Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House A Heart for Freedom: The Remarkable Journey of a Young Dissident, Her Daring Escape, and Her Quest

Tyndale House A Heart for Freedom: The Remarkable Journey of a Young Dissident, Her Daring Escape, and Her Quest

* Commander-in-chief of protestors during the 1989 Tiananmen Square demonstrations, Chai Ling was one of the Chinese government's most wanted "criminals." Now a successful entrepreneur living in the United States, she has found real freedom in a formerly forbidden path---and God's purpose for her life in fighting for the rights of young girls in her homeland. 370 pages, softcover from Tyndale.
Average Customer Rating:
4.857 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
21 out of 21100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Heart for Freedom: The Remarkable Journey of a Young Dissident, Her Daring Escape, and Her Quest
Review 1 for A Heart for Freedom: The Remarkable Journey of a Young Dissident, Her Daring Escape, and Her Quest
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book on Chinese culture, Tiananmen Sq. & God

Date:July 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
luvs to cook
Location:Virginia Beach, VA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This incredible story opens with 3 small incidents that shatter the dreams of a Chinese family: attempt rape of Chai Ling, her beloved watch stolen by police, and the false accusation of her Mom for stealing 2 microscopes. But Chai Ling was determined to make her family proud by doing well in her university studies and got accepted as a graduate student at the Child Psychology Institute of Beijing Normal University. She married Feng, a student leader, and had to abort several babies because they were too young to get a license to have one. Meanwhile, problems started at Tiananmen Square. In an incredible speech Chai Ling urged the students to join in a hunger strike to get freedom and democracy. The students wanted the government to realize that they loved their nation and were sacrificing their health to ask for freedom. They never expected the government would bring tanks to fire on them. Eventually after hiding for a year, Chai Ling and Feng had to flee China on a boat, for the government had their pictures posted everywhere and their escape was miraculous. Once in America Chai Ling found it difficult to get a job with investment banking firms because they were concerned about the China portion of their business. The biggest miracle came when Chai Ling learned about Jesus and found forgiveness for her forced abortions. You truly have to read this book to understand how long they endured government oppression before fleeing, how God revealed Himself to Chai Ling, how terrible the one baby policy in China is, and the importance of Americans helping to transform China to respect basic human rights and freedom to worship.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Heart for Freedom: The Remarkable Journey of a Young Dissident, Her Daring Escape, and Her Quest
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Interesting

Date:July 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Virginia
Location:upstate NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the true story of Chai Ling, who was a leader of the protesters at Tiananmen Square in China. She tells her story from her childhood to the present, focusing on the Tiananmen Square events in 1989.
I found this to be a good book. The author's story is interesting and I liked the photos as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Heart for Freedom: The Remarkable Journey of a Young Dissident, Her Daring Escape, and Her Quest
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Riveting Tale of a Courageous Young Woman

Date:June 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
bookworm
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found this book to be very thought-provoking and riveting. While reading it, my eyes were wide open. I had no clue of the persecution that Chinese families suffer from their own government or how fast the children grow up there. After reading this book, I came to the realization that Americans have it very easy and we should be ashamed of ourselves because most of us are too selfish to help those who are persecuted. I also realized how much courage I lacked and I know if I were in Chai Ling's shoes, I probably would have been more concerned with my self-preservation than for helping to bring freedom to the citizens. I knew of the massacre, but none of the details because this event happened when I was a young child. I never knew how horrible the massacre was or that thousands of people died. I found it to be tragic and mind-boggling. Though I knew of China's one-child policy and favor towards boys, I had no idea of the actual number of babies being aborted in China or the suicides of the grieving mothers. Though this was a good book to read, I have to admit that I felt very overwhelmed afterwards. Chai Ling is right when she says that the only way that China will be changed for the better is if Jesus transforms the hearts of the people and government officials. I recommend that all Americans read this book because it is a story that needs to be told and remembered. I know that my viewpoint on China has been forever changed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Heart for Freedom: The Remarkable Journey of a Young Dissident, Her Daring Escape, and Her Quest
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

See life in a different culture

Date:June 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kris
Location:Fairfax, VA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Chai Ling's story brings to light not only the events leading up to Tiananmen Square but also the difficulties of growing up in China, where the sacrifice of personal needs for the needs of the whole was always emphasized. I found it fascinating to read about what was going on from her view point about the massacre, although it was difficult to keep track of who was doing what, when. Equally fascinating was to learn of the hardships she faced after Tiananmen Square, not only for herself but also her family and yet then to see how God has used it and redeemed it for His glory.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Heart for Freedom: The Remarkable Journey of a Young Dissident, Her Daring Escape, and Her Quest
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Quietly Compelling

Date:June 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
RuthSophia
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is outside of my usual genre, and I expected to feel like I *had* to make it through the book. This was not the case at all. Ling quietly tells the story of her life. She doesn't do it to victimize herself. She doesn't do it to proclaim her greatness. Instead she quietly brings you through her story which is filled with strong emotions step-by-step. You don't even realize the journey most of the time.
Sometimes, the story was too much to handle at once and I had to walk away for a time, but I needed to know more, just like she needed to share.
I have never been familiar with Tienanmen Square. Sure, I knew about it, and that it was awful, but I didn't understand it. This book was really an insightful look into Chinese politics and culture. Something most Americans know precious little about.
Ling never yells at the reader, though she recounts many conflicts, yet her story is compelling. Many times along the path you ask "why" or "how", and she is upfront in telling you when she doesn't have the answer. But if she can provide an answer she does.
Her transformation from a bitter, scared, scarred student to a gracious, forgiving, freed woman is a journey of hope and inspiration for everyone. And through her story, we also carry a hope for China.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Heart for Freedom: The Remarkable Journey of a Young Dissident, Her Daring Escape, and Her Quest
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

powerful story

Date:June 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Leeann
Location:CdA, ID
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really enjoyed the book. It was a bit hard to follow all the political things going on and all the leaders, but she paints a great picture of what life was like in China not many years ago. Most of all, I loved her story of the ultimate peace and forgiveness she finds in Christ. What a powerful, honest, and heartfelt story. And it was very well written!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Heart for Freedom: The Remarkable Journey of a Young Dissident, Her Daring Escape, and Her Quest
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Courage, Tragedy, Freedom, Faith, and Hope

Date:June 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
eb7bibliophile
Location:High Desert West
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is beautifully written. I became engrossed in her powerful story. I don't think I`ll ever comprehend the way the Chinese think, but Chai Ling`s story gave me more compassion for Chinese women and their heartaches. I felt that she made history very personal. Her description of events made me feel as if I was there. I was touched and inspired by her experiences with forgiveness, faith, and rejuvenation. I understand her struggles with abusive, manipulative men (a bad first marriage), and I understand and am deeply grateful for an all-loving, all-forgiving God. I commend Chai Ling for raising awareness about the Tiananmen Square events, and the plight of Chinese women.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Heart for Freedom: The Remarkable Journey of a Young Dissident, Her Daring Escape, and Her Quest
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fascinating Account of Tiananmen Square Demonstrat

Date:July 10, 2012
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chai Ling was the leader of the Tiananmen Square demonstrations in 1989. Her book tells the story of how she came to be involved in the demonstrations, what it was like living in the square, and the aftermath which changed her life.
Part memoir, part analysis of China's history and modern politics, this book held me riveted.
I highly recommend this book, especially for those interested in modern China.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Heart for Freedom: The Remarkable Journey of a Young Dissident, Her Daring Escape, and Her Quest
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Beautiful Memoir of an Ugly Time

Date:June 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
The Little Man in China
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
As amazing as it seems, very few Chinese people today have heard of the "Tienanmen Square Massacre" as we know it here in the West. They certainly know the place, and they know that something awful occurred in the early summer of 1989, but their recollection of the events are nothing more than implanted memories, their knowledge nothing more than tainted history. The government has turned the massacre on its head, and all information about the atrocities from within her own controlled borders has been sanitized of governmental fault, and the liberators and revolutionaries, the peaceful, murdered individuals, have become both the instigators and the enemies. Tienanmen Square has essentially become to her newest generations a boring fable of China's past, yet some who know the truth, some who were even there, continue to share their stories and to remind the world that only a few short years ago, the Chinese government massacred thousands of her own children.
In A Heart for Freedom, author and former student leader and revolutionary, Chai Ling, shares her own story of growing up as a prime candidate for Communist leadership and thought, even attending the greatest university the nation had to offer, but then learning that such an ideology was truly incapable of serving the people it promised to protect. This autobiography takes the reader from Chai Ling's own childhood where her parents, both faithful Communist soldiers and physicians, trained her to love her government really more than life itself. But once she arrived at school and met thinkers of different breeds, her doubts began to rise and her passions for new ideologies began to fester. At one point during her college years, Chai Ling acknowledged that she had doubts about the Party's being the servant of the people, and so began her long, exciting yet painful journey from simple Communist-in-training to student leader, revolutionary, and wanted criminal.
Throughout her memoir, Chai Ling develops the unknown and unfelt emotions of the oppressed in China, emotions that are all but foreign to those born and raised in the freedom of the United States, and emotions that essentially fueled the fire that drove millions of Chinamen to take a stand against the same government that had starved to death a large percentage of the previous generation during the Cultural Revolution. As she develops these emotions, a reader can feel as if he is standing side-by-side Chai Ling during the most desperate hours of lat May, 1989, in Tienanmen Square. While the entire book is written in matter-of-fact past tense, as if Chai Ling is recounting the events as a witness during a trial, the events are real and the sensations are palpable. Through this book, one can learn much about the bitter realities of a government that "serves" its innumerable, ignorant, and expendable people by silencing their voices, denying their freedom, and attacking their ideals of equality and human rights.
This book may be one of many on the atrocities of Communist nations the world over during the 20th Century, but Chai Ling also brings a special air to her work by including her journey to faith in Jesus Christ. As such, this book is a fitting read for those interested in history, Communism, revolutions, and Christian biographies.
©2011 E.T.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Heart for Freedom: The Remarkable Journey of a Young Dissident, Her Daring Escape, and Her Quest
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A tremendous autobiography

Date:February 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Andrew Gackle
Location:Sugar Land, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is no coincidence that many of the student leaders of the Tiananmen Square student movement have become Christians. Chai Ling's moving story stands as a prime example of that. This is a great book for anyone wanting to know more about the Tiananmen Square student movement of 1989, and the timeless story of one person's journey to find meaning in life, when their previous hopes for meaning have been dashed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A Heart for Freedom: The Remarkable Journey of a Young Dissident, Her Daring Escape, and Her Quest
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great insight into the Tiananmen Square Massacre.

Date:November 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
ChristianDroid
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the story of Chai Ling, a leader of the student movement in Tiananmen Square. However, it is much more than that. It is the story of many people who grew up in China during the seventies and eighties. In A Heart for Freedom, Chai Ling recounts her life story from her earliest recollections through those tragic days in Beijing leading up to her eventual escape and life in the United States. This account from one of the students who was involved in the movement from the beginning brings insight into the thoughts and actions of the students who were protesting.
The audio book is well written and goes into extreme details that you don’t find in most accounts of the massacre. But what makes this book stand out is the way the author gives you details of her childhood years leading up to her becoming one of China’s most wanted enemies of the state. By the time you arrive at the events in Tiananmen you, the reader, are involved in the life of this young woman. Chai Ling is so open and honest about her not so upright past, that you can not help but sympathize with her. The in-depth chapters revolving around the student protests will give you a new-found respect for those who suffered so much to try to obtain a little freedom.
The audio book is narrated by Karen White, who does an excellent job with a very difficult work. Seeming to handle all of the hard Chinese pronunciations with ease the narrator becomes the voice of Chai Ling. Her voice is so calming and soothing that it made the audio book a pleasure to listen to.
The only negative that I can say about this book is that it is that the story is so detailed it does seem too long at times. However, looking back over the entire work, I would be hard pressed to edit this book down to any shorter length. The facts and thoughts are so important to the feelings of those who were involved with this massacre that the end result would not be the same if there were less detail given.
Overall, I highly recommend this book to anyone who is interested in learning more about what took place at Tiananmen Square in Beijing China on June 4th 1989. If you read A Heart for Freedom you can not help but be touched by the extraordinary life of Chai Ling and the lives of those students that participated in the protests. You will gain new insights on what really happened on those fateful days in China. And you will be moved by the work of Jesus Christ in the life of this young woman, who after having four abortions, leading the student protest, and eventually escaping to the United States via Hong Kong and France, became a strong Christian benefactor for young females in China.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for A Heart for Freedom: The Remarkable Journey of a Young Dissident, Her Daring Escape, and Her Quest
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great story

Date:November 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
boshky
Location:Ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This story captured my memories of that time 22 years ago but even more compelling was her account of her comming to know Christ. I would recommend this book to everyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for A Heart for Freedom: The Remarkable Journey of a Young Dissident, Her Daring Escape, and Her Quest
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

amazing story of a brave woman

Date:October 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chai was one of the student leaders in Tiananmen Square June 4, 1989. She became the second most wanted person in China. After months in hiding, she escaped through Hong Kong to France. In the U.S. For twenty years, Chai tried to write her account of that fateful day. It was not until December of 2009 that Chai found what she was looking for in Jesus. Now, mother of three and wife of a loving American husband, her pen flowed.
Chai begins with the story of her family. Her father born in 1935, the Japanese invading the village in 1937, civil war after the Japanese left in 1945, Communist victory by 1949, joining the PLA, becoming an army doctor. Her mother, peasant born but finishing high school, then medical school, becoming an army doctor, marriage, children (Mao encouraged big families in the 60s). Their family, an army family, was mostly unaffected by the turmoil of the Cultural Revolution.
Chai went to Beijing the first time in 1983 as a seventeen year old, to attend Peking University. There were only fifty spots allowed for her province, with millions applying. She was accepted. She fought for and was able to major in psychology.
China was shaking off the effects of the Cultural Revolution. She witnessed some of the fledgling democracy demonstrations, asking for continued reform. She tells of her pregnancies (and abortions), her mother's nervous breakdown, and her own marriage. She and her husband got involved in the student democracy movement.
Chai takes us through the students meetings, the hunger strike, martial law, being the commander of the Defend Tiananmen Square Headquarters, the speech she made ( snippets used later in a documentary to discredit her), not foreseeing the massacre, then the gunshots and the tanks rolling.
Chai and her husband escaped, traveling south, hearing official reports denying the massacre. They stopped at a Wuhan University and she made a recorded statement, telling the truth of the massacre, later heard on Voice of America. After ten months of hiding, an underground student movement helped them get to France. In Paris her husband separated from her, intoxicated with freedom. She was asked to go to the U.S. for a democracy ceremony and was celebrated. She was awarded a visiting scholarship to Princeton. Upon graduation she managed to find a consulting position and the Clinton administration arranged for her family to come to America. When her consulting position ended she went to graduate school, obtaining an MBA from Harvard in 1998, and founded an internet company. She became a Christian in December of 2009. She founded All Girls Allowed, an organization to help girls in China, in 2010. She has been nominated twice for the Noble Peace Prize.
She ends her book with her struggle to reveal all of her abortions and receive God's forgiveness.
This is a compelling biography. I remember the news broadcasts and the horror of that day. It was very interesting to read of the feelings and actions of the students involved. A couple of times the narrative bogged down but certainly not enough to keep me from highly recommending this book. You will gain insight into China and be encouraged to pray for those there.
I received a copy of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for A Heart for Freedom: The Remarkable Journey of a Young Dissident, Her Daring Escape, and Her Quest
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a wonderful book that will stay with you

Date:October 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
shannon
Location:midwest
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I remember in 1989 what happened at Tianammen Square I was young but it made such a impact on me and I was devastated watching the news coverage about the horrible things that were happening over there to the protesters. This book will stay with you long after reading it. I loved reading her first hand account about what was happening there that the news stations and papers could never have known. This book is a must read for anyone who likes history, human interest or just a great book about a women who experienced so much tragedy and came out of it wanting to help girls who are still in China.
This book should be on a reading list for high school and college history or international studies classes. I think the insight would be wonderful for people to read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for A Heart for Freedom: The Remarkable Journey of a Young Dissident, Her Daring Escape, and Her Quest
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Story of God's Love For a Young Woman From China

Date:September 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Tammi
Location:maine
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Growing-up in America it is hard for me to imagine the things that the people of China have experienced. I have read books about missionaries who have ministered to the people who live there, I know that missionaries have a love for the people they are called to serve. They wouldn’t go if they didn’t. Chai Ling, grew-up in China and has a love for her homeland, as well as, for the people that live there that grew out of her personal experiences of being raised and schooled in China.
Chai Ling’s involvement and leadership in the Tiananmen Square protests were because of her love for China. She was forced to leave her homeland after the Tiananmen Square Massacre, and eventually came to America. She could have turned her back, not taken part in the protests, and then she would probably still be living the life her parents pictured for her, but God had other plans. After she came to America she continued her education, and obtained the work experience that prepared her for the work that God had created her for: helping Chinese women and girls, through her work with All Girls Allowed. The most compelling part of Chai Ling’s story is how God drew Chai Ling to HIM and her journey to her belief in Jesus as her Lord and Savior.
I would recommend this book for older teens and adults, because some of Chai Ling’s story could be troubling to younger teens and children.
**A Heart For Freedom: The Remarkable Journey Of A Young Dissident, Her Daring Escape, and Her Quest To Free China’s Daughters by Chai Ling was provided for me free by Tyndale House Publishers in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for A Heart for Freedom: The Remarkable Journey of a Young Dissident, Her Daring Escape, and Her Quest
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Eye-Opening Behind the Scenes Look

Date:September 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
jasjs0825
Location:Gloucester, VA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Heart For Freedom (The remarkable journey of a young dissident her daring escape and her quest to free China's daughters) by: Chai Ling is a amazing first hand look at the massacre of Tiananmen Square in 1989. Ling starts the book with her background of growing up the first born daughter of two solider parents. Her hard work to get into the university, all to make her father proud of her. The book leads into all the behind the scenes leading to the massacre. The students of Chine wanted discussion with government officials. Ling, in great detail, describes how wanting discussion led to the death of over 3,000 students. After the massacre Ling was a wanted woman for her part in leading the students of the Square. The book chronicles to her run to freedom in America. Her life in America leads her to Christianity and from there to wanting to continue her work in China. Chai Ling is now in charge of All Girls Allowed, an organization that is trying to end China's one child policy and forced abortions.
This book is full of details that most of the public probably has never heard about. It is an amazing journey, especially bearing in mind that a woman was in charge of much of the Tiananmen Square protests. There are particularly gory parts in the book when the deaths are discussed. Ling also describes in detail her forced abortion. It is an eye opening journey from the farmlands in China to speaking on Capitol Hill. Join Ling in her story and her current fight with this great book.
Tyndale House Publishers has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book for the reason of review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for A Heart for Freedom: The Remarkable Journey of a Young Dissident, Her Daring Escape, and Her Quest
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An important reminder of a tragic time

Date:September 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Gently Mad
Location:Longview TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's been many years since the tragic events at Tienanmen Square transpired and I doubt many people in the Western hemisphere think much about it anymore. That's why I think I think A Heart for Freedom by Chai Ling is an important book to read.
"I was born at the beginning of China's Cultural Revolution. Like all Chinese children, I was taught to love my country, sacrifice my own needs, and be ready to give up my life for a greater good. We were not allowed to know God.
In 1989, I became a leader of a student hunger strike in Tienanmen Square, a peaceful movement for a better, freer, and more loving China. There I discovered the truth about the government I had been taught to love. In the early morning hours of June 4, I stood with my friends and watched in horror as the tanks rolled in. During the crackdown, thousands were wounded or killed.
I survived." (From the inside front cover)
In this fascinating account, Ling chronicles her life as the child of Army Doctors, her desire to bring honor and pride to her family through high grades and going to prestigious Peking University. She describes her shame at getting unexpectedly pregnant in college, undergoing an abortion, and working and striving still harder to prove to her parents that she was worthy of their respect.
As time went on she realized she could not follow in her parents footsteps as ardent believers in the State. She began to see serious flaws in the system. Ling gives a thorough, step by step account of the events that led up to the student protest, how she became one of China's most wanted political criminals and how she escaped and eventually moved to the United States.
One of the things that especially struck me was how hard she and the other students were working toward governmental reform in China yet because they, the students, were just as godless as the government they were protesting, there was no moral paradigm that they could hold on to. Ling vividly and honestly portrays her fellow students and herself as people seeking to work toward good but without an instruction manual.
Consequently, though they could see the big picture (i.e. government should not be oppressive) they couldn't see their own individual portraits as selfish, sinful humans that made up a part of the larger landscape.
Frankly it was depressing to read about the attempts of these students fighting against an outward system while being blind to the tyrannical inward system of their own self absorbed souls.
After coming to America, Ling graduated from Princeton and became a successful business woman. She was nominated twice for the Nobel Peace Prize. She married and had three children. It is interesting to note here that at first she had difficulty in getting a job because many international businesses were afraid hiring her would damage their relationship with China.
Even though Ling was now successful and free from government oppression she was still enslaved to her feelings of guilt and emptiness. What was if all for? China hadn't changed. She poignantly describes the suffering especially of women, most of whom have undergone at least one abortion due to China's enforced one child per family policy. By this time, Ling herself had had four abortions.
But something else happens that Ling was not expecting. The last chapters of the book bring Chai Ling to the end of a very long journey. She discovers the One who truly sets her free: Jesus Christ. Through fellow Chinese who had become Christians as well as other Christian friends, Chai Ling came to experience full freedom in Jesus Christ, the one who wipes away every tear and took our burden of guilt and shame upon himself when He died on the cross. She finally understood what they, the Chinese students, were doing wrong at Tienanmen Square. In the last chapter she states:
"....The Holy Spirit is working overtime in China. In 1983, when I started at Beida, people had to talk in whispers about secret gatherings in the countryside to worship God. Today, at that same university alone, more than two hundred Bible study groups meet on campus, and an official class on Jesus is offered to seven hundred students.
The Chinese government seems to recognize this spiritual hunger. They even erected a giant statue of Confucius in Tienanmen Square in January 2011. But their efforts to find something to hold the country together will inevitably be undermined by the massive amount of corruption, violence, and crime that results from the people's lack of transformative belief system." (pg. 326)
The final chapters of Ling's story describes work with All Girls Allowed, an organization that she founded. It is dedicated to “restoring life, value, and dignity to girls and mothers and revealing the injustice of China's one-child policy.” (From the inside back cover.)
I think this is an invaluable book because it brings to light that there are many injustices and violations of human rights going on in our world today. It also shows the hope we have in Jesus Christ which turns every trial to ultimate joy and meaning. I can't help but compare the outcome of Chai Ling to Ji Li Jiang's in "Red Scarf Girl."
We Americans are insulated to so much of what is happening in other countries. If you would like more information on All Girls Allowed you can go to Chai Ling's website: www.allgirlsallowed.org.
I received a free copy of this book from Tyndale Publishers in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for A Heart for Freedom: The Remarkable Journey of a Young Dissident, Her Daring Escape, and Her Quest
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Look At A History Whose Future Is Not Yet Known

Date:September 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Floyd Johnson
Location:Upstate NY
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was the Spring of 1989 and a group of students were beginning to explore how to bring democracy to mainland China. In the midst of the protests that would define much of that Spring in Beijing, a number of students rose to positions of leadership that neither they nor their world would have expected. Chai Ling was one of those students. And A Heart for Freedom is her story.
In 1989, the events on Tiananmen Square, seemed far away. But in those days, God was shaping the heart of a young lady – not only to provide leadership to the students of China, but also to serve Him.
A Heart for Freedom provides a look at the students, the leaders, the history, that defined much of the world's attitude toward China for the last 20 plus years. We see the fear, the frustration, and the concerned that defined the student leadership of those events.
But A Heart for Freedom is more – it is also the story of a young woman growing up in a traditional Chinese home who matures as a student leader, completes her education in the United States, and starts a highly successful business. As the book ends, we find that she has also come to understand what it means to have a relationship with Jesus Christ. That journey is just starting for Chai Ling, but it may be just as exciting as the first 40 years of her life. For the answer to that, we will have to wait for Part II of her memoirs.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for A Heart for Freedom: The Remarkable Journey of a Young Dissident, Her Daring Escape, and Her Quest
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Eye opening and heart-breaking

Date:September 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sasha
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently received a copy of A Heart for Freedom by Chai Ling to review. A Heart for Freedom follows the life of Chai Ling, one of the students who led a government reform movement in China, which culminated in the horrifying Tienanmen Square massacre in 1989 - the result was death for many of Ling's friends and fellow students and no government reform.
A Heart for Freedom is truly a heart-wrenching book that chronicles not only what Chai Ling has been through, but the state of China. Readers of this book will learn not only of the events that led up the massacre, but they will also be very enlightened on the horrific one-child policy and gendercide that is a reality in China today.
Chai Ling has since found hope and peace in Jesus Christ and now lives in America with her family. I pray that her book would touch at least a handful of the millions of women affected by the abortion policy of China. She has set up an organization to promote awareness and help for those interested in and affected by this terrible policy called "All Girls Allowed".
I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher and was not required to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for A Heart for Freedom: The Remarkable Journey of a Young Dissident, Her Daring Escape, and Her Quest
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Excellent Read

Date:September 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Adoption Mama
Location:Tampa, Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a book I had a hard time putting down. Chai Ling, the author of A Heart For Freedom documents her life and involvement in the Tienanmen Square movement.
I was 16 years old at the time of these happenings; half-way across the world. I was far from this incredible world disaster; both physically and mentally. I am about the same age at Chai Ling and am amazed at the strength she had to endure what she did.
Her writings in this book are clear and concise. As you read it you feel as if you are right there in the middle of the happenings. But this book is also a memoir of the horrific political and social unrest that continues in China. Chai Ling takes us through the most recent years of her life and the healing that had to take place due to the atrocities she endured.
The most exciting event that took place in Chai Ling's life is her salvation. After being raised in a typical Chinese home and embracing Buddhism, she arrived in America still full of emptiness and hurt. The Lord did some amazing things to bring her to Himself. Her story is one that will captivate you and inspire you to make a difference in the world around us.
Chai Ling, Thank you for sharing your incredible journey with us.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>