Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell Rebekah, Wives of the Patriarchs Series #2 - eBook

Revell Rebekah, Wives of the Patriarchs Series #2 - eBook

When her father dies and she is left in the care of her conniving brother Laban, Rebekah knows her life has changed forever. Her hope for the future is restored when she falls in love with her cousin Isaac, and their relationship starts strong. But marital bliss cannot last forever, and the birth of their twin sons marks the beginning of years of misunderstanding, disagreement, and betrayal. The rift between them grows wider and wider until it is surely too deep to be mended. And yet, with God all things are possible.
Average Customer Rating:
4.762 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
21 out of 21100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Rebekah, Wives of the Patriarchs Series #2 - eBook
Review 1 for Rebekah, Wives of the Patriarchs Series #2 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A good read

Date:July 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
sherrylabtec
Location:Hubert, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book is an excellent way to spend a rainy day on the couch with a cup of tea. Takes you to that time and makes you wish you had known them in person.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Rebekah, Wives of the Patriarchs Series #2 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Rebekah

Date:May 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
jenilee220
Location:Ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jill Eileen Smith writes amazing Biblical fiction. She does such a great job filling in the unknowns of some of the greatest Bible characters and developing a realistic, well-studied book about their lives. I enjoy every book she has written and was excited to read more about the life of Rebekah!
Once again, this Biblical fiction is beautifully written and full of deep characters. The book adds in historical detail to the time of Abraham, Isaac and Jacob. The book gives us glimpses of what their homes, towns, lives would have been like and gives us, the reader, an opportunity to step into the pages of the Bible.
The story of Rebekah is well-told but this book adds new elements and new circumstances that give you a new desire to study her story!
Make sure you read all of Jill's Biblical fiction and be sure to read her newest, Rebekah!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Rebekah, Wives of the Patriarchs Series #2 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another winner!!!

Date:May 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Julie
Location:Minnesota
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read all of Jill Eileen Smith's books that are available, and I can't wait to read more of them! She is a wonderful Biblical fiction author. She definitely brings the Bible alive.
Under author's notes she writes that she had a hard time with this storyline, since there isn't much detail Rebekah and Isaac in the Bible. But you'd never know it. The book was fascinating, and I especially enjoyed the focus on feelings and relationships. Of course those details are speculative (as opposed to Biblical fact), but they were very plausible and certainly helped me retain their story...not to mention give me insight that very-well-could-have-dbeen into these mysterious characters!
The mother-son relationship is special and unique (as is the mother-daughter relationship in different ways). I found it extremely interesting to read details about that. And I just have to add, I was stinkin' frustrated with Isaac!! The ending was good though.
It would've been nice to have a clearer indication of the passage of time at certain points, but that is very minor.
**Revell supplied me with this book in exchange for my honest review. I was NOT required to post a positive review, NOR was I paid in any way other than the book.**
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Rebekah, Wives of the Patriarchs Series #2 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Written with rich detail

Date:April 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Christianfictionaddiction
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Rebekah" is a wonderful addition to the "Wives of the Patriarchs" series, a book written with rich detail and heart-stirring emotion. I love the way that Jill Eileen Smith has brought Rebekah and Isaac to life, staying faithful to the Biblical account and yet forming them into characters with depth and uniqueness. These characters and their stories in the Bible have always fascinated me, and looking through their eyes as portrayed in this story has given me even more to think about. Never before have I considered that in the cultural context of the day, it would have been very difficult for Isaac to accept that God spoke to and through Rebekah and that he would be asked to trust a vision a woman had been given from the Lord. The author has succeeded in unfolding the story in a natural manner that would help explain why Rebekah played the role she did in helping Jacob deceive Isaac into giving Jacob the blessing instead of Esau.
Despite being very familiar with this story, I can say that this book is filled with compelling drama, and it held my interest from the first page to the stirring conclusion. As with the first book in the series, "Sarai", the author has put her skilled pen to good use, resulting in a book that is a pleasure to read. I strongly recommend this book, especially to readers who enjoy excellent Biblical fiction, and I award it 4.5 out of 5 stars.
Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Rebekah, Wives of the Patriarchs Series #2 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rebekah is the second book in the Wife's of the Patriarch's series and it explores the turbulent relationship between Issac and his wife Rebekah.
The story picks up after Sarah's death when both Abraham and Issac are still emotionally vulnerable. Abraham finally decides to seek a wife for his son from among his relatives in the city of Hebron.
I truly enjoyed the way that the author brings the very human element of emotion to the characters. The fact that Sarah never could truly forgive Abraham for almost sacrificing her son and how that effected Issac and his relationship with both his father and his wife. Also how after the twin were born, how both Issac and Rebekah each had a favorite and how that effected not only their relationship, but the brothers relationship toward's each other. I thought the author did a marvelous job of making the point that more times than not, the choices we make will effect more people that we would think.
We are also introduced to Rebekah's brother Laban, and we get a taste of his character because I know we will see him in the next book.
The only little criticism I might have was that I wish the author could have been a little bit more detailed in the day to day activities of the time. I think that would have added to the story, but as the books stands, the author has written a highly creative account of how these people lives could have been. It was both entertaining and enjoyable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Rebekah, Wives of the Patriarchs Series #2 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Mesmerizing!

Date:March 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dolly
Location:New Mexico
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Because Jill is one of my favorite authors, I expected to enjoy Rebekah, but her second book in the Wives of the Patriarchs series truly exceeded all of my expectations. Isaac & Rebekah are a bit of a mystery in Scripture, & Jill decided to tell their story from a relational perspective. Through that decision, she breathed beautiful life into Isaac, Rebekah & their love story. The inclusion of details from each of their backgrounds made it easier to understand the good & bad choices they made with each other & in how they raised their sons. Jill always crafts an amazing story, but I must declare that Rebekah is by far my favorite of Jill’s books to date. One of her special skills is weaving extensive cultural & historical details very organically into the storyline. I absolutely loved Jill’s interpretation of Rebekah’s story & gained a respect for her, Isaac, & their distinctive place in God’s redemptive plan. Plus, the glimpses of Jacob’s personality & his relationship with Rebekah have me anxiously awaiting the final book in this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Rebekah, Wives of the Patriarchs Series #2 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very Good

Date:March 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
birdie
Location:Apple Valley MN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is a very good day and did hold my attention. I love how she expleained every detail.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Rebekah, Wives of the Patriarchs Series #2 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rel Mollet
Location:Australia
Biblical fiction is not an easy genre to do well and yet Jill Eileen Smith handles it with a skill and sensitivity I greatly admire. Her portrayal of the love story between Isaac and Rebekah is both intriguing and engaging as she deftly brings the story to life in Rebekah, the second Wives of the Patriarchs series. With utmost respect for the Biblical account, Jill ponders the impact of Abraham’s willingness to sacrifice Isaac upon the father and son relationship as well as the marriage of Sarah and Abraham. Often we read the Bible stories in isolation and forget that the men and women who experienced life in the Old Testament lived with the consequences of their decisions and God’s invocations long after the small part of the story we read in the Bible. With attention to detail in every aspect of her writing, Jill makes this story sing with love, human frailty, and triumph. Rebekah is a powerful story that supports the Biblical account and proposes a reasoned and moving story of what could have been. Rebekah is Biblical storytelling at its finest and is well worth adding to your shelves.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Rebekah, Wives of the Patriarchs Series #2 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another winner by Jill Eileen Smith

Date:February 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Janna Ryan
Location:North Platte, NE
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Jill Eileen Smith is a master of Biblical fiction. She can take a childhood, Sunday School story and bring it to life with characters and motivation, vivid settings and twists that make you look at everything about the story in a fresh way. She is my go-to Biblical fiction writer and I always look forward to her next book. I have always loved the story of Rebekah and couldn't wait to see how she breathed life into it.
Rebekah is a strong woman at the mercy of her brother Laban's whims when it comes to finding her a husband. Just when things look really bad, God intervenes when Isaac's servant show up with a marriage proposal for his master. I'm not going to explain the story to you, but I will tell you why you should read it. What I love is that Jill doesn't change the story, she just makes you really dig into the culture of the time and explains a lot of the hows and whys things might have been that way back then. And she does it expertly. I know some people don't like Biblical fiction but I encourage you to try Jill Eileen's books and see if she doesn't turn you over to my side!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Rebekah, Wives of the Patriarchs Series #2 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Rebekah in One Expletive - WOW!!

Date:February 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
barbjan10
Location:Arlington, TX
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My overall opinion of Jill Eileen Smith’s writing Rebekah’s story can be explained in one expletive – WOW!!
Ms Smith certainly displayed her ability to reveal deep inner feelings of each character that brought the age old story of Abraham followed by his blood born children to life. From now on, my personal thoughts of this scripture will vividly be quite different. She wrote with such freedom that only could have come from the Lord.
Rebekah is now known to me in a completely different light – before I had mistakenly imagined her as haggish and manipulative, but Jill brought out her beauty from the inside that endeared her to me. Yes, there were the same small minded or broad minded compassionate beings in that time as in any time. Rebekah and Isaac both showed a more loving compassionate lifestyle toward others, and as human nature proves time and again…resentment , jealousy and distance can mar close relationships through real or imagined slights and hurts.
Jill Eileen Smith’s story is rich in believable information about the personal lives of each character, their thoughts, emotions, fears, and affections. This writing of Biblical fiction caused me to think deeper about the scriptures from whence the story came. Believing in God was as much of a choice then as now. I do have many questions yet as to where Ishmael and Esau spread their influences throughout history. But that is an issue that might better not be questioned here.
My admiration is unmeasured toward Jill’s study and research, placing herself in the position of each character to think deeply as they might have thought. I count this all as AWESOME! She has further interested me in digging out maps and study regarding the scripture from which this fabulous story is written.
This review is following a bit later than others due to personal circumstances; however sharing a few thoughts about this historical Biblical fiction is merited. Indeed a pleasurable and emotional read and proving again God is infinite and blesses beyond comprehension. Thank you, Jill Eileen Smith, for shedding new light on the Word of God. In the future, over time, all of your writings will appear in my personal library. Abigail and now Rebekah have brought joy with my recommendation for all to pick up these great reads.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Rebekah, Wives of the Patriarchs Series #2 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Biblical fiction at it's best

Date:February 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Brenda
Location:WV
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have become a huge fan of Biblical fiction so to say I was excited to read "Rebekah" is sort of an understatement, because I remember reading her story in the book of Genesis.Well after reading Jill Eileen Smith's fictionalized account of her story, I know I will never forget Rebekah, because she brought the story to life making me feel as if I was right there as the events take place.The twins that she bore, and who she chose as her favorite. Ms. Smith allowed me to see Rebekah as a mother, not just another woman in the Bible. The author easily pulled me back into Bible days, with a richness in descriptions that brought the time and setting to life. I certainly enjoyed how the author incorporated scripture verses thru the story. Overall, fans of Biblical fiction will certainly want to read this one, but anyone who enjoys historical fiction with romance, where the characters just happen to be from the Bible will certainly want to read this memorable story. I can't wait to read the next book in this exciting series!
A complimentary copy of this book was provided in exchange for an honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Rebekah, Wives of the Patriarchs Series #2 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Different Perspective

Date:February 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Faith and Family Reviews
Location:Chicago, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Every time I read a book about one of King David’s wives or the Patriarchs the authors make me think about the story in a different light. This was the case with Rebekah by Jill Eileen Smith in the second book of the Wives of the Patriarch’s series.
I enjoyed reading Rebekah and Isaac’s love story, as it is on of the most amazing in the Bible. Rebekah trusted God and a servant when she agreed to marry Issac without ever meeting him. I don’t know about you, but I don’t think I could possess a faith like that at all.
Jill’s angles in the relationships between Abraham and Sarah, Isaac and Rebekah, and Isaac & Rebekah and sons made me think about wonder about their full stories. I enjoyed reading Jill’s perspective. I cried too, but that’s a given when you empathize with characters you read about right?
I recommend this book just so you think about the different circumstances in Isaac and Rebekah’s meeting, marriage, and parenting. This book is sure to make you pensive if anything about the lives of Isaac and Rebekah.
“Available February 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.”
Faith and Family Reviews received the following product in exchange for writing a review. While we consider it a privilege to receive products to review, our reviews are our honest opinion and thoughts of the product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Rebekah, Wives of the Patriarchs Series #2 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Rebekah is a life of promise enough?

Date:February 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Blooming with Books
Location:Bloomer, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rebekah
Wives of the Patriarchs Book 2
By Jill Eileen Smith
When Rebekah's father Bethuel dies her brother Laban becomes head of the family. Rebekah fears that Laban's greed will keep her from marriage, as no man can meet his price for his sister's hand. But Rebekah is impatient and outspoken and, according to her mother, needs to learn to hold her tongue.
In Hebron, Issac, the son of promise, is yet unmarried. His father Abraham wants to secure a wife for Issac from among the household of his brother's sons. Issac is quiet and introspective in his ways.
Is it truly the will of Elohim for two such different people to be the means to fulfilling the promise given to Abraham all those years ago? But as the years pass and no children enter their family, Rebekah fears that she will be like Sarah an old woman before she will be blessed with a child of promise. But unlike his father Abraham, Issac vows to take no other wife than Rebekah.
More than twenty years have passed, when the promise comes to pass with not just one but two boys. But Jacob and Esau will come between their parents. Issac will favor Esau his first born, while Rebekah will favor Jacob, whom the messenger of Elohim said would be the son of promise. Will the love of a child destroy them and the love that they vowed to one another. Or will Elohim allow them to see themselves as they are and give them a chance to change?
Rebekah is the story of Rebekah and Issac. Giving a glimpse of the lives they had before that shaped them into the people who would give birth to nations of people and from whom a promise of redemption would come. They are not portrayed as perfect people but as normal people with needs, wants, and desires. People who at times will do what they want to get the future they think has been promised, but who acknowledge that no matter what there is One who controls everything. Can we, like Rebekah put our trust in the God of Abraham knowing that through trials He has our best interest in mind no matter what we see or don't see.
I received a copy of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review, all opinions expressed are my own.
Available February 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Rebekah, Wives of the Patriarchs Series #2 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
sunny island breezes
Location:a sunny island
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Two people who love each other can still mess it up. Both Rebekah and Isaac have doubts and disagreements which threaten their happiness. Familiar story here. The marriage was great until the children came along’
In Rebekah’s case it was a two-in-one deal. Unfortunately each parent favored a different child. This definitely colored their marriage, and burdened the hearts of this couple.
Over time it got worse instead of better. There comes a time when it seems that the marriage is beyond repair. You’ll need to read this book for yourself.
It’s an old story made new. I have a deeper appreciation for Isaac and Rebekah now. Ms. Smith really knows how to bring life to the women of the Bible and their relevancy to us today.
***A special thank you to Donna Hausler for providing a review copy.***
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Rebekah, Wives of the Patriarchs Series #2 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Much better than Sarai!!

Date:February 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rosie
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jill Eileen Smith returns with the Biblical tale of Isaac and Rebekah. :-)
I was first entranced by Miss Smith's writing with the first book in this series, Sarai. If I liked Sarai then I loved Rebekah. I read pretty much the whole book in one day. For me, Rebekah totally surpassed Sarai. Sticking close to what is in the Biblical account; Miss Smith leads us through Isaac and Rebekah's early marriage all the way to the infamous impersonation of Esau by Jacob.
Rebekah came right off the page! I connected with her in a way I didn't expect to and thus had a really hard time setting the book down. The writing flowed, the characters felt real, and the ending already makes me excited for Rachel!
I never felt like I understood Isaac until I read this. He went through a tragic yet amazing event as a child and I never thought about how almost being sacrificed would affect him. He was a great husband and father... Well, at least to Esau.
In sum, if you like Biblical fiction you'll love this one! I also highly suggest you read the chapters in Genesis either before or after reading Rebekah. You'll be amazed and how well Miss Smith stuck to the Biblical account. ;-)
I received this book from Revell in return for an honest review of my opinions, thanks!
Available February 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Rebekah, Wives of the Patriarchs Series #2 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Anything about twins is always interesting!

Date:February 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Julieanne Miller
Location:Oregon
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a fictional but Scripture-based story, written in such a way as to fill in the many gaps of what is sparsely told in the Bible. We are not really given many details from the Bible concerning Isaac and Rebekah, though theirs has always been a beautiful love story due to the way God ordained their paths together.
Although this story provides some extensive background on both Rebekah's and Isaac's childhood and young adult lives, as imagined by the author, the main body of the story is of the conflict between these two over the eventual fate of each of their sons, Esau and Jacob. The great love between Rebekah and Isaac is constantly alluded to and their conflicts and ability to forgive come up over and over. It is easy to imagine that all of this is quite true, but of course, much of it has to be credited to the author's imagination and her guidance by the Holy Spirit. It does make a compelling story to read, and all of it could quite possibly be true!
This is an emotional story, one that can easily be felt within the reader. It brings tears at times because there is so much truth in it. Many times, the reader is surprised by the truths that become evident concerning marriage and trust in a marriage partner. The reward of true love is related over and over. The feelings that parents have for each of their children and the conflicts they feel over what will eventually happen to these children is easily acknowledged by anyone who is a parent. It is comforting to see how Isaac and Rebekah finally accept one another's views of their conflicts and how they eventually resolve them.
A great story which compels one to go back to Scripture and read what is written there!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Rebekah, Wives of the Patriarchs Series #2 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A MUST READ!

Date:February 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
My Book Addiction
Location:North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
REBEKAH by Jill Eileen Smith is a wonderful inspirational historical romance set 1969 B.C. Book 2 in the “Wives of the Patriarchs”,but can be read as a stand alone. See,”Sari”. Rebekah, a beautiful woman full of hope and promise,finds heartbreak,betrayal and healing. Follow Rebekah on a journey with many twists and turns. After their twins are born the rift between her and Issac grows larger,misunderstandings and betrayal stronger, and her faith falters. Rebekah has faced much sadness,dangers,and is a fascinating woman to follow. Issac has many qualities,many faults,as we all do,but can he and Rebekah find love and fill the rift between them. If you enjoy fictional as well as biblical characters,historical fiction,and love you will enjoy “Rebekah”. Once again, Ms Smith has filled us with love,hope,faith,forgiveness and healing and gave us a glimpse into the live and times of “Rebekah”. A must read! Received for an honest review from the publisher.
“Available February 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.”
RATING: 4.5
HEAT RATING: SWEET
REVIEWED BY: AprilR, My Book Addiction and More/My Book Addiction Reviews
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Rebekah, Wives of the Patriarchs Series #2 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Enjoyable read for various reasons.

Date:February 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
Location:Arizona
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
One of the things I both like and dislike about Biblical fiction is that you already know what will happen when you begin the story. The fun for me is in experiencing the details. For the most part I enjoyed this novel. I was familiar with the story about Isaac and Rebekah and how they came together for marriage to fulfill God's plan. I liked how the author showed the effects of what they referred to as "the binding" of Isaac by his father and how that caused a rift in his parents' marriage. It made sense the way the author laid out the details. That played a key part in the story.
I also enjoyed watching the love develop between Isaac and Rebekah who didn't know each other prior to her being brought to his residence to become his wife. She shared quite a bit with her deceased mother-in-law with the delay of childbirth being the biggest one as well as the one pregnancy, though in Rebekah's case it resulted in twins. I admired Isaac for keeping one wife as he waited on the Lord to fulfill his promise. The author did a great job showing how Isaac believed God for the promise even though he doubted in other areas. What I liked most was how human the author made these characters so they felt like people we can all relate to rather than the little bit we know about them from the facts outlined in the scriptures about the events in their lives.
The author also did a great job at making sense of Rebekah's deception and her motivation to have Jacob deceive her husband. She also did a wonderful job of showing how favoring one child over another can cause strife in families. All in all this was a good book. My favorite part was the romance and the biblical setting. Smith really knows how to bring the old testament to life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Rebekah, Wives of the Patriarchs Series #2 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Rebekah--Wife of Isaac

Date:February 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:St. Paul, MN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Though this book is written as Biblical fiction, and the author has taken some liberties in her writing to enhance the possibilities behind the scenes, the basics of Rebekah’s early life and her marriage to Isaac come to life in Jill Eileen Smith’s book, Rebekah.
The romantic beginnings of Isaac and Rebekah’s marriage are delightful, as the author intricately develops their deep love for one another. Their lifestyle of living in tents is a reminder of ‘roughing it’ when on tent camping vacations. Their ‘camping vacation,’ however, doesn’t end.
The book is so realistic that it could easily portray anyone’s life and marriage. The favoritism of the sons is deliberately emphasized to help create the tension and animosity between the boys as well as Rebekah and Isaac. The painful emotions are so personal that they pull at your own heartstrings, as though you are personally there. Jill does this in her own creative, story-telling method that I have grown to love.
This story is not God’s perfect will for a family, but He is willing and able to help them make changes, where willing. In spite of the contention and sin, God used the situation to advance His plans.
If you find yourself in this position, or any other, know that the God of Abraham is there to change you through His Son. Please be willing.
Be sure to check out all of Jill Eileen Smith’s Wives of the Patriarchs and the Wives of David series. You will be pleasantly surprised at the intricacies of the author’s writing.
This book was provided by Donna Hausler, Publicity Assistant/Blog Tour Coordinator for Baker Publishing Group, in exchange for my honest review. No monetary compensation was received.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Rebekah, Wives of the Patriarchs Series #2 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Showing the "human side" of women of the Bible

Date:February 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
ACS Book Finder
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review: Jill Eileen Smith has woven a wonderful story, based on scripture, about the lives of Rebekah and Isaac. I enjoyed this book and the author's perspective and details about how possibly Rebekah felt during her marriage to Isaac and motherhood to Easu & Jacob.
Many times we treat the scripture as just stories to teach our children and not actual people. The author has done a really good job of helping us see both the faithfulness of Rebekah and Isaac during difficult times and also showed us their "human side" as well.
I believe the author truly loves the "women of the Bible" and has taken great pains to be as accurate as possible. I look forward to reading other her other books on the wives of David. (rev. P.Howard)
DISCLOSURE: A complimentary review copy was given to us in exchange for our honest review by Revell a Division of Baker Publishing Group on behalf of the author. Opinions expressed are solely those of the reviewer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>