Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House The Great Christmas Bowl - eBook

Tyndale House The Great Christmas Bowl - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.52 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 out of 12100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Great Christmas Bowl - eBook
Review 1 for The Great Christmas Bowl - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Delightful Holiday Read!

Date:November 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Judy K Burgi
Location:Kendallville, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can’t begin to tell you how much fun I had reading this book. I laughed out loud so many times in this story because of the descriptive scenes this author portrayed. I even climbed into bed one night and laughingly set the stage and told my husband about certain scenes. I can’t describe them in this review because I don’t want to spoil anything for future readers.
Not only was there humor in this book, there were moments that drove home to the reader the importance of family, church family, community, and the willingness to put aside the old saying, it has always been done this way and work together. The best part was God and faith.
The ending of this book was wonderful! I was in tears. The message hit home and left me feeling great!
Thank you author Susan May Warren for making my day!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Great Christmas Bowl - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Great Christmas Bowl Review

Date:December 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Katie
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Great Christmas Bowl was a really fun read. It was inspirational and really makes you think about how you are with God especially around the holidays.
Susan May Warren fiction has always inspired me and this one does it again. I encourage readers who are looking for some of the real meaning of Christmas to pick this book up and read it. It may give you some ideas of your own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Great Christmas Bowl - eBook
This review is fromThe Great Christmas Bowl.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fun Read

Date:December 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Stacy
Location:Michigan
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good quality paperback book. If you love to read Christmas stories, this one will be light and fun, and quickly pull you into poor Marianne's drama. I enjoyed the characters, conversations, and fun twists to the story. It is also helpfully thought-provoking regarding the real meaning of hospitality.
My only negative comment would be that the happy ending seemed a little too good to be true, and of course left me feeling, momentarily, a little discouraged that my life's dramas are rarely so perfectly concluded.
As a side note ... If you're prone to being discouraged over an unhappy family situation, or wayward children, you may want to pass on this, or at least be prepared for another "happy family" story, lovely as it is.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Great Christmas Bowl - eBook
This review is fromThe Great Christmas Bowl.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Great Christmas Bowl Review

Date:August 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Katie
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was so cute. I absolutely loved it. I love how you used football in the book and the bowls. Susan you did a fabulous job just like in all your books. This book was a bit of a tear jerker at the end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Great Christmas Bowl - eBook
This review is fromThe Great Christmas Bowl.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Great Christmas Bowl

Date:February 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jet W
Location:Western Pennsylvania
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A nice and fun book to read. I really enjoyed it and finished it in a couple of snowy evening. I recommend this one!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Great Christmas Bowl - eBook
This review is fromThe Great Christmas Bowl.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

it was a good book

Date:January 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
barney
Location:Lenoir, NC
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoyed the book very much and have passed it around to my friends to read . I will give it to our church library.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Great Christmas Bowl - eBook
This review is fromThe Great Christmas Bowl.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Easy, fast reading.

Date:January 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Scookie
Location:Polk county Arkansas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a great book to read before or during the Christmas season. It gives us the reminders we need. I may keep it to
Read gain next year.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Great Christmas Bowl - eBook
This review is fromThe Great Christmas Bowl.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Funny

Date:December 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
pjjojo
Location:Northern Michigan
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was a funny book. The only real problem was the length of the book did not really allow much room for plot development. Still, I would read it again and would recommend it to anyone wanting a light, easy-read for the holidays.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Great Christmas Bowl - eBook
This review is fromThe Great Christmas Bowl.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Real people!

Date:December 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
JanetM52
Location:St Louis, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm nuts about this book! It features people and situations that are believable! I could relate to the characters and even wished I could know them!
Such a fun book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Great Christmas Bowl - eBook
This review is fromThe Great Christmas Bowl.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Adorable/Fun Read!

Date:November 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Leorah
Location:USA
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was such a fun read and was absolutely adorable! Though it was the members in my family like my Mom and older sister who really loved this tale, I fell for it too and didn't stop reading until it was over. It was just such a fun light little read but turned out to be quite heart warming as well. I would totally recommend this and I know a few busy mothers who I know would totally back me up!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Great Christmas Bowl - eBook
This review is fromThe Great Christmas Bowl.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Kept me interested

Date:October 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Leader
Location:Drexel NC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed the way it related to my life. The kids into different activites, but also teaching about community service.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Great Christmas Bowl - eBook
This review is fromThe Great Christmas Bowl.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Phyllis Van Vleck
Location:Pleasant Lake, MI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great story for those who have empty nests and for those raising families with traditions that are looked forward to as making everything perfect. Very cute short story about the perfect mom who does everything all the time to make life measure up to the expectations that she herself has planted.
What happens when she has to let go? Read it and enjoy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Great Christmas Bowl - eBook
This review is fromThe Great Christmas Bowl.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sandra Orr
This was an absolutely adorable story. It's a quick read. I'm looking foward to more of Susan Mae Warrens' books. She's one of my favorite authors.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Great Christmas Bowl - eBook
This review is fromThe Great Christmas Bowl.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Deborah Muller
It was funny and made me cry, it was so much like my life. Moms, it is a great little read for Christmas.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Great Christmas Bowl - eBook
This review is fromThe Great Christmas Bowl.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 25, 2009
I would strongly suggest that you pick up a copy of this book and hide somewhere and read it without interruption. A great read! This will get you into the Christmas spirit and help you focus on the real reason for the season. Ms. Warren has a great author's voice and a wonderful style. A good example of why she is an award-winning author. I was trying to stay away from the CBD box where this book was waiting but I grabbed it and stayed up late and read this book all the way through. Order it now!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Great Christmas Bowl - eBook
This review is fromThe Great Christmas Bowl.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 17, 2009
First, I will admit, its a bit different than Susans usual style. I was delighted and surprised with this book. Susan does a great job at making her characters come to life. There are moments I was in tears and moments I laughed out loud. It was also inspirational. I really felt like I got something out of it. The mother in me could really relate to Marianne. The emotions, the feelings of being torn about Christmas because of how it changes over the years.Anyhow, The great Christmas Bowl does not disappoint. Youll be enchanted with Susan's new book and fall in love with it. (Im hoping that maybe there will be future books with her new characters??? hint hint if youre reading this!)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Great Christmas Bowl - eBook
This review is fromThe Great Christmas Bowl.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:November 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Holly
Maybe it's me..but I had a hard time getting into it as I do not like football,and it seems even though there were good morals and lessons expressed in the book,it is mainly about football things,so I couldn't identify.I did like the ending..but it seemed tedious at times to get though the book,although the recipe for clam chowder seems worth trying.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Great Christmas Bowl - eBook
This review is fromThe Great Christmas Bowl.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
Normally I skip over holiday-themed books. They just don't do much for me. But Susan May Warren is an author that typically entertains as well as encourages me. I knew that any story she'd write about the holidays would be funny and realistic. So I tried this story and I wasn't disappointed. It wasn't sappy or goofy. Rather, it was hilariously cute and a bit sentimental, but in a good way. I loved the trout theme and the motherly sentiment and reflection. I could totally see Susan's personality in this story, and I loved how it was written in the witty and charming style of her Josie series. One thing I particularly enjoyed was how the mother realized that God had somehow matured her grown children by story's end. She instilled in them the value of giving and the Lord did the work in their hearts. My two sons are almost finished with high school and they are a lot like Kevin. Her relationship with her son made me smile because it looks so similar to mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Great Christmas Bowl - eBook
This review is fromThe Great Christmas Bowl.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 29, 2009
This is probably one of the best Christmas novellas I've ever read. Yes it's short, but it gets to the point and it's sweet and funny and it totally gets you in the mood for Christmas. The way the book started, I was worried that it would fall in the trap of moms who find themselves empty nesters and make everyone else feel sorry for them. The other potential overused storyline trap would be a mom who does too much for everyone else because she can't say no and has a weak backbone. However instead I read about a mom who loves her kids and will do anything for them including potentially humiliating herself in front of the whole town. Would you (or your mom) dress up as what could possibly be the worst mascot of all time, a trout? I love reading about Marianne's adventures as as fish, from starting out being self conscious and scaring kids to just hamming it up in front of the crowd. She obviously love her kids very much and I did feel sorry for her when they didn't come home from the holidays. It made me think about how next time, I should give my parents at least some notice if I can't make it for the holidays.Plus there's a yummy clam chowder recipe featured in the story and as a huge clam chowder fan I swooned. The recipe is included so you can try it out for yourself. If you're itching to get into the Christmas mood now, this book is perfect for you. It packs a lot of punch for a short story but by the end you'll clearly get the point. Along the way, it'll bring a lot of laughs, a lot of love, and a lot of trout.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Great Christmas Bowl - eBook
This review is fromThe Great Christmas Bowl.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 28, 2009
This charming, feel-good Christmas novella reads quickly. I completed it in one twenty-four hour period and found it filled with humor, wrapped with good common sense. Scenes such as when Mike walks in on Marianne as she struggles to wiggle out of her trout suit gave me a chuckle.Christmas hospitality is the theme. A quote I liked enough to copy states,"Christmas isn't just one place and one way" (108). If you choose to read it, it'll help put you in the holiday mood.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>