Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Realms Fearless

Realms Fearless

Struggling after losing their own child, Jim and Amy Spencer agree to take in 9-year-old Louisa---who mysteriously appeared with no memory of where she came from. But when the girl's special gift of healing hurting hearts puts her in contact with a serial killer, can the grieving couple unite and save Louisa before it's too late? 304 pages, softcover from Realms.
Average Customer Rating:
4.875 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Fearless
Review 1 for Fearless
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Mysterious, intense, eerie, paranormal, thriller

Date:March 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
Gazpacho
Location:Clare, MI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
From the very first paragraph, Fearless starts out in a sprint and doesn't slacken pace for the entire book. With elements of the paranormal, suspense, mystery, and intrigue, the action keeps the reader guessing every step of the way. Once I started reading, I found it difficult to put the book down.
First a fire, then the mysterious appearance of a little girl out of the blue. Her name is Louisa, but she can't remember her last name, who she is or where she is from, but her appearance saved Jake from the fire. While investigation to find her family draws a blank, the police chief places Louisa with Jim and Amy, foster parents who are still grieving the loss of their own unborn daughter. Her presence brings mixed reactions from the couple. Amy has reservations, but Jim wants the diversion.
A serial killer is loose in the little village of Virginia Mills. There seems to be no motive, no evidence or clues, and no reason to the killings. Alicia was in a dead end relationship and lying to herself that her boyfriend loves her. She wants to end it all, until the day she talks with Louisa, the little girl who saved Jake's life. One touch from her hand and Alicia feels renewed.
Jim takes Louisa around town hoping that something will help trigger some memories, giving them some clues to her identity. One of the stops is the elementary school playground where the children from the school are playing. She seems to blend in and fit well. When she spots a girl in a wheelchair, she stops to talk with her. Jim doesn't take much notice until he sees the wheelchair bound girl actually get up and take a few tentative steps. Louisa said all she did was pray for the girl.
Nearby on a remote farm, an older couple lives contentedly until a man disturbs their peace and takes them captive in their own home. He talks of a purpose but none of it makes sense to them. He builds a cage down in the basement and locks them up like animals until he done doing...what?
These seemingly unrelated events overlap with a few common threads between them, but are so obscure they keep the reader puzzling over them until the final chapters begin to coalesce.
What I find unique about this book and the event unfolding before us is the way the author creates an atmosphere of unease. The reader is kept off kilter first by the eerie awareness Louisa seems to possess whenever she comes in contact with people. She seems to look into their very souls and discerns what others either can't or won't understand. Her faith in God is simple and pure, and seems to put others off. Like the old black and white television mysteries of the 1940's where most of the suspense is in the imaginations and anticipations of the viewers, people read into it mystique and almost diabolical intent that's simply not there.
Secondly, the author takes a different tack and relates the operations of the serial killer from the point of view of the killer himself. The reader becomes privy to his distorted reasoning and preparations. The darkness surrounding him becomes part of the eerie atmosphere of the entire book. It was one of the reasons why I found the book so hard to put down even when I really needed to.
I found some of the descriptions of the killings disturbing. I'm not so sure I can justify the detail, although the details do serve as a clue to the identity of the killer, which is kept a secret until the very end. If you find that type of violence uncomfortable, then I do not recommend this book for you. However, overall, the writing style is exceptional, fast paced, and alluring. He makes the combination of paranormal, suspense and mystery work through excellent storytelling. I am curious to see if other books he writes are as compelling as this one is.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary review copy of this book from The Booketeria on behalf of Charisma Media and Charisma House Book Group/Realms. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Fearless
This review is fromFearless - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jim and Amy Spencer are at the end of their rope. After 15 years of marriage, they finally conceive a child. But when that baby dies all hope is lost for the struggling couple. Amy walks around the house like a ghost, dreaming of what could have been and refusing to face reality. Jim is a supportive husband, cooking, cleaning, doing groceries, and whatever else he has to do to keep their family of two together. But nothing he says or does can bring back the child Amy so desperately wanted.
When a house fire results in a mysterious little girl called Louisa being displaced, Jim instantly agrees to take her into their home. He desperately hopes it will help Amy heal from the past and encourage her to look towards the future. But Amy does not trust the nine-year-old girl with haunting blue eyes, and she is uncomfortable with the special gift the girl possesses. But when Louisa comes in contact with the serial killer that's been stalking their small town of Virginia Hills, everything suddenly changes. Is it too late to save the family Louisa has come to love? And what is the fate of her own family that she simply cannot remember?
All I can say is "wow". What a ride this book was. Dellosso puts you right in the middle of the action from the very first page, and doesn't let go till the end. While I kept trying to guess what was going on, the characters were ever-changing and learning and becoming different people. The pieces of the puzzle fell into place with such a convincing plot you can almost be persuaded it is real. A fantastic setting with characters as large as life, Fearless is not to be missed.
This book was provided by the publisher for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Fearless
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jim and Amy Spencer are at the end of their rope. After 15 years of marriage, they finally conceive a child. But when that baby dies all hope is lost for the struggling couple. Amy walks around the house like a ghost, dreaming of what could have been and refusing to face reality. Jim is a supportive husband, cooking, cleaning, doing groceries, and whatever else he has to do to keep their family of two together. But nothing he says or does can bring back the child Amy so desperately wanted.
When a house fire results in a mysterious little girl called Louisa being displaced, Jim instantly agrees to take her into their home. He desperately hopes it will help Amy heal from the past and encourage her to look towards the future. But Amy does not trust the nine-year-old girl with haunting blue eyes, and she is uncomfortable with the special gift the girl possesses. But when Louisa comes in contact with the serial killer that's been stalking their small town of Virginia Hills, everything suddenly changes. Is it too late to save the family Louisa has come to love? And what is the fate of her own family that she simply cannot remember?
All I can say is "wow". What a ride this book was. Dellosso puts you right in the middle of the action from the very first page, and doesn't let go till the end. While I kept trying to guess what was going on, the characters were ever-changing and learning and becoming different people. The pieces of the puzzle fell into place with such a convincing plot you can almost be persuaded it is real. A fantastic setting with characters as large as life, Fearless is not to be missed.
This book was provided by the publisher for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Fearless
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

You Never Know

Date:July 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I picked up this book I new the premise of it from the back cover, it was awesome. What a page turner it became, and loved the short chapters. You never saw what was going to happen next.
Once you open the cover your hooked. Be ready for a great, suspenseful journey. We open the story with Jake trying to wake up, he can't breath...there is a fire. All of a sudden there is a little 9 year old girl there, telling him that all is ok. She even has his cat in her arms, he had been trying to find. Where had she come from??
A rather odd situation, a child out of no where. The Police Chief Doug Miller, wants what is best for the Child, and until we find out who she is. He has Jim and Amy Spencer take her. Now Jim takes to the child immediately, but Amy is still struggling with her grief of loosing her daughter, before she was born.
What will it take for Amy to come around? Are they in danger from the events that circle this child? How about with the serial murders that are all of a sudden happening. You are going to be so surprised by the ending...it is a page turner. I loved it, and highly recommend you read it!
I received this book through First Wild Card Book Tours, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Fearless
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

suspenseful novel of good and evil

Date:June 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Do you like suspense? If so, this is the book for you.
Jake wakes up to his house on fire. He's being overcome with smoke. He knows he won't make it out. But then he feels a presence - a young girl. She encourages him. He can't die yet. His son needs him. He and the girl make it out a live.
Her name is Louisa. She doesn't remember anything else - how she got in the burning house or even anything about her family or where she is from. The sheriff asks the Spencers to take her in for a while. Amy Spencer is still dealing with the miscarriage she had a couple of months ago. Louisa frightens her. She sees things like the hurt people carry inside. And she believes. When she prays God moves.
There is an evil that has invaded the community. A serial murderer is at work. All too soon he sets his sights on the Spencers and Louisa.
This is an exciting novel of suspense. The supernatural invades the community, the good from Louisa and the evil from the murderer. This is not a cozy murder mystery. Throats are slashed and the last fifty pages or so are nail bitingly intense.
Besides the great suspense, there is also the issue of continuing to trust God when circumstances do not go the way we'd want or when we are terribly hurt.
This novel kept me reading from beginning to end. For suspense that involves the spiritual realm, this one is a winner.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Fearless
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Review from a Man's Perspective

Date:June 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rick
Location:Middleburg, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
She just appeared out of nowhere. First the fire was about to take Jake's life, the next she was kneeling down with him telling him things she couldn't possibly know. And where did she come from? Fire was all around them, but they were able to make it out alive. This young girl, Louisa, who appeared out of nowhere is headed temporarily to live with Jim and Amy Spencer. Jim and Amy have helped out in the past with temporary shelter, but this time it's a little different. Amy has just recently had a miscarriage and is finding it difficult to get past the hurt and move on. Upon meeting Louisa, she again tells Amy things that she shouldn't know and these things put Amy ill at east around her. One day on the playground, Louisa "prays" for a young girl with Multiple Sclerosis and the young girl is healed. Another time she "prays" for a young boys tumors and they disappear. As word get around about the "miracle worker", Jim and Amy close ranks around her to protect her. In the meantime, there's a killer on the loose. Bodies are turning up each day and the Police Chief is no closer to solving that case, then he is to finding out where Louisa came from. Does Louisa hold some kind of healing power? Can Amy let go of the hurt caused by her miscarriage? Will the killer be found before the next body is discovered? Who is this little girl and what is her story? If you think I'm going to give it away, FORGET IT! GO BUY THE BOOK!
I have read pretty much every book by Mr. Dellosso and I could venture to state a very obvious comment. He keeps getting better with each book that he writes. I truly enjoy reading an author over a span of several books to see their writing style evolve and improve. There's nothing worse to me than an author who found the "secret" novel once and keeps churning that same storyline out for 15 books thinking they still have it. I can tell you, if you read one of Mr. Dellosso's books, you will need to read them all because they are all so different. The twists and turns that he provided in this book kept me guessing as to how it would end and how everything would be connected. Just like a well-oiled machine, Mr. Dellosso has this book finely tuned and ready for anybody to pick up and enjoy.
Is this a guy's book? This is a quintessential guy's book. Mystery, adventure, murder you name it. If these are the elements of a great novel that you love to crack open, then this new novel by Mr. Dellosso is for you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Fearless
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Captivating Suspense

Date:May 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
touchdown
Location:OH
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a big fan of Mike Dellosso and he certainly doesn't disappoint with his new thriller, Fearless. I was hooked on page 1. The suspense and mystery were great. I loved the characters and felt a part of the book, something that is important to me when I read. I will not go into details of the storyline as other reviews have covered that. I love how Mike Dellosso tells a story. Few authors can take you from evil at its worst and to love at its best like he can.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Fearless
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Tugs you in...

Date:May 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jill Jones
Location:Opelika, AL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In his sixth book of the genre, Mike Dellosso delivers another suspenseful story that will haunt you until the end. With a brief tug at your imagination, Dellosso pulls you into a story that will leave you wondering—was that really just a story?
There is something about this nine-year-old girl named Louisa. She most probably saved Jake Tucker’s life, but she just appeared out of nowhere. She couldn’t remember her last name or her parents or nothing of any value that would have helped anyone find out who she was, but she was in Virginia Mills for a reason.
Some say she has a gift—to heal, to know, to say the right things. Others call her an angel sent from God to save them. Nevertheless, Louisa becomes the town hero. Jim and Amy Spencer have just suffered the loss of their unborn child. Amy is still locked in depression. Jim is struggling to move on while at the same time trying to comfort his wife.
When Louisa comes into their lives, Jim is accepting while Amy is reluctant, hesitant, scared. When a serial killer comes to town and they suddenly become targets, Jim and Amy fight to keep Louisa safe, but does Louisa know something they don’t?
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Realms a division of Charisma House Book Group, and as a member of The Darlington Society. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.