Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Confessions of a Raging Perfectionist - eBook

Tyndale House Confessions of a Raging Perfectionist - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.556 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
17 out of 1894%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Confessions of a Raging Perfectionist - eBook
Review 1 for Confessions of a Raging Perfectionist - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
nomer15
Gender:female
Amanda Jenkins, author of “Confessions of a Raging Perfectionist: Learning to Be Free” blew me away. I knew it was a book I was going to thoroughly enjoy when she referenced my favorite movie, “Bridget Jones’s Diary” in the fourth paragraph of the introduction. She absolutely kept me coming back for more with this book!
In each of the 12 chapters, she takes a look at different areas, such as vanity, parenthood, and her testimony, where perfectionism has a stranglehold. Displaying a great amount of vulnerability, she shares her struggles openly and candidly. Various Scripture passages are carefully woven throughout each chapter to help the reader engage with the God who can help us overcome our perfectionist tendencies.
Amanda’s writing style and the subject matter left me feeling like I’d known her for years. I loved reading this book and hope to go through it with a small group to really dig deep into this subject matter. Whether a perfectionist or not, there are some great truths to be gleaned from this book. I would highly recommend this book for all women. There is a section at the back containing study questions and application points for each chapter, which makes it perfect for small groups, book clubs, or even individual study.
“Because, of course, the only way to experience life the way God intends is to choose Him day by day, moment by moment. To resist the urge to cling to my appearance, my money, my plans, my pride, and my dreams—and instead to fix my eyes on Jesus. To rest in God’s love, knowing I’m saved because of His grace and not because I’m perfect or even good. To pray for faith and courage enough to dive into the kind of life He wants for me.” (p. 158)
Jenkins expresses her hope for this book in the first question of Tyndale's Author Q&A:
That my transparency would get readers one step closer to freedom from their own impossible goals; that it would open their eyes to the strangleholds we sometimes don’t even see, but shape the way we think and spend our time; that it would get us laughing at the stuff we hide; that when brought into the open, things like vanity, materialism and desire for recognition would lose their power/hold on our minds and hearts.
(I’ve received this complimentary book from Tyndale House Publishers in exchange for a review. A positive review was not required and the views expressed in my review are strictly my own.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Confessions of a Raging Perfectionist - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved It!

Date:October 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Alicia H
Location:Oklahoma City, OK
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amanda Jenkins is a list-maker, and her book, Confessions of a Perfectionist: Learning To Be Free, spoke to me from the beginning. I relate to Amanda’s incessant standard-setting for herself, creating unrealistic and impossible expectations and then feeling like a failure when I fall flat on my face trying to attain perfection.
She gets as vulnerable as you can get, sharing whatever listed expectation she made for herself. and how she measures up to her goals. Her weight, her bank account, or how many Diet Cokes she’s had so far today, it’s all fair game in this book.
Her light-hearted and gut-honest storytelling walk you through authenticity and grace in areas of your life like obedience, vanity, coveting recognition, making plans and then having God change them, and depending on anything other than God to fill us each day.
She’s no perky, pasted-on-smile Christian, there to motivate you without being honest about the down-and-dirty problems in life. She gets honest about the down and dirty things that happen in our lives, how she found God, met with Him and was blessed to see Him even when life got ugly.
Ultimately, the book is about finding grace. It’s been an encouragement and challenge for me to read and get honest with myself.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Confessions of a Raging Perfectionist - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Had Good Aspects but Did Not Engage Me

Date:August 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
eb7bibliophile
Location:High Desert West
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The title intrigued me, but I did not find the book highly useful at learning to be free. The last chapter was the best, because it quoted Scripture and then went into her insights verse by verse. It took courage for her to admit a lot of these flaws, and I doubt I could have done it. I admire her for that, and for a turn of phrase that sounds like she's right there talking to you as a friend. I'm a bit of a perfectionist myself, so I finished it, but I found sections that were not germane to the issue, and parts that left me with more questions. To be fair, she did make it clear that this is more a series of journal entries than a how-to book, and it shows. I did appreciate the interesting contributions by her friends.
I understood her struggles, but do not relate to half of them. Few of her TV and movie references hit any chord with me. They seemed to make it a rambling narrative - again, no doubt on purpose as this is mostly a journal. After all, we are all a work in progress. Probably someone with more in common with Amanda would appreciate this book more. One positive thing it did was to send me back to the Bible to look again at some of the most beautiful and relevant Psalms.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Confessions of a Raging Perfectionist - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfectionist or not, this is for you!

Date:August 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
aklinslow
Location:Anchorage, AK
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Confessions of a Raging Perfectionist (learning to be free)" by Amanda Jenkins was a surprise hit for me! I honestly didn't think I'd enjoy or get much out of it, as I'm in no way a perfectionist, but I read it because it was a free eBook from one of my favorite publishers, and you can't go wrong with free, right? ;-) I'm very thankful I did go ahead and read it, as there is something for everyone in "Confessions of a Raging Perfectionist." Although we all may not be OCD or perfectionists across the board, each one of us lives in a culture that pressures us and gives us ridiculously unrealistic (and sometimes just unreal) standards to live up to, whether we fully realize it or not. And that's where I believe Mrs. Jenkins does an admirable job: sharing her story and making it relatable to us all.
Just a glance at the chapter headings will give you a clue that "Confessions" is applicable to anyone: "Vanity", "Recognition", "Pride" and "Happiness", just to name a few. Even those chapters that didn't appear initially pertinent like "Diet Coke" ended up giving me great insight to areas of weakness and fleshliness in my own life. Essentially the entire point of "Confessions" is that we need not get caught up in man/self-made goals and standards that can change with a whim and the seasons, but rather look to Christ as our ultimate Standard and His Glory as our goal.
I so appreciate the saturation of Scripture in this book. You cannot go wrong writing a book entitled "Confessions of a Raging Perfectionist (learning to be free)" when the foundation is the Source of true freedom: the very words of God. Although I wouldn't categorize this as a "self-help" or "fix-all" book, I do believe we Christian women could all learn a little (or a lot) from Mrs. Jenkins as she tackles so many of the hang-ups and strongholds in our lives that keep us from absolute freedom and peace in Christ.
Oh, and one final note: there's a handy little discussion guide at the end of the book that you could use as you read chapter by chapter, either on your own or in a small group/Bible study setting. Definitely a very cool and helpful feature.
And on that note, I give "Confessions of a Raging Perfectionist (learning to be free)" 5 stars!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Confessions of a Raging Perfectionist - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Help for Perfectionists

Date:August 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
rlighthouse
Location:PA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amanda Jenkins used her book Confessions of a Raging Perfectionist to be completely honest about her life. She started each chapter with statistics about her life. She shared real life examples of things that happened in her life or her friend's lives, things that were perfectly planned but did not go according to plan. She shared what lessons she learned from those circumstances and gave the reader food for thought. There are study questions included in the back of the book for each chapter. This book is a good teaching tool for anyone trying to break free from perfectionist bonds.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Confessions of a Raging Perfectionist - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jessica Bates
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
confessions of a raging perfectionist by Amanda Jenkins is Amanda's own struggles with her need to be perfect. She talks about it in every facet of her life both physical and spiritual. She discusses what she has felt God has convicted her on and supplies Bible verses to help her realize that no one apart from God is perfect.
I felt this book was written for me. Well about me really. I can so completely relate to just about every single issue Amanda has. She talks about money, parenthood, pride, happiness and even Diet Coke. She talks about issues that she feels make her feel the need to be perfect and what scripture says about those issues. She shares many stories about her own lessons as well as those of others. With complete honesty, truthfulness, and wit, she confessions her failings and how God has used them to help her grow. I think I could read this book again and again and again. This books is for all of us Type A control freaks who feel defeated and stressed when the days don't go the way we think they should.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Confessions of a Raging Perfectionist - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Honest and Encouraging

Date:August 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Leeann
Location:CdA, ID
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Confessions of a Raging Perfectionist is one of the best devotional books I’ve read in a long time. It is wonderfully written. It’s clear, honest, funny, full of scripture. This was a very encouraging book, and I would highly recommend it to any woman.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Confessions of a Raging Perfectionist - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Convicting

Date:August 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
reli
Location:WI
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The style of writing was not really my style of reading; it felt a little spacey like the chapters were random not in chronological order. But then I read the chapter called Diet Coke and it struck a cord with me. Amanda talks about the things that she uses to bring peace to her life; things that take the place of God to bring peace and I was convicted. I want that next "Diet Coke" because it will bring a momentary peace and order to otherwise chaos; rather than looking to God for my true peace.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Confessions of a Raging Perfectionist - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Soothing balm for my little perfectionist heart

Date:August 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kristen Willis
Location:Bay Area, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One of the best books I've read all year, if not likely to join my lifetime top 10. Amanda Jenkins's 'Confessions' is honest, witty, and compelling. It helps that her voice as well as her issues are similar to mine, however, I can only guess that there are others out there dealing with similar challenges too.
Presented in a fun and transparent way, this book discusses topics on everything from Vanity to Obedience, Parenthood to Diet Coke (yes Diet Coke) and she is unflinchingly honest in her self assessments - her real-ness is refreshing. She shares personal stories and verses and heart thoughts; other's stories and life lessons; all in a way that was illuminating to me and encouraging at the same time. We are after all, works in progress - and this book does not claim to show you how to get it all together and be free from perfectionism (or whatever plagues you) - but it does give a great deal of hope.
I can't recommend it enough.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Confessions of a Raging Perfectionist - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Okay book

Date:August 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
mduncan
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I must say, I thought I would enjoy this book much more than I did. As a perfectionist myself, I thought I would walk away with some new insights to dealing with perfectionism. That was not the case. While this book did have SOME helpful insights and information, most of it was nothing I hadn't heard before and, for me, it didn't seem to be as much about "perfectionism" as it did about life experiences. While it was an easy read and did have some helpful information, it did not live up to my expectations.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Confessions of a Raging Perfectionist - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Confessions of a Raging Perfectionist

Date:August 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
bookworm
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Confessions of a Raging Perfectionist, by Amanda Jenkins, tells readers how to really experience freedom in Christ. The author uses stories to help make important Scriptural truths come to light and each story invokes strong emotion. Each chapter is devoted to a topic that many Christians struggle with today and they all have to do with the idea of perfection. What I liked most about the book, however, was that Scripture was used several times in each chapter and the passages used where not just one or two verses. The author used lengthly passages to explain a concept and then she explained the importance of the passage used and how we should apply it to our lives so that we, too, can put off our idea of perfection and look to Jesus to guide us in His idea of perfection. I found this book to be very well-written, convicting, and thought-provoking. I also found the author to be a good teacher and I found her insights to be beneficial and I hope that she continues to write. I would be interested to read more books by her.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Confessions of a Raging Perfectionist - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Interesting

Date:July 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Virginia
Location:upstate NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amanda Jenkins is a perfectionist who makes a list every day and vows to change. From her study of the Bible, she has started to be free from her problem. The author uses personal illustrations and Bible verses to show her journey. I thought this was a good book and that the author made some interesting discoveries about her life. There is a workbook of sorts in the back with questions and space for answers, designed to help the reader apply the information in the book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Confessions of a Raging Perfectionist - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It hit me between the eyes!

Date:June 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jenny W
Location:Williamsburg, OH
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book, Confessions of a Raging Perfectionist (learning to be free) by Amanda Jenkins, shook me to the core. I don't think it was written with that intent. It's a scriptural, light-hearted and fun take on one woman's struggles with what is, quite honestly, the demon of perfectionism. For me, a raging perfectionist in my own right, this book was far more challenging and gut wrenching. I've done the things she's done. I've thought the thoughts that she thought. And just as she sees the sin of it all, so I see my own sin through the pages of this book.
Jenkin's brutal honesty, both about herself and about what scripture has to say is what I found most engaging about this book. She lets us see into her thoughts and life, blemishes and all. She is a real person, not the know-it-all Christian, nor the false humility Christian that we see in so much Christian living literature today. She struggles with drinking too much diet Coke and with judging herself for it. She hasn't conquered her perfectionism, but she is improving on it day by day. As a perfectionist, the vast majority of Christian advice I get is "give yourself grace", which is like telling a hardened alcoholic to "just don't drink". The problem isn't that simple, and without Jesus, is near possible to conquer. Amanda Jenkin's admits this in a very down to earth manner and gives advice and insight where she can, while simply commiserating with her reader other times. It's like talking to a wise friend who shares your same issues.
I highly recommend this book to any and all perfectionists, male and female, and to most women who get caught up in the comparison trap so ingrained in our female culture. There is freedom for us and a book like this can be the first step.
This book was given to me free of charge by Tyndale House Publishers in return for my honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Confessions of a Raging Perfectionist - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

confessions of a ragin perfectionist

Date:June 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
debs
Location:Maine
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great book that I really felt connected to. It is told in a diary format by different subjects that women deal with on a daily basis. Amanda is a perfectionist and always listing out her daily to do list, when not achieving everything on the list she feels like a failure. Sound familiar? It does to me, that is why I connected to this book, once I started reading I couldn't put down. Each chapter describes a subject such as vanity, money, parenthood, pride, testimony and much more.
Amanda explains how she expects so much from herself, then tells how to use GOD's word to stop being so hard on yourself and enjoy what GOD gives you from each day. It is a great read and easy to understand that GOD doesn't want you to be perfect and make a list each day, he just wants you to enjoy his blessings. The set up of this book is very easy to read from cover to cover or you can just pick it up and read a chapter that you feel you want to read, that is the great set up of this book.
I recommend this to women of all ages, read this book. I loved it and felt wow it really is ok to stop and enjoy the day and not to have to do everything on the list. Perfection is not in GOD's plan for anyone, he wants you to learn and be on his journey with HIM.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through Tyndale bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Confessions of a Raging Perfectionist - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Raging Perfectionist

Date:April 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
pirategrl1014
Location:Mesquite, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this book from the get go. Mainly because I can relate to Amanda, the check list girl. Marking things off my as my day progresses: prayer, cleaning, work, semi-clean kids, bible study, and it goes on and on. I know I am a good person, with a good heart and I have a fervent love for my Savior, but lets face it at times He gets tossed to the back burner in the process of living life till something goes wrong.Then we pull God back out and wait for Him to fix our mess.
I laughed through this whole book, Amanda has a great writing style that is honest and refreshing.It touches you though because its real: real struggles we can relate to, real life, real honesty. It took guts for Amanda to put it all out there, but God is using her to touch and open up the eyes and hearts of so many others that find themselves in the same spot she was/is in. We all compare ourselves to others and sadly we should not because we are all wonderfully and perfectly made by God in His image, just as He wanted us to be. Yet, we do. We compare our salvation testimony, our lifestyles, our spouses, ourselves and then judge our lives based on that unfair comparison. Amanda's confessions made me take a look at my own life and to reconfirm myself to Gods standards, not other people. He is the only one I need to please and allow to guide my life.
After the first 2 chapters I decided to read this book with my teenage daughter. We made a bible study of sorts out of it and used the discussion questions in the back of the book along with our own after reviewing bible verses that Amanda mentions. It was a profound awakening to glimpse inside my daughter and how she views herself and her surroundings because of my view, my impact on her life and it really made me take a step back and reevaluate things. In the end I agree with Amanda whole hardheartedly "I am hugely imperfect and starting to be OK with it!"
I would recommend this book to mothers, teenage daughters, bible study groups alike. You can read more of my reviews at pirategrl1014 dot blogspot dot com
About the Author:
Amanda Jenkins spent ten years in L.A. alongside her film-making husband surrounded by plastic surgery and high-falutin lifestyles, which is where she became convicted and inspired to write about her struggle with perfectionism. Amanda attended Northwestern Bible College and graduated with degrees in Communication and Biblical Studies. She has taught Bible studies for women of all ages for the past 14 years, and is passionate about communicating truth in a culturally relevant and funny way. Today, she lives just outside of Chicago with her husband, Dallas, and their four young children, including their newly adopted 6-yr-old son. She is also the daughter-in-law of Jerry B. Jenkins, author of the best-selling Left Behind Series, and drops his name in the publishing world as often as possible.
Disclaimer: I received an advanced copy of this book from Tyndale House Publishers in exchange for my honest review and opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Confessions of a Raging Perfectionist - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A comfort in the face of modern stresses

Date:June 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sean
Location:Oregon
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Week after week there are more books published to help us all fit more into our busy schedules, to cram more into an hour, and squeeze more out of a minute. Amanda Jenkins confesses to believing, like many of us, that these were worthy goals, habits of highly effective people. Formerly a slave to routines, plans, and daily checklists, Jenkins uses this book to celebrate the freedom of letting go of that daily perfectionism and letting God back into her busy schedule. If you’re feeling the press and stress of modern life, picking up Confessions of a Raging Perfectionist is an excellent way to engage with someone else who has been there too, and to begin reorganizing your life and your expectations for yourself, those around you, and God himself. After all, says Jenkins, “God alone saves, and people aren’t drawn to perfect people anyway.” Too true.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Confessions of a Raging Perfectionist - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

For women wanting relief from perfectionism

Date:May 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
gladeslibrarian
Location:Belle Glade, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Disclosure: As a part of the Tyndale Blog Network, I select books for free in exchange for a fair and honest review.
In "Confessions of a raging perfectionist (learning to be free)" Amanda Jenkins talks candidly to Christian women about the areas of her life that struggle for attention and thus redirect her focus from God to other things. She is a self-proclaimed perfectionist who is not happy when things get out-of-order. She is also gaining freedom through God. This book documents her journey with God. Jenkins shares how God helped her realize the ways her perfectionism was causing her harm. She discovered that she was holding to an underlying desire to be viewed by others as being perfectly put together.
Some of the issues addressed in "Confessions of a raging perfectionist" involve vanity, money, recognition, relationships and parenthood. In the chapter about vanity, Jenkins talks about how destructive it is to compare ourselves with anyone else. We are beautiful in God's eyes and miss this truth when we spend our time looking around to see how we look in comparison with other women.
In the chapter about money, she talks about materialism and how easy it is to succumb to the false sense of security and comfort it claims to provide. Jenkins says:
"If I chase after money to bring me security or comfort, no amount of it will suffice. God wants me to rest in Him, so I'm wired by Him to rest only in Him. He's smart like that. (author's emphasis)"
Jenkins shows her vulnerability and shares candidly about her struggles to face and relinquish control of her addiction to perfectionism. Her style is very conversational and she's real in her confessions - no `thou shalt not' attitude found here. Jenkins admits that she's still in process. This admission is likely to encourage readers who are also still in process. Her hope is that God will use her journey to help other women on their own spiritual journeys. This book includes a small group discussion guide.
Disclosure: This book was given to me by Tyndale House Publishers in exchange for a fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Confessions of a Raging Perfectionist - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Grace and freedom from standards of perfection

Date:April 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Heather King
Location:Gloucester, VA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amanda Jenkins is a list-maker, so she had my attention from page one of this book, Confessions of a Raging Perfectionist: Learning to Be Free. I've never really considered myself a perfectionist. I'm more of a pragmatist, more focused on getting things done than doing it perfectly. But I can totally relate to Amanda's incessant standard-setting for herself, creating unrealistic and impossible expectations and then feeling like a failure when I fall flat on my face trying to attain perfection.
She starts each section out being as vulnerable as you can get, sharing whatever listed expectation she made for herself and how she measures up to her goals. Her weight, her bank account, or how many Diet Cokes she's had so far today, it's all fair game in this book. Ultimately, her light-hearted and gut-honest storytelling walk you through authenticity and grace in areas of your life like obedience, vanity, coveting recognition, making plans and then having God change them, and depending on anything other than God to fill us each day.
She's no perky, pasted-on-smile Christian, there to motivate you without being honest about the down-and-dirty problems in life. She talks about her family's international adoption and dares to tell the hard things and how God transformed her in the process. She talks about the shocking death of a friend's young husband and the financial struggles of loved ones and other times that she found God, met with Him and was blessed to see Him even when life got ugly.
Ultimately, the book is about finding grace. It'd be an encouragement and challenge for any woman (whether she thinks she's a perfectionist or not) and even perhaps teen girls. The appendix includes Bible study notes that could work well for any women's small group, as well.
I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.