Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan NIV Thinline Bible, Bonded Leather Burgundy, indexed 1984

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Zondervan NIV Thinline Bible, Bonded Leather Burgundy, indexed 1984

Carry the complete NIV Bible with you anywhere. Complete with study helps and tools, the popular NIV Thinline Bible goes everywhere you do. Measuring less than an inch thick, its managable size makes it easy to carry along in a tote bag, briefcase or glove compartment.

Features:

  • 7 Point text
  • Words of Christ in red
  • NIV Concordance
  • Presentation Page
  • Full Color Maps
  • Table of Weights & Measures
  • Burgundy Bonded Leather
  • Gold gilt page edges
  • Ribbon Marker
  • Thumb Index
  • Average Customer Rating:
    4.75 out of 5
    4.8
     out of 
    5
    (56 Reviews) 56
    Open Ratings Snapshot
    Rating Snapshot (56 reviews)
    5 stars
    46
    4 stars
    7
    3 stars
    2
    2 stars
    1
    1 star
    0
    27 out of 27100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
    Customer Reviews for NIV Thinline Bible, Bonded Leather Burgundy, indexed 1984
    Review 1 for NIV Thinline Bible, Bonded Leather Burgundy, indexed 1984
    This review is fromNIV Thinline Bible, Renaissance Fine Leather, Ebony 1984.
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Best NIV edition! Get it NOW while it lasts!

    Date:October 14, 2013
    Customer Avatar
    Micah
    Age:35-44
    Gender:male
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    I've used the NIV 1984 edition for 30 years and I love it! Since Biblica/Zondervan updated the NIV text in 2011 (basically the new NIV is really a TNIV update), the older and BETTER 1984 text editions are becoming more rare by the month. If you love the NIV 1984 text like myself, then BUY THIS THINLINE EDITION NOW!!! It's the best deal available and I already stocked up on a couple for future use. The genuine cowhide leather is soft, supple, and smells fresh. It's also light, fits great in the hand, and perfect to slip in a bag or take to church. By the way, the print size is not 5-7 like it says...it is more like 9. Get this bible now while it lasts, you'll won't regret it!
    +2points
    2of 2voted this as helpful.
    Review 2 for NIV Thinline Bible, Bonded Leather Burgundy, indexed 1984
    This review is fromNIV Thinline Bible, Renaissance Fine Leather, Ebony 1984.
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Awesome!

    Date:September 10, 2013
    Customer Avatar
    jimbo
    Location:upstate NY
    Age:35-44
    Gender:male
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    This bible exceeded my expectations! The leather is so soft and pliable. It is real leather not fake, and for the price you can't beat it! The print is average size, readable but not giant or too small. All the normal features of a bible: ribbon marker, maps, red letter, etc. I just love how soft it is, and that it is fairly thin, about an inch thick. I really don't have any cons to mention, especially at the price point! GET IT! If you don't like this bible, you are probably being a bit too picky in my opinion.
    +2points
    2of 2voted this as helpful.
    Review 3 for NIV Thinline Bible, Bonded Leather Burgundy, indexed 1984
    This review is fromNIV Thinline Bible, Renaissance Fine Leather, Ebony 1984.
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:July 22, 2013
    Customer Avatar
    Larry
    Location:Nebraska
    Age:Over 65
    Gender:male
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Great Service, Great Product. Shipment right on time.
    +1point
    1of 1voted this as helpful.
    Review 4 for NIV Thinline Bible, Bonded Leather Burgundy, indexed 1984
    This review is fromNIV Thinline Bible, Renaissance Fine Leather, Ebony 1984.
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Beautiful NIV 1984 leather Bible

    Date:May 2, 2013
    Customer Avatar
    seeker
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    The ebony Renaissance Leather cover on this Bible is high quality and very soft and supple. The Bible lies open easily because the cover is so flexible. I wish more Bibles were available with this kind of leather rather than the usual stiffer and shiny kind.
    Although the description gives the type size as "5-7 pt.", the type seems somewhat larger than that to me. It's not large print but is easily read. This Bible has the words of Christ in red. It's a convenient size and is thin, great for carrying with you. I also like that this Bible is the 1984 NIV instead of the newer 2011 version. I much prefer the 1984 version.
    I like everything about this Bible, and it's also a great value at the sale price. I'm so glad I found these before they're all gone. This is an excellent personal Bible.
    +5points
    5of 5voted this as helpful.
    Review 5 for NIV Thinline Bible, Bonded Leather Burgundy, indexed 1984
    Overall Rating: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5

    Was surprised by how much I like the size.

    Date:February 9, 2013
    Customer Avatar
    Elaine Abraham
    Location:McDonough, Ga
    Age:Over 65
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    The only negative is that with the small type and pages, there is not much room to write notes legibly in the margins - other than that, I love the Bible and it's smallness - especially since this is my study Bible - with the small print, it doesn't seem like the chapters are as daunting as in my other Bibles - especially my Amplified!
    +2points
    2of 2voted this as helpful.
    Review 6 for NIV Thinline Bible, Bonded Leather Burgundy, indexed 1984
    This review is fromNIV Thinline Bible, Renaissance Fine Leather, Ebony 1984.
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    I Love 1984!

    Date:January 4, 2013
    Customer Avatar
    Drea
    Location:Los Angeles, CA
    Age:18-24
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    (click to see the video)
    User submitted video
    There are not many 1984 editions left of Zondervan's Thin line NIV bibles.... so, when I can across this one online I was thrilled! Especially since it's made with Renaissance Leather (sooooo soft!) I carry my bible everywhere I go :D
    The only bummer- it went on sale about 2 weeks after I bought it. Nevertheless I still got a good deal! $29.99.
    +3points
    3of 3voted this as helpful.
    Review 7 for NIV Thinline Bible, Bonded Leather Burgundy, indexed 1984
    This review is fromNIV Thinline Bible, Renaissance Fine Leather, Ebony 1984.
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Perfect give for my husband!

    Date:December 17, 2012
    Customer Avatar
    Jacinthe
    Location:Ontario, Canada
    Age:25-34
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    My mother gave this Bible for my husband for his birthday as his old NIV was falling apart. This Bible is perfect! The feel of it is very nice (nothing like he's ever had), and the size is great to carry around. He is a picky man, and he's very pleased with it. He wanted the red-letters and the 1984 version of the NIV, which is exactly what this Bible offers! And the price is right!
    +2points
    2of 2voted this as helpful.
    Review 8 for NIV Thinline Bible, Bonded Leather Burgundy, indexed 1984
    This review is fromNIV Thinline Bible, Renaissance Fine Leather, Ebony 1984.
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Great Quality Thin Bible

    Date:September 19, 2012
    Customer Avatar
    Trish
    Location:CA
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Yes, the reviews so far are correct. The cover is soft and made of fine material. The font isn't as large as previous reviews noted. I purchased this bible for my husband and he loves it. The concordance is handy but it does not include a dictionary of common biblical terms that readers sometimes like. This is a great gift for men because of the handsome cover, compact thickness, and the luxurious (sounds silly but true) feel.
    +2points
    2of 2voted this as helpful.
    Review 9 for NIV Thinline Bible, Bonded Leather Burgundy, indexed 1984
    This review is fromNIV Thinline Bible, Renaissance Fine Leather, Ebony 1984.
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:September 16, 2012
    Customer Avatar
    dannyboyparker
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Great Bible and is a fantastic price for leather and great print (even red letter!). I like the fact that the edition of the text is clearly identified, so if I don't want the newer "updated" text I am able to choose right up front.
    +1point
    1of 1voted this as helpful.
    Review 10 for NIV Thinline Bible, Bonded Leather Burgundy, indexed 1984
    This review is fromNIV Thinline Bible, Renaissance Fine Leather, Ebony 1984.
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Great product! Great price!

    Date:August 10, 2012
    Customer Avatar
    Watchman
    Location:SE, NM
    Age:25-34
    Gender:male
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    I have worn through quite a few bibles in my life and in recent years have tried to move more towards e-bibles, switching due to the fact that I like to use different versions and usually when I need to look up scripture spontaneusly I use the internet, PC programs and Iphone apps that make it quick and easy. In recent months though, I have missed, more and more, having a real solid copy of the Word in my hands when I want it. However, I like to travel lite, even to church and needed something compact but not too small with small print. I looked around and picked this one due to its price and size and don't regret it. I knew it was genuine leather but it is unfathomably soft to the touch but still feels hardy enough to survive many many bible-studies. The print is on the smallER side but not too bad which is due to the fact that it is less of a study bible and more just pure compact scripiture with a few maps. I plan on using it as my personal everyday and travelling bible.
    +2points
    2of 2voted this as helpful.
    Review 11 for NIV Thinline Bible, Bonded Leather Burgundy, indexed 1984
    This review is fromNIV Thinline Bible, Bonded Leather Black, Thumb-Indexed 1984.
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    This Bibles is simply awesome!!

    Date:July 6, 2012
    Customer Avatar
    Trachena Muchnick
    Location:Miami, FL
    Age:35-44
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Awesome Bible...we love the 1984 edition of the NIV. This is a must buy, a great everyday Bible, not too big, not too small...great quality and helpful thumb indexed. This Bible is also great for giving as a gift.
    +1point
    1of 1voted this as helpful.
    Review 12 for NIV Thinline Bible, Bonded Leather Burgundy, indexed 1984
    This review is fromNIV Thinline Bible, Renaissance Fine Leather, Ebony 1984.
    Overall Rating: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5

    Not bad, but could be better

    Date:May 11, 2012
    Customer Avatar
    Dflo75
    Location:Brooklyn, NY
    Age:45-54
    Gender:male
    Quality: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    The NIV Thinline Bible in Ebony Renaissance fine leather is a very good bible, but I have had a little trouble with this bible. And that's because when I ordered one, twice I had to ship it back either because a few pages were ripped, or because the Renaissance leather was in poor condition. Again, don't get me wrong, this is a really good bible, because of the fact that it's a smaller, easy-to-carry bible, and the font in this bible is perfect for 5-7 point, but the leather was definitley not the same quality as that of my Life Application NIV Study Bible, which is also Renaissance fine leather in Ebony. Twice I sent it back before they finally sent me a real good one, so now, I'm a happy camper, but people, please be aware that if you do order this particular bible in this type of leather format, you will either be pleased or disappointed with the way this leather may look.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 13 for NIV Thinline Bible, Bonded Leather Burgundy, indexed 1984
    This review is fromNIV Thinline Bible, Bonded Leather Black, Thumb-Indexed 1984.
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    the bible is just what i been looking for

    Date:April 13, 2012
    Customer Avatar
    washaw
    Location:michigan
    Age:45-54
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    3 out of 5
    3 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    3 out of 5
    3 out of 5
    the leather cover is buckling up the bible is great size love that it has index and easy to read
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 14 for NIV Thinline Bible, Bonded Leather Burgundy, indexed 1984
    This review is fromNIV Thinline Bible, Bonded Leather Black, Thumb-Indexed 1984.
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:February 14, 2012
    Customer Avatar
    Johan
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Great Product! I would recommend this to anyone who is looking for a Bible to take anywhere. It is slick and easy to find passages.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 15 for NIV Thinline Bible, Bonded Leather Burgundy, indexed 1984
    This review is fromNIV Thinline Bible, Bonded Leather Black, Thumb-Indexed 1984.
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Great Product

    Date:February 3, 2012
    Customer Avatar
    TeLi
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    The perfect size to go anywhere. Lightweight. Great Value.
    +1point
    1of 1voted this as helpful.
    Review 16 for NIV Thinline Bible, Bonded Leather Burgundy, indexed 1984
    This review is fromNIV Thinline Bible, Renaissance Fine Leather, Ebony 1984.
    Overall Rating: 
    3 out of 5
    3 out of 5

    Dissapointed

    Date:February 1, 2012
    Customer Avatar
    Lefty
    Location:Tennessee
    Age:55-65
    Gender:male
    Quality: 
    3 out of 5
    3 out of 5
    Value: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    3 out of 5
    3 out of 5
    This is a great bible. I had ordered one before and really liked it. However, when I ordered one for my wife, it came with wrinkles and marks on the soft leather cover. CBD quickly responded and sent me another one at no charge, but it also had some marks on it. It was not that big of a deal and we kept this one. But, only one out of three being in good "new" quality is not good odds.
    +1point
    1of 1voted this as helpful.
    Review 17 for NIV Thinline Bible, Bonded Leather Burgundy, indexed 1984
    This review is fromNIV Thinline Bible, Renaissance Fine Leather, Ebony 1984.
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:January 17, 2012
    Customer Avatar
    Dairy Mom
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    A really nice smaller Bible that will last my teenage son through to adulthood.
    +1point
    1of 1voted this as helpful.
    Review 18 for NIV Thinline Bible, Bonded Leather Burgundy, indexed 1984
    This review is fromNIV Thinline Bible, Bonded Leather Black, Thumb-Indexed 1984.
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:January 4, 2012
    Customer Avatar
    suesue
    Location:Texas
    Age:55-65
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    I was very pleased with this Bible and proud to give it to my grandson. It was just what he wanted in a Bible.
    Good quality and appearance.
    Hard to please a teenager but this did.
    +1point
    1of 1voted this as helpful.
    Review 19 for NIV Thinline Bible, Bonded Leather Burgundy, indexed 1984
    This review is fromNIV Thinline Bible, Bonded Leather Black, Thumb-Indexed 1984.
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:November 17, 2011
    Customer Avatar
    Jim Chapin
    Location:Richmond, Va.
    Age:55-65
    Gender:male
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Great value on a great product. I always go to Christianbook.com for Bibles, commentaries, etc.
    +1point
    1of 1voted this as helpful.
    Review 20 for NIV Thinline Bible, Bonded Leather Burgundy, indexed 1984
    This review is fromNIV Thinline Bible, Bonded Leather Navy 1984.
    Overall Rating: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5

    Nice Bible for the Cost

    Date:October 20, 2011
    Customer Avatar
    SecretaryCJ
    Quality: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    Value: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    3 out of 5
    3 out of 5
    We use this Bible as a gift Bible for our newly baptized members. The bonded leather looks nice along with the silver or gold edges (depending on the color ordered). The only drawback I would give is that, being bonded leather, the cover doesn't last as long as you would hope...but it does make a good starter Bible. Since the cost is low...you can easily buy another when the cover wears down.
    -2points
    0of 2voted this as helpful.