Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House The One Year Be-Tween You & God Devotions for Girls

Tyndale House The One Year Be-Tween You & God Devotions for Girls

This diary-style devotional for tween girls emphasizes their growing, special relationship with God. Each devotion begins with a statement, thought, or question to God, that almost every girl is likely to say. Each devotion gives girls biblically based insight into subjects such as insecurities, joys, fears, and more. Recommended for ages 9-14.
Average Customer Rating:
4.733 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 out of 15100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The One Year Be-Tween You & God Devotions for Girls
Review 1 for The One Year Be-Tween You & God Devotions for Girls
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 29, 2013
Back to school season seems to be the perfect time to begin some great habits in your children. One of the best habits to form is the daily study of the Bible. Sandra Byrd has put together a wonderful year long devotional book designed for your nine to fourteen year old girl.
From the teal colored leather cover to the daily devotional layout, I think your girl with find this book engaging. Each day is generically dated making it possible to start at any point in the year. There is a nice attached ribbon that will keep track of your place.
Each day begins with a question that your girl would likely pose to God. The next section starts with, Consider this . . . and then proceeds to discuss the question. The next section is a reply to the question that begins with God says . . . and then gives scripture to address the earlier question. The day's devotion ends with a question that is addressed How About You?
My oldest granddaughter is too young to do this one on her own but we enjoyed doing it together this past week. The varying subjects each day led to wonderful discussions about how we feel on different topics and then allowed us to hold our opinions up against the Word of God.
Whether you are looking for something that your sweet girl can do on her own or something that you can do together I think you will be pleased with this devotional.
I received a copy of this book to facilitate my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The One Year Be-Tween You & God Devotions for Girls
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Tween Girl Appeal & Bibical Principles

Date:August 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
seekingmyLord
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This review is months overdue, but that is because my daughter has actually been and still is using The One Year Be-Tween You & God Devotional for Girls by Sandra Byrd. I had become discouraged about reviewing devotionals for tween girls until I found this one, which I can highly recommend. In the mornings, we have done it together and she has done it independently...without being reminded most of the time. I even caught her reading through it in the afternoons.
First let me judge this book by its teal, leather cover with impressed flowers and butterflies that my daughter found so pretty and I found so functional. It has a journal-like quality, being under 7½ x 5½ in size, making it rather convenient to carry along. It also has a gold ribbon bookmarker that keeps her place quite nicely. I was at first disappointed that the book was not in pink, previously my daughter's favorite color, but lately she has been liking teal, so she was thrilled.
Inside is not colorful, but not boring either; the pages have a girl-appeal, journal-like quality with decorative sections. A tab layered in flowers at the top with a date and beside it a note in a clean handwriting font with a question addressed to God, common and relevant to many pre-teen girls generally and specifically. Although the more specific might not be relevant to the child that day, the body of the message is still beneficial.
Dear God, I'm afraid my grades will start to fall if I get one bad grade on a test, even though I'm usually a good student.
Dear God, One of my friends gets mad if I "dare" to have another friend. I hung out with other friends, but I don't tell her. I feel dishonest. What should I do?
Dear God, I'm only a kid, really. What can I do to tell others about you? I'm afraid if I speak up, people will laugh at me.
The body of the page starts with: Consider this..." It is not preachy, but helps lead the child into a deeper thinking and change of perspective as a good devotional should. The advice given is gentle but firm, Biblical, and quite age-appropriate, like something a grandparent might say.
At the bottom of each page is another note-like section that begins with "God says..." with a scripture. Next to it is "How About You?" with one or more questions to make it even more relevant and help the child to put what was learned into practical use.
The one thing it lacked is a reminder to pray at the end of the pages. Personally, as an adult, I find such reminders in my devotionals annoyingly unnecessary, particularly when it is written about for what I should pray as if the devotional itself was not adequate to prompt a person on its own. However, considering the target age, I think a reminder to talk with God at the bottom of the page might have been beneficial for the girls who would be doing this devotional independently. So, I would suggest to parents to begin with the child guiding her through the devotional time process ending with a time for prayer, until the child seems prepared to take the initiative to spend this precious time independently with God guided with devotional.
I received a complementary copy of this book from Tyndale House Publishers for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The One Year Be-Tween You & God Devotions for Girls
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This devo is getting attention!

Date:March 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jenn
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this devotional for my 11 year old daughter for Christmas. I thought it would be like others I've bought her and end up sitting on a shelf, unloved. But she reads this one every night! We went on a trip and she packed it and read it those nights too! It's wonderful to see a real, self-directed interest in a devotional.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The One Year Be-Tween You & God Devotions for Girls
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Devotional for Tweens

Date:October 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Alecia
Location:Iowa
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was lucky enough to be able to review The One Year Be-Tween You & God devotions for girls, by Sandra Byrd, this past month. I have been looking for something age appropriate for my daughter and me to do together and this devotional was perfect.
The devotional's weren't too long and the message was just deep enough to get her thinking. I even had my son sit in on it too and he got something out of most of them, they really applied to both. If you are a mother of a tween, then like me you have come to realize that we are in a battle for their hearts. Their friends and boys are calling out to them and it is so hard to get their attention and keep them focused on what is most important, God's calling on their life.
So, I am going to let Keeli, my daughter tell you in her words what she thought about this book. I really couldn't think of a better way to review it, than to let the tween of the house, who I wanted the book for in the first place, give her two cents.
Hi I'm Keeli, and I like this book because its quick and easy to understand. It helps me with my day. It helps me get closer with God. I get a devotion in the morning to rise my spirit.
Short and sweet :)
I would recommend this book to any mom look for a way to get God's promises into your tween.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The One Year Be-Tween You & God Devotions for Girls
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Devotions

Date:October 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
KimC
Location:Central Arkansas
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This One Year book is describes as a diary-style devotional for tween girls (9 to 14) that emphasizes their growing, special relationship with God. Each devotion begins with a statement, thought, or question to God. Every girl is likely to make these statements and ask such questions . . . many of which they may not want to share with other people.
Mom's Comments (age irrelevant)
As the mother of a 9 year old, I was very excited to get the opportunity to review this book. When we received the book in the mail, I told my daughter that each night before bed we would read that day's devotion and discuss it. This gave us the chance to spend a few minutes each day just being girls and winding down. Each of the devotions starts out with a question to God. This is followed by the devotion. There is a scripture and a question for discussion at the bottom of each page as well.
As we have made our way through each of the devos this last month, there were several topics that we enjoyed discussing. However, I did think that some of the examples used in the devotions were a little hard to tie back to the topic of the original question. Sometimes it seemed like the examples just didn't fit the question at hand. Over all, I have enjoyed the devotions, and I plan to continue reading them each night with my daughter. I would definitely recommend it to my friends as a way to open up the lines of communication about many topics with their tween daughters.
Daughter's Comments (9 years old)
I thought the book was really good and I could really agree with some of the things in it. It is fun reading it every night. Some of the devotions were sometimes hard to understand. I would recommend this book to my friends and their moms. I think that my friends would really like to read this book, and it would help them get closer to God.
Tyndale House Publishers has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The One Year Be-Tween You & God Devotions for Girls
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A pretty good resource!

Date:October 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Scott78
Location:Louisville, KY
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For review purposes, Tyndale House Publishers has provided me with a complimentary copy of The One Year Be-Tween You & God Devotional for Girls by Sandra Byrd (2012). I picked this book to review because it is aimed at girls ages 9-14, and my oldest daughter is right in that range (age 10).
Each day’s reading begins with presenting an issue or question that is relevant to girls. Then a discussion follows of how one might go about answering this question, followed by a Bible verse and a summary application point. The layout of each day lends toward its accessibility, a mixture of substance and clarity. The size and color of the devotional also make it attractive for this age group.
What I like about this devotional is that it has provided the backdrop for some really good conversations with my two daughters (age 10 and 8). It uses words and illustrations that easily translate into a young girls’ experience, making it an easy bridge to cross in relating God’s word to each situation. My daughters (esp. the oldest) have seemed to really enjoy it too.
I have two criticisms, but they are relatively minor. First, even though we’ve only gone through about 3 weeks worth of readings, there have been several times that I wished that more were said about how Christ and the Cross addresses these questions. My wife and I make a point to try and relate as much as possible of our family’s day to day lives to the saving events of Christ and the Cross. I wish the devotional supported us better in this task. Second, I wish there were more tools and suggestions to explore our daughter’s heart, and not just deal with surface behavior. It does touch on this, but not enough in my opinion.
Finally, I asked my oldest daughter to write down some of her thoughts and impressions:
“It helps me think through my faith, helps with normal Christian girl problems. It’s not too serious, has some funny things in it; these things help me relate to what they are saying. I like the “How About You” section, because it communicates with girls. I kind of like the whole book because not only is it my favorite color, but it kind of speaks.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The One Year Be-Tween You & God Devotions for Girls
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This will point your tween toward God

Date:October 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
seoulwriter
Location:Richmond, VA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received a complimentary copy of One Year Be-Tween You & God for review purposes and gave it to my 11-year-old daughter, Alli. She was immediately drawn to the look and feel of the book, but beyond the pure aesthetics, I have noticed that she is continuing to read it every day. When I asked her opinion, she said, “I like the wording.” When I pressed further, she explained that the devotions are easy to understand and she enjoys reading them. From a middle-schooler, I’ll take that as a five-star review any day.
As a mom, I love any book that will draw my children closer to God. Seeing Alli enjoy the book enough to read it every day and browsing through some of the devotions myself, I highly recommend it for tween girls, both from Christian and non-Christian homes. The diary-like format that begins each day with a question resonates with young girls taking those first few shaky steps toward womanhood. In that season of spiritual questioning and development, I appreciate resources that point young girls to a God who loves them and wants to walk with them through every season of life. This is a perfect gift for daughters, granddaughters, nieces or other young girls who are important to you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The One Year Be-Tween You & God Devotions for Girls
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Devotional for Tween girls.

Date:October 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
shannon
Location:midwest
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This devotional is great to use daily with your tween or maybe you want to use it to handle those hard to answer questions kids have. You don't have to use the hard questions as part of the devotional but I love that they are there for when they are needed!
Each devotional has the question, then the consider this part..., after that below is the How About You? where it ask question for you to ask your tween girl. Then you end the devotional for the day with God Says... where the bible verse goes with the discussion for the day.
thank you Tyndale for sending this great devotional for my daughters and I to share!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The One Year Be-Tween You & God Devotions for Girls
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love it!

Date:October 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Tash
Location:canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is a one year devotional devoted entirely to girls ages 9-14. With my daughter turning 10 in 2 weeks, she fits perfectly into this bracket. Each devotion is only one page long which is great because it is not overwhelming for her. At the top of the page there is a question which leads to the topic of the devotional. For example today's question was "Dear God, My older teenage sister says mean things, including that she hates me. She never wants to be with me. What should I do?" It then has 3-5 paragraphs talking about that question. It also has a bible verse and a question to make her think.
I really love this book. When I first gave it to her, she sat down immediately and read that day's devotion. It definitely made her think about the topic more closely and made her want to read her bible more. The one thing that I don't like about this book is that some of the topics don't apply to her very well at this point in her life. But I'm sure as she grows and experiences more, she will remember these devotions and maybe even look back on them. She keeps the book up in her bed and I'm excited to have her reading these devotions every night.
I asked her what she thought of the book. This is what she said "I really like the book. I like the bible verses at the bottom of the page and how the author explains things."
This book was sent to me by Tyndale publishing for the purpose of review. I am not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The One Year Be-Tween You & God Devotions for Girls
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A great resource for tween and teen girls

Date:October 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kathie Phillips
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was thrilled to receive a copy of "The One Year Be-Tween You and God" devotional book for girls. As a mom of a teenage daughter, I am always on the lookout for great resources to help her grow in her relationship with Christ.
The book contains 365 devotions, one for each day of the year. Each devotional contains a "Dear God" question (written from the prospective of a "tween"); a "Consider This" devotional thought written by the author; a follow-up question; and a passage of Scripture. The scripture passages were taken from the New Living Translation, which I think makes God's Word easily understood by preteens and teens.
I think that the majority of "Dear God" questions were age-appropriate. They covered friendship, self-worth, popularity, fashion/beauty, school, following God and family relationships. Some, in my opinion, seemed geared towards older teens. For example, "Dear God, I still feel embarrassed about some stuff I did in the past. How can I stop thinking about it?" I'm not sure how much of a past a nine-year-old would have.
I agree with my daughter that it would have been more appealing if the pages were in color instead of black, white and gray. I also agree that a topical index would allow for more personal application. Finally, it would have been great if the book included a space for the girls to journal some of their thoughts.
Overall, I think the book is a great option for preteen and early teen girls. I think it will help girls grapple with their faith and other issues they face during these impressionable years.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The One Year Be-Tween You & God Devotions for Girls
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book for tween girls!!

Date:October 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
mom3ways
Location:Greenfield, IN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wish I were twelve years old again (okay, not really). But I do wish I could have read this book when I was twelve. It would have helped me realize that a lot of my feelings, questions, and emotions were normal. I think every twelve year old girl on the planet wants to know she is normal.
Have you ever thought....
There are a lot of scary things going on in the world. Am I safe?
Why do babies die? It's so unfair! They didn't even get a chance to live.
How am I supposed to pray? Some people want me to pray out loud, but I'm kind of embarrassed to do that.
How am I supposed to know what is true and what is a lie?
In this incredible devotion book by Sandra Byrd, she answers questions like these and more! Each daily devotion starts with a great question, a short paragraph with a Biblically based answer, then scripture to back up what was just taught, and a challenge for the day. This would be a great gift for any tween girl in your life. A tween is defined as a preadolescent between the ages of 10 and 12. I think this book is perfectly suited for girls in this age range. I love the leather cover design and every girl should have this book sitting on their night stand. It is a great way to grow with God throughout the year!!
*I was given this book in exchange for my review. All opinions are mine*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The One Year Be-Tween You & God Devotions for Girls
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect Gift for a Tween Girl

Date:October 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mrs Gess
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was asked to review The One Year Be-Tween You & God: devotions for girls by Sandra Byrd. While I don't have a daughter, I do have a neice and several friends of my son who are in the targeted 9-14 year old range. This review contains both my opinion and that of an 11 year old girl I will refer to as "Sara", who will be receiving a copy of this devotional as a thank-you for her input!
Each page in the devotional is labeled with a day of the year, amounting to one short devotion per day. The top of the page highlights a question that a girl in this age-range (or at any age for that matter) might have. Some examples are: "Dear God, How do I know that the Bible is the true Word of God? * Dear God, Why don't you just get rid of all the bad people in the world? *Dear God, Sometimes it seems like you made a lot of rules. Why did you do that? *Dear God, Which Bible verses will help me when I want to talk back to my parents?....yep, I like that one!!! Sara agreed that the questions were interesting and captured her attention.
Following the question are a few paragraphs in response. Sara and I found the information to be easy to read and thought provoking. At the bottom of the page there is a related Bible verse and a question to answer and discuss with God. While there is a Scripture Index in the back, I think it would have been more helpful to have a Topical Index.
Besides the content being appealing to young girls, the embossed leather cover is beautiful! I think any girl would treasure this book. Sara is very interested to begin reading it daily and get some of those questions answered! With Christmas shortly upon us, this would make a great gift for the "Tween" girl in your life.
*I received a complimentary copy of this book from Tyndale House Publishers in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The One Year Be-Tween You & God Devotions for Girls
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Delightful Tween Devotional

Date:October 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Proverbs 31 Wannabe
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It isn't often that I am as excited to write a review as I am about this one. Be-Tween You & God, Devotions for Girls has a cheerful teal cover with embossed words and flowers. My Princess was super excited that I got this book for the two of us to read together. Sandra Byrd did a fantastic job putting together devotions that are relevant for tween girls.
The book is designed to do one devotion a day for a year. Each devotion has a date, so Princess and I just dove right in on the current date and will continue to follow for the year. Each day begins with a note to God from a tween's perspective. Below that, the bulk of the devotional is done in a section called "Consider this." This is the meat of the message and further explains the answer to the note. At the bottom of the page is a scripture related to the topic and a question to help girls discuss how they feel about the topic.
Questions in the book include:
Dear God, I worry that something bad might happen to me...
Dear God, I'd really like to trust you more. How can I do that?
Dear God, How do I know you exist? I mean, I can't see you.
Dear God, If angels are here to guide and protect us, does this mean I have a guardian angel?
I am looking forward to spending this special time with Princess each night as we go through this book and discover together what God wants her to learn about Himself and about her relationship with Him. While many of the topics are geared for girls, Prince was involved in tonight's devotional and shared from his heart as well.
I received Be-Tween You & God compliments of Tyndale Publishing in exchange for an honest review. I am in no way obligated to give a high rating, but I give it 5 out of 5 stars. I highly recommend you get this book for the special tween girl in your life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The One Year Be-Tween You & God Devotions for Girls
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Tween Devo is Terrific!

Date:November 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
hockmana3
Location:Knoxville, TN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are looking for a great way to teach your Tween daughter about having her own personal devotional time, then this book is for you! Beautifully bound, culturally relevant, and scripturally sound, this devotional is a simple way to guide young girls as they transition from childhood into the teen years.
My daughter, age 10, could not WAIT to dig into this book after we received it. I was very glad to see her so motivated to read the word of God!
Here is what she said about the book, in her own words:
"I like doing this devotional because
it is fun to look at. It also asks and answers a lot of questions I have about God. I like it, A LOT, and I would recommend it to other girls my age."
Author Sandra Byrd has a gift for guiding tween girls, and I hope she writes other books like this in the future!
(I received a copy of this book from Tyndale Publishing in exchange for my open and honest review.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The One Year Be-Tween You & God Devotions for Girls
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Gift Devotional For Tween Girls

Date:October 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Modern Day Disciple
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoy a well written devotional to start my day.When I saw the One Year Be-Tween You and God Devotions For Girls I thought it might be a wonderful tool for my own Tween girl. I asked her if she would consider reading it and letting me know what she thought. When I received the book, I was impressed in the quality, durability and look. Let's face it, if you actually use a devotional book for a year, it will take some abuse. The thick pages can easily be marked and hi-lighted without bleed through. I can only hope my girl will use it to that degree but it is good to know for those who enjoy being territorial with their daily devotions! The questions and topics are excellently done. The Trinity, sin, decision-making and worry are some of the topics as well as why girls are sometimes mean one day and nice the next! I am looking forward to spending time in the upcoming with this devotion to springboard some conversations with my daughter as she goes through it. This would be a great Christmas gift or stocking-stuffer for your Tween! Below are our Mom-Daughter thoughts and a PDF sample!
Katherine's Thoughts:
My daughter is 12 years old.
She gave positive feedback in three areas worth mentioning.
*She stated that she thought the devotions were stories
and topics she could definitely relate with and appreciate.
*She said that the specific questions were interesting.
In "Tween" language this means "not boring".
*She thought the devotional book itself was very pretty
and she also liked the style and presentation of the devotions.
Mom's Thoughts:
I loved the beautiful color and size of this devotional. I really appreciate the leatherette style for durability. It is small enough to be portable and just has an inviting feel and look. Most importantly the style of the devotions are presented in a question format, which sound so realistic for the age. This age and season is the time of questioning for young girls and seeing these questions in print which are most likely already on the mind of girls is a great way to break the barriers that oppose truth and thinking. Each dated devotion poses a question to God and then begins with "Consider this..." which addresses the topic in a way a young girl might dialogue or think! The writing does not come off as preachy but instead more of a pondering. In the end there is a portion of God's word to support the point titled "God Says..." There is also a pointed question for reflection and application called " How About You?"
Over all I think this is a beautiful gift devotional which will challenge girls to think with God and learn to apply truth to their daily lives.
Tyndale House Publishers provided me a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.