Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Random House Large Print To Heaven and Back: A Doctor's Extraordinary Account of Death, Heaven, Angels and Life Again: A True Story Lgpt

Random House Large Print To Heaven and Back: A Doctor's Extraordinary Account of Death, Heaven, Angels and Life Again: A True Story Lgpt

Dr. Mary Neal was a devoted wife and mother of four children, a talented and successful orthopedic surgeon, and an experienced outdoor enthusiast, when the unthinkable happened on a vacation in 1999. Mary and friends were kayaking on the Fuy River in Chile, when her kayak became trapped under a waterfall. Despite her and her companions efforts to dislodge the boat, Mary lost consciousness and drowned before they could pull her body to shore.

During the time she lost consciousness and died, Mary experienced a taste of heaven that few in this world have known. She was led by heavenly beings and saints who had gone before. She saw and felt beauty and peace like she had never known, and approached the entrance to eternity. However, it was not time for her to enter, and she was sent back to the world.

To Heaven and Back is the story of Dr. Neal's spiritual journey, including the extraordinary account of that fateful day in Chile. She also chronicles her physical recovery, and the many miraculous events that accompanied her return to health. Her remarkable story is an inspiration and comfort to those needing reassurance of the presence and love of our incomparable God. Large print edition.
Average Customer Rating:
3.607 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
5
3 stars
9
2 stars
0
1 star
4
18 out of 2864%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for To Heaven and Back: A Doctor's Extraordinary Account of Death, Heaven, Angels and Life Again: A True Story Lgpt
Review 1 for To Heaven and Back: A Doctor's Extraordinary Account of Death, Heaven, Angels and Life Again: A True Story Lgpt
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

I would not recommend this book

Date:January 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
19MG
Location:S.E., CT
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I read this entire book and her account does not line up with the scriptures; when in heaven, she did not see anything but etheral beings. She did not see Jesus or angels or mansions, or the holy city. She did not mention Jesus Christ nor point anyone to the fact that eternal life is only found in Jesus Christ and receiving Him as Lord. I would not buy it again - I had seen her on a Christian program and was very disappointed. Hope she gets truly born again.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for To Heaven and Back: A Doctor's Extraordinary Account of Death, Heaven, Angels and Life Again: A True Story Lgpt
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book was hard to put down.

Date:October 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
prairierosedakota
Location:Laurel, Mt
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Even though a doctor wrote it, she put it in simple language form.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for To Heaven and Back: A Doctor's Extraordinary Account of Death, Heaven, Angels and Life Again: A True Story Lgpt
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not Me.

Date:March 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rollie
Location:Michigan
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sorry. I don't believe her story. She writes only 2 pages of her trip to heaven in which she states that its in the tunnel that we have our final say in whether we are going to chose Jesus or not, which I don't believe is Biblical. We make our decision BEFORE we die. Then she puts so much political dogma in the book, I am skeptical about what her motive is.
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for To Heaven and Back: A Doctor's Extraordinary Account of Death, Heaven, Angels and Life Again: A True Story Lgpt
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Will
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book has a great story - I wanted extra copies to give to others
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for To Heaven and Back: A Doctor's Extraordinary Account of Death, Heaven, Angels and Life Again: A True Story Lgpt
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very good, and very intriguing.

Date:October 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Raechel
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have heard a lot about these to heaven and back stories, and I was very curious to read one; upon seeing one on Blogging for Books, I requested it, and have found it very interesting. As usual, God used it to teach and show me various things, some relating to the book, and some that were just from Him that merely struck up because of a sentence in "To Heaven and Back". This book, by Mary C. Neal, was fascinating, and real. Events that happened in her life, as it is with all our lives I believe, were evidently conducted by God. He has His Holy hand on and in everything, and it is amazing to see His ultimate power and glory revealed to us. I was pleased with this book, and glad I read it. As with just about every book, there were one or two things that I maybe didn't agree fully on (believe systems, etc) it was such a thought-provoking book, and I enjoyed it.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for To Heaven and Back: A Doctor's Extraordinary Account of Death, Heaven, Angels and Life Again: A True Story Lgpt
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Outstandin!

Date:August 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Maria Victoria Bruckner
Location:Simpsonville, SC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great book to read! It is well written and it depicts the entire story by point by point events. If you want to know about heaven and how God works this is definitely one of the best books to read. I highly recomment this book.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for To Heaven and Back: A Doctor's Extraordinary Account of Death, Heaven, Angels and Life Again: A True Story Lgpt
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Another piece of heaven shown.

Date:August 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
charlie
Location:Arkansas
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a small book. I enjoyed it ,very much. The problem is I always want more insight of what they saw and who, while they were in heaven. This wasn't enough. Mostly, it was of her struggles to get back home and on the road to recovery. It was exciting to hear of the miracles that did occur. She went through unbelievible odds getting home and what occured afterwards in her life. She shares her strenght that the Lord gave her and her family thru this whole ordeal and what was to come.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for To Heaven and Back: A Doctor's Extraordinary Account of Death, Heaven, Angels and Life Again: A True Story Lgpt
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book!!

Date:August 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
sunshine
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Loved reading this book! It's true from someone's personal experience.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for To Heaven and Back: A Doctor's Extraordinary Account of Death, Heaven, Angels and Life Again: A True Story Lgpt
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

God has a purpose for each of us.

Date:August 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cindy Thomas
Location:Denton, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book was so encouraging. It was informative and was told in an understandable way. Life is not always easy but we can trust God to be with us as we go through difficult times and the loss of a loved one. Thank you Mary for sharing your life with us.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for To Heaven and Back: A Doctor's Extraordinary Account of Death, Heaven, Angels and Life Again: A True Story Lgpt
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Okay but not the best

Date:August 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bloggychick
Location:Los Angeles,CA
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The book To Heaven and Back is an intriguing story describing the account of a woman who had experienced a number of deadly incidents throughout her life but during one
dangerous kayaking accident she got stuck under the deadly rapids of one of Chili's rivers, and began her journey up to the gates of heaven. This story is not only a great
spiritual journey but it is also a very informative book and keeps you on the edge of your seat most of the time although the beginning was very slow and hard to get into. I do not recommend this narration to children under the age of 12, for some parts can be really deep and use highly intellectual words that most kids wont understand. The message of this story, to rejoice always and pray without ceasing (1 Thessalonians 5:16-17), is truly life changing and has helped me become a stronger Christian girl but was tough to get through reading it because it was so difficult to read.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for To Heaven and Back: A Doctor's Extraordinary Account of Death, Heaven, Angels and Life Again: A True Story Lgpt
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Believable Experience but Sketchy Theology

Date:July 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Steve North
Location:Grand Rapids, Michigan
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was pleasantly surprised by my belief in her experience and trust in her description of what's on the "other side" while trying to filter out some unaware adoption of Mormon theology.
The author shares her testimony of coming to Christ and her spiritual journey in a way I can resonate with. She describes her life "before dying" in a way that helps me relate to her. She shares her own struggles afterward in a moving way as well. I'm a committed Christian but a skeptic about the "God just told me to . . ." crowd. Dr. Neal is a reliable witness and articulate describer of her experience.
My hesitation in recommending the book is her subtle acceptance of a theology of our souls existing prior to meeting up with our bodies on earth and "longing to go back home to heaven". Hard to find that concept in Scripture.
I think this book (with that hesitation) could be a real source of comfort for those struggling with the death of a loved one.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for To Heaven and Back: A Doctor's Extraordinary Account of Death, Heaven, Angels and Life Again: A True Story Lgpt
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Linz
Location:Boise, Idaho
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What an amazing testimony. In times like these where we are offered loads of information from different views, Mary has blessed us with the only truth that needs to exist. God is here and available. Reach out and grab what the word has to say. God did not have to answer to Mary's concerns for getting a second chance on Earth but He did. The book is full of emotional and uplifting experiences to help any one of us with our walk with God, our search for God, or even non-believers who are not at peace and are questioning if there is more to life. I could not put this book down I was drawn in from the first page. Thank you Dr. Mary Neal (and thanks to God) for giving us even more reasons to believe inGod and to do our chores (a.k.a. "our work for God)! Amazing Story.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for To Heaven and Back: A Doctor's Extraordinary Account of Death, Heaven, Angels and Life Again: A True Story Lgpt
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Book Review: To Heaven and Back

Date:July 24, 2012
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Book Review: To Heaven and Back
My most recent review is from "Blogging for Books", and it is the book from Mary C. Neal, MD, "To Heaven and Back". The book is about Dr. Neal's near death experience that occurred during a kayak accident in South America, and how that experience (and other life experiences) shaped her life and changed her perspective about her faith and her life's purpose while on earth.
First I will review the book and its content, and then give you my personal thoughts about the book. As far as readability, this book is a quick read and Dr. Neal writes in such a way that you could actually read this book in one sitting. She breaks down the book into 33 short chapters that coincide with her life from her early years to the current day events of her life. Dr. Neal brings the reader into her life by sharing her intimate thoughts and feelings. When authors share on such a personal level it always draws me into their stories and lives.
I feel as if one of the goal's of Dr. Neal's book is to show her readers that God's miracles still occur everyday all around you, if you just have faith to believe in Him and not see life's experiences as coincidences. She shares much of how her near-death experience changed the way she viewed life, God, Jesus and her relationships with others; including her patients, friends, and family.
I am not going to share much of the personal details of her story as it will be better if you read it for yourself. However, I did want to mention that as a born again Christian I am always cautious about reading books about near-death experiences, angels and other spiritual practices. I am sure that many of the stories that we read in this genre are true, but I to know that many stories that are out there are not true and not of God. In reading this book, I felt Dr. Neal did a good job at showing how her relationship with God was strengthened and her focus was mainly on Him and not other "spiritual" things. As much as I can know I felt that what she was saying was true. (Disclaimer: There was one story about a friend of hers and her husband that passed away. Personally, I was not at all comfortable with what she claimed. I do not feel as if it lined up with what Scripture says. Please read with discretion and prayer).
I can only say if you read this book, or any book about these kind of topics, read with caution, Pray that God will give you discernment about what is truth.
Posted by Toknowhim at 9:26 AM
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for To Heaven and Back: A Doctor's Extraordinary Account of Death, Heaven, Angels and Life Again: A True Story Lgpt
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Disappointed

Date:July 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
blessed
Location:Idaho
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Not once did Dr. Mary Neal acknowledge JESUS CHRIST as GOD. She mentions JESUS as a "good man".
John 14:6 states that JESUS is the only way.
GOD, JESUS CHRIST, THE HOLY SPIRIT are the one and only GOD.
Many of her statements do not go along with Biblical scripture.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for To Heaven and Back: A Doctor's Extraordinary Account of Death, Heaven, Angels and Life Again: A True Story Lgpt
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

To Heaven and Back

Date:July 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Txann21
Location:Euless
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
To Heaven and Back is an incredible story of how God worked in the life of Dr. Mary C. Neal, MD, and her extraordinary account of her death, heaven, angels and life again.
Too often I am so concerned and caught up in earthly matters that I cannot see past the nose on my face? Dr Neal reminded me over and over again how it is more important to give all my cares and worries to God and let Him take control: "If we can let go of the earthly logistics of life, live in faith, and give control to God, great things can happen and the supernatural can occur. Without God, our options are limited."
She also reminded me that miracles occur everyday in the lives of ordinary people. Most of us do not look for miracles, therefore we don't recognize them for what they really are. What an eye opener! Coincidence or God intervening with miracles in my life? I will be looking for more everyday and I want to be able to recognize those miracles; miracles that we are all a part of.
To Heaven and Back is a true story that will encourage you to be thankful and enjoy today but to lay up your treasures in heaven.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for To Heaven and Back: A Doctor's Extraordinary Account of Death, Heaven, Angels and Life Again: A True Story Lgpt
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

To Heaven and Back - Easy reading & encouranging

Date:July 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
DavidsMom
Location:Louisiana
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
To Heaven and Back by Mary C. Neal, MD
I opted to read this book after reading another book about someone's journey and wanting to "compare" their stories. I found ea. entirely different and inspiring. In this book it more about lessons learned and experiences of death and life after such an enounter.
The book is so easy to read like someone is sitting there telling you their life's stories... Each chapter has either an inspiration or inspiring quote which is really touching.
It was so great to read about each encounter this doctor had with miracles and her death and return from death and the life she chose to live after that. It also shows how we can get caught up in life, and how we have to chose to return to live daily for Jesus. I love her daily list of reminders and the 3 most important lessons she learned - which were verses from the Bible.
Just by reading this it inspires you to live each day to the fullest and realize we are here for a purpose greater than our day to day life that is so easy to get caught up in. We are truely part of God's bigger plan.
I am thankful for the Waterbook press and their blogging program that provided this book for my honest review.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for To Heaven and Back: A Doctor's Extraordinary Account of Death, Heaven, Angels and Life Again: A True Story Lgpt
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must read

Date:July 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
GHayes
Location:Oregon
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For many years I've been intrigued with the concept of near death; my main desire for knowledge of and an assurance of life after death. I've personally known three people who have had this type of experience but I either missed opportunity to or was afraid to ask about it. I've read or started to read books and stories of those who claim to have had this experience. More often than not I've dismissed their claim or refused to finish reading the book, as in those cases the words rang false. I've found reading Mary C. Neal's story to be a different experience in a very positive way. As I read her story I found I was thinking, reflecting and pondering on the meaning and teaching in her words. Through her I have gained a new hope and perspective for my own life.
Initially I was a little hesitant to read her book, both based on past experiences of books of this nature as well as some less than favorable reviews. I am now very thankful I gave it a chance. While her story gives very limited detail of her time on the other side of life, I find that to be a positive aspect of her book as that, to me, is believable. Of that she gives us just enough that I am able to accept her assurance there is a Heaven, there is a God and there is much love and peace and beauty awaiting us.
The true value of her story comes in her sharing with us, the reader, the many insights, lessons and understanding she gained through her experiences.
I highly recommend this book to all. I want a copy on my bookshelf so that I can go back and re-read it over and over again. I'd love to quote so many words of wisdom contained therein; which serve to enhance my life as I ponder on them, and would also be of such value to so many people I know, who continue on this path we call life.
If I had to summarize into one sentence, I'd simply say "this is a fantastic book, you've got to read it".
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for To Heaven and Back: A Doctor's Extraordinary Account of Death, Heaven, Angels and Life Again: A True Story Lgpt
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

To Heaven and Back

Date:July 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
debs
Location:Maine
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the story of Mary and her experience with going to heaven. Her story is touching and makes you think about your own experiences and how you can relate to her story. Each chapter is about how GOD touches her life and how she interpets what it is suppose to mean. Mary was an average mom and Dr. that was going through everyday life, just like you and me, busy, busy, busy....as her husband and her go kayaking one day Mary's life is changed forever, she gets trapped underwater and then thrown out of the kayak and floats down stream stuck in the current. She has stopped breathing for over 10 mins. and goes to heaven, GOD sends her back as HE is not done with her on earth.
This is not the typical books that have been written about heaven experiences, this book used scripture and everyday life to make you see how GOD does have angels and uses your life the way GOD plans to use it. Bad things don't happen, they are GOD's plan to get you on his road and to get done what HE has planned for you to do.
This book is one of the best I have read on why things happen.... I read this book in two hours as I could not put it down, it just touches you and makes you realize in your own life how GOD has been with you and how certain situations were meant to be in a way that you have never thought to think of them before.
I recommend this reading to all ages, it is very easy to read and a great afternoon book you won't want to put down. When you do finish; it makes you keep thinking of everything in your life and makes you think how GOD is with you at all times and how he has his angels all around us.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the Waterbrook Multnomah book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for To Heaven and Back: A Doctor's Extraordinary Account of Death, Heaven, Angels and Life Again: A True Story Lgpt
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Read!!!!

Date:June 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cat1
Location:Virginia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An Amazing True Story that not only women will enjoy but a book the whole family and friends will enjoy as well.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for To Heaven and Back: A Doctor's Extraordinary Account of Death, Heaven, Angels and Life Again: A True Story Lgpt
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

another insight beyond the veil between God and us

Date:June 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
HS Mom of 4
Location:Georgia, USA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For me personally, this book is another insight to the magnificence of God. For Dr. Mary Neal, this death experience was a life-changing event. Her descriptions regarding her life before and after this accident shows that God works in His timing and in His way to direct and redirect our paths.
I love the fact that she is able to connect the dots between life events and see the fingerprints of God. Nothing is a surprise to God; He knows that even through the pain of life circumstances we are being molded into the perfect image of His son, Jesus. She has challenged me to stop and look back over my life and see God's fingerprints in my own story.
At times I felt disconnected to the author / book because her academic-side sometimes overtakes the heart message she is sharing - God is active in the lives of His children.
Click HERE to watch of video of Dr. Mary Neal's interview on Fox News.
I received a complimentary copy of To Heaven and Back from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for my honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>