Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zonderkidz Body Talk - eBook

Zonderkidz Body Talk - eBook

Puberty is an exciting and confusing time. One day you were a happy-go-lucky kid, and the next--wham! Your emotions are out of control, hair is growing where it never dared grow before, and your best friend whispers to you in gym class that you need to start wearing some kind of torture contraption she calls a bra. What is going on? Body Talk gives you the lowdown on all the really weird body stuff--and shows you how all this weird stuff is actually a part of God's plan for the beautiful, confident, grown-up you! Topics include diet, exercise, menstruation, hygiene, boys, alcohol, drugs, and more. You'll also find fun quizzes and other activities. Recommended for ages 8 to 12.
Average Customer Rating:
4.133 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
3 out of 560%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Body Talk - eBook
Review 1 for Body Talk - eBook
This review is fromFaithgirlz! Body Talk.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Melanie Vance
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good way to share with your daughter and provoke discussion with her.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Body Talk - eBook
This review is fromFaithgirlz! Body Talk.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Faithgirlz! Body Talk

Date:April 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Katherine Peck
Location:Port Orchard,WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this book for my 11 yr old granddaughter. After it arrived I sat down and read through it and was pleased with how all the information was presented. I know that it will be a book that she will enjoy and will help her to see herself and her changing body the way God sees it!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Body Talk - eBook
This review is fromFaithgirlz! Body Talk.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Too much!

Date:January 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mommaof2girlies
Location:Cincinnati
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Some things made me cringe.
She illlustrates a point by telling of a boy running his hand along girls backs to see if they are wearing a bra yet.
She also encourages girls to ask their moms if they can wear pretty lingerie. I personally think lingerie should be reserved for bridal showers, not promoted to 8 year old Christian girls.
It just seems kind of worldly. I did not give it to my daughter. I'm even considering throwing it away so she never finds it in our house. I was much more comfortable talking about puberty face to face than I would be giving this book to her.
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Body Talk - eBook
This review is fromFaithgirlz! Body Talk.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I was hesitant to start a "body talk."

Date:October 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Surf
Location:Georgia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was uncomfortable approaching the subject of menstration with my 12 yr. old daughter. I tried but I don't think I was clear and on some issues of sex, I gave too much information inappropriate to her age. Many Christian books as well as secular on growing up give too much information for the younger girls. I was relieved to find this one. It is simple and forthright but age appropriate for a pre-teen. My daughter is reading it by herself and then we will review it together. Great start using Faithgirlz! Body Talk.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Body Talk - eBook
This review is fromFaithgirlz! Body Talk.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Too much World!

Date:February 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
ProtectiveDad
Location:Nebraska
Age:35-44
Gender:male
This book is everything I'm trying to keep my daughter away from. This is the exact thing she can hear at school or on the street. I have since found many much better sources for dealing with these than this approach. This is scarcely better than putting her in front of a Sex-Ed movie. If you are looking to shelter your daughter from the worldly approach, this author is NOT for you!
+6points
16of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Body Talk - eBook
This review is fromFaithgirlz! Body Talk.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Avid Reader
Great book for Mom with female tween. Serves as a a little refresher for yourself and a great starting point for discussion with your daughter. You might want to read it first and then give it to your daughter to read.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Body Talk - eBook
This review is fromFaithgirlz! Body Talk.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Terry
I bought this book for my daughter when she was 10. She has used it for the last 2 years to keep track of the changes she has gone through and to know what to expect next. This has been the most useful of all of the puberty books she has. She and I highly recommend it.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Body Talk - eBook
This review is fromFaithgirlz! Body Talk.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 26, 2010
Exactly what I was looking for to go over the changes that a girls body goes through. This is a perfect book to get you started with your daughter on what is going on with her body.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Body Talk - eBook
This review is fromFaithgirlz! Body Talk.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Hope Lisney
I read this book when i was 10 and loved it! it told me so much about what i was going through and gave real life examples.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Body Talk - eBook
This review is fromFaithgirlz! Body Talk.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:December 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Barbara Irizarry
Bought this for my 12 year old daughter who's into reading magazines now. Thought this would be a good alternative to the magazines sold is stores. Didn't give it 5 stars because I was expecting more pictures. Part of why she like magazines so much is because of the illustrations.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Body Talk - eBook
This review is fromFaithgirlz! Body Talk.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Elaine Clark
Great book! It helped me in preparation for teaching my daughter about what she was going to be going through. Lots of questions answered in a way for the youngest tween to understand.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Body Talk - eBook
This review is fromFaithgirlz! Body Talk.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Coreena Cayabyab
my daughter realy felt comfortable with this book. helped me alot with some not easy questions. it answered all her questions, in ways i approved.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Body Talk - eBook
This review is fromFaithgirlz! Body Talk.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jessica Mojica
I love the image of this book. I wish I had these kind of things when I was growing up. The reading material seems interesting, the true test is yet to come when my niece reads the book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Body Talk - eBook
This review is fromFaithgirlz! Body Talk.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Susie Cahill
My daughter is 10 yrs. old and I thought this book opened up the lines of communication in a totally age appropriate way! It really had her interest at its peak w/o embarrassing questions being thrown at her. We read it together each night and that was her favorite time of the day. She was disappointed when the book was over.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Body Talk - eBook
This review is fromFaithgirlz! Body Talk.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
Amber Weststrate
i love the fact that there is somewhere for a girl to refer to when she does not have the proper guidance at home.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.