Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Unafraid, Lineage of Grace Series #5

Tyndale House Unafraid, Lineage of Grace Series #5

Abused women, prostitutes, teenage mothers . . . unlikely candidates for the ancestry of Christ. Yet God used them mightily! In Rivers's latest, you'll meet Mary, the young girl who was obedient to God and became the most revered woman in history---the mother of Jesus. Gain a deeper appreciation of her dramatic story! 165 pages, hardcover from Tyndale.
Average Customer Rating:
4.222 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews for Unafraid, Lineage of Grace Series #5
Review 1 for Unafraid, Lineage of Grace Series #5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Carmel Robason
These books of River's are the very best and informative books on Bible people I have ever read and I'm putting them in the church library - I just need 2 more of the men. Thanks Rivers and Christian Books.Carmel
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Unafraid, Lineage of Grace Series #5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 18, 2008
Customer Avatar
Roeli Dehoop
Francine Rivers is an excellent writer,although the bible tells us how Jesus suffered exually from birth on, she writes so magnificant about a mothers heart,it touches you own emotions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Unafraid, Lineage of Grace Series #5
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:July 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
W. D. Drummond
Very inspiring and down-to-earth. Gives good insight into the the possible circumstances our Lord Jesus endured in order to carry out our Father's will, which insight helps us while reading the New Testament. Our Lord Jesus deserves our total love for doing what He has done for us.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Unafraid, Lineage of Grace Series #5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 28, 2008
Customer Avatar
Liz McQuiston
Fantastic book! It was a little slow at first, but the middle and end sections moved me to tears. I loved the portrayal of Jesus from a baby to young man... it gave me a newfound appreciation for what He went through as God and Savior, and His amazing love for us, as seen by the eyes of His mother, Mary. She too is portrayed wonderfully... she is not perfect, but was never supposed to be.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Unafraid, Lineage of Grace Series #5
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 19, 2007
Customer Avatar
Sherry Cunningham
I enjoyed this story of Mary. It took her out of the shadows and clothed her with a very human face, with a mother's heart.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Unafraid, Lineage of Grace Series #5
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:September 23, 2006
Customer Avatar
Sarah
I love a lot of Francine River's books... however, this one is rather disappointing. I did not like the way Mary was portrayed... she was very impatient and was pushy towards the people around her. She was not patient with Jesus. She didn't treat her other children with patience (and sometimes kindness) and would be so shocked with them struggling with their faith. I felt as if Mary had such high expectations on people who were human just like us. I also felt as if this book was choppy too. This book is okay, but I would recommend reading the other books in the series over this.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Unafraid, Lineage of Grace Series #5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 27, 2003
Customer Avatar
Tara
TERRIFIC book! I highly recommend it---makes you feel as if you were there with Mary, seeing everything from her perspective. Just loved it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Unafraid, Lineage of Grace Series #5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 14, 2003
Customer Avatar
Marie Williams
This was a wonderful book. Couldn't put it down. Makes you wonder what's going to happen next.Mary is so much like us, we get tired of waiting. God has His time table right on time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Unafraid, Lineage of Grace Series #5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 1, 2001
Customer Avatar
A Palmer
Another great book by Francine Rivers. Very true to scriptures. Would make a great Christmas gift, especially for nonchristians.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.