Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Unplanned: The Dramatic True Story of a Former Planned Parenthood Leaders' Eye-Opening Journey - DVD

Tyndale House Unplanned: The Dramatic True Story of a Former Planned Parenthood Leaders' Eye-Opening Journey - DVD

After the director of a Planned Parenthood clinic in Texas participated in her first abortion procedure, she quit her job and walked across the road to join the Coalition for Life. In this heart-stopping documentary, you'll discover how Abby Johnson's spiritual transformation instills hope and compassion into the political controversy surrounding this difficult issue. Approx. 60 minutes.
Average Customer Rating:
4.689 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(45 Reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (45 reviews)
5 stars
33
4 stars
11
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
44 out of 4598%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Unplanned: The Dramatic True Story of a Former Planned Parenthood Leaders' Eye-Opening Journey - DVD
Review 1 for Unplanned: The Dramatic True Story of a Former Planned Parenthood Leaders' Eye-Opening Journey - DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

God Had Another Plan

Date:June 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
michorose
Location:Tucson, AZ
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received the DVD Unplanned to review. This documentary is about Abby Johnson's life as she starts her college years and ends up getting pregnant a couple times from boyfriends and getting them aborted. Her volunteer work during this time is done at Planned Parenthood. Over the years she moves up to become a director of the biggest Planned Parenthood facility in Texas.
Planned Parenthood receives federal money to provide health advice and education to women. A BIG part of their services are providing abortions to women. I didn't know how much until I saw this! There was a Pro-Life group down the street called Coalition For Life. They would join other Christians in front of the Planned Parenthood gates. While some people protested, this group joined together in prayer. Abby knew they were praying for her too.
One day Abby found herself in a room where an abortion was taking place. The baby was squirming and moving as it was being prodded. by the doctor's tool. She couldn't stand it and God did something in side her. She was awakened to what she was helping do. She stepped down from her position and went immediately to see her "friends" at CFL. She had a different calling on her life and helping women find other choices besides abortion was part of it. She went from pro-choice to pro-life. I am so proud of her and the changes she made.
Anyone who thinks Planned Parenthood is anything but an abortion clinic needs to see this. Yes they might disguise their main purpose with health pamphlets and contraceptives, but I don't believe they are in it for women's health. Abortions are dangerous...not sure how killing innocent life helps a woman's health, but if that's what they need to tell themselves to sleep better. I recommend this video to every person pro-anything. This is a great documentary based on a book with the same title. Get someone's perspective who's lived it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Unplanned: The Dramatic True Story of a Former Planned Parenthood Leaders' Eye-Opening Journey - DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
jomomma
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent video. Possibly a little too long. Great story. The teens who saw it, loved it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Unplanned: The Dramatic True Story of a Former Planned Parenthood Leaders' Eye-Opening Journey - DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
rlrobb123
Location:Lilburn, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this to show at a pro-life event for my church youth group. Excellent.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Unplanned: The Dramatic True Story of a Former Planned Parenthood Leaders' Eye-Opening Journey - DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Powerful Testimony

Date:June 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Nora Finding Hope
Location:Atlanta
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Thoughts -
UNPLANNED the DVD interviews ABBY JOHNSON, her family, friends, and co-workers. This was a great discussion builder. After watching this with my family we had a lengthy conversation about what is abortion and how Abby Johnson was deceived. She wanted to help woman like herself who got in trouble and saw no other way out at the time but abortion. She also was going to school to become a counselor to help people. Abby Johnson honestly thought the health care side of Planned Parenthood was helping women and they did up until the point they were pushing abortion and how easy it was to young girls in trouble. They made more money on the abortion side then the birth control side.
This DVD documents her journey in life. Abby was raised in a Christian Family. Went to church Wed. night, Sunday and was a youth leader. She goes off to a big 4 year university and her world starts to change. She wants to fit in and belong to something. She starts to try things she never did before and her life takes turns she never thought it would.
I appreciated Abby Johnson's honesty in expressing how she was deceived and how she believed the lies that Planned Parenthood was telling her. After becoming a director things started to change for her. Planned Parenthood's funding was being threatened and they were forcing her to do things she didn't believe in.
I loved how this DVD captured the peaceful way the protesters treated Abby Johnson as she went to work each day. They would faithfully go to the Clinic and pray. One time they even left flowers in the drive with a note that said they loved her and were praying for her. Abby remembered their kindness and sought out the very people that were paying for her and asked for help, Christian Coalition. She felt that she couldn't do the work she’d been doing one more day. She needed to get out but she also needed a pay check. It was very cool to see in modern times how God provided a way for Abby to get out when there seemed to be no way out. She thought she’d go peacefully in the night but God had other plans. I’m so thankful she told her story! It’s one that needed to be told!
The Book club Network www.bookfun.org
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Unplanned: The Dramatic True Story of a Former Planned Parenthood Leaders' Eye-Opening Journey - DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Inspiring!!

Date:June 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Noah Arsenault
Location:Gig Harbor, WA
Age:Under 18
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unplanned tells a story the likes of which we dance for joy to hear. Abby Johnson, who grew up in a Christian home in Texas, found herself leaning towards the defense of women who were derided by condemning Christians. Eventually, she found herself regretting her decision, and chose to defend unborn lives instead. With the help of 40 Days For Life and Coalition For Life, she tells her story for us all to hear. It is an amazing encouragement in the arena of pro-choice vs. pro-life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Unplanned: The Dramatic True Story of a Former Planned Parenthood Leaders' Eye-Opening Journey - DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great example of how God can change a heart

Date:May 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dave
Location:St. Petersburg
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
What would you do if you discovered that your life’s work was a colossal tragedy? Imagine the gut-wrenching anguish if you found that what you believed to be the truth was actually a monstrous deception. A lie that had fatal consequences.
That’s Abby Johnson’s story that is told in a new book and DVD documentary called unPLANNED. This real-life account explores how the young woman went from being director of a Planned Parenthood clinic responsible for thousands of abortions to leading voice for life and women in crisis.
I screened an advance copy of the DVD. Abby recounts her personal experience of having two abortions during college, and how she rose up the ranks of the Planned Parenthood organization, beginning as idealistic volunteer. The hour-long documentary does a good job of portraying how a young person could come to adopt a Pro Choice perspective, even though she was raised in a solidly Pro Life home. It also portrays the surprising impact that Christians can have by taking a bold, yet loving stand against abortion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Unplanned: The Dramatic True Story of a Former Planned Parenthood Leaders' Eye-Opening Journey - DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Interesting

Date:May 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jamie Little
Abby Johnson was the director of one of the largest Planned Parenthood clinics in Texas when she made a courageous decision to walk away from her job. After 8 years with the organization, it only took witnessing one ultrasound image of an abortion procedure to change her mind about abortion. Little did Abby know this decision would catapult her story into the national spotlight; her change of heart also resulted in her becoming a very public figure in pro-life community. Unplanned, based on the book of the same name, tells Abby’s story and provides insight on her decision and her current life mission to help women.
This documentary does a great job of telling the story factually; it’s not about bashing Planned Parenthood. I enjoyed learning more about Abby’s story and her passion for helping women in crisis. I also learned a few things about the Planned Parenthood organization and how they operate; again, this information was presented in a factual manner. Watching this documentary definitely piqued my interest in this story, I’d love to read the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Unplanned: The Dramatic True Story of a Former Planned Parenthood Leaders' Eye-Opening Journey - DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Inspiring

Date:May 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
A House Reviews
Location:Colorado
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
unPlanned, if you haven't read the book or know the story of Abby Johnson, you should. Abby used to work for Planned Parenthood.
"Abby Johnson thought she was helping women in crisis. She was about to learn the truth . . . and facing the secrets of her own painful past would be the toughest truth of all. In this documentary based on the book Unplanned, learn how Abby Johnson went from Planned Parenthood clinic director to leading voice for life and women in crisis."
I was a little nervous about the direction this DVD might take, but I know Ken Carpenter, of Franklin Springs Media, work well enough to trust that this movie would be worth not only seeing, but spreading the word about.
Abby's story will inspire and encourage everyone. She has been on both sides of the fence of the issue of abortion. But this isn't just about abortion. It is about truth. A woman finding that truth. And ultimately, about God's healing work in the lives of people.
We see how He takes broken people and uses them for His glory.
No matter where you stand on the abortion issue, Abby's story will encourage you to really think about the truth of the issues involved.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Unplanned: The Dramatic True Story of a Former Planned Parenthood Leaders' Eye-Opening Journey - DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Truthful presentation on an uncomfortable subject

Date:May 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kelly
Location:Summerville, SC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This one-hour long documentary takes us on a journey in the life of Abby Johnson. Abby, who came from a Christian home in a small rural town in Texas. Through her desire to help women in their moment of crisis and need, Abby climbed the ranks to eventually become the director of a Planned Parenthood clinic. It was while in the position as clinic director that Abby finally realized she had been believing a lie. This realization forced her to make a decision that would change her mission as a Planned Parenthood proponent to one who is now fighting for the lives of the unborn. I found this documentary very insightful and genuine. Abby really allowed herself to be exposed as she shared an intimate look into her life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Unplanned: The Dramatic True Story of a Former Planned Parenthood Leaders' Eye-Opening Journey - DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

unPlanned DVD review (Tyndale Blog Book Review)

Date:May 6, 2011
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recently I was asked if I wanted to participate in Tyndale's Blog Tour for the new DVD "unPlanned", and I instantly said yes because I love to watch any DVD that will encourage me in my Christian walk. Tyndale sent me a complimentary copy of the new DVD titled, "unPlanned", and I in turn must write a review of the DVD on my blog. "unPlanned" is a documentary about Abby Johnson, a clinic director of a Planned Parenthood in Texas. Abby made national news when she left her position as director of Planned Parenthood to join the right-to-life- movement.
I have heard Abby Johnson speak on a couple of Christian radio stations over the last year, but I did not follow her story as it was happening. The "unPlanned" DVD is a Focus on the Family production so I felt that I could definitely trust the views presented in the film. As mentioned, I did have a little bit of knowledge about Abby's story from listening to her on Christian radio programs, but I did not really grasp the whole story until I watched the DVD. I really enjoyed the DVD, and I loved how Abby authentically shared her life story in this documentary. She shares much of her own past that lead her up to her decision to pursue a career with Planned Parenthood, and how she dealt with some of the doubts and questions she had during that time.
One of the things that impressed me was how Abby interacted with the employees from "The Coalition for Life" organization (Pro-Life). In this documentary you will see interviews with the people that were involved with "Coalition for Life", and they discuss how they built a relationship with Abby over many years as she worked for Planned Parenthood. I like that you get to get a glimpse of what some Pro-Life organization are really about, as so many negative views are out there about Pro-Life movements that are radical and the people, judgmental. You will see that the "Coalition for Life" organization reached out to women and wanted to love and encourage them by sharing God's love with them. They fought for the life of unborn children, but they also loved and cared for the women and employees that were at Planned Parenthood.
Overall, I think this DVD was very good and it would be great to watch individually or in a small group. I could even see this resource being used in a Church for the whole congregation, especially those churches that are involved with Pro-Life ministries.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Unplanned: The Dramatic True Story of a Former Planned Parenthood Leaders' Eye-Opening Journey - DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Pleasantly Surprised

Date:May 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Chuck
Location:Hickory, NC
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unplanned is a dvd that tells the story of Abby Johnson who was faced with the realization of who her employer really was and how God was calling her to choose another path in her life.
I received this dvd thinking it was going to be a documentary on the effects that abortion has on women and would give substantial evidence to the biblical call for life. I expected this documentary to expose the underhanded techniques of Planned Parenthood and how they manipulate the media and the rest of the country into believing their rhetoric. But it does neither of these things.
unPlanned is about Abby’s journey. From her college days volunteering for Planned Parenthood then becoming the director of a Planned Parenthood facility, to her realization of the truth and committing to preserving life, this an inspirational story that will at times cause you to well up with tears of compassion and ponder just how easily we can be deceived.
Not only is this documentary a true story of one woman’s journey to the truth but it’s a beautiful picture of God’s grace and timing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Unplanned: The Dramatic True Story of a Former Planned Parenthood Leaders' Eye-Opening Journey - DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

"Life-changing"...

Date:May 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Godspoetic1
Location:SC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
“unPlanned…The Sensational True Story that Made Headlines Across The Nation…”
“As a Planned parenthood leader, Abby Johnson thought she was helping women in crisis…She was about to learn the truth…and facing the secrets of her past, would be the toughest truth of all.”
This DVD is the true story of how Abby Johnson makes the one of the most courageous decisions of her life, by walking away from her job at Planned Parenthood, as the clinic director, to become a leading voice for “Life” and “women in crisis”. This became an instant moment of pure awakening for her! She had no idea that her very decision would become a national news story, and that she’d become a public figure in “the right-to-life debate. Throughout the story, you will hear from Abby herself; how just a few moments in one room, changed her life forever! You will find Abby’s story is both inspiring and enlightening, as you journey with her from her past to her present day, in her mission of fighting for lives, while helping women in crisis.
I myself, found Abby’s story very inspiring and encouraging. It is a wonderful documentary movie & also book, that needs to be shared with as many people as possible! It would be great for families, or groups to share with together. You won’t walk away "untouched" after watching “unPlanned”…If you watch “unPlanned”, be prepared for your life to be changed!
As per FTC guidelelines, I must state that I was given a complimentary copy of the DVD “unPlanned” from Tyndale House Publishers in exchange for my review. My opinions are expressly my own, and are never influenced in any way, due to receiving this copy of the book from the publisher.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Unplanned: The Dramatic True Story of a Former Planned Parenthood Leaders' Eye-Opening Journey - DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

compelling story

Date:May 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
karlyle
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unplanned is a documentary film telling the story of Abby Johnson who was formerly director of a Planned Parenthood clinic in Texas. She worked there for 8 years, sincerely believing she was helping women. Over the years, she interacted with some of the pro-life protesters "on the other side of the fence" and eventually was convicted that abortion really was wrong the first time she witnessed an ultrasound assisted abortion. She made a decision that day that she could not continue working for Planned Parenthood. She courageously resigned her job, and began helping the same pro-life group she had talked with previously. The film includes interviews with Abby herself, her husband and parents, as well as many of the pro-life activists who had protested outside the clinic where Abby worked. I was very impressed with the spirit of love and gentleness they portrayed to the abortion clinic workers, as well as the patients. It is a fascinating story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Unplanned: The Dramatic True Story of a Former Planned Parenthood Leaders' Eye-Opening Journey - DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love Changes A Heart Forever! A Must See!

Date:May 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How would you convince someone that their decision that they are about to make is the wrong one? Would you just come straight out and tell them or would you support them in love and pray for the best being their friend no matter what?
Abby Johnson lived through what most women would consider the hardest decision they would have to make in their life. When she was attending A & M college, she learned she was pregnant. She was in shock. Her current boyfriend at the time remained completely calm and advised her that she should get an abortion. He had seen many girls go through them and it seemed like the best choice.
Not knowing what to do, Abby went along with the decision. There was no one at the clinic that would advise her of other options other than the one she came there to complete. Through her college years Abby would become involved with Planned Parenthood as an organizational volunteer to assist women in and out of the clinics where abortions would be performed. Thinking she was assisting these women in the best possible way, she didn't realize and was misguided in her actions.
Abby would later become the director of a Planned Parenthood clinic and during one procedure, Abby would learn the truth about what really happens to the babies during the process of abortion. What she learned there led her to create this compelling testimony of how a heart can be changed through love and grace.
In the DVD, Unplanned by Focus on The Family along with Tyndale House Publishers, you see Abby's story in her own words from start to finish. The message is clear and one that every single Christian should watch. If you ever wondered how people could work at clinics conducting abortions and live with their results, or how to reach the millions of misguided people working for the clinics or considering abortion as a alternative to giving birth, you need to watch this DVD.
Being like Abby, myself, at age 17, I had an abortion. A decision I would later regret for my entire life after the procedure. I had no one there to consul me before hand or even offer alternatives, nor did I have friends or family to support me during that time. Knowing that even despite my personal decision to have an abortion and walking through life with that guilt I still no that no matter what I will remain a Pro-Life supporter. I can speak from experience as someone who knows what its like. I can offer them hope and other options other than an abortion. This is how God uses for good what the enemy would use for bad. God redeems and He forgives.
I received this DVD compliments of Tyndale House Publishers and Focus On The Family for my honest review and have to say, it should be viewed by every single teen in America. If only more truth were revealed in options when it comes to unplanned pregnancy like this DVD offers, perhaps more lives would be saved! This one rates a 5 out of 5 stars!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Unplanned: The Dramatic True Story of a Former Planned Parenthood Leaders' Eye-Opening Journey - DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Story

Date:May 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Chari
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is such a great inspirational documentary about someone so influential in the abortion industry had a change of heart and mind and is now seeking the will of God when it comes to protecting the unborn. I think the most incredible part of her story is how you can see the small instances of contact with the Coalition of Life during her work at Planned Parenthood planted small seeds for what would ultimately happen in 2009. It is awesome to see God's power and work through Abby Johnson. Her story gives hope to all of us Christians who continue to pray and reach out to others in all aspects of our lives.
I received a complimentary copy of Unplanned from Tyndale to review but all opinions and thoughts are my own and not swayed. No other compensation was received.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Unplanned: The Dramatic True Story of a Former Planned Parenthood Leaders' Eye-Opening Journey - DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Great Resource to have!

Date:May 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Organic Shoes
Location:Oklahoma City, OK
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
unPlanned is the story of Abby Johnson, who while in college was wandering through an on-campus volunteer fair looking for something that could interest her, with a passion and love for helping women Abby ended up at a Planned Parenthood booth where she soon started volunteering and rising up through the ranks of the organization. After 8 years of being with the organization Abby has a heart changing experience that redirects her views on abortion.
The unPlanned DVD takes you through Abby's story of first becoming involved with Planned Parenthood through her struggles of the protests happening outside of her office, and the struggles she faced on a personal level with family and herself.
Abby Johnson's story is so inspiring and uplifting, it helps us to realize that everyone has made mistakes, we have all been fooled by someone into believing something else, or by thinking that all the good that we do can outweigh the one choice that causes concern or that causes us to second guess what we believe.
Seeing how Abby has turned from Director of an Abortion Clinic to fighting for the life of the unborn inspires each of us to look into those decisions where we have avoided choosing a side and forced us to really look at who we believe we are helping and searching for all of the facts rather than just listening to claims people may make.
This DVD is a great resource! It definitely helps to put perspective about the choices we make daily.
“We can’t change our past. But if we dwell on it, it won’t allow our hearts and our minds to really glorify God the way that we should. Accepting God’ forgiveness is kind of an easy part of it, I think, because we know He will forgive us for anything, but being able to forgive ourselves – I think that’s harder. I’ve turned away from the wrong things I was doing, the evil things that I was participating in. I have turned back to Him, and following Him, and so even the eight years of wrong that I was participating in, He’s now blessing that for good.” –Abby Johnson
Complimentary Copy was provided by Tyndale House Publishers in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Unplanned: The Dramatic True Story of a Former Planned Parenthood Leaders' Eye-Opening Journey - DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Shedding some real light

Date:May 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
STheis
Location:Central Minnesota
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Abby Johnson was the director of a Planned Parenthood clinic in Texas. She is a Christian. She helped sell abortions. She has an incredible story to tell.
Abby has written a book about her experience, and she has done many interviews. Now there is this great documentary following Abby as she tells her story, and introducing us to many important people in her story. This is a great opportunity to see Abby and hear directly from her. The documentary follows Abby and explains how she became involved with Planned Parenthood, climbed the ladder to become director of a clinic, and eventually manage to leave her position completely. I almost don't know what to say because I don't want to give away any more of this amazing story!
There were many tearful moments for me as I watched this documentary. One of my favorite quotes that sunk deep into my heart was from Abby's mom. She talked about how important it is that we not be judgmental as Christians. That is reflected so well in Abby's story.
I received a complimentary copy of the DVD for review from Tyndale House Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. My thoughts and opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Unplanned: The Dramatic True Story of a Former Planned Parenthood Leaders' Eye-Opening Journey - DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent and informative DVD

Date:May 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
smasters
Location:Georgia
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have you heard about Abby Johnson? She’s the former director of a major Planned Parenthood clinic in Texas. She left that job after a major eye-opening event in her life that showed her the truth about abortion. She is now a leading voice for life and women in crisis!
I really enjoyed watching Abby’s story and seeing how God placed people in her life that prayed diligently for her. It was so awesome to see how the Lord is working in Abby’s life to get the word out about Planned Parenthood and the truth about abortion. It also really encourages others to stand up for the rights of the unborn and to minister to the needs of those women that find themselves in the midst of a crisis pregnancy.
I received a free copy of this DVD from Tyndale House in return for my honest review. I received no other compensation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Unplanned: The Dramatic True Story of a Former Planned Parenthood Leaders' Eye-Opening Journey - DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

what a story!

Date:May 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
srempel
Location:Alberta, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
unPLanned is an honest, and at times, heart wrenching journey of Abby Johnson during her experience, and time with Planned Parenthood. You will interact with Abby, her family and others that have known, or worked with, Abby over the years through commentary and personal accounts. You will learn why exactly Abby chose to leave Planned Parenthood, as well as becoming informed to the true agenda of Planned Parenthood. You will be impacted greatly by this DVD and Abby's journey and you will shed tears, so have your tissue ready. This DVD should be viewed by all Christians!
It is a journey of forgiveness, grace and love given by God to all who will come to Him. Even when we think God can't use us because we have fallen away, He grabs us and uses us in ways we could never imagine. Just as He has done with Abby Johnson. This DVD documentary is very well done and would be a great asset to any church ministry. God's hand is throughout Abby's life and the experiences she has had and the impact she continues to make on the world. It is a testimony of God's plan for life and the power of prayer
I received this complimentary copy of this DVD courtesy of Tyndale House
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Unplanned: The Dramatic True Story of a Former Planned Parenthood Leaders' Eye-Opening Journey - DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great tesimony

Date:May 4, 2011
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This movie came at the perfect time for me to review because I was actually able to show it in one of my sessions because my male patients didn't understand why abortion was so debated and they thought that it honestly didn't matter if they got a girl pregnant and she aborted it. Just as I was trying to figure out how to handle this topic, I received this DVD to review an was thrilled! I played it for them and afterwards, we had a discussion and they truly understood what took place. Some minds changed and some didn't, but at least they understand now.
Now about the DVD itself: it was great! I enjoyed hearing Abby's testimony, although it was heart-breaking at times. It was amazing to see how God changed her mind from pro-abortion to pro-life. The process of the change made me feel sick to my stomach and made me want to cry because of all the lies that these women get told in order to go through with these abortions.
I definitely recommend this DVD for people who don't understand what happens in a Planned Parenthood setting or who don't understand abortion itself and what happens. It's a wonderful story of redemption played out and answered prayers by her parents. This is a DVD that I will probably use often.
The UNITE FOR LIFE is a free webcast featuring Abby Johnson that will benefit pregnancy care organizations. You can sign up to participate on May 17 at 9:00 p.m. (in all time zones) at http://www.uniteforlifewebcast.org/. Unplanned the book and the DVD will be available for purchase as a package deal and 33% of each purchase will go to the crisis pregnancy centers like CareNet the National Institute of Family and Life Advocates, and Heartbeat International.
___________________
I received this DVD free from Tyndale House Publishers for my review. In exchange, I agreed to write my own review of this DVD.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.