Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for BMG Reconciliation, DVD

BMG Reconciliation, DVD

On his 10th birthday, Grant Taylor found out his father, Jeff, was gay. They haven't spoken since. But now his dad is dying and asking for him. With his pregnant wife's encouragement, Grant reluctantly visits Jeff. Can he forgive his father for abandoning the family? And will Jeff let go of a young boy's hateful words and embrace Reconciliation? Dove approved (12+). Closed captions. Approx. 101 minutes.

DVD Features:
  • Feature Commentary with Filmmakers
  • Deleted Scenes
  • Trailer
  • English Subtitles
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 1292%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Reconciliation, DVD
Review 1 for Reconciliation, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Christian Movie I have ever seen!

Date:April 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
Eileen
Location:Derry, NH
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely loved this movie. I have watched it three times and still cry when I watch it! It handles a very difficult subject with total grace. There are so many ways this movie deals with sensitive issues but at the same time you find yourself identifying with the characters in one way or another. Beautiful, well acted movie. I highly recommend this to everyone.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Reconciliation, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

EXCELLENT MOVIE! Will recommend to everyone!!

Date:January 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
Sylvia
Location:United States
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WOW what a beautiful movie! The message of reconciliation really hit home for me. This was not a cheesy movie with a cheesy message, rather it was a movie that exposes the human condition and our need to be completely surrendered to Christ. The acting was better than any faith base movie I've watched and the writing was real to life.
This movie does an amazing job of painting a picture of what Biblical forgiveness, grace, love and sanctification looks like. I love how this movie doesn't hold back any punches when it comes to sin (anger, unforgiveness, adultery, homosexuality, lying, fornication, etc). This movie is not about being politically correct or winking at sin...truly this movie is about pointing people to Christ and allowing His Holy Word and Holy Spirit to transform each of us from the inside out and in His perfect timing. BUY or RENT this movie just make sure you WATCH ALL OF IT! Blessings to everyone who was involved in making this much needed film!!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Reconciliation, DVD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Wasn't what I expected

Date:November 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kessa
Location:Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I felt somewhat torn while watching this movie. Yes, I understood the message of forgiveness and that what makes one sin worse then another but I feel that there are different levels of sin. In scripture homosexuality is definitely a sin in God's eyes. In this movie it seemed it was totally acceptable. This isn't a movie that I would watch again.
+10points
13of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Reconciliation, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very well done on how to address issues with Love.

Date:October 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Diana
Location:Salmon Arm, BC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good movie. I cried almost all the way through though. It really was helpful in showing how we can really love the sinner but hate the sin. Not judging, truly loving while still holding firm to our beliefs. Everyone should watch it!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Reconciliation, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
KNNN
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
You gain a better appreciation for both sides of the story, and deeply feel the emotions that the actors are emitting. Very well done!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Reconciliation, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Reconciliation Movie: Thought provoking film

Date:September 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Brenda Saldana
Location:San Juan, PR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased by recommendation. Good acting and story!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Reconciliation, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

reconciliation

Date:September 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
no one
Location:Waterloo, IA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
God hates sin, but he really does love EVERYONE - he just wants us to turn from our sins and follow him. This is a great movie that shows us how to love and forgive!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Reconciliation, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful

Date:September 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Donna Lee
Location:New York
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This has Jesus Christ all over this movies. It had unconditional love, mercy, forgiveness, joyfulness, peacefulness, and of course, reconciliation. It was so edifying. It goes to show that it doesn't matter how horrible Grant treated his father, he went out of his comfort zone to reconciled with him. It wasn't easy at 1st but it was the Holy Spirit who worked inside of Grant. In addition, all of the actors were believable and realistic. God restores what the locust have eaten.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Reconciliation, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great movie!!

Date:August 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
megan
Location:Tennessee
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WOW, make sure you have tissue on hand for this movie! We had read some reviews of the movie and sat down with our 2 kids (12 & 15) to watch it and we were blown away. One of the best films I've ever seen about love and forgiveness. This movie not only glorifies Christ it goes a step beyond all other faith-based films because it's honest about the world we live in...and the acting is incredible!! This movie is about mending relationships, loving and forgiving people and pointing them to Christ! Thank you to everyone involved in this beautiful story!!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Reconciliation, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good movie

Date:May 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
MIQ
Location:Florida
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was no so convinced at the beginning of the movie. I am glad I wait to see the end. It is really a good movie.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Reconciliation, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An honest, daring movie for Christ

Date:April 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Chris
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Most movies you know what you're going to get before you put it in the DVD player. With Reconciliation, you won't be able to guess how it will play out. It is unlike any other movie.
What's most striking is the authentic, respectful dialog between sharply divided people. This movie doesn't shy away from putting people with opposing worldviews together in a room to force them to deal with their differences. The interactions are priceless. Someone can try to explain it to you, but you've got to watch this movie for yourself.
For those of you wondering... yes, it presents the gospel. But not in the way you expect. Give it a watch and tell me if you've seen it done this way before.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Reconciliation, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A movie you'll watch over and over again.

Date:April 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Hannah
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I’m not one to watch movies over and over again, but I’ve watched Reconciliation 4 times now because I keep sharing it with friends and family. And to be honest, it gets better and better every time I watch it. The story of the father and son’s road to reconciliation after many years of painful estrangement is such a beautiful testimony of how the Lord works in each of our lives, first to reconcile us to Him through Jesus, and then to stretch us, mold us and make us whole.
This movie is not about a gay father. It’s not about an angry son. It’s about the power of the Gospel, forgiveness, love and reconciliation. It has touched friends who have been hurt by their own parent(s) who chose something else—alcohol, adultery, drugs, selfishness, etc.—over their family; friends who have been holding on to a painful past; friends who have been hurt so deeply they hid it away for years simply hoping it would go away. And most importantly, this movie has touched friends who are not Christians, and who perceive Christianity as full of hypocrisy— because it breaks many stereotypes our society has placed on people, giving a fair voice to everyone.
You won’t find a better film out there that presents the Gospel this shamelessly, is beautifully written, vibrantly acted, and more superbly produced than Reconciliation.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.