Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Publishers Unbreakable (Road to Kingdom Book #2) - eBook

Bethany House Publishers Unbreakable (Road to Kingdom Book #2) - eBook

Gentle and unassuming Hope Kauffman has never been one to question or try to make changes. She quietly helps her father run Kingdom Quilts and has agreed to the betrothal her father arranged for her with the devout but shy Ebbie Miller.

Despite Hope's and other Kingdom residents' attempts to maintain the status quo, changes have already begun to stir in the small Mennonite town. The handsome and charismatic Jonathon Wiese is the leader of the move to reform, and when one of Kingdom's own is threatened by a mysterious outsider, Jonathon is one of the first to push for the town to arm itself. Hope's fianci, Ebbie, is at the forefront of those demanding the town stay true to its traditions of nonviolence.

Average Customer Rating:
4.71 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
31 out of 31100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Unbreakable (Road to Kingdom Book #2) - eBook
Review 1 for Unbreakable (Road to Kingdom Book #2) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nancy did a good job here!

Date:February 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
wfnren
Location:St Cloud, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lizzie Engel is on the run again, she ran away from her home in Kingdom, Kansas, a Mennonite community, five years ago to get away from he mean father and the people that she thought looked down on her for having a child out of wedlock, Charity, by an Englishman.
She has been living in Kansas City since she ran without even telling her mother where she was, she had no communication with anyone from Kingdom all this time. Now all of a sudden she finds herself fired for stealing money she didn't steal, a man in a red baseball cap is stalking her, and she's getting threatening notes mailed to her. Lizzie has no choice but to leave Kansas City with Charity and not tell anyone, again, where she is going, but where can she go? The only place is back to Kingdom in hopes that her parents will let her move back in at least temporarily.
Once Lizzie gets to Kingdom her mother is more than willing to let her move back in but her father refuses to open his home to Lizzie and Charity. She manages to find a job at the local restaurant and can live upstairs but it doesn't take long before she sees her stalker has found her. After the man in the red cap is found dead she finds another note, this time no postage stamp on it. Now she's even more frightened, who could be following her, is she still wanted in Kansas City for theft, who could have killed the man in the red cap, could her father have killed him trying, for once, to do something 'right' for Lizzie, could Noah, her friend since childhood and keeps telling her he'll protect her no matter what have done it, could Clay, Charity's father who suddenly shows up in Kingdom again and offers to support Charity even if Lizzie doesn't want him in their life be the one or is it just a coincidence these things are happening now?
Good mystery Nancy, kept me guessing, I thought I had an idea but wasn't sure and then I kept going back and forth. If you like mysteries you will like this one. I'm looking forward to reading the next two books in the series. I read this one on my Kindle but I have the second one, "Unbreakable", in paperback, so I'm starting it now.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Unbreakable (Road to Kingdom Book #2) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nancy does a great job of bringing faith into this

Date:February 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
wfnren
Location:St Cloud, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Someone is burning the churches in neighboring towns and now they have started running the residents of Kingdom, Kansas off the road ending in the death of one of the elderly men. Hope Kauffman was also run off the road and hurt then after she unhitched Daisy and started down the road for home the red truck turned around and was headed straight at her. About that time Jonathon Wiese came along in his truck and stopped the red truck from hitting her, the mystery man turned around and sped off. Eventually the red truck started appearing in Kingdom, Lizzy and Noah's house was set on fire and then the church a short time later, almost killing Pastor Mendenhall.
Why are these people suddenly terrorizing the residents of Kingdom? Another thing, how do they even know about Kingdom and since the only road into town is being watched, how are they getting in to cause the havoc? Another question is why does the sheriff seem to dislike them so much and seem to have no interest in investigating any of the incidents?
Wow, Nancy started this book out with a bang, from the beginning you are trying to figure out who would want to terrorize the peaceful Mennonites and why. She also shares how people in the same church can come up with different ways to handle the problem and they both seem to be right. I really enjoyed that because as I've gotten older I do try to look at both sides of a problem and when I'm trying to help loved ones who are arguing I try to get them to see the other persons side. Of course all that seems to do is to make the one I'm talking to think that I'm on the other one's side, even though I say I can understand where 'you' are coming from but I know where 'they' are coming from also. I've been both a mother and a daughter so I'm trying to see both sides, they don't buy it, lol.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Unbreakable (Road to Kingdom Book #2) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Not As Good As the First, But Still Good

Date:December 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
ruthhill74
Location:Yelm, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is Nancy Mehl's second installment in this Mennonite series, but I have to admit that I did not enjoy this book as much as I had hoped. Don't get me wrong--she still had the suspense, the romance, and the wonderful celebration of the Mennonite faith. But I was not nearly as drawn into this book as I was the first.
Like the first, it began rather slowly, but the romance story and the unsettling suspense did capture my attention. I was not as interested in Hope as I had been Lizzie (glad Lizzie was still in this one), but I did wonder whom she would marry. All I will say is that Hope did not disappoint me. No spoilers as to the romance outcome.
One thing I had appreciated in the first book was the way in which the Christian faith had been woven so expertly into the story. For me, that was not nearly as strong in this book. Yes, the Christian message was there, but I didn't feel it was as focused.
Not to be completely critical, I will say it followed the normal form of the first book. It started off slowly and it escalated to a high within the last portion of the book. The charm of the Mennonite community were expertly captured in this fine book, but I much prefer the first book's story to this one. Just my opinion.
I was sent a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. I was not financially compensated, and all opinions are 100 percent mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Unbreakable (Road to Kingdom Book #2) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Suspense amid Mennonite Issues

Date:December 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
MaryAnn
Location:OR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The (fictional) isolated Conservative Mennonite town of Kingdom, Kansas, faces division as the residents lives and peace are threatened. Why would anyone want to run a buggy off the road or burn a church? Nonviolent Mennonites shouldn’t desire to fight back, but some may choose to abandon their long-held practice of nonresistance. What would Christ have them do?
Hope Kauffman, who manages the local quilt shop, is caught in the middle of the struggle. Not only does she sustain physical injuries, her emotional and spiritual life suffers too. Her fiancé Ebbie Miller is willing to release her, and Jonathon Wiese wants to court her, but she cares for both of them.
Since I’m Mennonite, the theme explored in this novel is important to me. I appreciate the realistic presentation of the issues. In addition, the suspense made for a good story.
I like this quote from p. 271: “We pray for protection, and then we try to defend our own lives and possessions. As if we don’t believe God will answer our prayers.” So true.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Unbreakable (Road to Kingdom Book #2) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

unbreakable review

Date:November 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
beckie
Age:35-44
Gender:female
"Unbreakable" the second book in the Road to Kingdom series by Nancy Mehl is a novel that covers the dilemma of fighting back, or waiting for God. Kingdom, a Kansas town of primarily Mennonites is being attacked by a group of people who hate Christians. The attacks go beyond the Mennonite community, but Mehl focuses on Kingdom, Kansas. Jonathan is a Mennonite who is in favor of defending the town and trying to protect the people. Ebbie is an elder who is in favor of praying and letting God protect the town. The two men lead battles between the sides as the attacks go on. They also battle it out for the heart of Hope, the main character. Hope has a deep quiet love for Ebbie, but he doesn't really excite her much. Jonathan makes her heart go pitter patter and puts the excitement in her. She sees both sides of the defense issue as well.
I really liked this book. The characters, though Mennonite, were not portrayed as too naive or somehow slow. The writing was good and the characters were well developed. I have not read book one, and had no trouble following book 2. I wished that the author had taken a little time at the beginning to lead the readers into what the town was like before the attacks; it seemed to hit the dilemma too fast. However, if I had read book one, that probably would not have been a problem. I received this book from the Book Club Network.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Unbreakable (Road to Kingdom Book #2) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A totally exciting Mennonite story of love and fai

Date:October 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cher
Location:NW Ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was ready for this book to be like a lot of other Mennonite books that I have read before. It is certainly not the same. So many surprises keep jumping out as you read, some very familiar names of places I've been to myself. I always love a book set in Kansas since that's where I spent the majority of my life and most of the towns mentioned are some where my husband's family lived.
Hope lives in a small Mennonite town named Kingdom. It is hard to reach this place from the outside world, and they like it that way. Up until now it has been a very peaceful place to live, only a few outsiders came to visit.
Several things happen that change the way things have always been. First, Jonathan had moved to the town about a year ago and has tried to change some of the way things had always been. On the way home from an outside town Hope is nearly chased down by a pickup, but Jonathan is there to stop them from hurting her and help her get home safely.
This is just the start of all the commotion in the little town of Kingdom. Not only is there turmoil in the town but in Hope's personal life. People are challenged to really use their faith during this time. Hope is also challenged in her personal life, her faith is tested. Will she stay strong, will the whole town stay strong?
I would wholeheartedly recommend this book to all who love to read. It is a most enjoyable book, easy to read and hard to put down.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Unbreakable (Road to Kingdom Book #2) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Action packed sequel with great romance

Date:September 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Britt98
Location:Grand Prairie, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unbreakable is another exciting addition to the Road to Kingdom series. Strange things are happening around Kingdom. When citizens are being harassed, one man killed and fires are set in the town, what is a God loving Mennonite community to do?
Some citizens of Kingdom believe they need to remain passive, putting their safety in God's hands. Other citizens feel the need to take precautions and set up a lookout at the town's entrance. On both sides of this issue are two men in love with Hope Kauffman.
Ebbie Miller has loved Hope most of his life. He and Hope are engaged and about to be married. Ebbie is on the side of peace. Is he the man for Hope?
Jonathon Wiese is also in love with Hope. Will he be able to win Hope's love? Jonathon is also a godly man, but feels more action is needed to protect Kingdom.
I knew who I wanted Hope to end up with and I am happy to say that she ended up with the man I felt God had for her. However, I was really impressed with the way the author was able to make it feasible for either man to have been a good choice for Hope. I enjoyed this book very much.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Unbreakable (Road to Kingdom Book #2) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Transforming View From My Original Desire

Date:June 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Robin Wallace
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unbreakable
Nancy Mehl
Book Summary: Mennonite Romantic Suspense Sure to Thrill Readers
Gentle and unassuming, Hope Kauffman has never been one to question the traditions of her Mennonite upbringing. She quietly helps her father run Kingdom Quilts and has agreed to the betrothal he arranged for her with the devout but shy Ebbie Miller. Despite the attempts of Hope and other Kingdom residents to maintain the status quo, changes have already begun to stir in the small Mennonite town. The handsome and charismatic Jonathon Wiese is the leader of the move to reform, while Ebbie insists Kingdom must remain true to its foundation. When Hope's safety is threatened by a mysterious outsider, she can't help but question what she's always been taught about the Mennonite tradition of nonviolence. As it swiftly becomes apparent the threat Hope faced is only the beginning, the town that's always stood so strong finds itself divided. With tensions high and their lives endangered by an unknown enemy, will Hope and the people of Kingdom allow fear and division to break them or will they draw on the strength of the God they serve?
Review: I thought the book got better and better as I continued to read!!! It started out slow for me, about 1/3rd into the book I could not put it down. I really found the mystery fun. It was not a huge who did it but definitely ‘a who will Hope chose to marry.’ I made up my mind and was very pleased that is the way the story went. I would have been so disappointed if it went any other way. I just could not see the outcome being satisfying had Hope’s choice been different. For me I was transformed in my opinion by the halfway mark. It is a good read when how you feel changes dramatically by the end of the book. I am looking forward to reading the 3rd in this series. It has been a fun series thus far. The people of the town have grown and changed which is part of the fun. There was a lot of sadness at the start of the book and that is what contributed to the slowness because it was such a tragedy to get through.
I would like to thank Net Galley and Bethany House Publishing for allowing me to read and review this book in return for a free copy and I was never asked to write a favorable review by anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Unbreakable (Road to Kingdom Book #2) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This book is exciting and thought-provoking.

Date:June 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
cariaryn
Location:Wisconsin
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
What I liked most about this book, and the first one in the series as well (Inescapable), is that the author really makes you feel part of the community she is writing about. Although characters are very different from me (Mennonite), I really felt like I could relate to them in their feelings, relationships, and struggles. The book had a good balance of suspense and "contemporary-ness". What I mean to say is that it blending genres well. Most suspense books don't really let you relax, and sometimes contemporary Christian titles are a little slow, but this one has a good blend of both. I recommend to readers of all genres! I typically choose historical or suspense myself, and I really enjoyed this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Unbreakable (Road to Kingdom Book #2) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

WONDERFUL AND THOUGHT PROVOKING!

Date:May 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Moonpie
Location:PRYOR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hope Kauffman is very happy with her life in the peaceful Mennonite town of Kingdom. She finds great joy in her quilting and running her quilting shop. Her faith is as much a part of her life as eating and sleeping. She never has had any desire to leave or question her Mennonite beliefs.
All her tranquility and way of life is suddenly threatened when someone starts running residents off the highway when they are returning home from town. Hope becomes one of these victims. Jonathan Wiese, new to their community, comes to her rescue. Feelings stir within her for this handsome “knight in shining armor”, but she is confused because is promised to marry Ebbie Miller in 2 months. Jonathan is everything Ebbie isn’t, dashingly handsome, exciting. She begins to question if she truly loves Ebbie enough to spend her life with him. Jonathan is quick to make his feelings known for her.
The attacks cause a division in the town’s people. Ebbie stands by their beliefs of turning the other cheek and no violence. Jonathan aligns with others to believe they should arm themselves to protect their loved ones. As the attacks move into the town Hope gets caught in between the two, unsure which way is right.
The story really brought to light Luke 6:29, And unto him that smiteth thee on the one cheek offer also the other; and him that taketh away thy cloke forbid not to take thy coat also. A verse I am very familiar with and have tried to live by. Ms. Mehl caused me to search even deeper in my beliefs. I certainly practice turning the other cheek when someone is rude, unkind, or unfair, but would I be able to follow the scripture if a loved one were in danger? Would God expect me to? These are just a few questions I was confronted with. I did come to an answer, but not without examining the meaning of this scripture in a way I never had before.
The story also brought to light standing alone for my faith, no matter what other Christians might think, choose, or in the face of persecution. There are lots of surprises throughout the book. Some I thought I had figured out and I was wrong, so I guess you could say I had double surprises! I not only appreciated the excellent writing, but also how the theme of Luke 6:29 was woven throughout the story. A book you want to read!
I received this book free from Bethany House Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Unbreakable (Road to Kingdom Book #2) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great story, great message!

Date:May 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
sweetharmony
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The story begins slowly, and begins to develop some good action towards the second half - a series of life threatening events. Some of the characters try to encourage others to take matters into their own hands, which becomes of great conflict with Mennonite church beliefs of forgiveness and non-violence. The elders believe that the main focus should be to remain faithful to their beliefs of leaving it to God.
As the story's excitement builds, Hope has to deal with her own dilemma of having to choose between two men who really do love her for who she is. Then we get to know the characters of the first book a little more. As these events unfold Hope comes to realize who she really is meant to be with.
Nancy Mehl incorporates a series of Biblical quotes to encourage and show the importance of faith, praying for our enemy, forgiveness, and believing that God will protect us in times of distress. Here are some of my favorite verses/quotes that she used:
"Remember that God offers us blessing and protection, but we must receive it by faith. By trusting Him. God does not force blessings on us, Hope. Especially blessings of the heart." -Ebbie.
"They are incredible creatures, Hope. Every time I watch them, I'm reminded that with God nothing is impossible. If they can lift fifty times their body weight, what can we do through God who strengthens us? I believe ants are a message sent from God to encourage us."
"God has given us beauty for ashes, the oil of joy for mourning, and the garment of praise for the spirit of heaviness."
* I was provided this book for free by Bethany House Publishing Group in exchange for a review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Unbreakable (Road to Kingdom Book #2) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good story

Date:April 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Nancy
Location:Kansas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Another good book by Nancy Mehl! It's a novel about the Mennonite tradition of non violence. I really like the way the Mennonites in Kingdom discover the meaning of faith and trust in God even when their lives are in danger. It's a very good book with mystery, suspense, and love and I would definitely recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Unbreakable (Road to Kingdom Book #2) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I highly recommend this book!

Date:April 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
BTNSBJ
Location:Ashland, Ky.
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received this book from Bethany House several weeks ago as part of a free program where they send you a book of your choice in exchange for a review, so here are some of my thoughts on this wonderful Christian fiction book titled, 'Unbreakable'.
This is the second book in the series that I got the privilege to read and I highly recommend it!! The author, Nancy Mehl, is a very talented writer, capturing your interest right away in the very first few pages. She knows just the right ingredients to keep your attention all the way through till the very end, w/endearing characters and a suspenseful plot.
The main character, Hope Kaufman, has not one, but two men, vying for her attention in a romantic way, as well as a mystery to help solve, together w/the town's people. Someone is trying to scare Hope (and others) by threatening their lives and she finds herself questioning her nonviolent beliefs as a Mennonite.
The author does the most wonderful job of presenting all sides of this issue from each character's position on it, as well as what they think God would have them do. Forgiveness and their faith in God also plays an important role in this story.
Nancy Mehl beautifully portrays the struggles the Mennonites face in our modern-day world. I enjoyed every minute of reading it and I hope you will too!
Thank you Bethany House for sending me this book and allowing me to review it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Unbreakable (Road to Kingdom Book #2) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Unbreakable - Hallelujah Reviews

Date:April 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Canada
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the second book in the 'Road to Kingdom' series. It is the story of Hope Kauffmam - a quiet, devote Mennonite girl who is engaged to Ebbie, her lifelong friend. Hope is content to run her quilt shop, take care of her father and start her new life with Ebbie in the peaceful, predictable town of Kingdom.
But big changes are on the horizon for the town of Kingdom and it won't be left alone for much longer. When the people of Kingdom are threatened by strangers, they must decide to turn the other cheek, or go against their beliefs and fight back. And when the man leading the town to reform, Jonathan Weiss, has Hope questioning her marriage to Ebbie, Hope has to ask herself - is she truly content the way things are, or is it time for change?
So how was the read...
Overall, I really liked this book. It had romance, suspense, and just a dash of mystery. But my favorite part was that the characters felt very real. I found myself exasperated with the shy, boring Ebbie and lamenting the fact that Hope was set to marry him. But when charismatic, bold Jonathan came on the scene, I thought to myself "Finally, this is the guy for Hope!" But you know what? The author put in so many twists and turns that as the characters true selves became clearer to me I began to wonder the exact same question as Hope - is it time I changed my thinking?
**I received this book for free in return for my honest review**
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Unbreakable (Road to Kingdom Book #2) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Finding Hope

Date:April 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the second book in this series that I have read, and another really great read. It will keep you guessing who is behind the fires and even the murder?
We renew our time with Lizzie, Cassie and Noah, and Hope Kauffman. Love being able to get caught up in their lives. As the story opens Hope in engaged to Ebbie Miller, and even though she loves him, she is feeling sparks from new comer Jonathon Wiese.
We find Hope being run off the road, her buggy tipping, and along comes Jonathon in his truck. He give comfort to Hope and helps her. When Ebbie breaks their engagement, Jonathon moves in. He loves Hope!
All of a sudden this peaceful Mennonite Community is under attack. Ebbie wants them to follow under Gods Protection, not violence. Where as, Jonathon thinks they should at least carry guns, even unloaded.
It is hard to imagine this peaceful Community of Kingdom living in so much fear! Who would do this?
You will have to read right to the end for answers. Even when I was sure I knew who was to blame, I was wrong. Also who will Hope end up with? Jonathon, who gives her her first kiss....or Ebbie who will step aside for Hopes happiness. Oh my, both these guys sound wonderful. Prayer.... for the Community and for the right choices.
I received this book through Litfuse Publicity Book Tours, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Unbreakable (Road to Kingdom Book #2) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Few Shortcomings but Still a Great Read!

Date:March 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
A Simply Enchanted Life
Location:North Carolina
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I think I liked this book better than the first. I did think some of it was entirely too similar though so I couldn’t quite give it a 5 star rating. Don't mistake my honesty as expressing a dislike as I really did enjoy the story despite a few shortcomings I thought that book had. For one, I thought that the love triangle angle was a smidgen annoying since I felt it pretty much happened in the first story. In Inescapable, I could understand Lizzie’s plight—Hope just came off a little flighty. Overall though, I did enjoy the story and I look forward to book three if there is to be one.
About the Story:
Hope is torn between two men—betrothed to Ebbie but seriously interested in Jonathan. As hate crimes start to mount against the Mennonite, Ebbie and Jonathan are at odds at how to handle the situation. The Mennonite are gentle people who do not believe in any sort of violence but change is in the air and the church is at odds on where things stand.
Really, the above paragraph sums everything up—there’s not much else I can say to expand on. I felt that this story was a better read than the first but after having read book one I do feel as if the two books were too similar in parts. I would have liked to have seen a little deviation from the typical love triangle.
Since there was in fact a love triangle—at least it wrapped up nicely and I had no idea who she would choose. I was nearly tempted to skip forward a page just to find out once it became apparent that she had made up her mind so at least it was written to be intriguing. Overall a solid four star read and I’ll be picking up more from this author.
I received this book free from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for an honest review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Unbreakable (Road to Kingdom Book #2) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
kelisni
Age:25-34
Gender:female
This was an interesting book. I was able to finish it in 2 days. I don't know much about Mennonites, but realize they aren't like the Amish. Anyways, this book was jam packed with action. It wasn't that it was such an easy read that I finished it so quickly, but that I couldn't put it down. Each chapter seemed to end with something that made me want to read the beginning of the next chapter...then I just kept reading.
Gentle and unassuming Hope Kauffman has never been one to question or try to make changes. She quietly helps her father run Kingdom Quilts and has agreed to the betrothal her father arranged for her with the devout but shy Ebbie Miller.
Despite Hope's and other Kingdom residents' attempts to maintain the status quo, changes have already begun to stir in the small Mennonite town. The handsome and charismatic Jonathon Wiese is the leader of the move to reform, and when one of Kingdom's own is threatened by a mysterious outsider, Jonathon is one of the first to push for the town to arm itself. Hope's fiancee, Ebbie, is at the forefront of those demanding the town stay true to its traditions of nonviolence.
Faith was a huge factor throughout this book. I can honestly say I didn't agree with the beliefs that were being presented in the book, however, I can accept the fact that if this is how Mennonites really believe, then who am I to cause them to change their minds. The most important factor is belief in Jesus Christ. As Christians, our belief system should be evolving into what God would have us believe, and we shouldn't be swayed by others no matter how charismatic or passionate they are.
Forgiveness was another thread in the book. The community made it a point to make sure to forgive others, no matter the circumstance. What a difference that can make when someone chooses to forgive, not only for them, but for the person they are choosing to forgive. That's the power of God being shown through His children!
I received a complimentary copy of this book from Bethany House Publishers for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Unbreakable (Road to Kingdom Book #2) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

unbreakable by Nancy Mehl

Date:March 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
cathy
Location:Kansas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unbreakable by Nancy Mehl.
Hope Kauffman has grown up in Kingdom which is a tiny Mennonite community in Kansas which even some who live in nearby towns don’t know how to get to. This community is in the midst of change within their very own town. Some want to be more liberal and some want the conservative status quo. Hope has never wanted to move outside of her community but now she is looking into her own beliefs and trying to decide on what exactly she believes and wants from her life. She is a fully grown adult at 26 years old but has always lived with her widowed father. She is engaged to her best friend Ebbie but Jonathon has been lately looking so good to her. Hope is so confused about who to choose. If that weren’t enough there has been someone in a red pickup trying to run over horse and buggies. A real Mennonite mystery right here in Kingdom. Hope had been injured and had to jump out of her buggy and landed in a ditch one day. If Jonathon had not been there she didn’t know what would have happened. These hateful people were not only trying to run horses and buggies off the road and had actually killed poor old Avery one day but were also setting fires to churches and Mennonite homes with Molotov cocktails. The elders of the church had finally said that people could no longer travel by their selves but must be together for protection. Jonathon and some of his friends were guarding the community, some even with guns. Which also was brought into question since the Mennonites did not believe in using violence against evil.
I liked this book. It made this religious group seem more real to me. Ms Mehl has brought out all that needs to be though about as these people make their way in this world living the life that they believe the Bible teaches them to do. Though the Mennonite community lives together and supports each other each person must make the individual decision on what God is telling each of them to do. Each one of them must decide how much to do for themselves and what to depend on God to provide. Not a lot different than what everyone must do. We are not that much different are we?
This book was provided for this review by Bethany House.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Unbreakable (Road to Kingdom Book #2) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Dilemmas - Suspenseful & Romantic!

Date:March 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Nancee
Location:Grand Rapids, Michigan
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One road leads to the quiet Mennonite community of Kingdom where a peace-loving community resides, and the residents feel protected from the outside world. Communities surrounding Kingdom are being victimized by hate crimes against Christians. Churches have been set aflame and cars forced off the road. On a return trip to Kingdom from a nearby town, Hope Kauffman and her horse and buggy are forced off the road by a pickup truck. Jonathon Wiese, a recent member of the community, rescues Hope just as the truck is heading toward her a second time.
Confusion at her racing heart and the acute awareness of Jonathon’s presence cause Hope to question her reaction to Jonathon’s attention. Hope is betrothed to her long-time friend Ebbie Miller, a conservative Mennonite like Hope, her father, and the majority of their community. Her conservative ways and lifelong convictions are shaken by the openness of Jonathon’s attraction to her, and her response to his actions. Her faith in God keeps her internal struggles at bay even while she grapples with her conservative roots and a more progressive perspective.
Additional incidents victimizing their small community have become alarming, and Jonathon and other residents take action to protect the town from further harm by keeping guard on the road leading into Kingdom. Conflicts develop between conservative, nonviolent members of the community and the small group who feel that more resistant action should be used to protect Kingdom from future harm.
Dual plots in this suspense-filled and romantic story are fast paced yet beautifully detailed. The realities of resistance and nonresistance are well defined and choosing sides in this story is not an option. Both sides of both plots are humanistic and relative. The spiritual quality throughout this story is strong and well utilized. Nancy Mehl has a beautifully descriptive and picturesque nature with words, enhancing the locale and human qualities of her characters. This is a wonderful sequel to “Inescapable,” but the book is also a stand-alone. This book has its own merits.
DISCLAIMER: I received a PDF copy of this book from the author in exchange for my honest review. All opinions expressed are mine, and no compensation has been received for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Unbreakable (Road to Kingdom Book #2) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Heart Pounding Mennonite Suspense!

Date:March 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
dianaFlow
Location:W Columbia, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In Unbreakable, the heart pounding sequel to Inescapable, we are again swept away to the lovely, little Mennonite town of Kingdom; with its quaint shops, cafes, and the smell of honeysuckle permeating the fresh air...a special place, safe and protected from the outside world. That is until an unexpected threat of evil arrives in town, leaving the peaceful residents wondering if life in Kingdom will ever be the same again.
Hope Kauffman is proud of her Mennonite heritage and contented with her life in Kingdom where she runs a quaint quilt shop. Engaged to the shy, unassuming Ebbie Miller, Hope is stirred and confused by emotions brought on by the handsome, blue eyed, Jonathon Wiese.
Jonathon is a young Mennonite newcomer to Kingdom and when someone purposely tries to run Hope's buggy off the road, it is he who saves her life and the chemistry between them begins to grow. As new incidents and attacks occur on Kingdom's residents, and Ebbie, seeing the attraction between the two breaks off their engagement, Hope's world is turned upside down. Soon she begins to question everything she has been brought up to believe in.
Who is attacking the townsfolk with a vengeance...and why? And should the residents of Kingdom give up their pacifist ways to defend themselves or simply trust God to protect them through it all? Jonathon and Ebbie are both handsome, godly men willing to do anything to protect Hope -- but which one holds the key to her heart?
Nancy Mehl has written a heart pounding, realistic, romantic, suspense story that will keep the reader turning those pages till the exciting, climactic conclusion! I admired the central characters who were not afraid to show their human frailties and need for forgiveness. I especially loved the fact that I had no clue which man Hope was going to choose until the last few pages of the book. I fell in love with both of these wonderful heroes! As always, I enjoyed the cozy, small town atmosphere and camaraderie of the townsfolk in Nancy Mehl's books. Although this is Book Two in The Road To Kingdom series, it can easily be read as a stand alone, but I highly recommend both of these books to all!
I received a copy of this book from Net Galley in exchange for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>