Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Messianic Jewish Publishers The Jewish New Testament Commentary: A Companion Volume to the Jewish New Testament

Messianic Jewish Publishers The Jewish New Testament Commentary: A Companion Volume to the Jewish New Testament

The Jewish New Testament Commentary deals with"Jewish issues" that confront readers of the New Testament, questions Jews have about Yeshua (Jesus), the New Testament and Christianity; questions Christians have about Judaism and the Jewish roots of their faith; and questions Messianic Jews have about being both Jewish and Messianic. It is a companion volume to the Jewish New Testament, Stern's translation from the original Greek into English in a way that brings out its essential Jewishness.

The author calls this a "consciousness-raising" book--written by Jews, largely about Jews, and was meant for both Jews and Gentiles. Jews should know that the New Testament presents Yeshua from Natzeret (Nazareth) as the Son of David, Israel's long- awaited Messiah, essential for Jewish individual and corporate salvation. Christians should be certain that they are forever one with the Jewish people, and that the New Testament gives no ground for anti-semitism in any form.
Average Customer Rating:
4.706 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
6 out of 6100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Jewish New Testament Commentary: A Companion Volume to the Jewish New Testament
Review 1 for The Jewish New Testament Commentary: A Companion Volume to the Jewish New Testament
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Unique One Volume New Testament Commentary

Date:November 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
oldmanchubb
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I normally avoid one-volume commentaries because they typically are not very insightful overall. If you have a good study Bible, these tend to be a good starting place for deeper study. However, there are exceptions to the rule and the Jewish New Testament Commentary is one of them. David Stern is a Messianic Jew and has dedicated his life to helping Christians understand the Jewish roots of their faith/Bible.
This work is essentially a companion piece to The Complete Jewish Bible and I would also recommend reading that translation. As a one-volume commentary, it’s only going to get you so far with charts, maps, exegesis etc. However, with it being a commentary focused in on helping you see how the New Testament is firmly rooted in the Jewish faith, it will do wonders for you. Stern breaks down the 27 New Testament books and focuses on the various Jewish aspects to them – things like ancient cultural practices, Old Testament citations, as well as various theological issues. Many modern Christians are unaware or quick to forget how deeply Jewish the first century Church was and this is a very useful aid in bringing this fact to light.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Jewish New Testament Commentary: A Companion Volume to the Jewish New Testament
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
AREL
Location:Aus and Indonesia
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a "grafted-branch", I want to know more about my Jewish roots. Having the Commentary is proving e an important resource and truly helpful. Easy to read in spite of the weighty contents.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Jewish New Testament Commentary: A Companion Volume to the Jewish New Testament
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Henry
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The JNTC is very good because it clears up so much of the Greek mis-interpretation of scriptures. We have the truth told by people that have the knowledge of the true Hebrew culture in the days of Yeshua or Yahusha. The Greek language doesn't translate the Hebrew idioms right.
It is wrong that Christianity hasn't made an effort to translate the truth of the Hebrew culture by the truth that the Old Teatament granted to mankind. That is what pagans are good for and that is to hide the truth for Satan.
Wake Up People,
Henry
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Jewish New Testament Commentary: A Companion Volume to the Jewish New Testament
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

this product is extremely educational

Date:April 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Nelia
Location:Kissimmee,FL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you want a clear understanding of the scriptures and grow in your Jewish Roots as a believer in Jesus the Messiah of Israel and savior of mankind this is the bible commentary to buy.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Jewish New Testament Commentary: A Companion Volume to the Jewish New Testament
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Christopher Zwieg
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent reference material. I have only had it for a short time, but have found the material it covers to be very helpful in expanding my understanding of the New Testament.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Jewish New Testament Commentary: A Companion Volume to the Jewish New Testament
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Carolyn Conley
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book makes reading the New Testament so much more insightful!! I'm SO glad I bight it!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Jewish New Testament Commentary: A Companion Volume to the Jewish New Testament
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lisa Foster
I haven't spent Lots of time using this commentary as of yet, but what I have seen is very good. I am not a theologian but a student of God's Word and desire to walk more closely with Him. I believe that this commentary with the Jewish Bible will open up more understanding and application for my life.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Jewish New Testament Commentary: A Companion Volume to the Jewish New Testament
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Keith Wilcox
I only been able to briefly read some of the commentary remarks, and I have found them to be most insightful. As 21st century Christians we can sometimes forget that the Gospel was first for the Jew. We tend to come to the scriptures with all of our Gentile Christian baggage, and forget that all of the major figures of the New Testament were Jewish, and that certain figures of speech and references would be instantly understood by the Jewish believers. Somehow a lot of that insight did not get passed on, and we are only now becoming familiar with the meaning those references. When a Jewish perspective is combined with the Christian perspective we are able to gain a more complete understanding of scriptures and what God is trying to say to all of us.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Jewish New Testament Commentary: A Companion Volume to the Jewish New Testament
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
Lori Ferraiz
If you get the Complete Jewish Bible , This is the perfect commentary to go with it. It is full of so much information. Again it blesses the time you spend in the bible studying. I would recomend it to any one. I love it
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Jewish New Testament Commentary: A Companion Volume to the Jewish New Testament
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
Rickey Rambo
This is a commentary that stands out among its peers. It sheds light on passages that need the Jewish history in order to fully grasped many of its meanings. A must buy especially if you have the Jewish Bible!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Jewish New Testament Commentary: A Companion Volume to the Jewish New Testament
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
David Niles
David Stern's Jewish New Testament Commentary is one of the best commentaries I"ve ever read. David Stern brings out the jewishness of the New Testament while keeping the focus on Yeshua (Jesus). While I don't agree with all of his comments (Romans 10:4,for exsample), he draws from different Jewish sources to bring the Jewish influence of the New Covenant/Apostolic Writings to life. A must read for all seriuos students of God's Word!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Jewish New Testament Commentary: A Companion Volume to the Jewish New Testament
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
Aj Pike
A great companion with the Jewish Bible. This is very useful if you are studying God's Word. both Jewish or Gentile.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Jewish New Testament Commentary: A Companion Volume to the Jewish New Testament
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
Wayne Pettingill
I believe the commentary to be an excellent tool for understanding 1st century culture and rabbinic understanding of Scripture and of what Jesus had to say. Dr. Stern is very faithful to the text though promoting Jewishness.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Jewish New Testament Commentary: A Companion Volume to the Jewish New Testament
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Denise Thomas
I would recommend this Commentary to anyone. I love mine and I also bought the LARGE print Complete Jewish Bible. Many Blessings to the reader of this review in Yeshua.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Jewish New Testament Commentary: A Companion Volume to the Jewish New Testament
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 2, 2006
Customer Avatar
Barry Boyer
Dr. Stern has given us a great gift. This commentary is an essential companion to the Jewish New Testament. Conventional Christians may find the Jewish New Testament a puzzle when they do not recognize the words Dr. Stern uses to translate some scriptures verses. His commentary explains his reasoning and he often gives the readers several options for consideration when discussing controversial issues found in the New Testament. With the possible exception of Luke, the authors of the NT were Jewish. Many commentaries miss the mark and David Stern provides meat for serious students who wish to understand the teachings of the Messiah and His followers.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Jewish New Testament Commentary: A Companion Volume to the Jewish New Testament
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 22, 2000
Customer Avatar
Julie Reeves
This is the best way to learn about the roots of our faith. It is a must to have.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Jewish New Testament Commentary: A Companion Volume to the Jewish New Testament
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 27, 2000
Customer Avatar
Glenna Davis
I am excited that you carry this. There is a new movement in our country to draw close to the Messiah who is King of the Jews and to know His Feasts... Thanks
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.