Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Avenged, Pacific Coast Justice Series #3

Tyndale House Avenged, Pacific Coast Justice Series #3

Officer Carly Edwards finds three young gangbangers shot execution style. This alerts Carly and her husband, Sergeant Nick Anderson, head of the gang unit, fear Las Playas may be on the verge of a gang war. The Las Playas Police departmentD is put on high alert as tensions escalate between rival gangs, especially after Carly confiscates weapons from a gang leader and learns they were stolen from a military base along with explosive devices.

However, something doesn't add up,and Carly suspects there might be more going on than is on the surface. As she prepares to testify at a major trial, Carly’s reputation is shredded by a reporter apparently trying to discredit her professionally. Facing pressure on all fronts, Carly must rely on faith and trust God in a deeper way during one of the biggest struggles of her career.

Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
12
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
29 out of 3097%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Avenged, Pacific Coast Justice Series #3
Review 1 for Avenged, Pacific Coast Justice Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Full of mystery and intrigue

Date:February 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
Laura
Location:Louisiana
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In “Avenged” by Janice Cantore we are once again taken to Las Playas, California. Carly Edwards is a street cop for Las Playas PD and when she and her partner find three gangbangers shot execution style the whole department fears there will be another gang war. Carly’s husband, Nick, is a sergeant and is head of the gang unit. Carly fears for her husband’s safety but knows that he is ultimately in God’s hands. As the two dig deeper they realize that someone is purposefully trying to start a war between the two gangs in Las Playas but things are not adding up. When a reporter starts making false accusations about Carly they soon discover that someone is out to get her and will do anything to bring her down.
This is the third book in the Pacific Coast Justice series and it is another page turner. This book is full of mystery and intrigue. In this book we see how Carly and Nick have to rely on God and trust that He will see them through no matter what the future may bring. We see how even strong Christians sometimes have difficulty putting our troubles in God’s hands and keeping our faith when things are really bad, but like Carly and Nick we must always turn to God during those hard times. I highly recommend reading “Accused” and “Abducted” first in order to appreciate the relationship Carly and Nick have with each other and with God. I received a complimentary copy of this book to review from Tyndale House Publishers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Avenged, Pacific Coast Justice Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great!

Date:January 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
hannah97
Location:Cottonwood, CA
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Officer Carly Edwards’s life is once again thrown her a curve ball when she discovers three Las Playas gangbangers shot execution style. This puts the whole Las Playas PD on edge knowing a gang war may be around the corner. But everything isn't adding up and when Carly discovers a gang leader with weapons stolen from a military base thing become even more unclear. Making matters worse Carly loses her partner to a knee injury and is facing questions about her job when a reporter decides to ruin her professional reputation. Will Carly have enough faith to trust God when trials push at her from all sides?
Avenged by Janice Cantore is the third and last book in her debut series, Pacific Coast Justice. I loved, loved, LOVED this book! I had thought the first two books in the series were as good as it could get, but boy was I wrong. Avenged was a great conclusion to the Pacific Coast Justice series and I can’t wait for Janice’s next book to come out!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Avenged, Pacific Coast Justice Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cassandra
Location:Maine
Age:18-24
Gender:female
I think I probably would have enjoyed this book more if I had actually read the first two books in the series! The characters were well-developed and realistic. The story itself was interesting and took enough twists that I did not know exactly how it would end before I read that far.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Avenged, Pacific Coast Justice Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Thrilling conclusion to "Pacific Coast Justice"

Date:August 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
aklinslow
Location:Anchorage, AK
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Avenged" continues the story of California police officer, Carly Edwards in this third book of the "Pacific Coast Justice Series". I read the first book, "Accused" but missed the second, "Abducted," and I did feel a little lost from time to time. So, for that reason, I would say this would not be a standalone book, but rather you need the background of the previous two to understand the story arc and conclusion of "Avenged."
That being said, Janice Cantore wrote another great, engaging novel here in "Avenged" and I thoroughly enjoyed it. There is a great action-packed storyline with the crime fighting going on, but also a good amount of spiritual lessons and Biblical application, which I love. As a reviewer of the book, I don't think I need to give another synopsis of the plot, but rather my takeaway from it, and I feel like a Scripture passage from Psalm 62 included halfway through the book really says it all: "My victory and honor come from God alone. He is my refuge, a rock where no enemy can reach me. O my people, trust in Him at all times. Pour out your heart to Him, for God is our refuge." It's a lesson that the main characters, Carly and her husband Nick, along with a number of secondary characters, learn along the way in "Avenged." It doesn't mean that everything goes smoothly in the book or that everyone lives "happily ever after," but rather that in this life, learning to trust is vital and the only way to truly survive and live, whether that's a long life here on this earth or not, as true life is that of eternal life secure in Christ, which no man can snatch away.
Cantore writes so descriptively that your imagination is able to make the book come to life, to the extent that your heart rate will increase during the intense scenes as you struggle to survive. ;-) However, I also appreciate the fact that Ms. Cantore doesn't feel the need to be overly graphic in the more violent scenes, but gives you just enough info to know what's going on but not too much to make you sick (unlike one of the books by Mel Odom I reviewed recently).
Overall, I give "Avenged" 4 stars as I book I really enjoyed and would recommend to those looking for an action-packed story to captivate them. My hesitancy to give it a full 5 stars is just for the fact that its not a standalone book, and thus not necessarily for everyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Avenged, Pacific Coast Justice Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very good

Date:August 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Virginia
Location:upstate NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Police officer Carly and her husband, a police sergeant, investigate what appears to be a gang war. As the evidence mounts, the police department realizes something more is going on than just gang related activity.
I thought this book was very good and a nice conclusion to the series. The story was fast paced and kept my attention. Looking forward to the author's next series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Avenged, Pacific Coast Justice Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Avenged

Date:August 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
bookworm
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In Avenged, Carly and her husband, Nick, are officers that help bring justice to criminals and their victims. In this book, three gang members are shot leaving two dead and the shooting was made to look like a gang war. As Carly tries to solve the shooting, things get ugly at the arrival of a trouble-making, ex-con arrives in town, whom is also related to Carly’s friends who own the Half-Baked restaurant. Immediately, Carly has trouble with this ex-con, named Dean and when he is found murdered, Carly is framed. As Carly and her team strive to prove her innocence while figuring out what Dean had to do with the shooting, Nick is kidnapped by Carly’s nemesis: Correa. What does Correa have to do with the shooting and Dean’s death? Will Carly be able to prove that she was framed? Will Nick be rescued in time? These are just some of the questions that will be answered when you read Avenged, but beware: this book is action-packed and full of suspense to keep you on the edge of your seat.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Avenged, Pacific Coast Justice Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Quick paced police mystery

Date:August 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kris
Location:Fairfax, VA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a very quick paced Christian police mystery thriller. Although I did enjoy it, I found it was a little difficult getting into the story and then since it had a lot of different characters, some of whom had multiple names, it was hard to follow. It also was definitely the third book in the series and it seemed to draw a lot from the previous books. But, I did enjoy reading it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Avenged, Pacific Coast Justice Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
brenda
you have to read all three of her pacific coast justice books, she is a great author, look forward to reading more from her
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Avenged, Pacific Coast Justice Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
luvs to cook
Location:Virginia Beach, VA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A fabulous mystery is my favorite type of book and this book is so good you will begrudge any time you need to stop reading before you finish it. Everywhere Carly goes there are problems to solve, starting with the guy in her friends’ bakery/restaurant who obviously had just gotten out of prison and got so angry when asked to leave, he swung at her. And then there was the gangster in the stolen car Carly was trying to stop whose passenger fell out, getting his legs run over when he didn’t clear the vehicle. When her partner is injured, she has no one with her to chase down fleeing suspects although she does notify the office when she enters a construction site following a lead. Not only are there teenage gang members apparently killing each other, but there are also false accusations by Ginny Masters against Carly who cannot remember what happened when she chased a possible teen burglar, saw movement, stepped backward, hit a rail, and fell quite a distance, looking up to see the smiling face of Barton before she lost consciousness. Medics came. She was put in a neck brace and rushed to the hospital where she learned the teen she had followed was dead. Only her faith in God and the love of her husband enabled her to stay on track. The police investigator, Granger, seemed to try to intimidate her. Would her memory ever return? Why did Masters campaign so actively to get her off the police force? Would Masters succeed? Who was Mario Correa? Who was Duncan Potter and what had he been doing? What had been stolen and how was it to be used? What happened to Nick? What message did Carly receive? How did she react? What was the final result? Whose lives did she save? How is that a tribute to Christ?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Avenged, Pacific Coast Justice Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Read!

Date:August 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
muffin
Location:Honea Path, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Loved this book! Janice Cantore did it again! This is the 3rd book in the Pacific Coast Justice Series.
This book follows Carly Edwards. At the beginning of the book, she finds 3 gangbangers shot. Her and her husband, Nick, try to find out what happened and why these 3 gangbangers were shot so violently. Things aren't adding up. Nothing makes sense. But Carly is determined to find out what really happened. This book has suspense throughout the whole book. It keeps you guessing from beginning to end.
I would highly recommend this book to everyone especially those who like inspirational suspense/thrillers. Janice Cantore has become one of my favorite authors.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Avenged, Pacific Coast Justice Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book

Date:July 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jerri
Location:Coats, NC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wonderful story again. I feel like I know Carly and Nick like my own family and the entire Pacific Coast community. Wonderful writing and I couldn't put this down. I am a big Dee Henderson and Irene Hannon fan and I have to say that Janice Cantore is right up there with them. Very suspenseful and true to life struggles with everyday life and faith. Can't wait for her next release!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Avenged, Pacific Coast Justice Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jessica Bates
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Avenged by Janice Cantore is the third book in the Pacific Coast Justice Series. Carly is a police officer recently remarried to Nick also a police officer in Las Playas, California. They encounter gang killings, explosives, suicides and more in their journey.
I enjoyed this book. I had not read the first two books in this series and didn't have any problems enjoying the story or relating to the characters. There was enough of the "back story" from the previous books to fill you in and bring you up to speed. At times, I didn't like the overabundance of minute details as to the characters actions, but the characters seemed well developed and were easy to relate to. I recommend reading this book whether you've read the first two or not.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Avenged, Pacific Coast Justice Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent, Realistic, Believable Characters

Date:July 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
eb7bibliophile
Location:High Desert West
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed this book for the exciting action and realistic scenarios, and very much appreciated the author’s talent for keeping it clean while writing a crime thriller. I felt her characters were quite believable and likeable. I really became involved in the story, and the people. This is the third in the series, but better than the first one and as good as the second. Books 1 and 2 may not be necessary to enjoy this book, but I get more out of series books by reading them in sequence. Janice Cantore kept the suspense going and included great plot twists- she kept me guessing. She tied up loose ends and gave a satisfying conclusion. The same held true for all 3 stories. This is also a very good portrayal of people of faith, their careers, their beautiful marriage, and how to handle impatience and differences of opinion with calm discussions and prayer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Avenged, Pacific Coast Justice Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Criminal Justice Novel!

Date:July 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
ajilloftrades
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When I began reading this book, I thought I was reading the first in the series. Once I realized it is actually book #3, it made more sense why I didn't understand some of the details mentioned. None of those details were so significant that they took away from this book. I recommend starting at the beginning, though.
I enjoyed following the main character, Carly, through her daily life as a police officer. The author, having been a law enforcement agent herself, gives great insight into the mind of an officer and the struggles and emotions they go through on a regular basis. Carly works in an area outside of L.A. where two rival gangs seem to be on the verge of a war. The story begins with the execution-style shooting of three gang bangers. As she fights to uncover the truth, her credibility and ethics are publicly questioned by news reporter. She must learn to rely on God to help her through the case she is working and her personal battle with the reporter who is trying to shred her reputation to pieces.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Avenged, Pacific Coast Justice Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Stolen Military Weapons & Explosives = City In Dan

Date:July 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Janice Cantore in her new book, "Avenged" Book Three in the Pacific Coast Justice series published by Tyndale House Publishers brings us another adventure with Detective Carly Edwards.
From the Back Cover: When Officer Carly Edwards finds three young gangbangers shot execution style, she and her husband, Sergeant Nick Anderson, head of the gang unit, fear Las Playas may be on the verge of a gang war. The Las Playas PD is put on high alert as tensions escalate between rival gangs, especially after Carly confiscates weapons from a gang leader and learns they were stolen from a military base along with explosive devices.
But something isn't adding up, and Carly suspects there might be more going on. As she prepares to testify at a major trial, Carly's reputation is shredded by a reporter apparently trying to discredit her professionally. Facing pressure on all fronts, Carly must rely on faith and trust God in a deeper way during one of the biggest struggles of her career.
Get ready for excitement as Carly Edwards runs into an escalating war. Someone has stolen enough explosives to blow quite a big crater out of Las Playas. There was what looks like an execution style killing of three gangbangers. Now it looks as if the person responsible for the theft of military weapons and explosives from the military base wants revenge. And Carly needs to find out who that person is before her whole city literally blows up. Ms. Canore is a retired Long Beach California police officer of 22 years. She did what she now makes Carly do and her experience shines through the pages. "Avenged" is a thriller with all kinds of excitement and danger. It is also a romance as Carly and Nick are trying to make their new marriage work. Janice Cantore knows how to weave a captivating story with wonderful characters that breathe. I enjoyed reading this book and look forward to the new series from Ms. Cantore.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Tyndale House Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Avenged, Pacific Coast Justice Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Police Procedural at its best.

Date:July 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Teresa M
Location:West Columbia, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Once again our favorite Las Playas Cop, Carly Edwards Anderson, is on patrol.
At the end of the second book we found out that Carly’s dream of getting remarried to Nick, did come true. In this third book of the series we find there is someone trying to start a gang war in Las Playas and Carly and Nick are caught up in the middle of it. Nick is now the head of the gang unit and Carly is still on patrol but for how long?
When Carly and her partner Joe are on patrol they find the bodies of three teenagers bound and shot execution style, after closer inspection Carly realizes one of the teens is still breathing. Carly quickly administers first aid to the teen while waiting for the EMT’s to respond. The hardest part of seeing these kids is that she knew them from her days working the juvenile division.
Not only does Carly have to figure out who shot these kids, she has to deal with a news reporter and photographer that are dogging her at every turn, determined to cause trouble for her. The more she investigates the stranger it gets, it seems the gun used to shoot the teens was stolen from an army base along with a lot of explosives. Who could be behind this plot to start a gang war? Could it be someone from Carly’s past out for revenge?
Once again I cannot say enough about Janice Cantore’s books. They have just the right amount of suspense to keep you on the edge of your seat and guessing until the very end. I cannot wait to see what comes next from the pen of this very talented writer. Thank you Ms. Cantore for another highly enjoyable read!
Thanks to Tyndale House Publishers and NetGalley for providing me a copy of this in exchange for my honest opinion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Avenged, Pacific Coast Justice Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great conclusion

Date:June 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Alicia
Location:New York, NY
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Avenged is the third book to The Costal Guard Series. As per to the previous two books adventure and suspense is present. I enjoy the whole 'cops and robbers' feel to the story. The police talk, and action scenes seem to validate the police feel. I thought this was a great ending to a wonderful series, I was left with no questions. As much as I enjoyed this book, however; because of the timing between each book I forgot a lot about the previous characters and their role in the big picture.
The beautiful transformation of Carly's life was very realistic. The gradual softening, and the love for the Lord was with a measured accuracy.
I enjoyed reading this series, and would reccomend it for other thrill seekers and suspense loving people. I give Avenged a 4 out of 5.
I received a complimentary copy from Tyndale in exchange for this independent and unbiased review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Avenged, Pacific Coast Justice Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Enjoyable

Date:May 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ruth
Location:Upstate SC
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Another good read by Ms. Janice!Usually I have a 'sticky' handy to note things. This time I either didn't or there was nothing to note! Great. It means no euphemistic cussing etc! Sorry to see the end of the series, but three books is a good lot.
I am looking forward to more.
CRITICAL PURSUIT is previewed as the next book. Deja vu for me. Sounds and reads just like THE KEVLAR VEST, a previous book. If it IS re-package / re-write, I hope the editors do a better job than in the original. (confusion of lay & lie, laying/lying, hear and here, may & might, and cussing!) But most importantly: MAKE SURE THE READER / BUYER KNOWS IT IS A RE-DO?!
I recently started reading a "new" book --- and what a disappointment to find it was re-titled and had a different cover. No mention whatsoever about previously published etc. Very sad.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Avenged, Pacific Coast Justice Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great story

Date:April 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
deanna13
Location:Jonesboro, LA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Avenged by Janice Cantore is a well written, extremely suspenseful, and just an all around very good book. As Office Carly Edwards is beginning her graveyard shift with the Las Playas Police Department, she finds three young gang bangers that have been shot execution style. Her husband, Sergeant Nick Anderson, who is head of the gang unit for the LPPD, agrees with Carley that the city may be on the verge of a gang war. Carley is involved in a high speed chase and when she finally stops the car being driven by a gang leader, she finds the car is loaded with weapons that have been stolen from a military base. To make matters even worse, the thieves have also stolen several explosive devices. This incident and the heightened tensions between rival gangs puts the LPPD on high alert.
While Carly is preparing to testify at a major murder trial, a very militant reporter is trying to discredit Carley and destroy her professionally. This problem along with the threat of a gang war causes Carley to rely even more on her faith and trust in God. She has had problems before in her career but this one is more serious than any of the others. During the search of an abandoned building, Carley comes face to face with one of the men who wants her dead and he causes her to fall about fifteen feet from the balcony where they are standing. When the paramedics arrive they find the man dead on the balcony and Carley’s gun in her hand with two missing bullets.
The author does a fantastic job with the development of the plot, characters, and dialogue. The action scenes were so real that I was holding my breath part of the time and thinking that maybe I should hide to be safe. There were several sub plots in the story and each had a few twists and turns in the plot line and when I would think I had the puzzle solved, there would be another twist to the story. The author definitely knows how to hold the interest of the reader and keep them guessing how the story will end. The story had a great ending but you will have to read the book to learn all the solutions to all the problems that the police had to solve. Janice Cantore is a retired police officer and her twenty-two years of experience add greatly to the authenticity of the story. For me this makes the story more enjoyable and definitely believable. I also like the way the author had the two main characters seeking God’s guidance in their work and all parts of their lives.
I highly recommend this book to everyone who likes a great police drama with lots of suspense, a little romance, characters with a strong faith in God, and a happy ending.
Tyndale House Publishers has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Avenged, Pacific Coast Justice Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another winner by Janice Cantore

Date:April 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Vicky
Location:Lafayette, Indiana
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Finished number 3 in the Pacific Coast Justice series and this too was a "winner". I have enjoyed each one of Janice Cantore's books immensely. She is a retired police officer and her books hint at the type of work she did and I can see Carly Edwards as her in these books. They are written to entertain as well as show you the backstage of law enforcement and she throws in suspense to boot.
Carly Edwards comes upon three gangbangers shot execution style and fears that her city might be on the verge of a gang war. To compound the tension Carly finds weapons from a gang leader and finds out they were stolen from a military base. She and her husband Nick, head of the gang unit, are trying to find out the culprits behind all of these problems. In her investigation, her reputation is questioned by a reporter trying to discredit her professionally.
I found myself thinking I knew the culprit, then he was murdered off, so I went after another one and guessed wrong again. Loved the cat and mouse of the storyline, but loved that Carly's faith and trust in God had grown since the last book. She was fighting God for control in her life and finally figured out to "let go and let God". Loved how Nick and Carly have grown as individuals and a couple since the last book. I hate to see this series end since Nick and Carly were such great characters with lots of flaws that all of us have. Pick up her Pacific Coast Justice series and you will not be disappointed-promise
Thanks to Tyndale publishers for this free copy for my honest opinion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>