Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Publishers, Inc. Take a Chance on Me - eBook

Tyndale House Publishers, Inc. Take a Chance on Me - eBook

Darek Christiansen is almost a dream bachelor-oldest son in the large Christiansen clan, heir to their historic Evergreen Lake Resort, and doting father. But he's also wounded and angry since the tragic death of his wife, Felicity. No woman in Deep Haven dares come near.

New assistant county attorney Ivy Madison simply doesn't know any better when she bids on Darek at the charity auction. Nor does she know that when she crafted a plea bargain three years ago to keep Jensen Atwood out of jail and in Deep Haven fulfilling community service, she was releasing the man responsible for Felicity's death. All Ivy knows is that the Christiansens feel like the family she's always longed for. And once she gets past Darek's tough exterior, she finds a man she could spend the rest of her life with. Which scares her almost as much as Darek learning of her involvement in his wife's case.

Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(50 Reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (50 reviews)
5 stars
36
4 stars
10
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
1
48 out of 5096%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Take a Chance on Me - eBook
Review 1 for Take a Chance on Me - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Cassandra
Location:Maine
Age:18-24
Gender:female
I really enjoyed this book. The people were very real, broken and in need of God's grace. I also loved the ending. I think this in one of my favorites.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Take a Chance on Me - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

God is Rooting for Me

Date:April 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
Glenda Fowlow
Age:45-54
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I avoid books that give me an uncomfortable feeling. You know, novels that contain a quiet voice whispering there's room for improvement in my own life. And dang it, this book has that whisper. No escaping this time.
Because this story sucks you in and won't let you go. There's actually four main characters with their own carefully crafted story set in Deep Haven, Minnesota. Darek grew up here, but has withdrawn from living. Ivy has just arrived and can't wait to dig her roots into small town Minnesota living. Jensen can't wait to escape this hell hole. Claire wants to remain in Deep Haven forever. And young Tiger is always seeking his next adventure here, accidents notwithstanding.
This is a community story allowing you to meet a wonderful cast of characters. The pace moves well with consistent action. Before you know it, you're cheering them on. Even Jensen. (What?! How is that possible.)
Dare you to read this book. I've read it three times in less than a year and every time that whisper gets me. It's a keeper alright.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Take a Chance on Me - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Take a Chance On Me

Date:April 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
Amy C
Location:VA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really found Take a Chance on Me a great read. This is the first book I have read by Susan May Warren and she's gained herself a new fan. The story was full of variety emotions: happiness, heart wrenching, learning forgiveness, and of course love. I loved the character of Ivy. She was such a strong woman, overcoming so many life difficulties in her life.
I can't wait to read book 2 of the Christiansen Family series. Great book!
5 Stars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Take a Chance on Me - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

What was all the hype?

Date:February 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
Doris Wright
Location:Morganfield, KY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
What was all the hype about this book? I finally decided to see for myself and frankly I don't know what the hype was. It started out being good but in the middle the story just started dragging. The author kept saying the same thing just in a different way. Jensen said to Claire "how would feel watching the woman you love die in your arms?" Then, later Jensen was reminiscing about he, Claire and Felicity at the beach and Felicity had fallen asleep and Jensen knew right then he was in love with Claire. So. who was he in love with and how could he be in love with two women at the same time? This book wasn't all the hype it was made out to be. I'm glad I didn't spend any money on it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Take a Chance on Me - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Lovely Family Story

Date:February 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
CharityUAusten
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I’m so glad I finally got to read a book by Susan May Warren! This one was delightful – a lovely read. The characters felt very real and I can definitely feel an attachment to them already, even after only one book. They’re easy to connect to and easy to love. I could identify with them from the very start and empathize with their problems as well. I wasn’t entirely blown away by it, but I definitely did enjoy this book and will read more by Susan.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Take a Chance on Me - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The first book in what will be a great series

Date:February 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Britt98
Location:Grand Prairie, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love finding a new book series to fall in love with! And that is what I feel has happened after reading Take a Chance on Me. This book was wonderful and introduced me to a family that I want to learn everything about.
Take a Chance on Me takes place in Deep Haven, Minnesota. This is the setting of another series that Susan May Warren wrote. But don’t worry if you haven’t read that series. You don’t need to read it to understand what is going on in this new series.
In this first book of the series, we meet the Christiansen family. This is a family that really loves each other and stands strong together. John and Ingrid Christiansen own the Evergreen Resort. They have six grown children. Take a Chance on Me is about their oldest, Darek, who is a widower and single father. He has so much anger in his heart. Anger toward himself, his dead wife, his former best friend, God and just life in general.
Ivy is new to Deep Haven. She has never had the love and support of a family or the stability of staying in one town for long. She falls in love with Deep Haven and plans to make her permanent home there as a county prosecutor. Ivy has some issues with believing that God cares, based on things that have happened in her life. Things in her life always seem to fall apart, but now Ivy holds out hope for a family and future. So, when she has the chance to grow close to Darek and then finds that there are some truths that might come to light and tear them apart, she is devastated.
Two other characters, Jensen and Claire, have their own pasts to deal with and their own issues with God to come to terms with. Their back stories, as well as Ivy and Darek’s are interwoven and so very interesting. All of these characters are very well-written. I am really looking forward to reading more from this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Take a Chance on Me - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Darek Christiansen is the most in-eligible bachelor in Deep Haven, but of course Ivy Madison doesn't know that when she first meets him. As the new assistant county attorney, Ivy is eager to finally put down roots, in the small, everyone-knows-your-name town in Minnesota. Growing up in 14 different foster homes, she has no family but dreams of being a part of one. The intriguing Darek has it all - a large, rambunctious family, a five-year-old son Tiger, and the kind of heart that attracts her attention from the moment she sees him interact with his son.
But Darek has his secrets, such as the nature of his relationship with his late wife Felicity, and the truth about how she died. Little does he realize that Ivy was the person who crafted the plea bargain for the very man responsible for Felicity's death; Jensen Atwood. Will Darek be able to forgive Jensen in his part in his wife's death? Will he be able to forgive Felicity for being the enabler of Jensen's freedom?
I was already in love with this novel when I realized that Warren had written six other books about Deep Haven. But I'm so glad I didn't know, because this novel is absolutely wonderful! Reading this made me wish that the Christiansen family was my own, and the characters are so well developed that it felt as if they were real people. I feel that if I just peek out my door, I'll see Claire bouncing out of her place with her pizza uniform on, all ready for her day at Deep Haven's pizza parlor. I've never read anything from this author, but I am an instant fan. I must and will order the first six books asap!!
This book was provided for free by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Take a Chance on Me - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Get your tissues ready

Date:December 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bookworm
Age:25-34
Usually I get a little confused when a story is told with more than 2 points of view, but the 4 in this story are easy to follow. I didn't have any problem distinguishing who was who.
The imagery is so vivid, and I feel like I've visited the scenes. I love a book that 'carries me away'. There are emotional aspects of this story I wasn't expecting, and I hated to finish the book because I didn't want to leave the characters.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Take a Chance on Me - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a great story of what forgiveness can do.

Date:January 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
Debbie Wilder
Location:Salinas, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Darek Christiansen is almost a dream bachelor – oldest son in the large Christiansen clan, heir to their historic Evergreen Lake Resort, and doting father. But he’s also wounded and angry since the tragic death of his wife, Felicity. No woman in Deep Haven dares come near.
Ivy Madison has moved to Deep Haven to take the job as assistant county attorney. Living in a small town and being a part of the community has been her dream. Suddenly her life has become more complicated. She simply doesn’t know any better when she bids on Darek at the charity auction held the first day she is in town. Nor does she know that when she crafted a plea bargain three years ago to keep Jensen Atwood out of jail and in Deep Haven fulfilling community service, she was releasing the man responsible for Felicity’s death. All Ivy knows is that the Christiansens feel like the family she’s always longed for. And once she gets past Darek’s tough exterior, she finds a man she could spend the rest of her life with. Which scares her almost as much as Darek learning of her involvement in his wife’s case.
Caught between new love and old grudges, Darek must decide if he can set aside the past for a future with Ivy – a future more and more at risk as an approaching wildfire threatens to wipe out the Christiansen resort and Deep Haven itself.
I love the small town of Deep Haven that Susan May Warren has created. I would love to be able to live in a community like it where everyone knows each other. This is the first book of a new series set in the same community. I quickly fell in love with the Christiansen family. It would be so cool to be neighbors with a tight knit family like this.
This particular book is the story of the oldest son Darek. As with most people he has a lot of baggage to deal with from past decisions. I thoroughly enjoyed finding out how his parents helped him to work through some of that baggage without ever judging him for those decisions. There are many other characters whose stories intertwine with Darek’s that are also working through past baggage. The gentle nudges that they all get to look to God for help is incredible. They all have a journey to take to find forgiveness for themselves and others. The paths are so intricately woven that it was a joy to follow along with these wonderful characters.
I’m looking forward to finding out the stories of the rest of the Christiansen children in future books in this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Take a Chance on Me - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Healing Of Past Wounds, Family and Romance

Date:November 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Susan May Warren in her new book “Take A Chance On Me” Book One in the Christiansen Family series published by Tyndale House Publishers takes us into the life of Darek Christiansen.
From the back cover: Come home to the Christiansen’s, where faith and family meet real life.
To all who know her, Darek Christiansen is almost a dream bachelor—oldest son in the large Christiansen clan, heir to their historic Evergreen Lake Resort, and doting father. But he’s also wounded and angry since the tragic death of his wife, Felicity. No woman in Deep Haven dares come near.
New assistant county attorney Ivy Madison simply doesn’t know any better when she bids on Darek at the charity auction. Nor does she know that when she crafted a plea bargain three years ago to keep Jensen Atwood out of jail and in Deep Haven fulfilling community service, she was releasing the man responsible for Felicity’s death. All Ivy knows is that the Christiansens feel like the family she’s always longed for. And once she gets past Darek’s tough exterior, she finds a man she could spend the rest of her life with. Which scares her almost as much as Darek learning of her involvement in his wife’s case.
Caught between new love and old grudges, Darek must decide if he can set aside the past for a future with Ivy—a future more and more at risk as an approaching wildfire threatens to wipe out the Christiansen resort and Deep Haven itself.
I like this town of Deep Haven. Ms. Warren does such a good job with the town and its inhabitants that you want to go there and live with them despite that the winters there are brutal. Ivy Madison is the perfect heroine, she is the new assistant county attorney. Ivy has an indirect connection with Darek though neither knows it at first. Each of them has scars and wounds they need healed. The only one who can heal them is God and they won’t let Him. ”Take A Chance On Me” is an emotional ride that will wring you out and then fill you with renewal. God tells us that all things work together for the good and that, in His time, He makes all things beautiful. Want to really know how He does it? Susan May Warren shows us the how in this exciting story. ”Take A Chance On Me” is a wonderful, sweet story with power and depth that will keep you flipping pages. I recommend this book highly and look forward to a return to Deep Haven.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Tyndale House Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Take a Chance on Me - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Take a Chance on "Take a Chance on Me"

Date:August 31, 2013
As a huge fan of Susan May Warren, I was thrilled to read Take a Chance on Me. As expected, I absolutely loved it! The plot, characters, and underlying themes are so rich, and I felt like I was right in the middle of everything the whole time. I loved Ivy and Darek and watching their friendship develop, and the addition of all of the drama surrounding Jensen really helped round out the story.
If I could sum up the message of the book in one word, it would belonging. Each of the characters are searching for a place to belong and must overcome past circumstances and their own shame to find that belonging. Let me just say it's a fascinating journey.
As a huge fan of family sagas, I'm looking forward to reading more about the Christiansen family! Whether you're looking for a romance or a deep, emotional story, Take a Chance on Me is a great choice! [5 stars]
I received a free copy of this book from the author in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Take a Chance on Me - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Take a Chance on Me

Date:August 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
bookworm
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Take A Chance On Me is a story about the power of forgiveness. Ivy, a lawyer with a painful past, moves to Deep Haven in order to escape life in the city while still being in a position to help others. She attends a fund-raiser where bachelors are being auctioned off for a date. Ivy bids on whom she thinks is Owen Christiansen and wins only to later realize that she bid on his older brother, Darek. Darek is a broken man with a heart full of anger and hate due to his wife’s death. Darek, who had no desires for a date, only stepped in for his brother, who could not be there due to his job as a hockey star. When he tries to leave the fund-raiser without meeting his obligation to go on a date with Ivy, she follows him and feeling guilty, Darek acts as a tour guide. The night is cut short when Darek receives a call that his 5 year old son has been injured, however, Ivy left an impression on him that Darek would rather ignore. Meanwhile, Jensen, who caused Darek’s wife’s death accidently, struggles with the guilt of his past while he fulfills the community hours he must finish so he does not have to go to jail. Jensen, who used to be Darek’s best friend, feels like the town pariah and bides his time when he can escape Deep Haven and the town’s scrutiny. Another character, Claire, who was Darek’s wife’s best friend, wrestle’s with feelings of inadequacy due to her parents’ wishes that she leave Deep Haven, go to college, and get a job serving Jesus as missionaries as they have. However, Claire loves Deep Haven, her job working as a gardner, and caring for her grandfather and doesn’t want to leave. Unfortunately, she is scared to tell her parents for fear of disappointing them. As the story unfolds, Darek and Ivy and Clair and Jensen grow closer together, but then tragedy strikes each pair threatening the love that blossums among each pair. Will Darek overcome the feeling of guilt, hatred, and anger? Will Ivy overcome her past as a foster child and accept that God loves her? Will Clair find a way to stand up for what she desires and repair her relationship with God? Will Jensen be able to forgive himself and find a home in Deep Haven after all? Will Darek and Jensen forgive each other and become best friends again? These questions and more will be answered when you read the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Take a Chance on Me - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Story From One of My Favorite Authors!

Date:August 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Veronica
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an amazing story about second chances at love and the importance of forgiveness. Darek Christiansen is the oldest in a large family, trying to keep their resort in Minnesota in the black. He's also a widower with a young son, angry and bitter at his best friend Jensen, who accidentally killed her. When he meets Ivy Madison, the new assistant county attorney, he has no idea that it was her plea bargain that gave Jensen community service instead of jail time. All he knows is that she might be his second chance. Ivy loves the sense of family and community she finds in Deep Haven, especially since she grew up in foster homes, but she's terrified the truth will come out about her involvement in the case. She's falling for Darek and his little boy, but can he forgive her when he learns the truth?
Jensen may not have gone to jail, but he feels like he's been in prison for the last three years. Trapped in Deep Haven in order to do his community service, he feels like everyone hates him and he can't wait to leave until he reunites with Claire, Darek's wife's best friend. Could he get a second chance with her, Darek, and the town he loves?
I loved this story set in the cozy town of Deep Haven. This is a new series that spins off of the Deep Haven novels, focusing on the Christiansen family, but will have cameos of characters from the other novels. The way Susan writes emotions and scenes bring the story to life. I fell in love with the characters and was rooting for them to find the forgiveness and love they searched for. I really want to live in Deep Haven, but reading this story is the next best thing. I can't wait for the next book in the series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Take a Chance on Me - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good Start to the Series

Date:August 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
rlighthouse
Location:PA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ivy and Darek meet when Ivy buys him at a charity auction soon after she arrives in town. It becomes apparent they both have secrets from the past that they must deal with before they can pursue any sort of relationship and Darek has no idea that their secrets are intertwined so closely.
This is a good start to the Christiansen Family Series set in Deep Haven.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Take a Chance on Me - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

I wouldn't "Take a Chance" on it ;-)

Date:August 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
aklinslow
Location:Anchorage, AK
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Take a Chance on Me" is a very predictable and underwhelming story. I really felt that there was nothing original about the story, as it was just a typical "girl meets guy-doesn't like him but they're forced to spend time together-they eventually fall in love-then there's conflict-etc" story. Other than the setting (of a beautiful sounding resort area in Northern Minnesota) and secondary parts of the story (like the occupations of the characters, which were described in great detail), there wasn't anything new or original in the book.
The whole storyline was also very fast-paced and felt forced. The main characters, Ivy and Darek, have their first date in the first chapter, she meets his family on their second date, and immediately they start talking about Ivy becoming a mom to Darek's son. Just too far-fetched and unrealistic for my taste. (Also, I have a pet-peeve about overnight conversions that suddenly make an unequally yoked couple instantly yoked in stories. It doesn't work in real life and I find it lazy writing and too simple and trite in books.)
In conclusion, there are a plethora of great books out there, even in the romance genre, and I don't think this one is worth your time.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Take a Chance on Me - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Great Read!

Date:August 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
hannah97
Location:Cottonwood, CA
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Take a Chance on Me by Susan May Warren was even more amazing then I thought it would be. The characters were great and real. I felt as if I knew them personally. A must read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Take a Chance on Me - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent. Involving, Touching, Sweetly Romantic

Date:August 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
eb7bibliophile
Location:High Desert West
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed this book for well-portrayed characters and well-described scenes. The author knows the Great Lakes area and the forest-firefighting scenarios quite well. The plot pulled me right into the lives of the characters. The family showed strong faith, and helped the main characters to move forward in their search for healing. The banter among the family members was fun. I enjoyed the drama, the light romance, and the unfolding of the different backgrounds for the main characters. This story made me laugh and cry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Take a Chance on Me - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Take A Chance On Me

Date:July 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
muffin
Location:Honea Path, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Darek's wife, Felicity, was killed in a car accident. His best friend is blamed for the accident. This book deals with a lot of people who aren't willing to forgive, including Darek, who is storing a lot of bitterness in his heart. There are some more characters that are also dealing with forgiveness.
I really enjoyed this book. Susan May Warren did a great job bringing the characters to life. I would definitely recommend this book to everyone!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Take a Chance on Me - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I am now a Susan May Warren fan!!

Date:July 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sandy
Location:Neosho, MO
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was the first book by Susan May Warren that I have read. It was engaging and exciting from beginning to the end. I enjoyed the characters and the story line. I would recommend this book and author. I ordered a few more of her books after reading this one.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Take a Chance on Me - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

redemption story

Date:July 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
msharry
Location:Georgia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Felicity was hit by a car and killed. Now, three years later, everyone who knew her is bogged down with emotional baggage: the townspeople who loved her, her best friend who just can’t get on with her life, her husband who is consumed by guilt over his inability to love her, the man who killed her who was sentenced to 3000 hours of community service in the town that hates him, and the lawyer who made his plea bargain possible and kept him out of prison. They all have struggled with or totally lost their faith in God as loving Father. Now, when fresh starts seem possible for these characters, their bitterness and anger get in the way. They seem unable to ask for or give the forgiveness necessary to move on with their lives.
The characters are flawed but achingly real, and their emotions and actions ring true. The reader wants so much for everyone in the story to experience healing and wholeness because these are people easy to relate to and care about. The story line is believable, full of action and angst. The Christian message of redemption and grace is beautifully portrayed in several different ways. Great Christian romance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.