Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Realms Grace Given, Touch of Grace Series #2

Realms Grace Given, Touch of Grace Series #2

Elsie Kline can't forgive her sister for leaving the Amish community. Can she work through her bitterness and humble herself enough to give and receive the grace she needs?
Average Customer Rating:
4.778 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 9100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Grace Given, Touch of Grace Series #2
Review 1 for Grace Given, Touch of Grace Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Different feel to this story

Date:March 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
Cindy Loven
Location:Conway, AR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
This book was different than any other book I have read. I am not sure what exactly makes it different. New scenery? You rarely read Amish books set in Texas. Perhaps it is the harrassement towards the Amish. I am not sure, but it is different. And while it was different, that doesn't translate to bad, it is just different. Over all an enjoyable story. With characters that you can relate to, feeling their hurts, and their joys. 4 stars from this reviewer.
This book was provided for review purposes only, no payment was received for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Grace Given, Touch of Grace Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Elsie Yoder can't forgive her sister, Katie, for leaving the community. Unable to let go of her sadness, she withdraws from her friends and family, nursing her feelings of betrayal.
Gideon Lapp has held a special place in his heart for Elsie and longs to help her get through her troubles. Together they find comfort in their study of the Martyrs Mirror, a centuries-old book that describes their ancestors' sacrifices for their faith through years of persecution.
As Elsie opens up and begins to put her trust in Gideon, she tells him about the harassment she and her sister received at the hands of some local men. When the men return and threaten the community, Elsie and Gideon much stand together to do what is right. But can Elsie learn to give grace and to humble herself to accept grace as well?
My Review:
The elements that stood out to me about this story was not only the setting in the state of Texas, but the re-occurring theme of harassment. This made for a unique backdrop to everything that was happening, and makes for a completely different type of Amish novel. Shriver kept me guessing on where she was going with the story, and really kept me turning those pages! Last but not least, I had to admire the community's determination to deal with the climate changes and challenges in living the Amish lifestyle in the arid state of Texas.
I do have to admit I was very sympathetic when reading about Elsie's sadness that her sister Katie has left the community. I was a runaway once, and left my family, church, and community. I never thought how it affected my sisters when I left them behind, and reading Elsie's side of the story really just broke my heart.
This book was provided by the publisher for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Grace Given, Touch of Grace Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Compelling Amish fiction

Date:October 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Carole Jarvis
Location:Jonesboro, Georgia
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Grace Given by Beth Shriver is book 2 in the Touch of Grace trilogy, a series is about three faithful women who, when faced with three separate hardships, are torn between the men they love and staying true to themselves. Lead characters from the first book appear only as minor characters here, so this story can really stand alone. I enjoyed Grace Given and am glad to recommend it.
I have read the first two books in this series and enjoyed both. Beth's writing differs from a lot of Amish fiction that I've read in that she deals with difficult, sensitive themes and she does it well.
In Grace Given, many Amish families have migrated to Texas in order to build new lives where land was available. "The land was cheaper here, and when a man had three or more sons to parcel his land off, it wasn't enough in their former community." Problems often arose because these families represented both the Old Order and New Order faiths, so these beliefs had to be reconciled.
Not everyone welcomed them in Texas, however. This story contrasts the harassment some families received with the Amish vow of no resistance. As one character states, "It's much harder to resist retaliation than to abide by it."
Beth does a good job at shining the light on the fact that, although the Amish don't retaliate or press charges, this can be a difficult and costly decision in certain circumstances. But persecution is something the Amish are familiar with, as Gideon and Elsie's study of the Martyr’s Mirror shows. I felt for these characters and the Amish community as they were continually harassed and vandalized. And I loved how Beth portrayed Gideon's personal struggle so convincingly, and then how he reached out to the young boy, Nick.
Elsie also struggles with her sister Katie leaving the community, along with a young man who she cared about. I felt that there was more to come in this storyline and hope we see more of Katie and Jake in book 3, Healing Grace, which is available now.
This quote from Beth's website beautifully describes Grace Given: "Grace saves. Even in a world where retribution is almost expected, the Amish demonstrate that all can be pardoned, by following their vow of no resistance which shows the deep-rooted forgiveness within them."
Grace Given is a book that will make you think and reflect on persecution today, and I recommend it to readers of inspirational fiction.
This book was provided by Booketeria and Realms in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Grace Given, Touch of Grace Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Elsie Yoder can't forgive her sister, Katie, for leaving the community. Unable to let go of her sadness, she withdraws from her friends and family, nursing her feelings of betrayal.
Gideon Lapp has held a special place in his heart for Elsie and longs to help her get through her troubles. Together they find comfort in their study of the Martyrs Mirror, a centuries-old book that describes their ancestors' sacrifices for their faith through years of persecution.
As Elsie opens up and begins to put her trust in Gideon, she tells him about the harassment she and her sister received at the hands of some local men. When the men return and threaten the community, Elsie and Gideon much stand together to do what is right. But can Elsie learn to give grace and to humble herself to accept grace as well?
My Review:
The elements that stood out to me about this story was not only the setting in the state of Texas, but the re-occurring theme of harassment. This made for a unique backdrop to everything that was happening, and makes for a completely different type of Amish novel. Shriver kept me guessing on where she was going with the story, and really kept me turning those pages! Last but not least, I had to admire the community's determination to deal with the climate changes and challenges in living the Amish lifestyle in the arid state of Texas.
I do have to admit I was very sympathetic when reading about Elsie's sadness that her sister Katie has left the community. I was a runaway once, and left my family, church, and community. I never thought how it affected my sisters when I left them behind, and reading Elsie's side of the story really just broke my heart.
This book was provided by the publisher for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Grace Given, Touch of Grace Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Texan Amish Life

Date:March 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Elsie Yoder and her family have settled in Texas, having left their Amish Virginia Settlement. There is lot more land available here, and her Dad has three sons.
When the story opens Elsie and her sister Katie are being harassed by some local hooligans. Strange things have been happening here, and maybe these teens are the answers. Elsie is very afraid, but Katie just shakes it off. They do not tell their folks!
Then her sister leaves and betrays her! Elsie is strong in her faith, and spends her time helping her Mom, and Dad. She has two adorable five year old twin brothers, whom she adores.
Gideon has admired Elsie for quite awhile, and he seems to appear just when an emergency happened. Gid has a real heart for the Lord and may be being led into the Ministry.
I loved how the Community rally around anyone in need. Where their is an illness, new baby, fire, the food and gifts begin to appear. How awesome, made me wish I were living there.
We still find that there is a big struggle with forgiveness, they follow their faith, but have to turn to prayer in all circumstances.
A wonderful read, and I read this one very quickly, because I could not put it down!
I received this book from the Author, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Grace Given, Touch of Grace Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

wonderful amazing grace

Date:February 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rhonda Nash-hall
Location:Madison Heights VA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a wonderful look at grace and forgiveness Beth Shriver presents in Grace Given. I am a Virginian so found it interesting that the story focuses on a group of Amish who have moved from Virginia to Texas. I also lived in Texas for several years and there are definitely many differences in climate and with planting for the Amish to deal with. They also must deal with prejudice and bullying from local young people as well as forgiving within their own families. I loved this book and highly recommend it. For a healthy dose of grace and mercy, read this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Grace Given, Touch of Grace Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Touch of Grace

Date:March 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Its About Time Mamaw
Location:Cleveland, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Elsie Yoder can't seem to pull herself out of a depression caused by her sister Katie. Katie has betrayed her sister and left the community. Will Elsie be able to forgive her sister? No matter the turn of events Elsie misses her sister and wants her to come home. Their father does not wish to even talk about Katie, it pains him too much.
Gideon Lapp wants Elsie to be able to open up to him because he holds a special place in his heart for Elsie. He encourages her to interact with the rest of the community. She becomes interested in studying Martyrs Mirror with Gideon.
Elsie has many secrets that is eating her alive, one of which is some local men, not of the Amish community, have been harassing her even before her sister left. She finally confides in Gideon and reveals her secrets of the harassment not only toward her but to the Amish community. The young men have no fear of retaliation because they know the Amish will not use means of violence or by pressing charges against them.
Can Elsie forgive herself therefore humble herself to the community and to accept God's Grace? In doing so she will be free of the fear that grows within her. How will they deal with the local men?
In book two the author writes of the necessity of community support spiritually and physically. It reminds me of the verse. Matthew 18:20 For where two or three are gathered together in my name, there am I in the midst of them.
The author also write of humbling oneself and accepting Grace which is a gift from God! Beth also reminds us that we must put on the Armor of God. He gives us so much to fight the evil that tries to oppress us because of our belief in a loving God.
Disclosure: I received a free copy of this book from Charisma Media for review. I was in no way compensated for this review. It is my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Grace Given, Touch of Grace Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A perfect example to define grace!!

Date:January 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you understand the Amish people at all, you know that they don't like conflict and will avoid all acts of vengeance or involving the police to deal with any issues they have. They are a peaceful people and prefer to let God deal out the judgements if laws are broken. However when a group of Amish people settle in Texas, a group of English teens are about to make sure they get the message that they are not wanted. Knowing that the Amish will not retaliate, they first come across Elsie and her sister Katie Yoder, walking home one day. They begin to verbally assault them with all kinds of derogatory comments and proceed to leer at them. Katie and Elsie both run for their farm and agree not to tell anyone about what just happened.
Yet once a lie begins it becomes harder and harder to keep it a secret. Now that Katie has left her family along with Jake, the boy Elsie had believed had feelings for her to live among the English. Elsie is left not only to deal with her hurt feelings of being betrayed by her sister and Jake and now has to face continued harassment from the group of English teens that have found an easy mark with Elsie. She finds solace in studying the Martyrs Mirror, an old book that takes about the persecution of the Amish people with her friend Gideon Lapp. Only Gideon wishes his friendship with Elsie may in fact turn into love at some point. However dealing with her heartache with Jake, puts those plans on the back burner and creates a door for Jake's brother Mose to enter with Elsie as they have a common ground for conversation.
In the second book of the Touch of Grace series by Beth Shriver, Grace Given teaches us all how to deal with situations in life that prove difficult. Whether it's a broken heart, a betrayal from a family member or even being harassed, the grace God provides never comes back empty handed. This was such a different Amish novel to read, in that dealing with the harassment from the English teens was something you often wonder about when the Amish community moves into a new location and can create animosity among the residents that live there especially when the Amish start new business opportunities that create a need for their products and services over the English ones. A well written novel that completely captivated me from start to finish and can't wait to read the next one, Healing Grace which the reader is given a glimpse into at the conclusion of this novel.
I received Grace Given by Beth Shriver compliments of Christian Fiction Blog Alliance and Realm Publishers for my honest review and have to rate this one a 5 out of 5 stars. The story was a lot different that your typical Amish novels and dealt with a lot of issues facing the world today in our own communities. It just shows how the Amish would likely have handled it with a touch of grace instead of retaliation like most would.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Grace Given, Touch of Grace Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Story of Mystery, Mercy, and Forgiveness

Date:January 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
richard r blake
Location:Bridgman, MI
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
As a volunteer worker in our church library I am always on the lookout for new authors to recommend to our most avid readers. Series authors in the genre of Amish fiction have become a favorite of many, so I was delighted to discover “The Touch of Grace Trilogy” by Beth Shriver. “Grace Given” is the second in the series. The story parallels the lives three women, each faced with unique hardships and demonstrates how they respond showing mercy, pardon, and forgiveness.
If you read the first title in the series “Annie’s Truth” you recognize the names John Yoder, and Annie Belier. “Grace Given” is based on Elise Kline, Yoder’s cousin.
From the first page to the last paragraph Shriver captures and holds the reader’s attention. Her writing is well paced with an absorbing well developed plot and believable characters.
Beth Shriver’s “Grace Given” adds a unique fresh approach and a deeper insight into Amish life and adds a touch of mystery.
A complimentary copy of this book was provided for review purposes. The opinions expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.