Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Realms Catherine's Pursuit, McKenna's Daughters Series #3

Realms Catherine's Pursuit, McKenna's Daughters Series #3

When Angus McKenna was forced to give two of his daughters to families in the wagon train, he promised he'd never try to contact them. Catherine made no such pledge. But when she sets out to find her sisters, she doesn't go alone. Angus sends Collin with her. Will they discover the two women---and love?
Average Customer Rating:
4.625 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
16 out of 16100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Catherine's Pursuit, McKenna's Daughters Series #3
Review 1 for Catherine's Pursuit, McKenna's Daughters Series #3
This review is fromCatherine's Pursuit - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Raised by her father, Catherine McKenna has never lacked for anything, surrounded by people to take care of her every need. On her eighteenth birthday she discovers that not only did her mother die when she was born, but she also has two identical sisters. Although her father has vowed not to look for his daughters, Catherine has made no such promise. Setting out on her own with one clue and her maid in tow, she's determined to find her sisters.
Collin Elliot has seen better days. After loosing his ship to a violent and unexpected storm, he is trying to recover - physically and emotionally. When Angus McKenna sends him to find, follow, and protect his pampered daughter, he wants nothing more than to finish his task and return home. Can he help her find her sisters? And will the discoveries they make along the way teach them both what's most important in life?
My Review:
Feeling cheated out of two sister identical to herself, Catherine is determined to find her long lost sisters. Collin's perspective was a great source of amusement when it came to Catherine's enthusiastic search and courageous journey. For a somewhat spoiled rich girl, she is not afraid to show her high-spirited side, and Collin is not at all impressed with her behavior. But as it is a chance to prove himself to his generous employer (and Catherine's father) he doesn't have a whole lot of choice in the matter.
I found the characters to be an interesting lot with plenty of personality and red hair to go around. Catherine's penchant to get into trouble and Collin's lack of amusement when he has to get her out of it, provided a few laughs and moments of merriment. It was a heart warming romance that had just the right mix of romance, and the historical setting was well researched by Dooley, lending authenticity to the novel.
This book was provided by the publisher for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Catherine's Pursuit, McKenna's Daughters Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Raised by her father, Catherine McKenna has never lacked for anything, surrounded by people to take care of her every need. On her eighteenth birthday she discovers that not only did her mother die when she was born, but she also has two identical sisters. Although her father has vowed not to look for his daughters, Catherine has made no such promise. Setting out on her own with one clue and her maid in tow, she's determined to find her sisters.
Collin Elliot has seen better days. After loosing his ship to a violent and unexpected storm, he is trying to recover - physically and emotionally. When Angus McKenna sends him to find, follow, and protect his pampered daughter, he wants nothing more than to finish his task and return home. Can he help her find her sisters? And will the discoveries they make along the way teach them both what's most important in life?
My Review:
Feeling cheated out of two sister identical to herself, Catherine is determined to find her long lost sisters. Collin's perspective was a great source of amusement when it came to Catherine's enthusiastic search and courageous journey. For a somewhat spoiled rich girl, she is not afraid to show her high-spirited side, and Collin is not at all impressed with her behavior. But as it is a chance to prove himself to his generous employer (and Catherine's father) he doesn't have a whole lot of choice in the matter.
I found the characters to be an interesting lot with plenty of personality and red hair to go around. Catherine's penchant to get into trouble and Collin's lack of amusement when he has to get her out of it, provided a few laughs and moments of merriment. It was a heart warming romance that had just the right mix of romance, and the historical setting was well researched by Dooley, lending authenticity to the novel.
This book was provided by the publisher for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Catherine's Pursuit, McKenna's Daughters Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A lot of emotions going on here, a great book

Date:August 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
wfnren
Location:St Cloud, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Catherine Lenora McKenna grew up as an only child, the daughter of Angus McKenna. She lived with her father and aunt Kirstin, her mother's sister who came to live with them after her husband died. On the day of her 18th birthday she hears Angus and Kirstin arguing, when she hears her name she interrupts demanding to know what they are arguing about. This is how she finds out that she is one of three, a triplet! As she prepares for her birthday party she is very depressed thinking about her sisters that died.
After a few weeks Angus is finally ready to answer all the questions Catherine may have. She is surprised when she finds out that her sisters are alive and living with two different families and Angus has no idea where they are because he promised the families that he'd never try to take them back. Catherine takes it upon herself to go looking without telling Angus.
This has been a very heartwarming series from beginning to end. Angus has struggled with the decisions he made for 18 long years, now that he's told his daughter the truth he has to deal with the consequences. He has hopes that if Catherine does find her sisters, will she, and her sisters, ever forgive him for making the decision he did, knowing in his heart that may never happen.
Lena does a beautiful job writing about this subject and telling the feelings from all sides. All three of these books kept me up late and not wanting to put them down. I would encourage anyone that likes Historical Fiction, Christian Historical Fiction, etc. to purchase this series (all three books at one time), believe me you will want to pick up the next in the series as soon as you finish the previous one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Catherine's Pursuit, McKenna's Daughters Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Finding What's Missing

Date:July 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How would you feel if on your eighteenth birthday, you finally found out the loving Father you've always known has lied to you. No you are not adopted, but he gave away not one but two of your sisters. Not only are they your sister's but your identical sisters. What a secret, and the toll it has taken on her Dad.
Catherine McKenna, had grown up a very spoiled, well indulged. and selfish! Her every desire had been given to her. She never had any siblings and missed that part of her life, something has been missing.
God has his hand on Catherine, and are the things that happen, are they chances? What an exciting journey for Catherine!! Not only are their chance meetings, some scary, some so wonderful. So many people call her by her sister's name.
When her father sends his protege to find and guide Catherine, she is upset and wants Collin Elliott gone! We see trial turned into blessings. We also find romance in the lives of these beautiful young woman. Enjoy this final journey with this final book in this series, make sure you don't miss this amazing story. I loved it!!
I received this book through Booketeria, and was not required to give a positive review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Catherine's Pursuit, McKenna's Daughters Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Journey completed after years seperated them...

Date:June 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Paula Osborne
Location:Ga
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Catherine's Pursuit by Lena Nelson Dooley
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Series McKenna's Daughters by Lena Nelson Dooley, book #3 "Catherine's Pursuit"
Although this is the last book in a series it could well be read by itself and be a wonderful story. This is the story of Catherine (one of triplets) who found out on 18th birthday that she had sisters which she had never known before.
Catherine had always wished she had siblings but had lost her mother when she was born. It was a devastating blow to learn that there were two sisters out there, she had never seen and they looked just like her, as they were identical triplets.
As book #1 began there was a wagon train with a young couple Angus & Lenora who was with child. When Lenora gave birth to triplets and then died shortly afterwards her husband was devastated and didn't know how he would raise 3 little girls, there had been another woman on the train who had lost a baby and was so sad that he knew she would love his little girl and be a good mama so he let her adopt his daughter and then another couple childless that wanted children so badly got the third little girl, he gave each the middle name of Lenora and he kept the oldest child Catherine....
Angus regretted his choice many times over the years but he would not go back and disrupt lives of the girls and their parents so he dealt with his pain with God's help over the years.
Colin is a young man who had been a captain of a ship that had been lost when a very bad storm caused it to go down, he was a hero to many as he made sure all lives were saved and didn't think of his own safety.
He bore scars of that fateful journey and had never forgave himself for losing a ship....
Angus McKenna knew Colin was a good young man and he took him into the business to help him with his work, Angus sent Colin to watch over Catherine after she ran away..it was a job he did reluctantly as he thought the young lady was a selfish self centered haughty person...
You will want to read this wonderful story and see how Catherine decides to run away and pursue finding her sisters, the trip that will end with many surprises...
I was given this book by Booketeria to read and review, Tnank you...
We could all learn many things on this journey as a young man learns how to forgive himself, a young girl learns to think of others more and less of herself, we learn when choices are made, God needs to help us make them and help us deal with the afterwards...
I enjoyed reading about the different lives of three born at one time -raised seperately but yet with many of the same quirks.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Catherine's Pursuit, McKenna's Daughters Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Action, Adventure, Danger, Family and Romance

Date:April 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lena Nelson Dooley in her new book, "Catherine's Pursuit" Book Three in the McKenna's Daughters series published by Realms brings us into the life of Catherine McKenna in 1885.
From the back cover: The search for her sisters will become a spiritual journey for the entire family.
Raised by her father, Catherine McKenna has never lacked for anything, surrounded by people to take care of her every need. On her eighteenth birthday she discovers that not only did her mother die when she was born, but she also had two identical sisters. Although her father vowed not to look for his daughters, Catherine made no such promise. Setting out on her own with one clue and her maid in tow, she's determined to find her sisters.
Collin Elliott has seen better days. After losing his ship to a violent and unexpected storm, he is trying to recover-physically and emotionally. When Angus McKenna sends him to find, follow and protect his pampered daughter, he wants nothing more than to finish his task and return home. Can he help her find her sisters? And will the discoveries they make along the way teach them both what's most important in life?
Let me start off by saying that "Catherine's Pursuit" is Ms. Dooley's best work yet. Catherine finds out that she has two other sisters and she sets off to find them, no matter what. However, she is going to need a lot of help so her father hires Collin to be there for her. This is some story, there is danger, there is adventure, there is mystery and there is action. With everything else that is going on Ms. Dooley also works in a really nice romance as well. Then there are the themes of family, redemption and restoration I like the way Ms. Dooley writes. She is an accomplished author who knows how to deliver true to life dialog and create characters that you fall in love with. I am sorry to see this series come to an end but Ms. Dooley has given us the best for last. "Catherine's Pursuit" is an excellent read!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Realms. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Catherine's Pursuit, McKenna's Daughters Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

McKenna's Daughters

Date:March 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Its About Time Mamaw
Location:Cleveland, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Catherine McKenna is all excited about her party. She is turning eighteen years old and her father has arranged a party for the special occasion. When she heads downstairs she hears raised voices. As she nears the source, it is apparent her father and Aunt are arguing about something her Aunt felt her father should tell Catherine. She surprised both of them by asking her father what was it that he needed to tell her. He looked very upset and he was pale. He apologized and told her there was something he had been keeping from her but had planned telling her when she was older. That something was, that when she was born she was a triplet and had two other sisters at which time her mother died giving birth. Her father walked out of the not able to say more. From this she assumed her sisters had died at birth along with her mother. When she discovered her sisters were alive and had been adopted by two different families. She schemed to sneak away to find them taking her maid and only leaving a note for her father. She had little information to go on but she was a spoiled headstrong girl not aware of the danger she might confront.
Collin Elliot has recovered from an injury he acquired when he was Captain of a McKenna ship. He felt like a failure because the ship sank but was able to save the crew. Angus McKenna had offered Collin a job to find his daughter and protect her at any cost. Just what Collin wanted to do was track down the spoiled Ice Princess.
Sure enough when he found her she was being accosted by a drunk. He intervened for her until the drunk called her Mary Murray, which was her sister's name. Could this drunk really know her sister? Collin kept trying to keep the drunk away from her and when she realizes that Collin is her father's employee she agreed to let him continue on with them to find her sisters. Was she close to finding Mary? Even though she thinks Collin is handsome he may become a problem in her quest to find her sisters.
Lena Nelson Dooley writes of the third McKenna daughter and the search to put all three girls together again. It was funny, heartbreaking, mysterious, adventurous and romantic. It was the whole package an amazing series wrapped up in a big bow. Angus McKenna finally forgives himself by the grace of God and prays to be reconnected with all three of his daughters. Could Angus possibly wish for more? Leave it up to this author to give more!
Disclosure: I won a free copy of this book from the author's. I was not required to write a review. This is my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Catherine's Pursuit, McKenna's Daughters Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

very good story line

Date:March 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
nanny
Location:burlington,north carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read the whole series and could not hardly wait for the next one to come out.I think Lena Nelson Dooley is a very good author.Can't hardly wait to see what her next series will be.,Hope it's in the 1800 era.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Catherine's Pursuit, McKenna's Daughters Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Heartwarming

Date:March 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
JoyAnne
Location:TN
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Catherine is an 18 yr old who begins an incredible journey to find her sisters. She is one of triplets, the other two were given up by their father. He was unable to care for all of them and did what he thought was best. Catherine is determind to find them and though she is a little upset that her father sends a hired hand to keep an eye on her they eventually get along and Collin ends up being a big help.
I enjoyed this heartwarming story, wonderfully written and full of surprises it kept me intrigued. The first two books in the series are just as wonderful. I recommend reading all of them!
I received a copy of this book free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Catherine's Pursuit, McKenna's Daughters Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good conclusion to a great storyline

Date:March 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Janna Ryan
Location:North Platte, NE
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Sometimes there is a series where I anxiously await the final book. This is one of those series. I loved the concept from the first book - man on a wagon train to Oregon loses his wife when she gives birth to triplets. He is overwhelmed at the thought of losing her and having 3 infant girls on the trail and he gives 2 of the girls to different families to raise while he keeps the oldest. It is a hard decision to say the least. Book 1 follows one of the girls as she discovers she is adopted. Book 2 follows the second daughter as she discovers. Now, finally in Book 3 we discover what happened to the daughter that stayed with her father. I loved the first two and was really excited for the conclusion of this interesting storyline.
Catherine has been raised and spoiled by her father and on her 18th birthday she discovers the truth... she has 2 sisters that she never knew existed. She is determined to find them even though her father had promised not to. She sneaks away to start her pursuit of her sisters. Her father sends his right hand man, Collin, after her as protection and it turns out to be a good thing. For both of them.
A book about grace and redemption - forgiveness is the root of it all. I love that about the book. I thought it was a little simplified in the writing style which I don't recall being true in the first two books. But the only real disappointment was the fact that it wraps up very quickly at the end and without spoiling it I was really hoping for a more fulfilling ending. But I am still happy with the series and it will be taking a place on my keeper shelf. How can it be a bad thing when my only real complaint is that I wanted more!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Catherine's Pursuit, McKenna's Daughters Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Adventurous & Romantic Story

Date:March 19, 2013
Catherine's Pursuit was the perfect conclusion to the McKenna's Daughters series! Lena Nelson Dooley does a fabulous job of introducing us to Catherine—the first-born McKenna sister—and telling her story while bringing the trilogy to an end. Catherine was such a fun character. It was exciting to see her growth throughout the book. I really loved Collin and was rooting for him from the start! I think my favorite aspect of the story, though, was the way that Dooley continued all three sisters' stories. After reading their individual stories in other books, it was fun to get "the rest of the story" on each of them. I've loved this entire series and recommend it to anyone who enjoys adventurous, romantic historicals! [4.5 stars]
I received a free copy of this book from the publisher and CFBA in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Catherine's Pursuit, McKenna's Daughters Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Riveting Journey

Date:March 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
The IE Mommy
Location:Beaumont, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Catherine’s Pursuit is a riveting novel that takes a young woman on such an incredible journey. Catherine McKenna is a very privileged young woman who is turning 18 years old. On her eighteenth birthday she will find out that she has two identical sisters and that her mother died giving birth to. Her father Angus McKenna had to give up her two sisters because he didn’t believe that he could ever take care of all of them. When Angus gave them up, he promised that he would never try to take them back.
Catherine decides that she must set out to find her sisters. But, Angus does not want her to go alone so he will have one of his employees Collin Elliott whom just lost his ship in a violent storm accompany her. He is a bit lost and not sure if he can recover from that.
Not happy that her father has her followed by Collin, she makes the best of it and finds that she may need him after all. Will Catherine find her sisters? What will Collin and Catherine learn along the way?
Catherine’s Pursuit is a beautifully written novel that is full of surprises, love and faith. Her amazing journey will have you turning the pages so quickly!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Catherine's Pursuit, McKenna's Daughters Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nice ending to triplet's journey

Date:March 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Stephanie
Location:upstate NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Catherine's Pursuit wraps up the story of the McKenna triplets. Without her father's knowledge or permission, Catherine sets out to find her sisters. When Angus discovers she is missing, he sends his young employee after her.
Just the thought of trying to find someone in those days (today, the internet and TV has made it almost impossible NOT to be found!) makes for a fascinating story. Of course, the ease with which the triplets found each other may have been a bit unrealistic, but being triplets helped that idea along (easily recognizable as someone else).
I liked that Lena dealt with fear and rejection in this story. Collin has to face his almost debilitating fear of captaining a ship again, and the girls must come to terms with their father's rejection.
If you've already read Maggie and Mary's stories, you'll want to pick up book 3 and finish the triplet's journey!
*I received a free copy in exchange for an honest review. No other compensation was given, and all thoughts are 100% mine.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Catherine's Pursuit, McKenna's Daughters Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A wonderful reunion at last!!

Date:March 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What would you think if everything you thought about the last 18 years of your life had been a complete lie?
That's the gift, Catherine McKenna received from her father on the day of her 18th birthday. He confessed to her that when she was born, she was one of three babies born to her mother the day she died. Facing a difficult challenge of trying to raise three newborn daughters while traveling to California along the wagon trail, he made the best decision he could and allowed two other couples to raise the girls as their own. He kept Catherine because she was the first born. She had always dreamed of what it might be like to have siblings and now to learn that she has two sisters the same age as herself, has inspired her to find them and reunite no matter what it may cost or how long it may take.
Collin Elliot was hoping to find a way to get a fresh start on the life he feels he has already failed at. Being one of the youngest captains for Angus McKenna, he lost his first ship in a violent and unexpected storm. Thankfully no lives were lost due to his quick thinking, but it is something he hasn't been able to put behind him. He feels that everywhere he goes, people are judging him based on that part of his life, and is searching desperately for a way to turn things around. When Angus McKenna provides him with a way, to keep an eye on his daugther, Catherine McKenna who is gone searching for her sisters, he wonders if God has given him a second change at more than just his life.
In the conclusion to the McKenna's Daughters Series by Lena Nelson Dooley, Catherine's Pursuit is the icing on the cake. I've had the pleasure to review all the previous novels in this series and while you don't need to read them in order to gain a sense of appreciation for this novel, you will be compelled to once you read Catherine's story. In each of the previous novels, each of the sister's story is defined and this one wraps them all together as Catherine hopes for a reunion that none of them ever expected. Along the way, both Catherine and Collin discover more than either of them were looking for. Collins is hoping to put his failed past in his eyes behind him and Catherine hopes to make amends to a life she had only dreamed about. This is the story of forgiveness and renewal and also gives readers a bit of the back story into the painful decision that Angus was faced with making those 18 years ago as a father to triplets.
I received Catherine's Pursuit by Lena Nelson Dooley compliments of Realms Publishers and Christian Fiction Blog Alliance for my honest review. I have received no compensation to provide a favorable review of this novel. Being a huge lover of historical fiction and having read the previous novels in the McKenna's Daughters Series, I was excited to see how Lena would wrap up this story of loss between the three daughters who has believed all along that they were the only ones to be raised by their respective families and later learn that there are other siblings that they were separated from their whole lives. It truly is one of the best family reunions with Collin attempting to watch over Catherine along her journey with only her lady's maid accompanying her with the search. It's a great novel and one I rate a 4.5 out of 5 stars in my personal opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Catherine's Pursuit, McKenna's Daughters Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tricia
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed these books so much I have passed them around to friends who cannot afford to buy. They were great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Catherine's Pursuit, McKenna's Daughters Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Wonderful and Satisfying Conclusion

Date:March 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
CharityUAusten
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
What a great book! As Lisa Wingate says on the front cover, it is indeed a “heartwarming tale.” The story is fully satisfying (once you reach the end) and provides a complete conclusion for the McKenna’s Daughters series. While I still haven’t had the chance to read book 2, Mary’s Blessing, I did read and greatly enjoy book 1, Maggie’s Journey – incidentally, I think #1 had my favorite cover…but this one is a close second. They’re all so neat! Anyway, back to Catherine…this book isn’t a stand-alone, but even though I’ve missed book 2, I didn’t have trouble following (though there were a few parts that weren’t clear because I hadn’t read it yet). Moral of the story – read both of the first ones before this one if at all possible. There are some series where you would be totally lost if all you read was book 3, but that’s not quite true here. Catherine was a lovely girl and made for a gutsy heroine. I loved the historical detail that seemed to be worked into each scene throughout the book, especially the travel scenes. This is a fascinating story and one I think you’ll enjoy!
**The author supplied me with this book in exchange for my honest review. I was not required to post a positive review, nor was I paid in any way other than the book.**
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.