Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Grace's Pictures, Ellis Island Series #1 -eBook

Tyndale House Grace's Pictures, Ellis Island Series #1 -eBook

Grace McCaffery hopes that the bustling streets of New York hold all the promise that the lush hills of Ireland did not. As her efforts to earn enough money to bring her mother to America fail, she wonders if her new Brownie camera could be the answer. But a casual stroll through a beautiful New York City park turns into a hostile run-in with local gangsters, who are convinced her camera holds the first and only photos of their elusive leader. A policeman with a personal commitment to help those less fortunate finds Grace attractive and longs to help her, but Grace believes such men cannot be trusted. Spread thin between her quest to rescue her mother, do well in a new nanny job, and avoid the gang intent on intimidating her, Grace must put her faith in unlikely sources to learn the true meaning of courage and forgiveness.
Average Customer Rating:
4.133 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
13
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
0
27 out of 3090%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Grace's Pictures, Ellis Island Series #1 -eBook
Review 1 for Grace's Pictures, Ellis Island Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Enjoyable read.

Date:June 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
CurledUpWithaBook
Location:The Maritimes
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interesting story of a young Irish immigrant who comes to New York to begin a new life. Although she's not looking for adventure she ends up in the middle of some dangerous situations. I like the way Christianity is woven into the story. Sometimes God seems far away but our lives are so much better when we trust him and let him lead.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Grace's Pictures, Ellis Island Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Very slow start

Date:May 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
tmurrell
Location:TN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Grace is living in a poorhouse in Ireland when she learns she's been sponsored to come to America. She has no skills and must rely on the kindness of her benefactors to make a living. But when she comes in contact with a photographer and a policeman, her life is changed forever.
The book had an incredibly slow start for me. I was almost half way through before I became engaged enough with the main characters to step into the story. It picked up after that and the characters came more alive. The main female character was a bit dark and depressing for most of the book. I actually enjoyed some of the back ground characters more. The author did a great job of portraying history and the lives of the immigrants, but failed at engaging me with the plot or characters. The romantic aspect of the story was almost non-existent for me. It felt very forced and rushed at the end. So overall this book was only an okay story for me.
I received this book free of charge from Tyndale in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Grace's Pictures, Ellis Island Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A nice enjoyable read

Date:May 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
wfnren
Location:St Cloud, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The title, and the cover, of this book drew me in because I, like Grace, love to take pictures and I once had a Brownie, only it was at least 50 years newer than Grace's. I really enjoyed the story and Cindy gave a look into the future with it. The idea of a photo being taken and then used to identify a crook or to use as evidence against someone was a stepping stone to where we are now with phone's that will take pictures, record voices and even movies that can be used for the same thing and even to manipulate people into doing things they don't want to do or to keep a secret you don't want anyone to find out about.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Grace's Pictures, Ellis Island Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Grace McCaffery has all her eggs in one basket - America. Torn away from her mother at a young age, then forced to labor at a workhouse, Grace has had everything but an easy life in Ireland. Her mother married an Irish peeler, (also known as a policeman), and S.P. Feeny sponsors Grace to America. Excited to have an opportunity to begin an independent life and make enough money to bring her mother over from Ireland, Grace sees the future as an adventure waiting to happen.
But of course, nothing ever works out the way she plans. Even after she gets a job as a nanny for a middle-class family, Grace buys a brownie camera to take snapshots and earn extra money. But it seems that no matter where she aims her lens, she is always capturing images that endanger her life and those of her charges. When her camera inadvertently takes a picture of a gang boss and she is being pursued for the portrait, will she be able to trust a policeman to keep her out of harms's way? Will she learn the courage and forgiveness in the faith her mother has tried to pass down to her?
While I love Christian fiction, I was a little unsure of this novel at first. The setting was the all too familiar Ellis island, with an Irish immigrant as the main character of the story. But Thompson quickly won me over with the introduction to "The Hawk", and the many quirky saying of her deceased husband, Mr. Hawkins. Then, the children came along, and I was instantly in love. Between the struggling rich boy turned cop, Officer McNulty, the historically accurate gang called the "Dusters" and the day-to-day struggles and fears faced by a young woman alone in a new country, this book will appeal to not only history buffs but Christian fiction readers alike. A wonderful read, and one I hope turns into a series.
This book was provided for free by Tyndale House Publishers in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Grace's Pictures, Ellis Island Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Didn't Meet Expectations

Date:January 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
Peaches
Location:Colorado
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Grace is an Irish young lady who travels the ocean to find a new life in America. When Grace arrives to New York she is captured on camera by a gentleman and so begins her interest in still pictures. Grace buys her first camera, a Brownie from Kodak, to be able to take snapshots of memorable moments. But when Grace is out in a park one day she happens to point her camera in the wrong direction and has a run-in with local gangsters called "The Dusters." Having had a traumatic time with the police force in her home country, Grace is hesitant to seek help from the New York Police department.
Owen McNulty, a New York Police Officer, is committed to helping those less fortunate and strives to "clean up" New York from crime, but Grace has a hard time believing he is genuine. Owen is quite taken with Grace, but is somewhat confused by her cold and disinterested attitude towards him. As he continues to be there for Grace during her struggles she begins to wonder if Owen is truly different from the other selfish policemen that she's had to deal with all of her life.
As Grace lives each day she must learn to place her faith and trust in unlikely sources to learn the true meaning of courage and forgiveness.
My Thoughts:
I had such high hopes for this book - the cover alone caught my attention and then when I read the back cover I thought for sure this would be a great read. Unfortunately, by the time I got to the middle of the book all I could think of was "Will I ever finish this?" The first part of the book seem to move at a good pace telling the story of Grace and sharing her pain and heartaches from working in a poor house and having to deal with dishonest cops. Then when she gets to New York we find that the most of the policemen there are just as crooked as they were in Ireland which gives Grace a low-view of men in general. She meets Owen McNulty, the honest Police Officer, and has a hard time letting her guard down with him, but when he is always there for her when she is in trouble it seems like maybe some romance will ignite, but then throughout the book they begin to have less and less contact with each other so that by the time they do realize their feelings for each other it seems a little forced. Grace is offered a position with a family, the Parker's, that has many "issues" from the mother not feeling like a mother and giving her children no love or interest to the father wanting his family to not be failures and not show emotion. Grace comes alongside this family as a nanny and begins to discover herself; she begins to see that she can be strong when she is scared. On to the gangsters called "The Dusters"... For me, they were not quite believable. The characters just didn't quite add up to what a gangster would have been like back then. All in all, I would give this book 3.5 stars out of 5. For me, the story fell flat.
*I was given a free copy of this book from Tyndale Publishers for an honest review.
All thoughts are my own. No other compensation was received.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Grace's Pictures, Ellis Island Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Grace's Pictures

Date:December 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Amy C
Location:VA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Grace's Pictures is about a young Irish woman who immigrates to America. She arrives in New York City trying to fit in a busy city. She finds herself buying herself a Brownie camera. Which leads her to trouble.
I liked Grace's Pictures. I liked seeing what my Irish ancestors went through when they first come to their new American home. I love the historical value of the story. I found I really like the character of Grace. Such a strong young woman. I would give this book 4 and half stars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Grace's Pictures, Ellis Island Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

4.5 stars

Date:November 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jessica Allen
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Plot: The plot of this book was actually interesting. It had so much in it that I wasn't expecting. It had several dimensions to it that gave the story depth.
Characters: You really did get to see Grace transform throughout this story. From the little girl in Ireland to the confident woman in America, she literally transforms as you read this story.
Themes: The main theme in this book is trust. Grace had to learn how to trust the police even after her experiences as a child. She also had to learn how to trust God and that He would make a way for her.
Emotion: The characters themselves had a lot of emotion, however, it didn't really translate off the pages of the book.
Overall: I have to admit that I didn't think I was going to like this book, but I was pleasantly surprised. There were so many elements to it that it was enjoyable to read and it wasn't overly romantic and predictable. It was actually, quite unpredictable and kept me guessing the whole way through.
---I received this book for free from the publisher for this review.---
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Grace's Pictures, Ellis Island Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Immigrants, Gangs, 1900 New York and Romance

Date:October 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cindy Thomson in her new book “Grace’s Pictures” Book One in the Ellis Island series published by Tyndale House Publishers takes us into the life of Grace McCaffery.
From the back cover: “Listen to me,” her mother had said. “I don’t care what lies your father once spoke to you, darlin’. . . . Remember instead this: You are smart. You are important. You are able.”
Grace McCaffery hopes the bustling streets of New York hold all the promise the lush hills of Ireland did not. As her efforts to earn enough money to bring her mother to America fail, she wonders if her new Brownie camera could be the answer. But a casual stroll through a beautiful New York City park turns into a hostile run-in with local gangsters, who are convinced her camera holds the first and only photos of their elusive leader.
A policeman with a personal commitment to help those less fortunate finds Grace attractive and longs to help her, but Grace believes such men cannot be trusted. Spread thin between her quest to rescue her mother, do well in a new nanny job, and avoid the gang intent on intimidating her, Grace must put her faith in unlikely sources to learn the true meaning of courage and forgiveness.
I admire all that came to America as immigrants. They gave up their homeland and came here to start over mostly not knowing anyone over here and never having been here before. They certainly had a spirit of adventure. Despite the fact that Grace is timid she is an immigrant and has that sense of adventure. We take pictures left and right now practically everywhere we go but back in the 1900′s taking pictures was an entirely new thing and not everyone wanted their picture taken. Grace takes a picture of a gang leader and, since this is the only picture ever taken of him, the gang wants to destroy it. Owen is the cop who wants to help Grace however she has a distrust of cops and wants nothing to do with him. ”Grace’s Pictures” is about friendship, love, betrayal, healing from past wounds and finding your place in the world. This is a fun read filled with adventure and romance. I do not recommend starting this book late at night because it will cost you sleep as you will not want to put it down. Ms. Thomson has given us an excellent beginning to this wonderful series and I am looking forward to the next one.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Tyndale House Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Grace's Pictures, Ellis Island Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good historical, with plenty to learn and apply

Date:September 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
An Old Fashioned Girl
Location:Minnesota
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In her novel "Grace's Pictures," Cindy Thomson highlights the plight of the Irish immigrants at the turn of the twentieth century. As a young woman being sent to America to escape the workhouse in Ireland, Grace McCaffery has never known anything but poverty, and finding herself taken in by a charitable group is one of the best things to happen to her in her life. Thanks to the kind help of her landlady and a minister, Grace finds employment as a maid in a middle class household, earning a decent enough wage to afford one of the new Brownie cameras and film. However, while practicing with her camera, a gangster suspects her of having photographed his mobster boss, a man the police have yet to identify. After several suspicious - but innocent, on her part - encounters, Grace finds herself in increasing danger, and it is only with the help of Officer Owen McNulty, a rich man who has given up his wealth to keep the peace, that Grace has a chance of saving herself and those she cares for.
The widespread prejudice against the Irish, the horrible tenements for the thousands of immigrants, the corruption in the police force, the rampant crime - all these sad aspects of the early twentieth century are clearly depicted in the book. However, Thomson does a good job of balancing the bad with the good - charities that take in immigrants and help find them employment as they settle into a new country, police who are true to their calling and actively work to clean up the dangerous parts of town. While she does not paint a particularly rosy picture of New York City circa 1900, neither does she depict it as a place beyond redemption and hope.
To my surprise, there was relatively little romance to the novel, but it fit better this way. While some interest is quite evident, Thomson takes it slow and does not push Grace and Owen into a sudden relationship. Over the course of the book, Grace has to overcome her deep-seated fears of the police before she can look beyond Owen's uniform and see a person, and only after that would she be able to see a candidate for a romance, so I applaud Thomson for taking the more sensible and realistic route. There is sufficient excitement in the tale anyway to hold the reader's attention.
A major theme in the book is separating truth from lies. Grace spent her childhood with an abusive father who would have her believe she is incompetent and worthless - lies abounding from the evil one. However, her Mother impresses the truth that, "You are smart. You are important. You are able." Even if no one else cared - and a great many people prove they do - Grace truly is important to God, and he made her smart and able to perform any task laid before her. As Grace proves, it is a choice to be made daily which she will listen to: the lies or the truth. How often do we fall for similar lies? Half the time no one has to say them out loud - we just assume that "no, I'll never be able to do that," or "I'm not smart enough," and we let those lies keep us from trying in the first place; the truth is that God has equipped us in so many ways, and how will we know what we can do until we try?
Since this is the first book in the series, it is hard to say if Grace's story will continue, or if hers is done and another heroine will take the stage - the ending leaves potential for both, I feel. Not knowing a lot about immigration during that time, I found it an interesting read with a clever premise, and there is much to think about and apply. 4 out of 5 stars
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Grace's Pictures, Ellis Island Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Sweet, Touching, but Lacks Depth

Date:July 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
eb7bibliophile
Location:High Desert West
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I very much enjoyed reading about the Kodak Brownie box camera, and the life of Irish immigrants in 1900-1901. I felt that the discussions of Tammany Hall and its influence could have been better explained. I’ll be looking that up. The historical descriptions and the surroundings were very well written, but the characterizations seemed incomplete. It was slow-moving at times, and repetitive. I kept hoping for more in-depth description of Grace’s feelings. I did enjoy it, overall. I added a star for a clean story, with intrigue that is resolved at the end. It's great for a light read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Grace's Pictures, Ellis Island Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jessica Bates
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Grace McCaffery is an Irish immigrant in 1900 New York City. She was unexpectedly sent to America from the Irish workhouse by her mother's new policeman husband. She mistrusts policeman and worries about if she can make it on her own. She finds lots of friendly, Christian people who genuinely want to help her succeed in her new life in America and she isn't sure how to deal with that.
Grace McCaffery is a wonderful, complete character that I immediately fell in love with. She has an interesting and sometimes dramatic journey in her faith and new life in America in this book. I really enjoyed this story. Cindy Thomson did a wonderful job setting the scene of immigrants in 1900 New York in Lower Manhattan. The details were wonderful and helped me feel as if I was there. I enjoyed reading this book and was able to sit and read it mostly in one day as I found myself desperately wanting to know what would happen next. This is the first book in a new Ellis Island series by Cindy Thomson and I eagerly await the next book in the series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Grace's Pictures, Ellis Island Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good Read

Date:August 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
rlighthouse
Location:PA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Grace came to America to escape Ireland and try to have a better life. She had to get over her fear of policemen and allow them to help her after finding herself in the middle of the mob when she accidently took pictures of them when trying to find the "perfect shot" with her new camera.
The book was good, it had more history then romance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Grace's Pictures, Ellis Island Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Mixed Feelings about Grace's Pictures

Date:August 25, 2013
To be totally honest, I had mixed feelings about Grace's Pictures by Cindy Thomson while I read it, and I’m still having difficulty deciding what I feel now—even as I write this review.
Initially, I thought I would absolutely love the book. The descriptions of Grace’s initial experiences in America—New York City, Ellis Island, the immigration process, and trying to find her “place” in this new country—were incredible. It felt so realistic to me. The story moved quickly at first, as Grace finds a place to live, is introduced to other immigrants, and is given a job as a nanny.
However, partway into the book, the story began to drag, and my interest wavered. Part of my struggle was that the two main characters (Grace and Owen) had little interaction with each other. That went on for so long that there eventual “relationship” seemed a bit forced to me. Additionally, the mobster story that took center stage for much of the book was just odd and extremely confusing to me at times.
Finally, Grace constantly repeated a saying that her mother told her as a child: “You are smart. You are important. You are able.” Ring any bells? It’s VERY close to the line that is repeated through the 2009 best seller The Help: “You is kind. You is smart. You is important.” It was a little too close, in my opinion.
While not my favorite, this book does present a very well-rounded story. You get to see Grace and Owen’s lives as a 360 picture, rather than merely one- or two-dimensional. Their home life, work life, family, friends, and past all play important parts of their story, which was nice to see. [3.5 stars]
I received a temporary e-copy copy of this book from Tyndale House via Net Galley in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Grace's Pictures, Ellis Island Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Mystery on immigrants, a camera, corrupt police

Date:August 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
luvs to cook
Location:Virginia Beach, VA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Although her mother had always told her she was smart and capable, Grace Caffery believed she was stupid, incapable, and weak. Grace also thought all police were crooks like the ones in Ireland. Her false assumptions were challenged again and again as she took a nanny position with a wealthy family and met a very likeable policeman. Her stepfather had made it possible for her to leave the Irish workhouse and travel to America where she had her picture taken with a Brownie camera. She was met by a church lady who introduced her to the policeman on the trolley they were riding to reach her new residence where she would live and work. Thus Owen met Grace the day she arrived. Why did Grace ignore Owen? What object fascinated her so much she purchased one? How did that play a crucial role in the story? What job did the church lady find for Grace? What was a major problem in the home where she worked? What tragedy occurred? What problems did Owen face? How did Owen resolve those problems? Who came to visit Grace? What new perspective did she gain as a result of this visit? What happened to Grace and the children? Why did this happen? What gave Owen the clue to solve the problem? This was a fascinating story with mystery surrounding the main characters that they had to solve.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Grace's Pictures, Ellis Island Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
HomeSchool Mom of 4
Location:The Hot Dry Desert
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Grace's Pictures is a charming read that takes place on Ellis Island during the early 1900s. Admittedly, it took me a few chapters to really get into the story but when I did, I had to know what was going to happen. Grace is an Irish lass who has quite a lot of trust issues and who seems very lost in New York. She is a very timid person, and I am quite the opposite so her personality and past aren't exactly something I can relate to. Still, her character is sweet and she changes by the end of the book. A plus for me was learning a bit about early photography and the Kodak Brownie camera. History stuff makes me happy.
If you're looking for an easy, cozy read this summer, I think you'll like this one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Grace's Pictures, Ellis Island Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Grace's Pictures

Date:August 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
bookworm
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Grace’s Pictures is a story about overcoming the traumas of the past and trusting God for one’s future. Grace, a young Irish immigrant, comes to America through the sponsorship of her stepfather. Grace comes under the protection of a Christian society that aids immigrant girls by providing safe shelter, decent employment, and assisting them with making their way in America. Shortly, after arriving in America, Grace begins working as a nanny for the Parker family that is not as happy as they seem to outsiders. Also, Grace has an artistic flair and an interest in learning photography. When she sees an advertisement for the Brownie camera for $1.00, Grace buys it in hopes of mastering photography one day. However, her camera gets the attention of a group of gangsters that are being hunted by the police. One policeman, in particular named Owen, is really set on capturing the leader of the gang and he befriends Grace. At first, Grace wants nothing to do with Owen because of her mistrust of policemen stemming from a childhood trauma, but when Owen proves himself as a good man and officer, friendship blossoms between the two. However, during an outing with the Parker children to the aquarium, Grace gets the attention of the gangsters after taking a picture of the children and the children are kidnapped. After the children are kidnapped, Grace must rely on Owen to rescue them and take down a powerful gangster group. During this trying time, Grace also must put her trust in God to bring the children and Owen back safely. This was the first book I have read by Cindy Thomson and I found myself glued from page 1 to the last page. I think the author did a great job telling this story because she really captures the feelings that many immigrants must have felt and how hard it must have been for them to leave everything they knew to come to America to make a new life for themselves. I also liked how she put an emphasis on relying on God through the hard times and trusting in Him no matter the outcome.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Grace's Pictures, Ellis Island Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Story Felt Flat

Date:July 7, 2013
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Grace is an immigrant from Ireland who passes through Ellis Island in 1900. A poor young woman with no one to vouch for her in a big city, Grace is in constant peril of succumbing to the city's underside until she meets a young police officer on a mission to keep his beat safe for decent citizens, including Grace.
This book felt long. It dragged. It kept going and going. The plot suffers drastically from a lack of contrast between the emotional highs and lows of the story. Grace is starving, homeless, country-less. She's just escaped the clutches of the evil English work house, only to find herself working for a woman who is emotionally troubled. Her one outlet, a brownie camera, keeps getting her in trouble with gangs. What ought to have been a heart-rending emotional journey of self discovery was less than a series of vignettes featuring immigrant life in turn of the century New York.
Similarly, the police officer who is Grace's potential romantic interest and the other main character suffers equally from poor writing. Yes, I understood what he was supposed to be: a young man of courage and conviction who is willing to turn his back on everything he's ever known as a member of the upperclass to help make life better for others. But again, the writing is so flat, I had trouble believing he actually had the chutzpah to do what was needed to defeat the villains.
Other than that, this book was fairly non-objectionable. Any repercussions from discussing abandonment, child abuse, the affect of an emotionally unstable parent, the drug trade burgeoning at that time in NYC, dirty cops, beatings, harassment, death threats, etc. are practically mitigated by the monotone narration.
This book fails solely to poor execution. I have read other books with similar plots and themes which I enjoyed, and wouldn't mind reading again. But this novel fails to fill its niche. There just wasn't enough emotional content for me to buy into.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Grace's Pictures, Ellis Island Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Christian story of trust and growth

Date:July 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bookworm
Age:25-34
Grace McCaffrey leaves Ireland for Ellis Island (early 1900s), and her life changes in ways she could've had no way of expecting. She is there as a nanny and hopes to raise money to help bring her mother to America, but taking a picture with her novel contraption (a camera) puts her in harms way with a gang.
I enjoyed reading Grace's Pictures. The storyline has a nice mixture of history, mystery, and romance. I loved the characters, and their plights were believable. Grace and Owen are easy to relate to and the scenes are so clear that I feel like I've been there.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Grace's Pictures, Ellis Island Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Enjoyable!

Date:June 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Stephanie
Location:upstate NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I almost always enjoy stories of the immigrant/NYC -type, and this story by Cindy Thomson, a new author to me, was no exception.
Newly-arrived Grace, from Ireland, must find her way in this new country, fighting her fears and beliefs that she is a failure. When she sees an opportunity to buy a $1 Brownie camera and prove that she is good at something, Grace inadvertently winds up in more trouble than she ever thought possible.
Everyone has a camera nowadays and being an amateur photographer myself, I thought the story was unique and different from most immigrant stories, weaving in the history of photography and the ensuing issues of privacy.
I thought Grace's Pictures was an enjoyable, light read. I liked Cindy's style and would read another book by her!
*I received a free copy in exchange for an honest review. No other compensation was given, and all thoughts are 100% mine.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Grace's Pictures, Ellis Island Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent historical story

Date:June 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kristie
Location:upstate NY
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Grace's Pictures" is an Ellis Island Novel written by Cindy Thomson and it is a book that will inspire you and transport you to the bustling streets of New York City in the early 1900's. Grace is trying to find a way to earn money in order to bring her mother to America from Ireland. However, things do not go as planned and Grace is not sure whom to trust and put her faith in. Grace's camera may be a tool that could help and yet also harm her as Grace has a run-in with a gang. This book is an exciting and also touching read that immediately drew me into the story and also in Grace's life and world. The cover is beautiful on this book and sparked my interest before even reading what the book was about. The author writes in such a style that holds the reader's attention, and the writing is filled with vivid imagery and historical details. I am looking forward to reading more in these series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>