Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Summerside Press The Silent Order

Summerside Press The Silent Order

When his partner is murdered, 1920s detective Rollin Wells goes into hiding. Taking refuge in an Amish home in Sugarcreek, Ohio, he works to discover who in the police force is collaborating with Cleveland's notorious mob. But when he befriends a young Amish mother named Katie, will he unearth an even more shocking secret?
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
16 out of 16100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Silent Order
Review 1 for The Silent Order
This review is fromThe Silent Order - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another great book by Melanie Dobson

Date:July 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
wfnren
Location:St Cloud, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read several of Melanie's books and always enjoyed them as I did this one. It was really good and kept me on the edge of my seat at times. What a different story line for an Amish book, it kept me captivated throughout. If you like a good mystery and/or Amish stories I think you will enjoy this book. Good job Melanie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Silent Order
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is The Godfather meets Amish

Date:March 8, 2013
I know right!? This book had me hooked from the beginning. From unexpected allies, to heart breaking moments, to loveable characters, Melanie Dobson’s The Silent Order was a fantastic read! I had to tell P90X he was just going to have to wait until I finished the book.
If you think your family has drama, just join a mob family. That’ll keep you busy for years. That’s one thing I appreciated about The Silent Order, Dobson didn’t sacrifice the truth of the mob lifestyle and its reality to make the story come together where everything ends up like pockets full of sunshine.
Because if there’s one thing the Corleone family taught me, its that you need an epic movie soundtrack and family ties can be tossed in the wind.
But more than the crazy mob, there’s a beautiful picture of redemption and the power of forgiveness, blended together with Dobson’s creativity and stirring words.
I think I just might have to purchase this book…and also hope it gets made into a movie.
booksandbeverages.wordpress.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Silent Order
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was one of the best Amish books I have read in a very long time. You would not think that a book that has the Amish and gangsters in it would mesh well, but the author has done a brilliant job of making it work. You could tell the amount of research that went into this book. I was up until the early hours of the morning finishing this one. Dont miss this one!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Silent Order
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Fast and Intriguing Read

Date:July 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rambling Reader
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Silent Order is a refreshing and exciting departure from the traditional Amish and historical fiction novels. I was first drawn to the setting of the novel - 1928 Ohio. The 1920s was both an exciting and turbulent time in history, yet I have read so few novels set during that period. My interest was further piqued by the summary. How often do we see the mafia, detectives, and the passive Amish community in the same plot? My expectations were set: this was not going to be a traditional Amish fiction novel. I was not disappointed.
Melanie Dobson's writing and suspenseful story-line gripped me from the beginning. The novel maintains a steady pace until the end, woven with secrecy, danger, and of course faith and a bit of romance. Both main characters, Katie and Rollin are likable and well-developed. They each wear scars from their pasts, and they are bound by the losses and traumas they suffered at the hands of cruel men. As Katie's and Rollin's lives cross in Amish country, they reveal hidden secrets to each other and the reader. In the midst of peril and fear, they experience healing, which provide heartfelt and tender moments. The Silent Order is a fast and intriguing read that I highly recommend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Silent Order
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

DIFFERENT PLOT ON THIS ONE!

Date:March 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
making magick
Location:Iowa
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Melanie Dobson has created a really different plot here! Mixing the Amish with the Mafia sort of......I just finished this one and I must say it was interesting to say the least. The suspense over wondering who Henry's father was nail biting, but I had it in my mind who it was and at the end of the book I found out I was correct...
I enjoyed the book and finished it in just 3 days. Pretty good for my busy household. I thought it brought out Amish customs pretty good and was authentic in those. The characters were a good mix too. Katie Lehman is a sweet soul and I was happy at the way her life was settled in the end. Read this one, you wont be sorry!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Silent Order
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Amish and the Mafia--Brilliant!

Date:January 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
patti lacy
Location:Normal, Illinois
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Two daughters of the notorious Cardano family tiptoe into a forbidden room...and disappear forever...or so it seems. Years later, Detective Rollin Wells, a cop itching to bring down local Mafia kingpins, finds himself in a bloodbath...and his young partner dead.
After a miraculous escape, Wells hides in a hay-filled Amish barn and is discovered by young Katie Lehman, a young mother who stirs memories he's tried for years to forget. As God leads Rollin into a showdown with the mob, Katie faces a personal crisis: should she marry the Amish man ardently courting her...or follow her heart?
Melanie Dobson deftly weaves a compelling story that lends insight into the early workings of the Cleveland mob AND the Amish society. I LOVED turning each page to see what would happen next...and how Melanie would extricate her loveable characters from deadly situations.
The woman who brought us the award-winning Love Finds You in Liberty, Indiana (voted BEST NOVEL in INDIANA!) makes sure to provide an engaging love story, just as a bonus for this book. Pick up The Silent Order today!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Silent Order
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book.

Date:January 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lawrence Lewis
Location:Flowery Branch, GA
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this book. When I ordered it I thought about the old Western with John Wayne called "The Angel and the Badman". Didn't come close. You can tell alot of research went into the book. It was difficult to put down. I really enjoyed the book and the characters. ♠
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Silent Order
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Christian Mystery

Date:December 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
cskb
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This was a very good Christian mystery. Once I got into it, it was hard to lay aside. After reading the Prologue, I almost returned the book to the store because it was so ---- non interesting. The first chapter was not much better. HOWEVER, once the story began unfolding, it was a great read! I will recommend it to my friends and keep it on my bookshelf.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Silent Order
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Keeps interest

Date:December 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lori
Location:Lancaster,Pa
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Strong sense of good and bad with family involvement
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Silent Order
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
bluebonnet
Location:Tx
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was hard to get into and was tough to read but after I finally got into the book it turned out to be really good, This book you have to find a quiet place to read because it has alot going on in it. It has alot of history in it but I enjoyed reading it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Silent Order
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
sue63sugar
Location:pulaski, tn
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this book had adifferent twict to it very good reading to it
held your instrest in the book hot your average book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Silent Order
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Not Your Typical Inspirational Fiction

Date:November 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jodistilp
Location:Newberg, OR
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I’ll be honest, when I think of a great read I don’t think “Inspirational Fiction,” but I have never been disappointed by any of Melanie Dobson’s work. I am not at all interested in studying history or reading another mindless love story but Dobson has a way of working magic with her words. She cleverly disguises her history lessons in suspenseful plots with believable characters and while she’s at it, she sneaks in questions we all ask but are too afraid to voice out loud.
In The Silent Order she tackles finding God in times of pain and suffering and brilliantly compares and contrasts two sisters who chose opposite paths to deal with their pain. My mother’s heart resonated with the heroine, Katie Lehman, and her desire to protect her son at all costs in spite of living in a society that promoted peace at all costs. My heart ached with Rollin Wells, the hero, as he wrestled with guilt, shame and grief. Could God really forgive his deepest, darkest secrets and sin?
Dobson drew me into this suspenseful story within the first handful of pages and I literally read the book cover to cover in a matter of hours. I found myself continually flipping back to the first couple of chapters, amazed at how Dobson connected the dots of her plot in unexpected ways. Without trying, I learned about the Amish culture, the Mafia of the 1920’s, and God’s redemptive power to heal, forgive, and make all things new. This is one story I did not want to end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Silent Order
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My kind of Amish book!

Date:November 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Janna Ryan
Location:North Platte, NE
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Melanie Dobson has taken something that I'm not overly fond of right now (Amish themed books) and given it such a fascinating twist that I couldn't help but love this book. When you mix the Amish with mystery, mayhem and the Mafia, how could it not be great. There are many twists and turns in this book that really kept me guessing. Melanie has a way of presenting all kinds of questions and then slowly but surely pulling the threads together one at a time. Giving just enough info to help you figure things out but not enough info to spoon feed it to you - I love that! I'm an intelligent reader, don't patronize me... and Melanie doesn't. She continues to write books that are making me a life long fan of her books!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Silent Order
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Suspenseful Romance With a Twist! Don't Miss It!

Date:November 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
BookReviewsbyMolly
Location:Willow Spring, NC
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed reading this book. The instant pull into the story is absolutely amazing. The plot line is different, though. Very different. Melanie Dobson is a seasonly talented author who truly knows what her fans will love. She took two extremely different worlds and blended them in a way that would seem unthinkably impossible. But, she did it and it was WONDERFUL!
Rollin Wells, a 1920's detective, was the depth of the story. Dobson chiseled his character into one that instantly grabs you and pulls you by his side to solve the case. The mysterious air around him really makes the story one that it's hard to put down (literally! I did NOT want to put the book down!).
From page one, Wells is working to expose and bring down a Sicilian Mafia, a crime family. In an Amish novel. I told ya it was different. Wells' true-to-life character really pulled me back in to time, to the 20s and into action with him. It felt like something you would see on a big screen, like The Godfather, or some other Little Italy crime family movie. WOW! But, what happens when Wells meets Katie Lehman? THAT'S where the mystery and secrets REALLY come in!
Katie Lehman's intriguing Amish character if full of secrets. She's unsure who to trust with them, when she knows that she really must. She hasn't been baptized yet, but she's still uncertain....who can she tell? What will happen when she does tell? She is a beautiful character full of love and she wants only whats best for her son. When she meets Rollin Wells, her past comes back to haunt her. She's finding it hard to hold onto that secret.... And she learns a powerful message from God, and Rollin, about forgiveness, grace and mercy.
This not-so-ordinary, awesomely unique novel is high on my recommendation list. It deserves the highest of 5 stars for it's ability to take the reader on twists and turns of an incredibly, two-worlds-collide, roller coaster ride. If you've never read an Amish novel before, but you LOVE suspenseful twists in a novel, then this is the PERFECT place to start....and it's sure to hook you on the love and grace of a wonderful Amish novel! Melanie Dobson gets 2 thumbs up for her fantabulous research and detail on Sicilian crime families in the 1920's and blending it with the simplicity and love of Amish. Don't miss out on this incredible novel!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Silent Order
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Amish historical is surprisingly suspenseful

Date:November 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Oconto Falls, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Silent Order by Melanie Dobson is proof that bonnet lit is branching out into other genres. Rollin Wells is a detective working to bring down the gangster family the Cardanos in 1928 Ohio. When his partner is killed while they investigate a lead out in Amish country, Rollin is forced to seek help from Katie Lehman, a local girl with a secret. He has to try and bring down the Cardano family before they destroy him, and Katie, who is beginning to claim his heart. Dobson's writing is always very smart with three-dimensional characters and complicated and intelligent plots. There is a sense of darkness around Rollin's quest to bring down the Cardanos, as well as Katie's secret. The chemistry between Rollin and Katie is both immediate and very real. This is not a book for your average bonnet lit reader with sweet romance, and neat endings. The Silent Order is far more literate and thought-provoking. As the tension grows, the pages fly by until the reader finally remembers to breathe again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Silent Order
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Amish Suspense- Different from the Norm

Date:November 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Casey
Location:Oregon
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What does a quiet Amish community and the Mafia have in common? A great deal more than one would think in this great work of suspense, THE SILENT ORDER.
Two worlds are covered in this novel in a masterful way. On one hand you have a corrupt family who is making illegal liquor during Prohibition involving murder and evil in the basest of human beings. And when they encroach on the Amish lifestyle, more than one secret is unearthed.
I thought the suspense was well done, drawing my attention deeper into the plot. The tension was ratcheted at the right moments. I thought it had a good equation between romance, suspense and the secrets that were suffocating beneath it all. Towards the end the stakes were raised and the growth of the characters pushed beyond the comfort zone.
What I loved so much about this book is it took two worlds you would never think would touch and brought them together in a great story. From beginning to end I really enjoyed this book. Great characters, great suspense and while I had a good idea of where the secrets were leading, they were cloaked in a way that still kept me wondering if I was right. I love the Prohibition era in novels and enjoyed the settings. I thought it was well captured from beginning to end and brought me into the middle of it all.
This review is my honest opinion. Thanks to the author for my copy to review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.