second guess his solitude and makes him almost want to forget his past that he wants to dwell in.
I would not recommend this book to kids under the age of 13 or 14, maybe even 15 based on their maturity level. It is kind of violent and pretty descriptive. However, there was nothing sexually impure in this book, just lots and lots of guns.
So if like reading about the war and Marines, I recommend this book as a good read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Renegade, Called to Serve Series #2 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Slower paced than expected

Date:June 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rebecca
Location:Western Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This ebook was provided by the publisher for review purposes, but all opinions are my own.
This novel started off strong and I liked the main character, however there seemed to be too much emphasis on his past - by the time I'd read a third of the book, I was bored of his backstory and wanted forward momentum. I also found it disorienting to introduce new plotlines at that point of the tale. Even if the characters were from the first book of the series and not new additions to someone who's read both books, it would make more sense to have those folks at the beginning of the story, if at all possible.
I may finish the book at some point to see how things end up for the character, but right now it's not worth my time to be bored by a story that should be a page-turner instead.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.