Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House NLT Our Daily Bread Devotional Bible, Softcover

Tyndale House NLT Our Daily Bread Devotional Bible, Softcover

For over 50 years Our Daily Bread has touched the hearts and lives of millions of readers. Now, for the first time, the most widely used devotional in the English language is available as a daily devotional Bible. Featuring 365 devotions, this Bible offers the reader a way to spend time in God's Word and find deeper meaning every day.

Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 out of 12100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for NLT Our Daily Bread Devotional Bible, Softcover
Review 1 for NLT Our Daily Bread Devotional Bible, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Daily Bread NLT Bible - better than I expected

Date:December 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pegleg
Location:Coffs Harbour, Australia.
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was such a lovely surprise; the Daily Bread NLT Bible is much nicer than I expected. It is such a nice book to handle, read from, share with the family and so on. I have asked my pastor can I show it to the congregation during the church announcements and he said 'let's do it.' I will be recommending this Bible to many over the coming years. I'm hoping to see a second addition with another 365 devotionals!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NLT Our Daily Bread Devotional Bible, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Crystal
Location:Saint Cloud, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love everything about this Bible. I have already recommended this & Christianbook.com to friends & family members.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NLT Our Daily Bread Devotional Bible, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
CONZY
Location:Kapahi, Hawaii
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
More than what I expected. I love it! I also bought one for my friend who is going through a difficult time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NLT Our Daily Bread Devotional Bible, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love it!

Date:February 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
line dancer
Location:Robbinsville, NJ
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The NLT Daily Bread Devotional Bible is the best. It is so easy to understand, and I find myself reading the Bible even more now that I have this one! This one was purchased for a gift, as I recently bought one for myself!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NLT Our Daily Bread Devotional Bible, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

great daily devotional, good size font

Date:February 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
h dri
Location:canada
Age:35-44
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this bible for an unchurched friend. the devotionals were something she could get into right away, even without "knowing where to read". the size and color were great. I highlighted many passages even before I gave it to her, which also, as I find out, is a great encouragement to her. I think this is right on her level, easy to read NLT and easy to understand devotionals that are practical for life. I am very happy with it. and I pray that God's word will not come back void! :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NLT Our Daily Bread Devotional Bible, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Ichose this Bible for a baby Christian friend.

Date:December 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
ruthie
Location:Castle Rock, C
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am discipling a dear friend and I left this translation would be the easiest for her to digest.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NLT Our Daily Bread Devotional Bible, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Our Daily Bread Devotional Bible -EXCELLENT !!

Date:October 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
debs
Location:Maine
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I LOVE THIS BIBLE !! This is the NLT version that I was not familiar with, I use NIV, so it is quite different for me to read verses in a different way. But it is very easy to read, it has a devotional to read each day and gives you the book and verse to back up and reference the story in the devotional. You can use this as a devotional, a reading bible or as I am doing using it to read through the bible in a year. I read the daily devotional and then read the verse it references and then keep reading through to the next days reference verses. The devotionals go continuously each day (they don't skip around), so you stay in the same book each day until you finish the book. You can even just pick a book you want to study about and just read each devotional daily and use it daily this way. There are so many choices with this bible. I plan to give this as gifts for Christmas, I do wish they had an NIV version, but if you purchase this bible -- I guarantee you will not be disappointed.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through Tyndale bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NLT Our Daily Bread Devotional Bible, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Our Daily Bread Devotional Bible

Date:November 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Brenda
Location:WV
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been using "Our Daily Bread Devotional Bible" for about two weeks and have really been enjoying the fact that there is a daily devotional interspersed thru the pages of the Bible. Reading the "Daily Bread" was something that my mother used in her daily Bible study for years, so including the devotional inside a Bible makes perfect sense. I like the fact that this particular version is the NLT version, which is a translation that is a bit easier for me to understand. Some of the great features of this Bible is that each chapter of the Bible starts out with a book outline,it also shares the theme of the book,purpose of the book as well as the date the book was written and the author who wrote it. There are also footnotes included in the Bible.Also included is a topical index,a scripture index, and a nice presentation page. I found the text easy on the eye, and I really liked the cover as well.
For review purposes I read one of my favorite books in the Bible which is Ruth. There was one devotional included in the book of Ruth and the topic was Unexpected Blessing which seemed to fit perfectly for Ruth and Naomi's story.
Overall, I really like this Bible, and actually plan on making this my study Bible for 2013, because the devotionals are built right in. An added bonus is the fact that the Daily Bread devotionals remind me of Bible studies with my mom. I recommend this Bible to anyone who enjoy using a devotional in their daily Bible study.
A complimentary copy of this Bible was provided in exchange for an honest review.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NLT Our Daily Bread Devotional Bible, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent devotional Bible!

Date:October 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rebecca
Location:Western Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was very excited to see this Bible (in New Living Translation) available for review from Tyndale. And it's so beautiful, with a great green theme and an individual photo on the title page for each book (which includes a summary and a quick look at specifics like author, date written, themes and an outline of the book's contents).
I chose the book of Esther for this review and there were three devotionals (May 3rd to 5th) along with the text of the book. These devotionals touched on three themes in Esther: adventure, hatred and charity. They tied in well with the story and also highlight relevance to modern times, proving that Esther isn't just history but also a tale of how we should live today.
This is definitely a great buy, perhaps a gift idea for the family member or friend who'd like daily readings and a new Bible all in one book. I'm going to enjoy reading through it in 2013!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for NLT Our Daily Bread Devotional Bible, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

OUR DAILY BREAD BIBLE

Date:October 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
gcw1
Location:York, PA
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OUR DAILY BREAD Devotional Bible published by Discovery House Publisher, Tyndale House Publishers, Inc. Take the devotional Our Daily Bread of the Radio Bible Class and the NLT translation and join them together for a great combination Bible. 365 of the best devotions and complete NLT Bible all in one book. It can be used by anyone who read thru the Bible in a year or by those who wants to just do a devotional each day. The NLT is a easy to read and understand translation of the Bible. I was asked to select one book to concentrate on, I choose the book of Job because of the troubles he had. The devotions are connected to each reading. Each day reading offers a deeper meaning and prayers in understanding Job. I also checked devotions in other books of the Bible and found that that carries thru in each book. As I was reading the devotions I thought about the help they would be to anyone going thru problems in life or who just needs a boost each day. They give a Biblical and easy to understand answer to help you.
I try to read thru the Bible each year, this is going to be my Bible for 2013 to read each day.
Tyndale House Publishers has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book for my review.
The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for NLT Our Daily Bread Devotional Bible, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great Bible !

Date:October 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
ministerdoc
Location:Mooresboro, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our Daily Bread Devotional Bible NLT By Tyndale
I must admit when it comes to Bibles I can't get enough of them.The fact that I'am a Minister
I enjoy all types of translated Bibles with now more than 75 in my collection,I now add another one and i must say I'am enjoying it greatly.Our Daily Bread Devotional Bible from Tyndale is a great read.
Taken from the long published Our Daily Bread Devotionals which I might add I have been a subscriber of for many years.This Bible has really informative narratives at the beginning of each book giving detailed and historical information and facts of the times.The bible itself is New Living Translation which was the first Bible i ever bought,and the translation is easy to understand .Young as well as old can understand this translation with ease.A very well put together Bible which is what you would expect from the best publisher around in Tyndale.This Bible also has the best of both worlds.The word of God as well as Our Daily Bread Devotional notes just like their long lasting publication.Hardback cover for long lasting,and 1421 pages.This Bible I would recommend to all children,men and women alike.Buy this Bible you won't regret it.
I received this book to review from Tyndale Publishing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for NLT Our Daily Bread Devotional Bible, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Tyndale House and Radio Bible Class have a winner

Date:October 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Floyd Johnson
Location:Upstate NY
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Our Daily Bread devotional has been around since 1956. Now, in 2012, Tyndale House Publishers (who are responsible for the New Living Translation [NLT]) and Radio Bible Class (responsible for the monthly Our Daily Bread devotional) have combined forces to produce a year long set of devotionals included with a complete copy of the New Living Translation.
I have enjoyed using the New Living Translation since first being introduced to it seven or eight years ago by my pastor. Created as a translation using some of the same guidelines that prompted Kenneth N. Taylor to create The Living Bible as a paraphrase in 1971, the NLT is a readable book designed to help the layperson read and understand the word of God.
Beginning with Genesis, the devotionals are dated - taking the reader through the Bible from January through December. Though there are not not devotionals for every chapter, there appears to be at least one entry for each book of the Bible.
I have spent most of the last two months preaching through the book of James - and thought it might be interesting to see what insights this new edition of NLT might offer. Within the five chapters of James are included six devotionals, each previously published in Our Daily Bread. I found the entries to be timely - and may even use one in next week’s sermon.
Indexes are included in the back of the publication which give access to the devotions based on the topics covered and a list of the devotional entries by scripture references. Besides the indexes and the devotionals, themselves, no additional helps are included (i.e. no concordance, maps, or dictionaries) that might help a new believer understand what he or she is reading. Though the devotional entries are each roughly a page in length, it might have been helpful to include some shorter devotionals in the margins or as footnotes. These would encourage the reader to read the whole Bible, not just the passages for which devotionals are included.
I thank Tyndale House Publishers for supporting this project. It is being added to my set of own devotional and study materials for regular use.
______________
This review is based on a free copy of the book provided by the publisher for the purpose of creating this review. The opinions expressed are mine alone.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.