Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House The Last Sin Eater

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Tyndale House The Last Sin Eater

It's an Appalachian burial tradition that fascinates 10-year-old Cadi. A mysterious man has just "absolved" the sins of her grandmother by eating bread and drinking wine at her gravesite. Consumed with guilt over her own unrighteousness, Cadi seeks the same redemption from this "sin eater"---while she's still alive! Is this man really the absolver of sins? 380 pages, softcover from Tyndale.
Average Customer Rating:
4.889 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 out of 7100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Last Sin Eater
Review 1 for The Last Sin Eater
This review is fromThe Last Sin Eater - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Read!!!

Date:July 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Larik
Location:San Antonio, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is a wonder to what lengths people would go to cover their sins instead of bringing them to the altar of all-forgiving God. I loved this story and the movie that followed. Im happy to say that it is even translated in Russian and was playing on the radio a few months back. and i am not surprised by the publicity because even though it seems just a story of a little girl it is a huge eye-opener for all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Last Sin Eater
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
alice
Location:Easley, SC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is one of my favorite books of all times! I've read it several times. I bought this one for a gift.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Last Sin Eater
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good as Book Club Book

Date:May 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Wanda Mango
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read the original book many years ago and it was interesting reading this new version that was written after Ms. Rivers became a believer. We used this book as our first book in a Christian Book Club for women and nobody was disappointed.
Thank you, Francine Rivers for this great book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Last Sin Eater
This review is fromThe Last Sin Eater - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good book

Date:September 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
rjdavis528
Location:Topeka, KS
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Really enjoyed this book. There were a few typos. A good story with good character development and depth. The main characters had to uncover long kept secrets of the village and was able to expose them and let people start to heal from ill deeds of their past.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Last Sin Eater
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful book

Date:June 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Judy Dalton
Location:Morgantown, WV
Age:55-65
Gender:female
This book was so good. It honored God and was full of His Word. This book will be the next selection for my book club. Can't wait to discuss it with my club members.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Last Sin Eater
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A "Thinking" book.

Date:May 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
belle
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book makes you realize who truly is the "Sin Eater." Francine Rivers is an author who presents the story in a way that has the reader "feeling" their way through the story! She makes the characters so real! A great book by a fantastic author!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Last Sin Eater
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
KrRN
Location:IN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Couldn't put it down! Was engrossed from the first page to last.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Last Sin Eater
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Merle Lancaster
One of the best books I have ever read. Francine Rivers is one of my favorite authors and she never fails to please.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Last Sin Eater
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Aimee French
Loved this book. It was so good I couldn't put it down. Gave it to my 16 year old daughter to read, she loved it as well. What a beautiful story of God using unlikely people to bring His message of love and salvation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Last Sin Eater
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 27, 2009
A beautiful story of redemption. I disagree with the reviewer that seems to think this is unbelievable and that people don't just come to redemption so easily and apparently without study and growth. I would remind people that Christ is our redemption; not study, etc. That comes afterwords. Anyone can come to Christ through repentance when their mind is open. You don't need a preacher or even a Bible. It is the Holy Spirit who works in people. The apostle Paul was literally struck down and taught by Christ. The gospel is simple so all can understand and accept what Christ has already done. To say people can't easily come to Christ is being legalistic. I could very easily see this as an event that could have happened.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Last Sin Eater
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
Judith Hunt
This is a wonderful book!! The themes of sacrifice and redemption and God's love for us are so real and moving. The wonderful story and characters made me cry and laugh and celebrate with them. What a blessing! Thank you Ms. Rivers!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Last Sin Eater
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
Diane Fugate
This is one of the best books I have ever read. I love the way it really drives home the fact that no one but the Lord Jesus Christ can take away our sins and give us eternal life in Heaven. It really touched my heart and Francine Rivers is to be commended for excellent writing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Last Sin Eater
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 19, 2008
I cried. And I'm not a crier.I cried when it hit me again - how deep is the Father's love for us.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Last Sin Eater
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 19, 2008
Wow....wow what an inspiring author, Francine Rivers! Her stories are more than just stories. They are intricate, masterful tapestries, woven through with the threads of man's sin, and God's amazing Grace! This story was enthralling, and I had a hard time putting it down. I was completely emotionally involved with the characters, especially Cadi. I know...you're thinking, "good heavens, woman, it's just a book!"Well, it is a book written by a woman blessed by God with amazing talent and amazing tenderness for reaching through to the heart of the matter, pulling you along, and changing you in the process. P.S. The movie was amazingly powerful, too, though of course there were changes. Read the book first, then watch the movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Last Sin Eater
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:February 18, 2008
Customer Avatar
Tammy
Unlike other Francine Rivers' books I have read and loved, I had a hard time with this one. While the beliefs of this culture were fascinating, the story wasn't believable to me. It seemed to me that the characters took these gargantuan leaps in knowledge of the Bible, etc. While I do not doubt God's abilities, we are still human and need to learn and grow before we can become like these characters. I found it difficult to get through this book and found it a depressing read without a believable sequence of events.Sorry fans, this book didn't work for me personally. I absolutely love every other Rivers' book that I've read though. I haven't read them all yet, but plan to.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Last Sin Eater
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
Tasha
I love this book! It is written well and the story is awesome! The movie is great, too, but books always win out for me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Last Sin Eater
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 1, 2007
Customer Avatar
Julie
I LOVED this book it was hard to put down and was very well written I would highly recommend reading it
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Last Sin Eater
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 5, 2007
Customer Avatar
Felicia Capps
Francine Rivers writes the most interesting novels and The Last Sin Eater is so interesting and fascinating. I can't put the book down. The story line keeps you on the edge of your seat, and there are several minor plots woven in with theme of the book. I highly recommend this book to all readers of Christian Fiction! You won't be disappointed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Last Sin Eater
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 20, 2007
Customer Avatar
Sandy
Ever since I heard about the movie, I wanted to see it. I decided to read the book first. It was so moving. It took a little time to get started but I was hooked. Cadi's guilt was so real. You could feel her emotions. I loved the use of scripture to show how Jesus is the only way. As soon as I finished the book, I watched the movie. It is one of the closest matches to a book I have ever seen. The movie leaves out a few minor characters in the book, but the full effect is there. Jesus is the only one who can take our sins. I loved the book and the movie. I have already recommended it to 2 people this morning. God is Good. Mrs. Rivers did a wonderful job on this book. I am so thankful that God has blessed her with the ability to write books that grab you right in your soul and challenge you to be a better person.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Last Sin Eater
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 14, 2007
Customer Avatar
Kelly
Francine Rivers is an amazing writer. This book is HIGHLY recommended as it was to me by a friend of mine. I actually took it out of the library, but since loving it so much I've bought my own to lend out to friends! You won't be able to put it down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>