Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Miracle for Jen: A Tragic Accident, a Mother's Desperate Prayer, and Heaven's Extraordinary Answer

Tyndale House Miracle for Jen: A Tragic Accident, a Mother's Desperate Prayer, and Heaven's Extraordinary Answer

* Facing a devastating brain injury from a car crash, 15-year-old Jen was not expected to survive. Doctors warned her parents that if she regained consciousness, she'd be screaming in confusion. But instead---though she didn't recognize her family---she did remember every Scripture and praise song she'd hidden in her heart. An awe-inspiring testimony! Includes updates. 288 pages, softcover from Tyndale.
Average Customer Rating:
4.778 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
18 out of 18100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Miracle for Jen: A Tragic Accident, a Mother's Desperate Prayer, and Heaven's Extraordinary Answer
Review 1 for Miracle for Jen: A Tragic Accident, a Mother's Desperate Prayer, and Heaven's Extraordinary Answer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Healing in God's time

Date:February 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
mom3ways
Location:Greenfield, IN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am so excited to share this review with my readers. The book, MIRACLE FOR JEN, was written by Jen's mother, Linda Barrick. Linda tells the story of how their family was involved in a tragic accident. Their minivan was hit head on by a drunk driver, wreaking havoc on everyone inside the van. Linda, her husband, daughter (Jen), and son were all injured. Her daughter Jen was the worst off. She was not expected to live through the night. But miraculously she did survive the night! And she is alive today telling her story all across the world. Their family are Christians with ties to Liberty University, and Linda talks about the thousands fo people praying for her daughter while she recovered from her traumatic brain injury.
The thing about brain injuries is that they take so long heal from. A lot of times the person may look perfectly normal, but their brain is not functioning properly. I believe that waiting to heal from an injury like this is the hardest part. While waiting for her daughter to heal, Linda talks about the raw emotions she was feeling at the time.
"Later that day....was the first time I could remember being by myself since the accident. Overcome with emotion, I shut the door to Jen's room and collapsed on the floor at the top of the stairs. I got on my face and confessed my thoughts to the Lord. I didn't know what else to do As I lay there, I didn't hear an audible voice in the room, but I heard GOd speaking to my heart.
Linda, do you love Me as much as you love Jen?
Lord, You know I do!
In that instant I realized that at the root of our greatest fear is often something we love more than God. I didn't want to love Jen more than I loved God. I didn't mean to do it, but my priorities said otherwise.
Then you have to stop being consumed with trying to fix Jen. I don't want you to be consumed with anything else but Me. I want to be your number one obsession.
Jen is mine. You have to let go and trust Me."
And that is what this book is all about. Letting go and trusting God's perfect plan. This book is a great reminder that His ways are not my ways and His plans are often not my plans.
I was given a copy of this book from Tyndale publishing as part of their Tyndale Blog Network. The opinions are mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Miracle for Jen: A Tragic Accident, a Mother's Desperate Prayer, and Heaven's Extraordinary Answer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

An inspiring read!

Date:February 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mom to the Tribe
Location:Lexington,KY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The book follows the journey of this family as they struggle to heal physically, emotionally, and spiritually. Mrs. Barrick shares of the difficulties of the recovery and forgiveness with great honesty. It was inspiring to read of how the body of Christ came together to support this family during their months of recovery. Their family and friends kept vigil at Jen's bedside when her parent's were unable to be with her. This family was surrounded in prayer, provided with meals, encouraged, and care for. An amazing testimony of how God uses His people to share His great love.
Although Jen's life is forever changed as a result of a traumatic brain injury...her relationship with Jesus only grows deeper. God has written a miraculous story of healing in her life - and she is eager to share it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Miracle for Jen: A Tragic Accident, a Mother's Desperate Prayer, and Heaven's Extraordinary Answer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Life Changer!

Date:February 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
hoobergoober
Location:york, pa
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WOW!...Changed the way I live MY life!!
I diddo all the reviews on this book! A MUST READ.
I bought nearly a dozen books to share with my friends.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Miracle for Jen: A Tragic Accident, a Mother's Desperate Prayer, and Heaven's Extraordinary Answer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a great book for teens!

Date:January 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cheryl Son
Location:Ashland, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this book for my daughter for Christmas. We had heard the testimony already of this family. She has already read the book and given it to a friend to borrow. Her friend said it has brought her closer to God in reading this story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Miracle for Jen: A Tragic Accident, a Mother's Desperate Prayer, and Heaven's Extraordinary Answer
This review is fromHope Out Loud: A Tragic Accident, a Mother's Desperate Prayer, and a Daughter's Miracle - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Janelle P.
Location:NC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Wonderful testimony to the grace of God in life's deepest trials. I went to Liberty and sat under the teaching of this young woman's grandfather, so it was very close to home.
The change God worked in the mother's life about her attitudes were especially meaningful to me, and how I view what he is doing in my life personally as a mom.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Miracle for Jen: A Tragic Accident, a Mother's Desperate Prayer, and Heaven's Extraordinary Answer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I loved this book so much, I ordered many copies.

Date:June 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
jeana
Location:PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was so inspirational that I bought several copies for all the teen girls in my daughter's Bible study group. I ordered a few extra, and have shared them with people looking for inspiration. Jen is living proof of God's ability to perform miracles in ways we don't expect. We also let our daughter order jewelry that Jen makes that is offered on her website.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Miracle for Jen: A Tragic Accident, a Mother's Desperate Prayer, and Heaven's Extraordinary Answer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

excellent

Date:June 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
cdschafer
Location:waco, texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book made me think about my faith and focused I am on God. Jen is truly a remarkable young lady and her family is equally blessed. They went through a difficult trial but came out still praising God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Miracle for Jen: A Tragic Accident, a Mother's Desperate Prayer, and Heaven's Extraordinary Answer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Incredible!

Date:May 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Songboid
Location:Ontario Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was very hard to put down. Linda Barrick writes with clarity and heart! It takes you into their world of uncertainty that is overpowered by their trust in Jesus!
It is truly a "Miracle For Jen"! For anyone who is going through a life-changing trial, or even if you are not, it is an amazing read! I know I was so inspired by this book and I know others will be too!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Miracle for Jen: A Tragic Accident, a Mother's Desperate Prayer, and Heaven's Extraordinary Answer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing Testimony!

Date:March 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Urailak
Location:Oregon
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow...what an amazing testimony of God's faithfulness, goodness, and power! I love this book! I cried several times while reading this book...yes, it's that good :). Through her mother, Linda Barrick's memoir, Jen Barrick's unwavering faith, heart of gratitude, total devotion to God, and passion to proclaim Christ ministered to me so much. Though suffering from a severe brain injury, Jen's spiritual connection/love relationship with God has remained intact and even grew deeper and stronger after the accident. She could also see Jesus standing right beside her. How precious! She prayed, praised God, worshiped Him in songs, and quoted the Scriptures while she could not talk. God is truly glorified and His power is definitely made perfect in her weakness. Jen's Godly insights and heavenly-minded prayers encourage people around her, including her mom who is at times grieved over what Jen has lost. In her journal (before the car crash), Jen asked God for boldness in sharing her faith. God answered her prayer in a way that nobody could have imagined. God transformed Jen into His beautiful vessel, being used mightily for His glory and for His kingdom. I really appreciate that Linda shares openly and honestly how she feels. As a mother myself, I can relate to her and understand her struggles. At the end of the book, you will find Jen's message sharing the Gospel clearly. Story of God's grace. Story of hope. God is still the God of miracles! I highly recommend this book!
Below are some of my favorite Jen's quotes from the book:
"Mom, your problem is that your brain gets in the way. You think too much! You have to just trust God." (p.150)
"If He doesn't heal me completely it's because He has something far greater for me to do." (p. 167)
"I don't feel normal, and I'm okay with that. I never wanted to be normal. And I don't want to be remembered as 'the girl with the brain injury.' I want to be remembered as the girl who loved Jesus with all her heart." (p.244)
~I received a copy of this book for free from Tyndale House Publishers in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Miracle for Jen: A Tragic Accident, a Mother's Desperate Prayer, and Heaven's Extraordinary Answer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Inspiring Story!

Date:March 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Athena
Location:West Jordan, UT
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just read a wonderful, inspiring book-Miracle for Jen by Linda Barrick with John Perry, which I received from Tyndale House Publishers. This is a true story about a family hit by a drunk driver, and their 15 year-old daughter's struggle to survive. The Barrick family was strongly grounded in their faith, and they had to learn to accept God's new plan for their life. Jen, even when barely conscious and unable to recognize her family, would praise God for hours from a semi-comatose state. When not praying and singing to God, she would be drooling and unable to form words! Her praise to God was clear and loud!
Reading about the Barrick family and their faith and strength during such a horrible time in their lives was definitely inspiring. They prayed for a miracle, but God didn't always answer their prayers the way they expected. You won't be able to put Miracle for Jen down!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Miracle for Jen: A Tragic Accident, a Mother's Desperate Prayer, and Heaven's Extraordinary Answer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

God's Still in the Miracle Working Business

Date:March 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
AngelLinda
Location:PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
n this incredible story of the Barrick family, you definitely see that God is still alive, well and in the miracle working business. This story will touch every part of your being. What an amazing true story of God's awesome power.
Miracle for Jen, tells the story of the car accident the Barrick family experienced and how in a moment's time life can take a huge change. Linda Barrick, tells the story of how an accident totally transformed her family's life. She testifies to the goodness of God throughout the entire incident and how God is continuing to work in, among and through her family, especially, daughter Jen. After 5 weeks in a coma, Jen emerged from her coma to not recognize anyone and to hardly be able to talk...in the natural. The most amazing part of this time was that when Jen was praising and praying or speaking to Jesus, it was as if nothing had ever happened to her...she was totally restored in her conversations with the Lord. In fact, upon awakening from her coma, Jen was speaking directly to the Lord in absolute clearly communicated words. The story of the journey that Jen was on and continues on to this day, will strengthen any reader's belief that in Christ we can do all things.
The middle section of the book contains photos of Jen and her family during the recovery from the accident. While looking at this section, I became even more drawn to the story (I always check out photo lay-outs in a book before I begin reading) because I recognized, Linda Barrick's father (Jen's grandfather) Ed Hindson because several years ago (almost 10 years ago) I sat under some of Ed Hindson's teachings in a former church, which of course formed a 'connection' with this family's story. Whether there was a connection because of knowing any of this family or not, this is a powerful story.
I wish to thank Tyndale House Publishers for the opportunity to read this complimentary copy in exchange for my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Miracle for Jen: A Tragic Accident, a Mother's Desperate Prayer, and Heaven's Extraordinary Answer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Truly inspirational

Date:March 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
future librarian
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow, what an amazing, inspirational, moving story. The Barrick's story is proof that life can truly change in an instant. Yes, there were times that they wondered what God's plan for them was. But, the important thing is that never once did they turn their back on Him. It was obvious to the Barricks that God's presence was with them through their entire struggle.
When Jennifer came out of her coma after 5 weeks, she did not even know her own parents. She could not speak to anybody that came to see her. She could not hold her head up. She could barely open her eyes for more than a minute at a time. Yet, to everyone's amazement she begins to pray out loud - in perfectly clear speech - for hours at a time! And she is not praying for herself, for her own healing - she is praying that God will use her to minister to others. She is praising God and thanking Him for being by her side and for healing her. She seems oblivious to the fact that she is severely brain damaged, nearly blind, and unable to walk, and care for herself. Yet she is is singing His praises!
But, when she is not praying, her severe injuries are painfully obvious. It was 3 months before Jen was released from the hospital. When she came home, she still had a feeding tube inserted because eating "real" food made her terribly sick. She had constant debilitating headaches. She was nearly blind. She had almost no short term memory. Yet, when she was worshiping God, she was like the old, uninjured Jen. A light shone from her, and everybody around her knew that they were witnessing a miracle.
Jen's mother, Linda, found prayer journals that Jen had been keeping before the crash. Jen was a very private person. But she had a very close relationship with God. In these journals, she poured out her deepest feelings and desires for her Christian life. She knew that one of her shortcomings was that she was not very good at speaking out loud about faith. These journals were full of prayers that God would use her to be a witness for Him. Just 3 days before the crash, she completely surrendered herself to Him - pleading with God that He use her in however way He saw fit, to bring people to Christ. This part truly gave me chills!
This book was a wonderfully inspirational and emotional read. In several places, I felt the need to close the book and pray - pray for a renewed relationship with Christ. Jen truly is a miracle. This is an extraordinary book, and I hope that you will check it out!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Miracle for Jen: A Tragic Accident, a Mother's Desperate Prayer, and Heaven's Extraordinary Answer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Become Bitter or Become Better

Date:March 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Busy Biz
Location:Fayetteville
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ONE MINUTE CAN CHANGE YOUR WHOLE LIFE
Fifteen-year-old Jennifer Barrick was the daughter parents dream about: a varsity athlete and cheerleader; a healthy, happy girl with a loving heart. And if the Barrick family had left church even one minute later that night, everything might have stayed the same.
But in a moment, less than a mile from the Barricks' home, a drunk driver careened into their van at eighty miles an hour. The entire family was seriously hurt--but Jen's injuries were so devastating that the paramedics thought she had no chance to live.
The above is a tiny excerpt from the back cover of the book Miracle for Jen.
In this true story we learn that giving our lives to God doesn't mean we will have an easy life.
For Jennifer Barrick it was just the opposite.
In a time in her life when she was really wanting to become a voice for God she experienced a horrible car accident that left her dependent on everyone around her.
They thought there was no chance she would survive.
Then they thought there was no chance she would recover.
What they didn't realize was that God was using her as a vessel to share his word with everyone...
...including her own mother.
After 5 weeks in a coma Jen woke up.
Her first responses were praises to God.
There was a long road to recovery for her and she never will be the same Jen she was when she started that car ride, but if you ask her she'll tell you that she doesn't want to be the same.
A few things that her mother writes in this book that speak volumes to me were:
"A blessed life doesn't mean an easy life....."
"....I have always been a positive person, but now joy is a choice--I don't just have it automatically."
and one of my favorite quotes:
"I can become bitter, or I can become better."
If you have ever wondered why God let you go through something, I encourage you to read this book.
If you enjoyed reading Heaven is for Real, I encourage you to read this book.
Jennifer's attitude jumps off these pages full force and shakes the readers to the core.
You will be challenged.
You will be enlightened.
You will be filled with hope.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Miracle for Jen: A Tragic Accident, a Mother's Desperate Prayer, and Heaven's Extraordinary Answer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What an amazing read!!!

Date:March 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
candyastra
Location:Newfoundland
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What an amazing read! I was intrigued even in the very first chapter. What an amazing walking miracle and testimony Jennifer Barrick is to the mercy and grace of God! I thoroughly enjoy true stories and was looking forward to receiving this book for review. Little did I know how this book would break my heart over and over again and open my eyes to the realization that God is in control of each and every one of us. He decides when we take our last breath, not man.
I would definitely recommend this book. It is a great story of triumph and celebration that if God brought you to it, he will bring you through it. Nothing is too great that our God cannot intervene, as he did with Jen. I laughed, I cried, I felt so ungrateful after seeing all Jen went through and to still come out thanking God more than ever and to know we complain when something doesn’t go our way. She is a true definition of what a Christian should be!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Miracle for Jen: A Tragic Accident, a Mother's Desperate Prayer, and Heaven's Extraordinary Answer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Intensely moving and Inspiring

Date:March 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
The Book Blogger
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What can I say? It always amazes me how God can use even the most hopeless of situations for his good purpose. Jen Barrick is a living testimony to God's healing power and grace in her life. There were times when I laughed, there were times I cried, and also times I was shaken to the core by the absolute horror of what the Barrick family had to go through. Miracle for Jen challenged me to step back and look at how I am living for God in my life.
Written from Jen's mother's point of view, Linda Barrick, MFJ takes the reader on a remarkable journey of Jen's life. The writing is both gripping and detailed, and is intensely moving. One of the thing I grew to look forward to were the snippets of Jen's journal at the beginning of each chapter, a glimpse into the mind of the amazing girl whose relationship and love for her saviour is extraordinary, in the midst of unbearable pain and suffering.
This is a very meaningful story which is hard to describe. There are so many personal elements added, which makes it all the more special. The whole book is very encouraging and is sure to give you a new perspective on the important things in life. One of the most important things I took away was a lesson in trusting God through every situation, just like the Barrick family were able to do.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Miracle for Jen: A Tragic Accident, a Mother's Desperate Prayer, and Heaven's Extraordinary Answer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Based on a true story!

Date:March 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sometimes life can change in an instant. The plans that we had laid out in front of us, the goals in life we had hoped to achieve, even a simple dinner plan with friends can be changed in the blink of an eye. That is just what happened to the Barrick family. One minute they were on their way home from an event at church where they watched their daughter, Jen sing in the church choir and preparing for dinner at their house to celebrate with family and friends. However when a drunk driver slammed into their mini van at 80 mph head on, what they would be left with would be considered a miracle.
In the novel, Miracle for Jen by Linda Barrick and John Perry, the reader is taken on a fateful journey that forever changed the lives of not only the Barrick family, but for every single person to be impacted by their story that is captured from start to finish in the beautiful memoir. What would later be a series of miracles that began from before the accident to years later, this book will take you on a walk with angels and with God as He carefully orchestrates a plan to use Jen's life in a very powerful way. This will change your walk with God and also show you just how powerful our prayers can be and they really do communicate with Jesus and His Father.
I don't think anyone who reads this book will ever be the same again. I personally have never encounter a teenagers faith as strong as Jen's prior to her accident and even more so afterwards. This has renewed my faith and increased my prayer life. I will never take things for granted again and will be working to make my own personal walk with God more diligent and powerful. I think that is exactly what Jen and God had planned in the most unexpected ways.
This is the journey of Jen's spiritual walk even before her accident, how she found God in her recovery efforts when she couldn't remember her mom's name but remember her favorite scriptures and songs of praise and worship. When her efforts at speech seemed futile, her prayers to God in the company of those who heard her, showed that Jen has a unique relationship with God that not only walked through that valley with friends and family but helped her see His purpose in it all.
I received Miracle for Jen compliments of Tyndale House Publishers for my honest review and have to say it's a must read for anyone wanting to know what faith looks like. There are many pictures of before and after the accident and for Jen and her family to be alive at all, is a miracle in itself. This one rates a 5 out of 5 stars in my personal opinion and I can't wait for you to read about Jen's story!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Miracle for Jen: A Tragic Accident, a Mother's Desperate Prayer, and Heaven's Extraordinary Answer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

amazing true life story of amazing faith in God

Date:March 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
shannon
Location:midwest
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WOW get a box of tissues when you sit down to read this book. It is a tear jerker, they are sad tears and happy tears. This book is about every parents moms worse nightmare come true. You survive a accident but your child is badly hurt. The families strong faith, love and trust in god is what helps them pull through. This complete faith in God that everything will be ok and they can handle anything that comes their way is amazing. This book is amazing and really puts you in their shoes day to day of life after the accident. Jen and what happened to her during and after the accident is a miracle. You will be cheering Jen on as she goes through everything. A wonderful book that stays with you long after your done reading it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Miracle for Jen: A Tragic Accident, a Mother's Desperate Prayer, and Heaven's Extraordinary Answer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Inspiring Book!

Date:March 1, 2012
Miracle for Jen is an amazing story about a family who has had to learn to trust God in the most difficult of circumstances. The Barrick family attended church one evening and made plans to have some family and friends over after the service. As they were on their way home they were tragically struck by a drunk driver. The entire family was injured but their fifteen year old daughter, Jen, sustained the most injuries. The injuries were so bad that she was not expected to survive. Once family and friends learned of the accident they started to pray. The Lord heard their cries as Jen miraculously opened her eyes after lingering in a coma for five weeks. Although her mind had sustained severe brain injuries, she woke up praying and praising the Lord. This wonderful news still brought about many challenges as Jen was still not back to the way that she was before. However, the Lord showed, in time, how He was answering this young girl’s prayer to serve Him more fully.
This book chronicles the difficult, yet hopeful, journey that this family has had to endure and still endures to this day. As I read this book, I was reminded of Proverbs 16:9 that talks about how man plans his ways but the Lord determines his steps (paraphrase). This family was planning on returning home from church to spend time with their family and friends. They certainly did not expect their evening to turn out the way it did, yet the Lord was there in spite of it all. I was also reminded of why the Lord tells us to take one day at a time and not to worry about tomorrow (Matthew 6:34). None of us know what tomorrow will bring but we can find comfort in the fact that the Lord will be there will us.
“Miracle for Jen” is such an incredible and inspiring story. I would recommend this book to others as it gives insight into the amazing things that the Lord can do with a willing heart. I have also included some links below that are worth checking out. Lastly, I do not normally comment on book covers but thought this one was extremely well done. As I learned more about the accident scene the picture from the cover really stood out in my mind.
Disclaimer: Tyndale House Publishers provided me with a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.