Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Holman Bible Publishers HCSB UltraThin Bible, Black/Gray Duotone Simulated Leather

Holman Bible Publishers HCSB UltraThin Bible, Black/Gray Duotone Simulated Leather

This slim edition fits your lifestyle, whether it's backpacking it to class, tucking it into a purse or briefcase, or perching it on a nightstand or desk for easy reach. Readable 9-point type combined with a trim size makes this the perfect personal Bible for reading.

Features

  • Topical subheads
  • Table of Weights & Measures
  • Plan of Salvation
  • Eight-page four-color map section
  • Introduction to the HCSB
  • Two-column text setting
  • Words of Jesus in red
  • 9-point easy-ro-read ultra clear type
  • Presentation page
  • Blank, lined pages for notes
  • Footnotes
  • Ribbon marker
  • Two-piece gift box
  • Silver page edges
  • 8.75" x 5.75" x 1.00"
Average Customer Rating:
4.727 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 11100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for HCSB UltraThin Bible, Black/Gray Duotone Simulated Leather
Review 1 for HCSB UltraThin Bible, Black/Gray Duotone Simulated Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great addition to my favorite Bible editions

Date:August 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Louise Lokkan
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted a relatively small Bible with print big enough to read easily. I use NASB and ESV for study purposes, but I love the HCSB for reading. The use of the name Yahweh and the title Messiah are constant reminders of the Hebrew Heritage of our faith. The binding makes the Bible comfortable to hold, and each morning, when I come to my prayer chair, I can't wait to pick it up and begin a time of dwelling in it as spend time with the Lord.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HCSB UltraThin Bible, Black/Gray Duotone Simulated Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Outstanding translation, size, font size

Date:July 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bill
Location:USA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The HCSB is my new favorite translation, combining the translation accuracy of ESV or NASB with even more modern English than the NLT or NIV. Only having learned about the NCSB a year ago I now have it as two Study bibles, the Apologetics Bible, the Compact Large Print, and this UltraThin. The UltraThin is easy to hold in my arthritic hands and easy to read with my older eyes. My 30 year old daughter recently saw it and was impressed as well.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HCSB UltraThin Bible, Black/Gray Duotone Simulated Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jesus Freak
Location:Haughton, LA
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this bible. It reads so well and is very easy to understand. I recommend it to anyone who is looking for a good translation that reads well and is easy to understand.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HCSB UltraThin Bible, Black/Gray Duotone Simulated Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Bible - Easy Read

Date:July 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Teresa Conway-mansfield
Location:Greenville
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bible is real easy to understand and read. Soft cover which makes it nice to hold for long periods of time. I love it...
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HCSB UltraThin Bible, Black/Gray Duotone Simulated Leather
This review is fromHCSB UltraThin Bible, Green & White Simulated Leather.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

this product is perfect for me.

Date:March 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kathryn
Location:Norwich NY
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am thrilled with this Bible. I love the translation, the quality is excellent and will hold up for many years of service. the only thing that i would add to this Bible is a concordance. the 'simulated leather' is butter-soft and i love the feel of it. thank you so much!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HCSB UltraThin Bible, Black/Gray Duotone Simulated Leather
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Bible - Lacks a Concordance

Date:January 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
jar of clay
Location:Reedsburg, WI
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This Bible is an excellent value, if you don't mind a Bible without a concordance. A concordance is the most foundational study tool to mine the riches of God's Word. This particular Bible features the accurate and readable HCSB translation which includes many translation notes. Maps and blank pages for notes are also included. The font is very readable and the bleed through on the pages is minimal. The quality, brown simulated leather binding and the sewn pages are both features seldom seen in a Bible at this price. I would love to give this Bible a "5 star" rating, but the lack of a concordance significantly diminishes the Bible's usefulness .
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HCSB UltraThin Bible, Black/Gray Duotone Simulated Leather
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

You get more than you pay for...

Date:October 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
druseth
Location:Chiang Mai, Thailand
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After using the ESV for several years, I was ready to consider a switch--either to the NKJV or the HCSB. I appreciate the ESV, and will continue to enjoy reading it, but I've become frustrated with its unnecessary abstruseness. It seems that the translators were over-committed to mirroring original language word order, and keeping an arbitrary sense of majesty.
The NKJV reads more naturally, and is still quite conservative, but it can be a bit archaic in places. The HCSB reads very naturally, is conservative and accurate, but I find the "freshness" occasionally jarring. I also don't like the capitalizing of deity pronouns. However, I wanted something faithful to the Word, conservative in translation, and open in the manuscripts it relied on. I especially like the transparent textual footnotes and the usage of Yahweh, rather than the ambiguous "Lord" of other translations.
After reading the HCSB on my phone for several months, with my ESV falling apart, I was ready to try the HCSB as a "real" Bible. Here's what I like about this edition:
1. It's inexpensive. This is really a great price for the Bible
2. The text is laid out very well and the font size is more than sufficient. It's very easy on the eyes, easy to find a reference, and the use of bold text to indicate OT references is great.
3. It's small. I'm used to using a large clunky Bible, and while I miss the wide margins, it's worth it for the "ease of transportation". I can throw this in my briefcase without thinking. It's easy to hold in one hand, or rest on a music stand while preaching. But it doesn't feel too small, and again, it's easy to read, even in a teaching context.
4. The pages are thick enough. There is some bleed-through, of course, but it's better than many.
5. It looks really nice. Handsome and contemporary, without screaming, "my Bible's cool!".
A few things I don't like:
1. The quality is far from top-notch. It's decent, but I don't expect this to last for more than a couple years. The "leather" will probably deteriorate like it did on my similarly-bound ESV Single Column Reference Bible (TruTone, Black). The silver gilding on the page edge is discolored (brownish at the corners.)The "threading" at the seams is already loose and fraying.
2. The lack of cross-references. I should have read the description more closely, and I think I got mixed up with another edition, but this one doesn't have cross-references. This can be really handy if you know a verse you want, but can't remember where it is.
3. The cover, while nice to the eye, is quite stiff. It feels like it will crease--as if it was cardboard.
This was a great purchase for me. If I find that I can commit to this translation long-term, I'll plan on buying a higher quality edition, with cross-references. But for now, the balance of quality and value is just right! If you'd like to try the HCSB, give it as a gift to an interested friend, or don't use your Bible that much, this handsome edition may be just what you are looking for.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HCSB UltraThin Bible, Black/Gray Duotone Simulated Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nice bible for the price & a good translation too!

Date:July 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Josh L
Location:Dallas, PA
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm very pleased with this bible. The product photos don't do it justice. I wasn't sure if I'd like the black/gray cover (I usually prefer brown), but this is very nice - the black is like a matte finish and the gray is kind of blue-gray. It seems to be well made, and the binding appears to be sewn.
I like the size. It's a little bigger and a little thicker than my Zondervan thinlines (NIV83 & NASB) and about the same size but a little thinner than my Crossway premium thinline (ESV). The paper is whiter than the Zondervan and Crossway bibles. Bleed-through from the other side of the page isn't bad - about like the Zondervans and much better than the Crossway. The text is a little bigger (9 pt.) than the other thinlines; and overall, the quality seems a little better than the others too.
My primary devotional bible was an old NIV thinline. With the new changes made to the NIV2011, I decided to start looking for a new translation. I like the readability and reliability of the NIV84, but it's being phased out and I've read enough about the NIV2011 to be concerned. I like the NASB for study but not so much for devotional reading. I tried the ESV, but I just can't get used to the language...it seems unnatural to me (I actually find the NASB easier to read). I've done a lot of research and decided to try the HCSB. It falls in the middle of the translation spectrum - but a little more formal equivalence than the NIV. So far, I'm finding it to be similar in readability to the NIV84. It's a good fit preference-wise for me too, with some features I've always prefered: capitalized pronouns for God, plentiful footnotes, and OT quotes with bold font in the NT to distinguish them.
This particular bible is the HCSB 2009 text. And I'm glad to recommend it as a nice bible at a very good price.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HCSB UltraThin Bible, Black/Gray Duotone Simulated Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An excellent buy.

Date:April 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Shamgar
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoy the HCSB translation. I find it reliable for serious study while still being a readable translation into today's English. The translation philosophy is called optimal equivalence, which means very literal when it can be translated into natural English, but more idiomatic when necessary to convey the meaning. A footnote will explain the literal rendering and alternate translations. I also like how they add some manuscript variations in the footnotes.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HCSB UltraThin Bible, Black/Gray Duotone Simulated Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Finally!!!

Date:April 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lori
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been buying bibles for the past 2 years trying to find "The One" that meets my personal expectations for a good everyday bible. I've got compact bibles, reference bibles, study bibles, thin-line bibles, large print and giant print.
Finally!!! This one is exactly what I've been looking for. The binding seems to be durable. The text is very readable and generously formatted; not all crammed together. The red text is not that awful blinding orange-red but a nice medium-dark red. The pages are a nice crisp white and not so thin as to worry about tearing and the ink doesn't smudge off when touching it.
If you're looking for a good bible without all the bells and whistles but wholly the Word of God...this is for you.
I absolutely intend to get the calfskin leather edition.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HCSB UltraThin Bible, Black/Gray Duotone Simulated Leather
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Aaron Johnston
Location:Des Moines, IA
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Imitation leather has a nice feel. Great value for the price. Overall quality seems to be very good. The font is a nice size, which is probably a result of not having cross references on each page. I did not notive in the description that there is NOT a concordance(only reason I rated it 4/5). It will be missed, but this is a great daily-carry Bible. Glad to finally get a small edition of the updated, 2009 copyrighted text. I highly recommend this Bible.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.