Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Wm. B. Eerdmans Publishing Co. Dangerous Journey

Wm. B. Eerdmans Publishing Co. Dangerous Journey

One of the best-known and best-loved stories in the English language, Bunyan's Pilgrim's Progress is here retold in modern language for children ages 7 and up. Beautifully done full-color illustrations by Alan Parry appear on every page. This is a splendid introduction to a Christian classic! Large format hardcover, 126 pages, from Eerdmans.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dangerous Journey
Review 1 for Dangerous Journey
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My second copy

Date:December 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jasmine
Location:Western Australia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I will be buying this book for a second time to give to a friend. The first one was worn out by my children when they were little. It is so easy to read with wonderful illustrations. Proverbs 22:6, 'Train children in the right way, and when old, they will not stray.'
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dangerous Journey
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beloved by many generations

Date:March 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Angie
Location:Nova Scotia -Canada
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the author as well the production . The drawings are very impressive to adults as well children . One of my treasured books ! thank you !
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dangerous Journey
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One of the keepers for any family collection !!!

Date:March 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Homeschooling 6 blessings
Location:MN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beautiful, and so well done. I would call this version of Pilgrim's Progress the best one you could ever open to sit down to a beautiful read-aloud time with children of various ages (though my recommendation would be only about ages 6 and up, not younger, since the pictures are very graphic, the one with Appollion I had to skip for a while for some of our younger ones :) And another valueable feature of this book is the language - very very close to the original old English (at least it sounds like it, I have never read the actual original version yet, just a whole bunch of different ones that appeal to children) but not too old fashioned, either, so that the child would get bored :) but it keeps the listener very captivated. I would also recommend the DVD that is identical to this version of the book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dangerous Journey
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A wonderful adaptation of a classic

Date:February 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Teaches3homegrown
Location:Charlotte, NC
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can't express how much we have loved this book. It is a beautiful one to say the least. As stated in the book description, it is wonderfully retold in language that kids can understand and the illustrations are amazing. Bunyan's message comes through in this much shorter story and reading it opened up much conservation about our own journey to the Celestial City. We have enjoyed it and will enjoy it for years to come. The book itself is good size for children and well bound in hardcover format. At first I thought it was a little pricey but once I received the book, I realized it was not pricey at all. It is well worth the cost to grace the shelves of any home library and the hearts of young readers. I would recommend it to everyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dangerous Journey
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Valerie Shutt
Every child should be familiar with John Bunyan's Pilgrim's Progress and this is a wonderful way to introduce them to it. We've read this book aloud to our kids once a year for seventeen years now and I give it as a gift to families with small children. It's an enjoyable way to get the gospel across to small children, one more way of putting the work of Christ on Calvary into their little minds. It's also speaks to me each time I read it about my daily walk with God, as I see Christian continue from the cross to the celestial city with all the pitfalls he encounters along the way. You can't go wrong with this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dangerous Journey
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Auburn
I thought this book was awesome. I read it over and over to my daughter. She enjoyed. I really believe this book had a part in having my daughter come to know the Lord as her Savior. I now want to read it to my 5 year old.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dangerous Journey
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
Caroline Hernasy
My two boys, ages 6 and 8 really like this book. The illustrations are wonderful - the kind you can gaze at and absorb the details and varying expressions on the faces. The story itself is fascinating. After each chapter we look up the meanings of the words associated with each character (such as, Obstinate, Pliable, Goodwill, etc.) This really helps them understand why the characters responded to the main character, Christian, the way they do.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dangerous Journey
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 25, 2008
Customer Avatar
Elisa Rolston
This book is an excellent way of getting kids to be interested in the Pilgrim's progress. I am working with kids with a short attention span and are not used to reading as their activity. The visual impact of the illustrations is helping them to stay focused on the story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dangerous Journey
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 21, 2007
Customer Avatar
Christian Sister
Nicely illustrated and a brief enough retelling to keep the young (and adults like me who still love picture books) reader interested.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.