Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Frame 232, Jason Hammond Series #1

Tyndale House Frame 232, Jason Hammond Series #1

During the reading of her mother's will, Sheila Baker discovers that she has inherited everything her parents ever possessed, including their secrets. A mysterious safe deposit box key leads her to the answers to one of history's greatest conspiracies: who killed John F. Kennedy? Not only does she have the missing film, revealing her mother as the infamous babushka lady, but she has proof that there was more than one shooter.
Average Customer Rating:
4.556 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
18 out of 18100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Frame 232, Jason Hammond Series #1
Review 1 for Frame 232, Jason Hammond Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

President Kennedy's assination - fictionalized

Date:January 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
ACS Book Finder
Location:North Carolian
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A well-written book and a very good read. This is the first book I have read by author Wil Mara. It was exciting and intriguing. The characters were very real and relatable. Even though I don’t necessarily believe there was a great conspiracy surrounding the assassination of John F Kennedy, I found the plot of this book interesting. It held my attention and I finished it in just a couple of days. It is full of mystery and action and highly enjoyable. A highly recommended read! (rev. P.Howard)
DISCLOSURE: A complimentary copy of Frame 232 was provided by Tyndale Blog Network on behalf of the author and publisher in exchange for our honest review. Opinions expressed are solely those of the reviewer. No compensation was received for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Frame 232, Jason Hammond Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Top Notch Mystery Thriller

Date:November 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wil Mara in his new book “Frame 232″ Book One in the Jason Hammond series published by Tyndale House Publishers introduces us to Jason Hammond.
From the back cover: The time had come, she decided, to rid herself of this burden, to take the steps necessary to put the matter to rest once and for all. And the first step, she knew—against every instinct and desire—was to watch that film.
During the reading of her mother’s will, Sheila Baker discovers that she has inherited everything her parents ever possessed, including their secrets. A mysterious safe-deposit box key leads her to the answers to one of history’s greatest conspiracies: Who killed John F. Kennedy? Not only does she have the missing film, revealing her mother as the infamous babushka lady, but she has proof that there was more than one shooter.
On the run from people who would stop at nothing to keep secrets buried, Sheila turns to billionaire sleuth Jason Hammond for help. Having lost his own family in a tragic plane crash, Jason knows a thing or two about running from the past. With a target on their backs and time running out, can Jason finally uncover the truth behind the crime that shook a generation—or will he and Sheila become its final victims?
One of the greatest conspiracy theories of all time: how many shooters were there the day of President Kennedy’s assassination? No matter what camp you find yourself in “Frame 232″ is a highly complicated thriller. Sheila has come into possession of her mother’s film of that day and she sees it. Now she knows what happened. However there are others who do not want her to know or to tell others and she is now the target of assassins. Sheila’s only hope is Jason Hammond, a billionaire who solves mysteries and has his own personal problems. Jason accepts the case and desperately tries to keep the two of them alive while he seeks out the truth of that day. Lots of action, lots of excitement in this thriller that never lets you go. The bad guys are really evil and the good guys are really good. ”Frame 232″ is a top-notch thriller that will keep you flipping pages as fast as you can read. I recommend this book highly and look forward to the next book featuring Jason Hammond.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Tyndale House Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Frame 232, Jason Hammond Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

You Will Not Be Able To Put This Book Down

Date:November 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Grace
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a perfect time to release this fantastic novel surrounding footage of the assassination of President John F. Kennedy. This book kept me glued to its pages until the very end. I love this author's perfect weave of history with the present day conspiracy theories. The conclusion was perfect with every loose end neatly tied up.
The characters had a spy novel feel about them, always leaving the reader wondering if they would turn on the Sheila and Jason, the main characters. They were exciting, but uncomplicated.
I definitely recommend this novel. It is a clean read as an action packed novel with Christian characters. Allow some time to read Frame 232 by Wil Mara, because once you pick it up, you won't put it down!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Frame 232, Jason Hammond Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Historical Thriller

Date:November 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Stacelito
Location:Ohio
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Who was the Babushka Lady? Did she film or photograph anything of value during the shooting of JFK? Was she really holding a camera? Why didn’t she come forward?
These questions were first posed in November of 1963 and were posed again in Frame 232 by Wil Mara. Limited facts of that fateful day and those very questions are the framework of Mara’s book.
When Margaret Baker’s will was read and her daughter, Sheila, was given the key to the safety deposit box, she had no idea how her life was going to turn upside down. Sheila Baker weighs her options as she opens the safety deposit box and reveals a canister of film shot in 1963 and a letter written in her deceased mother’s handwriting. She did not know that viewing this film of JFK’s assassination would put her life in jeopardy as she struggles with getting the truth to the right authorities. Of all things, an internet search for the most reliable, moral man indicates she should trust billionaire Jason Hammond. “He was considered an adventurer of sorts who specialized in unsolved mysteries…. One blogger referred to him as a modern-day cross between Robin Hood and Jack Webb from Dragnet.” (page 88)
What did Sheila see in the film? What where those behind the assassination plot afraid this documentation revealing? Frame 232 walks through a fictionalized account of what could have played out on November 13, 1963 and what the REAL Babushka Lady may have caught on film.
I thoroughly enjoyed this Robert Ludlumesque novel written by Wil Mara. It is his first one with Tyndale House but he has written several others, Wave and The Gemini Virus, both of which have gotten great reviews. Wil Mara's development of the characters in the novel is exceptional... I really liked the protagonist and despised the antagonist! Their personalities were clearly defined and they behaved in the manner in which they were expected to behave WITHOUT being about to anticipate their moves.
I received the book Frame 232 free from Tyndale House Publishers in exchange for my fair and unbiased review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Frame 232, Jason Hammond Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The time had come, she decided, to rid herself of this burden, to take the steps necessary to put the matter to rest once and for all. And the first step, she knew—against every instinct and desire—was to watch that film.
During the reading of her mother’s will, Sheila Baker discovers that she has inherited everything her parents ever possessed, including their secrets. A mysterious safe-deposit box key leads her to the answers to one of history’s greatest conspiracies: Who killed John F. Kennedy? Not only does she have the missing film, revealing her mother as the infamous babushka lady, but she has proof that there was more than one shooter.
On the run from people who would stop at nothing to keep secrets buried, Sheila turns to billionaire sleuth Jason Hammond for help. Having lost his own family in a tragic plane crash, Jason knows a thing or two about running from the past. With a target on their backs and time running out, can Jason finally uncover the truth behind the crime that shook a generation—or will he and Sheila become its final victims?
My Review:
This book was a winning combination of mystery, suspense, and history at it's finest. Personally, I've never quite read a story with all these elements, but I do enjoy these genres. Putting them all together was absolutely amazing and unbelievably fascinating! Before reading this novel I didn't know a lot about JFK's assassination. It was just a snapshot of the past that didn't affect me and merely a part of history. But now I am truly and completely captivated by this spellbinding piece of the past, and it actually means something to me.
This is certainly not a work of fiction that I would hand to a younger reader. One of the villains partakes in some morally wrong activities, and I understand the author did that to establish the type of person he was. But it is not something I would want children to read. Other than that minor detail, the book was wonderful! The characters were compelling, (I mean, who doesn't love Jackie!) and the fictional character of Jason Hammond was the main reason I enjoyed the novel. Frame 232 is suspenseful, historically accurate, and action packed! A wonderful way to spend an afternoon, but I don't recommend starting this if you can't sit down for an extended period of time - you won't be able to put it down.
This book was provided by the publisher for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Frame 232, Jason Hammond Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The time had come, she decided, to rid herself of this burden, to take the steps necessary to put the matter to rest once and for all. And the first step, she knew—against every instinct and desire—was to watch that film.
During the reading of her mother’s will, Sheila Baker discovers that she has inherited everything her parents ever possessed, including their secrets. A mysterious safe-deposit box key leads her to the answers to one of history’s greatest conspiracies: Who killed John F. Kennedy? Not only does she have the missing film, revealing her mother as the infamous babushka lady, but she has proof that there was more than one shooter.
On the run from people who would stop at nothing to keep secrets buried, Sheila turns to billionaire sleuth Jason Hammond for help. Having lost his own family in a tragic plane crash, Jason knows a thing or two about running from the past. With a target on their backs and time running out, can Jason finally uncover the truth behind the crime that shook a generation—or will he and Sheila become its final victims?
My Review:
This book was a winning combination of mystery, suspense, and history at it's finest. Personally, I've never quite read a story with all these elements, but I do enjoy these genres. Putting them all together was absolutely amazing and unbelievably fascinating! Before reading this novel I didn't know a lot about JFK's assassination. It was just a snapshot of the past that didn't affect me and merely a part of history. But now I am truly and completely captivated by this spellbinding piece of the past, and it actually means something to me.
This is certainly not a work of fiction that I would hand to a younger reader. One of the villains partakes in some morally wrong activities, and I understand the author did that to establish the type of person he was. But it is not something I would want children to read. Other than that minor detail, the book was wonderful! The characters were compelling, (I mean, who doesn't love Jackie!) and the fictional character of Jason Hammond was the main reason I enjoyed the novel. Frame 232 is suspenseful, historically accurate, and action packed! A wonderful way to spend an afternoon, but I don't recommend starting this if you can't sit down for an extended period of time - you won't be able to put it down.
This book was provided by the publisher for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Frame 232, Jason Hammond Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The time had come, she decided, to rid herself of this burden, to take the steps necessary to put the matter to rest once and for all. And the first step, she knew—against every instinct and desire—was to watch that film.
During the reading of her mother’s will, Sheila Baker discovers that she has inherited everything her parents ever possessed, including their secrets. A mysterious safe-deposit box key leads her to the answers to one of history’s greatest conspiracies: Who killed John F. Kennedy? Not only does she have the missing film, revealing her mother as the infamous babushka lady, but she has proof that there was more than one shooter.
On the run from people who would stop at nothing to keep secrets buried, Sheila turns to billionaire sleuth Jason Hammond for help. Having lost his own family in a tragic plane crash, Jason knows a thing or two about running from the past. With a target on their backs and time running out, can Jason finally uncover the truth behind the crime that shook a generation—or will he and Sheila become its final victims?
My Review:
This book was a winning combination of mystery, suspense, and history at it's finest. Personally, I've never quite read a story with all these elements, but I do enjoy these genres. Putting them all together was absolutely amazing and unbelievably fascinating! Before reading this novel I didn't know a lot about JFK's assassination. It was just a snapshot of the past that didn't affect me and merely a part of history. But now I am truly and completely captivated by this spellbinding piece of the past, and it actually means something to me.
This is certainly not a work of fiction that I would hand to a younger reader. One of the villains partakes in some morally wrong activities, and I understand the author did that to establish the type of person he was. But it is not something I would want children to read. Other than that minor detail, the book was wonderful! The characters were compelling, (I mean, who doesn't love Jackie!) and the fictional character of Jason Hammond was the main reason I enjoyed the novel. Frame 232 is suspenseful, historically accurate, and action packed! A wonderful way to spend an afternoon, but I don't recommend starting this if you can't sit down for an extended period of time - you won't be able to put it down.
This book was provided by the publisher for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Frame 232, Jason Hammond Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Starts where history leaves off

Date:November 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Floyd Johnson
Location:Upstate NY
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My biggest memory of the JFK assassination is the morning my dad came rushing into the rear of the house shouting, “They killed him, they killed him …” He was not talking about the killing of John F. Kennedy, but the murder of Lee Harvey Oswald by Jack Ruby a few days later. As a twelve year old, national news was not high on my agenda at the time. Now, 50 years later, as we approach the 50th anniversary of those events in Dallas, TX, I am much more aware of how they altered the character of our country, both in 1963 and in the years following those terrible events.
Will Mara has written a believable thriller that begins where history leaves off. The story begins with The Babushka Lady, Margaret Baker, sneaking away from work to observe her idol - John F. Kennedy as he made his way through Dealey Plaza. She brought her family’s camera to the scene in order to film the day’s events. She filmed the assassination. But it would be 50 years before that film would see the light of day. Her daughter, Shiela Baker, heard her hint at it on her death bed and her lawyer would hand her a key to a safe deposit box that would contain the old film.
What was on that filmed had scared her mother for 50 years - now it scared Shiela. Who could she trust? The FBI? The CIA? A lawyer she barely knew? She would eventually turn to a famed billionaire/researcher, Jason Hammond, who had the habit of solving unsolvable puzzles - most recently the truth of Amelia Earhart. (Note, It might be fun to read a prelude that would discuss Jason’s involvement in that puzzle, but that would be another story.) But once she did, it would put her life and his, as well as many others in danger.
Once started, the reader did not want to stop reading - though sleep and daily duties demanded that I do so. The plot was realistic, the historical facts upon which the book was based came alive. From Texas, the action flows to New Hampshire to Washington D.C. and its environs and includes a clandestine trip to Cuba.
I found the book intriguing - well worth the late night hours I spent reading it. I expect most readers will as well, regardless of how familiar they are with the events of November 1963. Perhaps, like it did me, it force other readers to learn more of the events of that fateful day - both as seen in the official reports and the numerous conspiracy theories which arose in the decades since the death of John F. Kennedy.
______________
This review is based on a free copy of the book provided by the publisher for the purpose of creating this review. The opinions expressed are mine alone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Frame 232, Jason Hammond Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Frame 232

Date:August 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
bookworm
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Frame 232 is a suspenseful novel with unforgettable characters. Sheila inherits a safe deposit box after her mother dies from cancer. The safe deposit box has not been touched in over 20 years and has been a curiosity at the bank that houses it as well as with the law firm that Sheila’s mother hired to own the box. When Sheila opens the box, she finds a film that changes her life dramatically as well as a side of her mother she never even knew. After Sheila returns home with the film, she watches it and is shocked to find out that her mother had been there at the President Kennedy Assassination. The film was basically a recording of the shooting and is proof of a conspiracy that the president was taken out by not just one shooter, but two. When Sheila researches the conspiracy, she discovers that her mother was the mysterious lady that the government and assassins have been looking for all this time. After Sheila discovers her mother’s secret, she contacts a billionaire, Jason, who is known for helping uncover the real truth of mysteries. Together, Jason and Sheila work to solve the real truth about the JFK assassination. However, there are some very powerful people who do not want this truth known and they will stop at nothing to prevent this from happening. As Sheila and Jason struggle to find out more about the assassination, they face numerous assassination attempts themselves. Will Sheila and Jason discover the real truth behind the president’s murder? Will the assassins be found and brought to justice? Will the assassin after Sheila and Jason succeed in his mission? These are just a sample of the questions that will be answered when you read this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Frame 232, Jason Hammond Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Mystery thriller involving Kennedy's assassination

Date:August 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
luvs to cook
Location:Virginia Beach, VA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When Sheila Baker's mother died, she inherited the key to a safe deposit box containing a reel of film showing another man with a rifle poised to kill JFK. What I thought might be a boring rehash of the Kennedy assassination was an incredibly exciting mystery that I found fascinating!!! I loved it. The only thing that kept Sheila alive was the fact she turned to Jason Hammond for advice. I was amazed by how exciting this book was as Jason and Sheila raced to find out the truth before the killer found them. And it was a wild race that even took them to Cuba and got Jason in a lot of trouble with the American law!! If you love a good mystery, this is the book to read!!!! You won't want to put it down especially when Sheila is caught by the bad guy. Would Jason rescue her in time?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Frame 232, Jason Hammond Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jessica Bates
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
President John F Kennedy was assassinated in 1963. Zapruders famous film shows the assassination as well as another woman filming across the street. This woman nor her film have ever been found. Several theories believe that Lee Harvey Oswald didn't act alone and that the mysterious "babushka lady's" film could prove it. Well what would happen if the film was found? Wil Mara's book takes that idea and runs with it. This book begins a new series featuring Jason Hammond a wealthy humanitarian who seeks to solve history's mysteries.
I couldn't put this book down. I absolutely loved it. I was riveted from the first few pages. Mr Mara takes such care with using historic details as well as interweaving fictional details. The characters are wonderfully developed, scenes are described in detail as if you were actually there and the ending has an unexpected twist. Mr Mara takes you on a wonderful and exciting journey, you don't want to miss it. I have no complaints with this book at all. I enjoyed his writing style and the story at large. I'm very excited to read his next book , I can't wait!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Frame 232, Jason Hammond Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Interesting

Date:August 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Virginia
Location:upstate NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shelia's mother dies, and leaves behind a secret- she is the "Babushka Lady" that witnessed the assassination of John F. Kennedy and also filmed the event. Sheila finds the film and asks Jason Hammond, a man known for solving strange cases, to help her.
I thought the book was very good. I wasn't alive in 1963 and didn't know much about the conspiracy theories. This book mentioned the various theories surrounding the assassination and I found it interesting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Frame 232, Jason Hammond Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Christian Style Political Suspense

Date:July 21, 2013
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This is basically a PG13 action flick placed in a Christian context. When a woman inherits a film proving the existence of a second shooter at Kennedy's assassination, she turns to a wealthy/haunted/philanthropist/businessman to help her solve the mystery. The closer they are to revealing the truth, the more their lives are imperiled.
This is a fun, fairly light read. There was just enough suspense to keep the pages turning, enough violence to make me wince, enough romance to make me uncomfortable (read not very much), enough history to make me believe the story was plausible, and enough of a resolution to justify an ending. So for all of the above, I give it three stars.
Here's why I withheld two:
On an emotional and intellectual level, this book does not have much to offer.
Emotionally, the characters often fall flat. The story often fails to show a clear cause and effect between the internal state and the outward action. Here are a few examples: (SPOILER)a character's childhood home is destroyed during an attempt on their life, and the character makes no more reference to it for the rest of the story (which happens in a fairly compressed time frame); another (male) character cries on a stranger's shoulder, and does not feel vulnerable or defensive afterwards; a character goes to great lengths to conceal his identity for decades, then decides to come forward at the first danger of exposure; and so on(END SPOILER). For a story told in the omniscient third-person, this can come across disconnected and limit the emotional investment of the reader. Also, the author hides important plot points from the reader and the characters to artificially heighten suspense. Not my favorite method of writing.
Intellectually, this book does a fine job of asking "what if?" but never really gets around to answering why. What little answer it does is provide unsatisfactory. I felt the characters in the story assumed more than any normal, rational, curious, or threatened person would be comfortable assuming about one of the biggest "unsolved conspiracies" ever. Also, there are several scenes where the author just does not provide enough detail; it felt like a poorly edited music montage in the middle of a suspense film. The story is well rooted in actual history, so the believability isn't really affected; and the film is fast moving enough that extended explanations would have noticeably slowed it down. But the resulting lack of depth made me wish I had something a little more substantial to chew on.
So I'm not sorry I read this book. It was an entertaining way to spend a long car ride. But despite an ending which almost leaves one hanging, I probably won't bother hunting down the sequels as they are published. Mostly because I like to watch movies and read books. Not the other way around.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Frame 232, Jason Hammond Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Frightening but Entertaining - Action, Intrigue

Date:August 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
eb7bibliophile
Location:High Desert West
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book has impressive character development and thrilling investigations. I am not a fan of conspiracy theories, and do not follow the ones mentioned in the book, but the fictional character based on a witness to the assassination was fascinating. It was an excellent thriller with a lot of imagination and great plot twists. I deeply appreciate the lack of foul language and prurient content. Wil Mara is talented enough to describe dark scenes and angry remarks creatively without the foul language. Of course, there is violence, but the subject was a brutal and very sad murder. In the pursuits and the intrigue, the violence was to be expected and to me, fit in just right; also, the conclusion tied up all loose ends. I like the main characters and would be interested in reading more stories about them. I could not put it down (even for lunch). The author’s notes at the end were enlightening. I recommend this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Frame 232, Jason Hammond Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I had to remind myself this is fiction

Date:July 10, 2013
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I know a book is good when I have to keep reminding myself that this didn't really happen, this is fiction.
I am not one to be totally into political stuff or overly curious about the JFK assassination but this book had me flipping pages into the wee hours of the night. I kept wondering could this really have happened?
Mara weaves together a wonderful cast of characters you will love and others you will love to hate. Some of the characters are so twisted you just want to scream at them.
There is a beautiful redemption story in this book as well from an unlikely character, but it shows that you have never fallen to far to be redeemed by our Heavenly Father.
I would love to see this book turned into a movie, I could see it playing out so clearly in my mind.
A copy of this book was given to me by Tyndale House Publishers in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Frame 232, Jason Hammond Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Review from a Man's Perspective

Date:July 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rick
Location:Middleburg, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So I’ve looked at this book for a long time and never could bring myself to sitting down and actually opening to the first page. Why? I don’t know, really. It could be the cover, the content or just my procrastination gene kicking in. In the end, I did sit down and open the book and I will admit, I didn’t get much sleep for the next couple of days.
What would you do if you were the only person that knew one of the biggest secrets of all time? Would you tell somebody? Would it eat away at you every day? Would you take the secret to your grave? Margaret Baker was faced with that very dilemma when she was in Dallas and filmed something on her camera. Once the news spread about the assassination of President Kennedy, she thought back to her camera and what she may have caught while she was filming. Once she had the film developed, she locked it away in a safe deposit box and never looked at it again. Now Margaret has passed and her daughter, Sheila, finds out that not only did she inherit the house and belongings of her mother, she has also inherited this national treasure. Knowing that there really isn’t anyone that she can trust, Sheila hunts down Jason Hammond and enlists his help. After his initial disbelief, Jason quickly comes to her aid as Sheila’s life is put in danger. Someone knows that the film exists and knows that she has it. Will Sheila and Jason be able to stay a step ahead of those after them? Is there someone that they can turn to with this lost secret? What exactly does the film show? Read the rest of my review and then run to your nearest Christian Bookstore and BUY THE BOOK!
This is not the first book by Wil Mara, but it is his first novel written as a Christian Fiction novel. This novel does everything that I would hope for in a great book. It provided me with entertainment, it embellished on something ‘factual’ to the point of making me do some research myself on that fateful day in Dallas and it left me satisfied and wanting more. It was refreshing to see the main character as a flawed person that was able to return to his faith as the story progressed. I was concerned at the end that there were going to be some big plot holes that were just glossed over (like how Jason could escape from the Coast Guard without facing persecution), but my concern was unfounded.
Is this a "guy's book"? There is so much action and adventure in this book, there’s no way that this could not be considered a great “guy’s book”. With the mix of the historical information provided about the assassination, everybody should pick up this book and dive right in.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Frame 232, Jason Hammond Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A mostly riveting read

Date:June 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Melissa
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The story captured my attention from the beginning, with descriptions real and frightening. For some reason, the last half was not as gripping as the first for me, though parts of it did keep me glued to it. I think there was a little too much time spent on the bad guys, not enough on the main characters and their personal feelings and actions. Perhaps it would make a better movie than book, although there are some scenes that would not transfer in a godly manner into film. (The book mentioned people swearing, prostitutes, etc.) Then, the Christian aspect of the book was lacking, in my opinion, though trusting in Jesus was mentioned briefly. Catholic churches and works were too accented. However, it was in general good writing and characterization with a few twists, so I kind of liked it. And if a book succeeds in making a conservative interested in the history of someone like JFK, I guess it deserves points.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Frame 232, Jason Hammond Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Heart-pounding peril...

Date:June 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jen Pen
Location:Midwest
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SUMMARY:
Sheila Baker inherits a recording of the Kennedy Assassination that has the potential to change her life. The recording has the possibility to incriminate a new suspect – a suspect that does not wish to be found. As a result, Sheila and her new friend, Jason Hammond, are launched into an adventure that places them in heart-pounding peril.
A PENNY FOR MY THOUGHTS:
Wil Mara sends his reader into a mysterious adventure that results in white-knuckle-grip tension. The fast paced action is most prominent in the middle section of the book. A strength of the book is the evident research that was part of the book’s creation. Mara artfully weaves essential pieces of history into the novel that provide information the reader must understand; yet, that history appears in such a way that does not result in fragmented transitions. In an interview with Mara, the research that was part of the book’s creation is revealed:
HOW MUCH RESEARCH DID YOU DO FOR THIS PROJECT?
An unbelievable amount. I spoke with assassination experts, read literally hundreds of books and articles, pored over countless photos…you name it. My goal was to write a fictional story around the established facts rather than alter the facts to serve the story. Thus, I had to know pretty much everything. I ended up loading my brain with more data than I really needed…but I didn’t mind.
Another strong point of the novel is the apparent Christian faith that runs throughout the storyline and into the character’s lives. In an interview, Mara commented on this aspect of the novel:
WHAT ROLE DOES YOUR CHRISTIAN FAITH PLAY IN YOUR WRITING?
It is embedded throughout this story, in a fashion both subtle and direct. I was raised Christian and have been a firm believer all my life, so my belief system is threaded into just about everything I do. Anyone who carries even the most fundamental faith will recognize the important elements in this book. The most obvious example belongs to the main character, who recurs throughout the series he is suffering a deep crisis of faith, and the core of that crisis should be familiar to even the most devout follower. We are human, plain and simple, and as such we experience doubts about the Lord in our lifetime. So it won’t be hard for anyone to connect with him.
DESCRIBE THE ROLE OF FAITH PLAYS IN YOUR MAIN CHARACTERS, SHEILA BAKER AND JASON HAMMOND.DOES THIS CHANGE AS THE STORY PROGRESSES?
With Sheila, you’ve got a very goodhearted person who is experiencing a critical change in her worldview. She is coming out of the ‘money is the most important thing in the world’ phase and beginning to understand that there are much higher priorities. This isn’t to say she’s trumpeting the virtues of poverty (She still understands that it’s important to live within a certain comfortable and respectable standard). But she’s figuring out that money isn’t what a person should worship, it’s something altogether different. And there is a traceable and, I think, very satisfying arc to her story in this regard.
As for Jason, he suffered a tremendous loss years earlier, went through a protracted nightmare period, and is starting to come out of during the events of Frame 232. An encounter with a very unlikely source helps him to turn the corner and begin a path to renewed promise but even so, the journey ahead is going to present serious challenges for him. The good news, though, is that he has not abandoned
The good news, though, is that he has not abandoned the Lord altogether. If he had done that, there wouldn’t be any conflict within him in the first place.
Readers who enjoy Mara’s mystery that delves into the unsolved queries of the past, will look forward to the next novel in the Jason Hammond series that will be available in the summer of 2014.
MY RATING:
4 (out of 5) pennies
*I received a complimentary copy of Frame 232 from Tyndale House Publisher for my honest review*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.