Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harvest House Publishers Flora's Wish - eBook

Harvest House Publishers Flora's Wish - eBook

May 1887-Flora Brimm is determined the fifth time is the charm. Back home she has a reputation as "Fatal Flora," a woman whose previous four fiancis died in untimely accidents. Flora is desperate to marry, because producing an heir is the only way she can keep her family's estate. She's confident this visit to Eureka Springs with her grandmother will help her land a husband.

Pinkerton detective Lucas McMinn is hot on the trail of Will Tucker, the thief who broke his sister's heart. When he discovers the slippery fellow with Flora, he thinks they are in on the devious plot together. Will Flora be able to convince Lucas of her innocence? Will Lucas catch the elusive Mr. Tucker?

Average Customer Rating:
4.769 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 out of 13100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Flora's Wish - eBook
Review 1 for Flora's Wish - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Wealthy don't always wed for lOve

Date:September 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jane Squires
Location:Wasola, Mo
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is an adventure from beginning to end. Romance should be for true love. Sometimes this is overlooked by the elite.
Flora kept losing her intended before she could wed them. So people were calling her Fatal Flora.
A Pinkerton Agent arrests Flora for trying to arrest her intended. He gets more than he bargains for. He finds himself falling for her.
Yet out of all the bad circumstances, good happens. A miracle takes place for Flora's sister, Violet.
Lucas, the Agent, had been shot and all Flora's dreams were dying. But in the end Flora's wife comes true.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Flora's Wish - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Unconventional Southern Belle meets her Match

Date:August 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Vickie McDonough
Location:OK
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Flora's Wish is the highly entertaining tale of an unconventional Southern belle. Flora aka Fatal Flora has lost four fiancés, and is now engaged to her fifth. Lucas McMinn, Pinkerton agent/inventor believes Flora has assisted her fiancé in a robbery and stays close on her tail, hoping she will lead him to thief, Will Tucker.
The chemistry between Lucas and Flora is delicious, and it's fun to watch her challenge him constantly and to watch their relationship grow over the course of the story. Although I don't often read books about high society folk, I thoroughly enjoyed Flora's Wish.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Flora's Wish - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A delightful romp

Date:July 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
An Old Fashioned Girl
Location:Minnesota
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kathleen Y'Barbo starts off her new series, "The Secret Lives of Will Tucker," with a delightful romp up and down the Mississippi in her novel "Flora's Wish." Suffering from an errant fiancé whose job supposedly keeps interfering with the wedding plans, Fatal Flora (of the now five fiancés, assuming she can keep this one alive, unlike the previous four) finds herself an object of intense suspicion by Lucas McMinn, a Pinkerton agent out to capture the conman Will Tucker - Flora's current fiancé. Under Lucas' custody and practically shackled to the man, Flora and the agent pursue Will Tucker from Natchez to New Orleans and back, one to prove his innocence, the other to prove his guilt.
Flora really comes up with a doozy of a plan to save her family home from passing on to an irresponsible relative. Since she has to marry and produce an heir before her cousin turns thirty, she is in rather dire straits, given that she has had four fiancés perish before reaching the altar. In order to make it happen, she makes a contract with a man whom she scarcely knows and plans to spring the marriage on her family fait accompli. Thankfully for her, God has a significantly better plan, even if she has to be arrested, jailed, and basically held captive first to work it out. While her love of her family is commendable - and she's performing this mad scheme for them, not herself - not even they approve of the lengths to which she goes to preserve their lives for them. Her predicament is also typical of following one's own plans and not God's - a complete mess.
"Flora's Wish" is a delightfully humorous tale and a cute love story. Flora and Lucas have a great many sparring matches, playing off each other really well and sparking great entertainment for the reader. The secondary characters are as fun as the main - Grandmamma is a spectacular lady (quite possibly my favorite character), and even the hotel staff have personality. I look forward to the installment of Will Tucker's schemes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Flora's Wish - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Characters

Date:June 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I gave this book 5/5 stars. I thoroughly enjoyed the main characters of Flora and Lucas. From the beginning you can tell there will be great chemistry between them. I thought Flora was written as a strong and smart woman who was likable. Lucas was written very well as the detective who fights his feelings for her and has very strong opinions of his own. Overall this book had great characters and good conversations. The events were believable and the story flowed from one scene to the next. I would recommend this book for anyone looking for an adventure filled Christian fiction book to read and enjoy.
I would like to thank the publisher for the copy of this book I enjoyed reading. I gave an honest review based on my opinion of what I read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Flora's Wish - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great blend of romance, humor and suspense

Date:April 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
BWoods
Location:Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
I've enjoyed Kathleen Y'Barbo's books for years. This one didn't disappoint me. If Flora Brimm doesn't quickly marry and produce an heir, the family estate goes to a cousin of questionable character. After burying four fiances, Flora has concocted a near perfect plan to marry Will Tucker. Until Lucas McMinn foils her plans by insisting Tucker is a lying thief, and Flora is his accomplice. Flora vows to prove Lucas wrong. Lucas vows to bring a scoundrel to justice. Flora and Lucas's unwilling alliance makes for a wonderful story with plenty of interesting twists and turns.
Thanks to Harvest House for this free book. I'm happy to give one of my favorite authors a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Flora's Wish - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What a fun story!

Date:March 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
RobinV
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Flora's Wish was an absolutely delightful book! Author Kathleen Y'Barbo has come up with a terrific story line and wonderfully fun characters. I was entranced from start to finish as I read the tale of Will Tucker.
The story is about the mysterious Will Tucker who strikes a bargain with Miss Flora Brimm. Only she knows nothing of this mans character other then what she sees on her first time meeting him. Hot on their heels is Pinkerton Lucas McMinn who is out to seek justice. Yet there is a bit of a problem- Miss Flora Brimm. While she complicates his case and infuriates him to no end there is something wonderful about her that Pinkerton McMinn cannot get out of his head.
While I loved the characters, story, romance, and comedy, I also loved how author Kathleen Y'Barbo showed how what we may think to be God's will for our lives can be wrong although we may not be far off. God can use one situation to bring us into the place He truly wants us to be. Sometimes we have to walk through the thick of it to reach safety on the other side.
If you are looking for a romantic comedy in the form of a book I highly recommend this one! I will be rereading this again very soon!
***Thank you Harvest House Publishers for the free eBook in exchange for my honest review.***
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Flora's Wish - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A WONDERFUL ADVENTURE!

Date:March 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
My Book Addiction
Location:North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
FLORA'S WISH by Kathleen Y' Barbo is an exciting inspirational historical romance set in 1887 Eureka Springs, Arkansas. #1 in "The Secret Lives of Will Tucker" and what a beginning. We have spunky, Flora Brimm,who has,let me see four,fiancees who have all met with a demise,which has left Flora with the unfortunate name of "Fatal Flora". Well, Will Tucker,is next in line,or is he? She also must marry and have a child in order to save her family's plantation from her worthless cousin. Than we have Pinkerton Detective Lucas McMinn,who is hot on Will's trail for not only breaking his sister's heart,but because he is also a cheating,slippery,no good thief. Flora, who Lucas believes, may be in cahoot's with Will,has no idea of Will's where abouts or if he is dead or alive. She just can't lose another fiancee. Lucas who is hard nosed, and on a mission,to catch the elusive Mr. Will Tucker must decide rather Flora is innocent or in cahoot's with Will. And of course there is the issue of hearts getting involved. "Flora's Wish" is simple, she wishes to be married,find peace,save her family's plantation,and find love. Fast paced and filled with an adventure around every corner. Filled with hope,adventure,faith,and love. You will giggle with Flora and cry a little with her too,as she tries to find a husband,save a plantation and of course find happiness and love. Lucas never had a chance when he engages Flora in a battle of wits. What a great read! Light-hearted with engaging characters,who are realistic,challenging,and will capture your heart. You can not help but fall in love with Flora. The plot is well written with vivid descriptions and very entertaining. You will be turning pages faster than you can say "Flora's Wish". A must read! Received for an honest review from the publisher and Wynn-Wynn Media,LLC.
RATING: 4.5
HEAT RATING: SWEET
REVIEWED BY: AprilR, My Book Addiction Reviews
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Flora's Wish - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fresh Historical Fun

Date:March 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Regina Jennings
Location:Oklahoma
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
From the minute I heard about Flora's disastrous luck with fiances, I knew I would love this heroine. Flora is determined to marry in order to fulfill the requirements of her grandfather's will, even if she barely knows her intended, Will Tucker. The important thing is to marry him and marry him quickly before he meets the same unhappy fate her last four fiances met.
But Will Tucker has secrets and Pinkerton Detective Lucas McMinn is tracking him down. By keeping Flora at his side, Lucas hopes to draw Tucker out of his den, but will the detective fall for the bait before Tucker appears? Who is Will Tucker and is he really a criminal? Does Flora know more than she's admitting?
This book has much to love: a spunky heroine that absolutely does everything in her power to frustrate the hero, an intimidating grandmother (think Maggie Smith on Downton Abbey), a steampunk/inventor/detective and a lively game of cat and mouse.
Flora's Wish is a unique twist on traditional historical romance. I can't wait for the next in this series.
I received a copy of this book from the publisher.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Flora's Wish - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Delightful book!

Date:March 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Susan
Location:Clover, SC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love Kathleen Y'Barbo's books. She includes humor, inspiration and well rounded and believable characters to capture the reader's attention. It certainly captured this reader's attention!
Flora Brimm had already buried 4 fiances, entitling her to the nickname 'Fatal Flora'. She must marry and produce an heir shortly in order to hang onto her family's home, according to her grandfather's will. She once again picks the wrong man, but this time, her plans go awry a bit.
Enter Lucas McMinn, a Pinkerton detective on the trail of this last man Flora chooses. Flora refuses to believe Will Tucker is a crook, so Lucas threatens her with arrest. She and Lucas set out to prove Will Tucker is not a crook and is a crook.
From there on, the delightful journey commences. Y'Barbo has an uncanny ability to weave dry humor into her stories that just make her books. She also manages to create believable and full of life characters. Lucas McMinn was a super romantic guy and both he and Flora felt like actual people.
The inspiration in her books is wonderful also. She teaches us a valuable lesson in her books, this one being that we should trust God with our lives rather than trying to plan everything out ourselves, getting ahead of His will for our lives.
I wish the next in the series was here now! Don't miss this wonderful journey.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Flora's Wish - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Slow start, strong finish

Date:February 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Janna Ryan
Location:North Platte, NE
Age:35-44
Gender:female
This book took me a little while to get into, but once I realized that I really liked Flora and Lucas was a likeable guy then I got drawn in to a really fun story. I love the whole Pinkerton detective aspect of everything and found myself trying to figure out who the real bad guy was along with Flora. Lucas and Flora are well matched but the question is, will they figure out they are a good match or will they both be too stubborn to do something before it is too late? The start was slow, but the end was riveting. A solid addition to my collection of Kathleen Y'Barbo books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Flora's Wish - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Will the 5th time be a charm or curse for Flora?

Date:February 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
She was the legendary Fatal Flora, the bride who had lost four fiancès to their untimely graves. All of Natchez knew that, so why not total strangers as well? He also knew that she had an ability to navigate heights, decent skill on the bathroom floor, and an interest in finding Will Tucker. It did not escape her notice, though, that somewhere out there was a strange man who knew her as Fatal Flora. A man who could ruin everything with Mr. Tucker.
That is, if Mr. Tucker ever saw fit to arrive for his wedding.
When a chance encounter at a masquerade ball behind a set of palms introduces Flora Brimm to Lucas McMinn, a Pinkerton agent on a reconnaissance mission at the Crescent Hotel in Arkansas where neither one of them was hoping to let on who they really were. However for Lucas, he seems to have the upper hand. Of course he has to be able to get past Millicent Brimm, her wealthy grandmother who seems to have plans for keeping Brimmfield from leaving the family. If Flora doesn't have an heir by the time her Cousin Winthrop Brimm turns 30, he will inherit the estate instead of Flora.
But the problem with Flora is none of her grooms-to-be make it to the altar before dying and with just 2 years left to secure a husband, a marriage and give birth to an heir, Flora has a plan. She has managed to convince Will Tucker, a railroad detective to marry her for just the legalities and give her a child that she will raise on her own. It's a marriage in name only. However when Will Tucker fails to show up for their wedding two weeks late, she feels there is something more going on with Will then what he's telling her. Especially when her grandmother claims to have seen him a week earlier but didn't know who he was. Will Will Tucker have an explanation that Flora will believe or will Lucas McMinn have other plans for the newlyweds?
In the novel, Flora's Wish by Kathleen Y'Barbo, we get a look at the unlucky circumstances of Flora Brimm. How one manages to get engaged four times and never married has many in town questioning whether Flora had anything to do with their untimely demises. Perhaps a Black Widow in disguise looking for a way to increase her holdings and keep her family's estate? Or is Flora's luck about to change? I can completely understand the motivation behind Flora's planning especially during the late 1800's where a woman's goal in life was to be married with a husband and family. Yet poor Flora can't seem to make a go of it no matter what she tries to do and feels desperate enough to marry in this case for money, but the money will be paid to Will Tucker to care for the needs of his family. At least that is the story he has told Flora, but perhaps the wisdom of Grandmama Millicent be just what she needs to finally hear and pay attention to before it's too late.
I received Flora's Wish by Kathleen Y'Barbo compliments of Harvest House Publishers and Christian Fiction Blog Alliance for my honest review. Being a huge fan of traditional regencies and historical western's you get a brilliant combination of both when you pick this one up. Flora's situation is similar to that of wealthy aristocrats but set in Arkansas in 1887. So this will appeals to fans of both book genres. Having never read a novel with this type of premise, I knew that this would be an interesting read and was not disappointed. I love how the author used the historical Crescent Hotel found in Eureka Springs as the inspiration for the setting as well as the Southern Belle lifestyle of her characters! I personally rate this one a 5 out of 5 stars and look forward to more from Kathleen Y'Barbo in the future. This is the first book in The Secret Lives of Will Tucker series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Flora's Wish - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I loved this book.

Date:February 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cara Putman
Location:Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Flora's Wish has a fun mix of unique and believable characters with a fun romance and the historical accuracy to keep me flying through the book while wanting to learn more and enough humor to keep me enjoying every page. The hero is to swoon for, the heroine someone I'd love to have as a kid sister. And the mystery/hunt is perfect...with the promise of more yet leaving me satisfied. I've read a couple Kathleen Y'Barbo books, but this one is my favorite to date. I loved the balance of the elements. It left me longing for the south and a little adventure of my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Flora's Wish - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Detective, A Thief, A Woman In Need and Romance

Date:February 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kathleen Y'Barbo in her new book, "Flora's Wish" Book One in The Secret Lives of Will Tucker series published by Harvest House Publishers takes us into the life of Flora Brimm.
From the back cover: The course of true love never did run smooth
May 1887-Flora Brimm is determined the fifth time is the charm. Back home in Natchez, Mississippi, she has a reputation as "Fatal Flora," a woman whose previous four fiancés met odd, untimely deaths before they could get to the altar. Flora tries and tries again because she is desperate to marry. Producing an heir is the only way she can keep Brimmfield, her family's estate, from going to her cousin Winthrop. She's praying a visit to an elite spa in Eureka Springs with her grandmother will help her say "I do" at last.
Pinkerton agent Lucas McMinn is hot on the trail of Will Tucker, a charming, cunning thief who broke his sister's heart. When Lucas arrives in Eureka Springs and discovers the slippery fellow apparently in Flora's good graces, he believes they are in on the devious plot together. Will she be able to convince him of her innocence? Will he finally apprehend the elusive Mr. Tucker?
And, more importantly, will Lucas survive if he pursues Fatal Flora's heart?
You just got to love Flora. Things just do not go well with her as her prospective husbands are dying before she can get them to say "I do". She just has to get married or she is going to lose the family estate. In her last ditch effort she meets up with the thief Will Tucker, who just happens to be pursued by Pinkerton Detective Lucas McMinn. Of course things do not go well with Flora who knows nothing about Tucker nor the judgement that Lucas made against her. Now she has to get Lucas to see things correctly and keep him alive so that they can get married, maybe. "Flora's Wish" is quite a story. It has everything: a detective, a thief, a family estate is danger of loss and a woman who really wants to get married but can't seem to keep them alive long enough. And it is a romance too. This book is a lot of fun and it entertains you as you keep flipping pages as you try to find out what is going to happen next. Ms. Y'Barbo has a great way of telling the story and moving it along at a nice pace. Her characters are wonderful and she gives them life and unique voices. A really enjoyable read.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Harvest House Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.