Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harvest House Publishers Katie Opens Her Heart, Emma Raber's Daughter Series #1 -eBook

Harvest House Publishers Katie Opens Her Heart, Emma Raber's Daughter Series #1 -eBook

Emma has refused to remarry since Katie's daett died soon after she was born. And in an effort to keep Katie home, Emma has forbidden her from participating in the rumspringa tradition.

When widower Jesse Mast calls for Mamm's hand in marriage, Katie hopes to move into a new phase of life and leave the old "Emma Raber's daughter" behind. But Emma is having none of it, and Katie must consider abandoning all hope of ever changing her mamm's bitterness or of ever having popular Ben Yoder notice her. Out of sheer frustration, she begins attending nearby Mennonite youth gatherings.

Average Customer Rating:
4.769 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 out of 13100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Katie Opens Her Heart, Emma Raber's Daughter Series #1 -eBook
Review 1 for Katie Opens Her Heart, Emma Raber's Daughter Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good story

Date:March 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
Cindy Loven
Location:Conway, AR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
I really enjoyed this book. I am happy though that I have all three of this series to read at once. It makes it much more enjoyable not having to wait for the next one to come out *smile*. Jerry Eicher is so talented in his storytelling capabilities. I could feel the pain that Katie was feeling and her Mamm too. I loved the story and have quickly moved to the second story. I have to say I did chuckle at the scenes with Ruth Hochstetler, she was one determined woman. Great story, 4 stars from this reviewer.
This book was provided for review purposes only, no payment was received for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Katie Opens Her Heart, Emma Raber's Daughter Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Enjoyed the family relationships

Date:August 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I gave this book 4/5 stars. I thought the relationship between mother and daughter was well written. I did however feel like there was a negative light shown on protective parents. In the end it works out for the best of all the characters but this was not one of my favorite books by this author. I do recommend this book for anyone who enjoys Christian Amish fiction. I would also recommend this book for anyone who enjoys stories about family relationships.
I would like to thank the publisher for the copy of this book I enjoyed reading. I gave an honest review based on my opinion of what I read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Katie Opens Her Heart, Emma Raber's Daughter Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Overcoming Rumors!

Date:July 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Nancee
Location:Grand Rapids, Michigan
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Emma Raber has been widowed and secluded for many years, but she has remained strong in her faith and diligent raising her only daughter, Katie. Isolating herself and Katie from others in their Amish community, Emma is thought of as odd, and Katie has been labeled as Emma Raber's strange daughter. Katie is the love of Emma's life, and mother and daughter have been devoted to one another. When Katie's Mennonite coworker invites her to attend a birthday party Katie's Mamm becomes overwrought at the mere idea of Katie leaving her alone, especially to attend a Mennonite youth gathering. Emma has forbidden Katie from the normal activities of teen years, running around and exploring life with other youth. Emma's fears for Katie become overwhelming, and the quiet life led by Emma and Katie is now becoming complicated. They look to "Da Hah" for guidance in all circumstances.
Amish life is well depicted in this book, and the use of authentic Amish terms and conversation creates a credible backdrop for this narrative about a mother and daughter who arrive at a crossroad in their lives. Emma's fears are realistic regarding the probable adjustments that she foresees in her own life and that of her daughter. Those fears are grounded in the hearts of many mothers who anticipate the changes in life as a daughter reaches maturity. Jerry Eicher has written a complex story of human emotions that are both heartwarming and complicated. His insight into the hearts of his characters is straightforward, believable and sensitive. The author's traditional Amish childhood adds credibility through the details and relationships within the Amish community. This is a well-written, poignant story filled with action, wit and a strong underlying faith in God.
Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book from the author in exchange for my honest review. All opinions expressed are my own, and no monetary compensation was received for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Katie Opens Her Heart, Emma Raber's Daughter Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love it.

Date:April 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
cakelady
Location:Woodinville, WA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Finish the first book and now I'm reading the second book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Katie Opens Her Heart, Emma Raber's Daughter Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent book, can't wait for the next book!

Date:March 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
wfnren
Location:St Cloud, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Emma Raber has been a widow for many years and has one child Katie. Emma has only loved two men, one in her youth but when he married someone else she made a fool of herself then agreed to marry Ezra Raber even though she didn't love him. When Emma became pregnant she did fall in love with Ezra and they were a happy family until the day he died. After Ezra's death she became withdrawn and refuses to let anyone into her or Katie's life, she is now known as 'strange' Emma and Katie is known as 'plain Katie', Emma Raber's daughter. Katie doesn't have any Amish friends and was not allowed to participate in rumspringa. Katie works at Byler's Store with other Amish and some Mennonite's.
Jesse Mast has been a widower for about a year and has five children. He has been doing a good job but feels there is too much responsibility put on his oldest daughter Mabel and even his younger daughter Carolyn did more than she should have too. He gets the idea that he needs a wife and his children need a mamm.
Widow Ruth Troyer, who has no children, is teaching school this year and uses this to her advantage to get involved in Jesse's family life. The children like her but she has some work to get Jesse to be convinced that she would make a good frau for him and mamm for his children.
Katie has eyes for Ben Stoll, which Emma senses and sees Katie on the same path she was on in her youth so she refuses to let Katie court or even think about boys. When Katie is invited to the birthday party of a Mennonite boy she accepts and goes against her mamm's orders and goes anyway. She really enjoys herself and continues going to their activities. Now Emma has another problem, she feels like Katie is going to leave her Amish faith and become Mennonite.
Emma has to find help somewhere but who can she turn to? Ruth is inviting herself to Jesse's house more than he appreciates so what can he do about this situation? Katie is trying to push her mamm into Jesse's life, Jesse's children don't like Emma or Katie but they adore Ruth. Emma, Ruth and Jesse have known each other since their youth but have never been close friends, will everything turn out for each of them?
Jerry did a good job of keeping me reading, I think it took me about two days to finish this book, which is good for me, lol. I'm anxious to see what comes next in this series. I see there are two more books coming, Katie's Journey to Love due out in April and Katie's Forever Promise coming out in October. At least April isn't too far away.
I would gladly recommend this book for any reader of fiction and especially Amish fiction.
Thank you to Harvest House Publishers for providing this book for review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Katie Opens Her Heart, Emma Raber's Daughter Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

this will touch your heart

Date:March 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rhonda Nash-hall
Location:Madison Heights VA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Many of the Amish fiction novels are "feel-good" books, but I appreciate the way that Jerry Eicher makes his characters so real and so believable. I noticed that Emma and Katie both engage in a great deal of negative self-talk. I struggle with this myself and it can rob us of much joy and it certainly did that for Emma and Katie at times. This is a wonderful book and my main problem with it was that IT ENDED! I was left wanting more....wanting to know what happens next for Katie and Emma! I am ready for the second book in this series NOW!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Katie Opens Her Heart, Emma Raber's Daughter Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I was held hostage

Date:February 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Trooppetrie
Location:Fort Bragg Nc
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Today I finished an amazing story. Today I finished Katie Opens Her Heart by Jerry S. Eicher. I have read his books before and am always held hostage to his books.
This story again held me hostage. A story of love and grace. A story of opening your heart to what God would have for you. A story that could hit home for me on so many levels. I wanted to cry so many times. I wanted to scream for Emma to give in and feel love.
Even up until the last page I wondered how this story would end. Would love be found, would families unite. Would Katie feel welcomed? I wish I could tell you all the answers. I wish I could tell you all the things I learned like how to keep being there for one another even when you are hurt. How when one door is closed another one is open.
What an amazing love story. Not just between a man and a woman but between a mother and a daughter. I cannot wait to read the next book in the series.
I am thrilled to have another book that my teen daughter can read and not be embarrassed about. Thank you, Mr. Eicher for another great book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Katie Opens Her Heart, Emma Raber's Daughter Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

5 star Amish Romance and Drama!

Date:February 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
A Simply Enchanted Life
Location:North Carolina
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Another fantastic book by Jerry Eicher! This is book one in the Emma Raber’s Daughter series. The next book, Katie’s Journey to Love is expected to release in Aril 2013. I will definitely be picking it up. I did think that this story started a little slow but it was well worth it because the drama and tension just kept rising as I was reading. I enjoy a book that doesn't show all the cards up front so to speak. This is the first fiction book that I have read by this author but now look forward to picking up the rest of his books while I wait for the next book about Katie.
About the Story:
Katie has always been known as “Emma Raber’s daughter” and she’s tired of not being recognized as her own person. In truth, Katie is tired of being a community outcast simply because her mother refuses to let her heart be opened to love. She is tired of being sheltered and kept from living her life and though she loves her mother dearly—she is determined to break free of her controlling thumb.
Things start to change when Jesse steps into Emma’s life. He is determined to win Emma’s heart and Katie is hoping that her mother will learn to love again. The only problem is that Emma has no intention of ever giving her heart to another man and further—his children pretty much hate her. They think she’s odd and they want nothing to do with her.
This is where things got really interesting in the story. While Jesse is trying to woo Emma—another widow lady in the community has her eyes set on him and she will stop at nothing to get him. I really despised Ruth but she made this story interesting. I couldn’t stop reading to see what this nasty manipulative woman would do next. I suppose that makes it sound like I love drama in a book but no romance worth reading about is free of drama!
Overall I thought this story was a definite 5 star plot. Drama, romance and a little rebellion makes for all the qualities that make a really good book. I was rooting for Emma and Jesse from the get go and I’m so excited to see how things turn out for Katie. I’m really hoping she finds a nice boy and has minimal heartbreak. I guess I’ll have to wait and see but I will be doing so very impatiently!!!
I received this book free from the Author and Harvest House Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Katie Opens Her Heart, Emma Raber's Daughter Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

getting beyond what might have been to what can be

Date:February 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kathleen
Location:Missouri
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tuesday, February 26, 2013
Katie Opens Her Heart by Jerry Eicher, ©2013
Harvest House Publishers (February 1, 2013)
***Special thanks to Ginger Chen for sending me a review copy.***
Jerry Eicher (nearly half a million copies sold) returns with the first book in another of his delightful series centering on Amish life. Here is the story of a young Amish girl, Katie Raber, who finds she wants more from life than to be known as simply “Emma Raber’s daughter.”
I love the photo on the cover and above the chapter headings. My uncle had a pair of horses, Pat and Mike; what beauties they were! Large draft horses. I remember a photo of me astride the breadth of a wide back, after possibly their long day of haying, with my ankle-high brown leather shoe dangling down. My uncle had his hand across my leg making sure I stayed. I had a big grin to be up that high.
Emma Raber wants her life to continue as it has with her young daughter. However, Katie Raber is no longer a child. I met a woman once who kept her daughter home from school, calling in "she wasn't feeling well," because the mother was lonely. Seclusion. Katie wants to be known as herself, not as an extension of someone else's reflection.
This is Book 1 of the Emma Raber's Daughter Series. This sets the stage of a life lived well. Smiling, getting beyond what might have been to what can be.
For thou wilt light my candle: the Lord my God will enlighten my darkness. For by thee I have run through a troop; and by my God have I leaped over a wall. As for God, his way is perfect: the word of the Lord is tried: he is a buckler to all those that trust in him.
--Psalm 18:28-30 KJV
Book 1 ~*~ Join this new series and meet Katie Raber!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Katie Opens Her Heart, Emma Raber's Daughter Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Anxious for the next book in this series.

Date:February 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Brenda
Location:WV
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Plain" Katie Raber the out of step daughter of the odd Emma Raber, feels like she is just an extension of her mamm, and feels that most of the community looks at her that way.Emma is raising Katie on her own after the death of her husband and does her best to shelter her, to keep her from being hurt. Thing is Katie feels like she never really fits in but longs for change, especially when she notices Ben Stoll someone she believes is totally out of her reach. When Katie does something that finally has her feeling like she fits in, Emma has problems accepting it and decides to seek the advice of Jesse Mast a widower who has payed a few visits to her. He has prayed and decided it's time to find a wife and mother for his five children. Jesse has had his eye on Emma for a while, but there is someone in the community that is interested in him as well. How will things work out for Katie,and what about her mother, will she accept that her daughter is growing up? Of course there is also the story of Jesse Mast and his decision to find a wife, who will he choose?
To say that I am excited to start a new series by Jerry Eicher is an understatement! I couldn't put this book down once I started reading it. I expected a love story and instead what I found was so much more,of course I felt like it was a coming of age story for Katie, but I also found Emma's story interesting as well. I felt like the characters were very down to earth and could easily understand what they were going through. I find that Mr. Eicher does a wonderful job of creating real characters with situations that are very believable. My only complaint with this book is that we have to wait for the next book in the series.
Fans of Amish fiction are going to enjoy this book,but if you have never read a Jerry Eicher story what are you waiting for, "Katie Opens Her Heart" is the perfect story to introduce yourself to the Amish world that Mr.Eicher easily pulls his reader into. Highly recommended!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Katie Opens Her Heart, Emma Raber's Daughter Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fear Of Living Is Not What God Intended!

Date:February 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Judy K Burgi
Location:Kendallville, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read nearly all of Jerry Eicher’s Amish fiction books. I must say each book gets better and better. What made this book a great read? This story grabs you right from the beginning to the end. After reading the last page I sat here thinking, I can’t wait for book 2 in this series to come out. I want to see what happens to Katie right now! It just ended too soon.
When you live in isolation so to speak as Katie Raber and her Mamm Emma Raber did people look upon you as strange and tend to leave you alone. Emma was content in keeping Katie all to herself because of past hurts in Emma’s life. She didn’t want Katie to experience the hurts that life brought upon her. Emma went so far as to be in complete control over her daughter, not allowing Katie to decide things for herself. Was Emma right in doing so? Was Katie content living this way?
The characters in this book are very real to the reader. I experienced several emotions while reading this book. I really wanted to give a certain character a piece of my mind! I was completely caught up in this story and at times I found myself praying for these characters! I got a little anxious hoping for things to turn out my way. Isn’t it amazing how certain characters can capture your heart?
This is a perfect situation where God starts working in the hearts of his followers. When we take matters into our own hands life never turns out as God had intended it too. Will Emma open her heart to what God wants for her life and will she accept God’s leading? Will Katie follow God’s leading or will she venture out on her own?
These are questions that only reading the book will answer. I wouldn’t even think of spoiling this great read for anyone. I highly recommend this book to all Amish fiction lovers. This book is getting a 5 star rating from me.
I received this book from Harvest House Publishers and the author, Jerry Eicher in return for an honest review. The opinions expressed are mine alone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Katie Opens Her Heart, Emma Raber's Daughter Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Katie Opens Her Heart

Date:February 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
pattisperusal
Location:Waupaca, WI
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What appears on the surface to be a "coming of age" story about a teenage girl during her rumspringa is really a story of heart changes for both the daughter and her widowed mother. The proverbial generation gap is strained as Emma, the mother, tries to sequester her daughter Katie in a misguided attempt to spare her the hurt and emotional damage inflicted upon her during her teen years. As Katie pushes to gain her independence, Emma is forced to seek advice from an unlikely champion, a widower with five children who has designs on her! Despite the meddling of an overly zealous school teacher who had recently been widowed herself, one can easily see the hand of Da Hah (Lord God) in the lives of His people!
A well-written story where author, Jerry S. Eicher, again skillfully draws the reader into the characters in such a way that one would feel the events unfolding as though a part of it all! The story gripped me to the point that I read it through in two sessions! An excellent read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Katie Opens Her Heart, Emma Raber's Daughter Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is worth reading

Date:January 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
willow
Location:Cheyenne, Wyoming
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This one was a change for me. I liked the fact Katie stood up for herself everyone were communicating for a change right from the beginning. Still they were able to show respect, love and devotion. It was a refreshing change.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.