Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harvest House Publishers Dream for Tomorrow, A - eBook

Harvest House Publishers Dream for Tomorrow, A - eBook

Elizabeth Martin and her two children have made it through the easy part of their journey, but now their wagon train faces high mountain passes, dangerous river crossings, and decreasing supplies. Desperate circumstances bring out the best and worst of the travelers, including Will Bramford, the wealthy widower who is pursuing Elizabeth, and Eli Kincade, the independent and solitary guide who has stolen Elizabeth's heart.
Average Customer Rating:
4.375 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dream for Tomorrow, A - eBook
Review 1 for Dream for Tomorrow, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not the best!

Date:December 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mossy
Location:Louisville, KY
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
A Dream for Tomorrow was an okay book, but I was ready for it to end after awhile. It was not a very well-written book. One thing the author liked to do was use the character's conversation to describe things. Other times the conversations just seemed rather forced and unrealistic. I did not really liked the main character either. She did not seem like a real person. Although I did not like this book, I am sure other people will love it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dream for Tomorrow, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Faith gets them through troubles and inconvenience

Date:October 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
wfnren
Location:St Cloud, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Martin's, the Dawson's, Brady and the rest of the wagon train are continuing on their trek to Oregon. They encounter some rough traveling, some loses and some inconveniences, like Elizabeth having to share her wagon with a grieving Mrs Taylor. Remember Mrs Taylor disapproved of the Martin's, Dawson's and most of the rest of their unit, but it is with Elizabeth Martin that she chooses to travel with after the tragic loss of her husband and her beloved organ.
The wagon train splits with more travelers going to Oregon than planned on when they started out. The split means that Eli has to lead the small group to California and leave the group Elizabeth is in. This gives Will a chance to court Elizabeth. Clara, Elizabeth's mother thinks he will make a good husband for her, but does Elizabeth want that?
I thought I had the third book in this series but find I don't so I guess I have to go buy it because Melody left me wanting to know how things go once they reach Oregon. Will it be as bad as her sister-in-law said it is, will Elizabeth give in and marry Will? Oh I like it when this happens but I hate it too, lol, it means buying more books, lol.
This has been a good series so far, can you imagine learning geography the way JT and Ruth are learning it, by traveling the Oregon Trail. I would recommend this book/series to anyone that likes reading Christian Historical genres. Melody shows the faith one must have had to travel like this.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the NetGalley book review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dream for Tomorrow, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A DREAM FOR TOMORROW...

Date:March 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
My Book Addiction
Location:North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
A DREAM FOR TOMORROW by Melody Carlson is another exciting inspirational Americana Historical Romance set in 1857 on the Oregon Trail. #2 in the "Homeward on the Oregon Trail" series,but can be read as a stand alone. Follow, Elizabeth Martin,her family,Will Bramford and Eli Kincade on the Oregon Trail,adventure,danger,faith,and love. While, Elizabeth is falling in love with Eli,Eli is determined who continue on his journey as a solitary guide without Elizabeth. In the meantime, Will Bramford, the wealthy widower is pursuing Elizabeth with a passion. On the trail, the travelers begin to lose their lives,are running out of supplies,must cross dangerous mountains,rivers,and tangle with each other while the travelers patience are running thin and tempers are running high. Fast paced story of endurance,patience,survival,faith,loss,grief,second chances,new life, and love. A must read for anyone who enjoys historical romance, adventures on the Oregon Trail,and American history. A great story with engaging characters,allbeit,some are very hard to like others are easy to love and you will hold dear to your heart. You will remember these characters and this story long after the last page. A great read and one I would recommend. Received for an honest review from the publisher and Wynn-Wynn Media,LLC.
RATING: 4
HEAT RATING: SWEET
REVIEWED BY: AprilR, My Book Addiction Reviews
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dream for Tomorrow, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Character Revealed

Date:March 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Trudi
Location:Bath, NY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
A Dream for Tomorrow tells the continuing story of widowed Elizabeth and her family (parents, sibling, and children) as they continue their journey from Kentucky to Oregon. The wagon train is a microcosm of life, as people’s characters are exposed through the daily trials and joys, and decisions are made that will affect their lives forever. Elizabeth faces an important choice herself: should she accept the attentions of Will, the well-to-do widower who has become a friend, or wait for noncommittal Will, the handsome guide.
Melody Carlson does an excellent job of making you, the reader feel a part of the scene – the beauty, the loneliness, the frustrations and the celebrations. Her characters are painted clearly as they make good decisions and bad ones, rise to challenges or not. As the story is set on slightly prior to the Civil War, she also included some of the attitudes towards slavery, with the inclusion of freed slave and family friend Brady, who faces his own unique challenges.
I truly enjoyed A Dream for Tomorrow. Many times, a story will get unbalanced; either exposing the reader to so many of the difficulties faced that you get depressed and wonder why people ever settled the West, or glossing over the hardships so you feel the trips westward were easy. This book hit a good balance between the two realities and the emotions of the people involved. Through that, I found myself sorry when the story ended, as I’d grown to like and respect even the difficult people. I’ll look forward to the final book in the series (although this was an excellent stand-alone novel.)
I received a free copy of this book in exchange for my fair and honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dream for Tomorrow, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Okay Read

Date:March 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
weatherlover1
Location:U.P Mi
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is book two of the series. Book one was getting started with the Oregon Trail book two spends the whole book on the trail. Elizabeth and her family are traveling along. Elizabeth is finding herself having feelings for Eli but she has also attracted the attention of Will another person on the train. As they get closer to the end of the train Elizabeth receives a letter from her sister in law and the news is not great. Has Elizabeth and her family made a bad choice coming west? Can Elizabeth find love? Who will she choose Eli or Will?
I have come to enjoy books that have an Oregon trail plot and this book was enjoyable and interesting.
What I liked: Elizabeth and her family are heading west for a new start and enjoying the adventure along the way. Elizabeth continues to deal with her feelings towards Eli the scout of the train and also she soon finds out that Will also on the trail west is interested in courting her. Plus there is added worry about what they will face when they reach the end of the trail when Elizabeth gets a letter from her sister in law. I thought all the different story lines when well together.
What I did not like: Elizabeth is again the only first person character in the book and I just don’t like that. I know this is can be a personal preference but I wanted to get to know Eli maybe even Will a little but we are left with only getting glimpses of their feelings from her and I feel it really takes away from the book.
Over all this book is likable and I am looking forward to the third and final book of the series which will focus on settling into the Oregon territory. My rating is a little lower because of only the one first person telling of the book. Had it had two it would have easily been a 4 or 5 star book. Still good though and I recommend this series. Though you will need to go back and read book one as they are very much tied together.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dream for Tomorrow, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Land Is Almost There & Continued Romance

Date:March 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Melody Carlson in her new book, “A Dream for Tomorrow” Book Two in the Homeward on the Oregon Trail series published by Harvest House Publishers continues the journey of Elizabeth Martin.
From the back cover: Life on the trail was challenging. Will settling down prove just as difficult?
It’s the summer of 1857, and Elizabeth Martin is pursuing the dream she shared with her late husband–to take their two children west and start a new life. Along with her parents, her newly married brother, and even her devoted farmhand, she has joined a substantial wagon train and successfully completed the first half of the long trip from Kentucky to the southern Oregon coast. And along the way Elizabeth has caught the eye of fellow traveler, Will Bramford, a wealthy and charming widower from Boston, and also of Eli Kincaid, the handsome and mysterious scout for the wagon train.
Now the time has come for the train to divide as some travelers head south to California. Several emigrants, including Will and his children, have decided to settle near Elizabeth and her family, but Eli is chosen to lead the southbound group. Elizabeth must decide whether to do the prudent thing–accept Will’s proposal and the security he can provide–or to follow her heart and fall in love with a man who seems wed to the trail.
Romance, adventure and faith are on display in this second book in the Homeward on the Oregon Trail series.
We are coming up on the first half of the journey but we still have to face high mountain passes, dangerous river crossings, and decreasing supplies. Other members of the Train also face life threatening circumstances while other members face punishment. It wouldn’t be a Melody Carlson book without the romance though Elizabeth is going to have to choose which suitor she will say yes to. “A Dream for Tomorrow” is great fun to read. Ms. Carlson has a great way of telling the story and moving it along at a nice pace. Her characters are wonderful and she gives them life and unique voices. All this and in a Western. What more can anyone desire? A really enjoyable read.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Harvest House Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dream for Tomorrow, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Gummy
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great continuation of the "Oregon Trail" series! Thoroughly enjoyed the development of the characters, and the exciting events that happen along the way to the coast. As usual, Melody Carlson does not disappoint! Certainly look forward to #3 !
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dream for Tomorrow, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good story

Date:January 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pamm
Location:Arkansas
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Loved the continued saga of traveling west great description of true perils
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.