Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan The Case for Christmas: A Journalist Investigates the Identity of the Child in the Manger - eBook

Zondervan The Case for Christmas: A Journalist Investigates the Identity of the Child in the Manger - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
1
15 out of 1694%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for The Case for Christmas: A Journalist Investigates the Identity of the Child in the Manger - eBook
Review 1 for The Case for Christmas: A Journalist Investigates the Identity of the Child in the Manger - eBook
This review is fromThe Case for Christmas.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good solid apologetics

Date:January 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
iamh
Location:BC, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First off, I'm not one that is hyper-sensitive to every question raised by the skeptics in relation to the Christian faith. This succinct presentation, however, handled in journalistic fashion proves to serve its intent very well. Solid answers to difficult questions are addressed by professionals in their respective fields. This concise treatment is very user friendly and thus a very useful resource to share with neighbours (I purchased extra copies) and friends.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Case for Christmas: A Journalist Investigates the Identity of the Child in the Manger - eBook
This review is fromThe Case for Christmas.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good Christmas outreach tool

Date:January 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
David
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We used this book as our Christmas gift to our December visitors. It was generally received well by the visitors we gave it to. We are still waiting to see responses in the New Year.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Case for Christmas: A Journalist Investigates the Identity of the Child in the Manger - eBook
This review is fromThe Case for Christmas.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Lee Strobel teaches thru storytelling.

Date:December 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bobby
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have all of his Case For......books. He is one of my top 3 teachers.
-5points
0of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Case for Christmas: A Journalist Investigates the Identity of the Child in the Manger - eBook
This review is fromThe Case for Christmas.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
SilverFox
Location:Claremont, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lee Strobel hits another home run with this book. I use it as Christmas gifts to friends and family.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Case for Christmas: A Journalist Investigates the Identity of the Child in the Manger - eBook
This review is fromThe Case for Christmas.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Value

Date:December 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
JenS
Location:Minneapolis
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is exactly what we wanted - a great book at a great value!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Case for Christmas: A Journalist Investigates the Identity of the Child in the Manger - eBook
This review is fromThe Case for Christmas.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Many better books available

Date:November 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Edward
Location:Illinois
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This is not a book of poor quality but there are many better choices. Hard to discern the author's target reader. If he is aiming to convince seekers, it doesn't work. If he is aiming at mature believers, it is too superficial. It is mainly a compilation of quotations from interviews with third parties and "experts."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Case for Christmas: A Journalist Investigates the Identity of the Child in the Manger - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:April 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Becca
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Great book....I just wish the book had more chapters to read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Case for Christmas: A Journalist Investigates the Identity of the Child in the Manger - eBook
This review is fromThe Case for Christmas.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Small Book: Tons of Info!

Date:January 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
musiciansmission
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been interested in reading some Lee Strobel books and you can bet after having read this short book during the christmas season all his other books have already been shipped to my house.
Lee goes through a lot of the HARD FACTS. He goes to professionals in certain areas like archeologists and historians and brings forth information that is solid and proves the accuracy of the books in the bible and their authors.
It is an amazing little book with tons of information that really helps you find even more confidence in your faith.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Case for Christmas: A Journalist Investigates the Identity of the Child in the Manger - eBook
This review is fromThe Case for Christmas.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kingskid
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Since I had read the original, unabridged version of this book, I was able to order it with confidence, knowing that it would be a good product. I gave one each to every person who attended our last Bible study before Christmas. The ladies were very pleased.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Case for Christmas: A Journalist Investigates the Identity of the Child in the Manger - eBook
This review is fromThe Case for Christmas.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Gale
Location:chico, ca
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this book for our school library. It makes the kids think and decide where they stand.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Case for Christmas: A Journalist Investigates the Identity of the Child in the Manger - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lee Strobel is great

Date:December 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Bob M
Location:Tampa, FLorida
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thanks so much for the opportunity to download free ebooks. Have read all of Lee Strobel's books (Case for Christ, Case for Faith, etc) and this one is also good. Have built a library of books that my grandchildren can read for school assignments. Have ordered hard copy books in the past and recommend you folks to the men in my Tuesday morning men's group.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Case for Christmas: A Journalist Investigates the Identity of the Child in the Manger - eBook
This review is fromThe Case for Christmas.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Well Written

Date:January 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Charlie
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The book made some very good points. It was a nice concise summary of the case for Jesus being the messiah.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Case for Christmas: A Journalist Investigates the Identity of the Child in the Manger - eBook
This review is fromThe Case for Christmas.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Full Armor, Full Joy

Date:January 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
William Snover
Location:Harbor Beach, MI
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life attacks faith from many directions. Two important ones are intellectual and social. In America education, for the most part, is in State control, and the State is in control by the AntiChrist and his servants. It is not an OVERT and Blatent case in the USA. It is subtle... as subtle or even more so than the serpent in the garden. But as a general rule secular academia studies the Bible and thinks about Jesus Christ and controls how our nation reacts to this Book and this Person. And the general result is this: "WE the EXPERTS have and do study the Bible for you and find it an interesting document to add to OUR Ability to think for you and we find errors, corruption in the authors, and see it as tradition, man made religion, and so on. We think for you on the most mundane and the most stratospheric level so that you can learn from us and bow to us and not the Bible. WE protect you. WE think for you. And you are now free to be gods because of US. As Father Benidict Groeschel, PhD, has said, "The liberal has transformed the Word of God into the words of men." The net result is that America does not bow before the Word of God, respect it, live it, and relegates it to a compartment of life or a shoe box, and it has been taken off the fireplace mantle, the end table, and out of daily life. This attack is comprehensive, multi faceted, academic, and complex. Lee Strobel rides to the rescue it two ways. He researches the multitude of "subtle" and the overt deception, lies, and mistakes Western academia uses to attack the faith and chooes the most important weapons aligned against you and disarms them with truth in the spirit of love and humility, enabling YOU to fulfil the mandate of 1 Peter 3:15 without quitting your job and devoting years to the task. Strobe, gleaning from world renown experts, provides captivating truth and insight that is more intellectually honest, profound, and respectable than the arguments liberal scholars and universities have launched, intentionally or unintentionally, to destroy you and your family and your nation and your world. This, and all Sgtobel's "Case" books are "MUST own" books for every Christian family in the world. Let no parent send their child out into the world without them.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Case for Christmas: A Journalist Investigates the Identity of the Child in the Manger - eBook
This review is fromThe Case for Christmas.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great evangelistic resource for Christmas

Date:December 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
ggs64
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We run out of this resource every Christmas no matter how many I order.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Case for Christmas: A Journalist Investigates the Identity of the Child in the Manger - eBook
This review is fromThe Case for Christmas.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
pastorsteve
Location:Michigan
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great tool for outreach at Christmas. Have used it many times.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Case for Christmas: A Journalist Investigates the Identity of the Child in the Manger - eBook
This review is fromThe Case for Christmas.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent

Date:December 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Chuck
Location:Southern California
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
100 pages of great stuff about Christmas- takes 1 1/2 hrs to read & well worth it. Made a 2 session study on it for my bible group.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Case for Christmas: A Journalist Investigates the Identity of the Child in the Manger - eBook
This review is fromThe Case for Christmas.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Veronica Arnold
This small book provides enormous amounts of evidence in favor of the identity of the Christ of Christmas being God in the flesh. I would gladly give it to any intellectual who is willing to investigate the facts of this matter.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Case for Christmas: A Journalist Investigates the Identity of the Child in the Manger - eBook
This review is fromThe Case for Christmas.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Mike Mcgaffey
I had read "The Case for Christ" and really enjoyed it. This was a shorter version. It was a perfect gift for all of my co-workers. I pray that God will use it for his glory.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Case for Christmas: A Journalist Investigates the Identity of the Child in the Manger - eBook
This review is fromThe Case for Christmas.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Gail Sacks
I found Lee Strobel's book fascinating. Used it as part of my adult Sunday school lesson and many were amazed at the information it contained.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Case for Christmas: A Journalist Investigates the Identity of the Child in the Manger - eBook
This review is fromThe Case for Christmas.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
John Hunton
A great investigation by Strobel; proved to convince him that Jesus is truly the promised Messiah/Christ. It is clear and easy to read and understand. I plan to offer it to an atheist who has debated me in letters to the editor of our local paper.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>