Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Identity: Eyes Wide Open #1, eBook

Identity: Eyes Wide Open #1, eBook

Identity, is the first of four episodic eBooks of the Eyes Wide Open series from New York Times bestselling author Ted Dekker.

Who am I?

My name is Christy Snow. I'm seventeen and I'm about to die. I'm buried in a coffin under tons of concrete. No one knows where I am. My heart sounds like a monster with clobber feet, running straight toward me.

I'm lying on my back, soaked with sweat from the hair on my head to the soles of my feet. My hands and feet won't stop shaking. Some will say that I'm not really here. Some will say I'm delusional. Some will say that I don't even exist. But who are they? I'm the one buried in a grave.

My name is Christy Snow. I'm seventeen. I'm about to die.

So who are you?

In a return to the kind of storytelling that made Black, Showdown and Three unforgettable, Ted Dekker drags that question into the light with this modern day parable about how we see ourselves. Humming with intensity and blindsided twists, Eyes Wide Open is raw adrenaline from the first page to the last pure escapism packed with inescapable truth. Not all is as it seems. Or is it? Strap yourself in for the ride of your life. Literally.

Average Customer Rating:
3.867 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
6
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
0
11 out of 1573%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Identity: Eyes Wide Open #1, eBook
Review 1 for Identity: Eyes Wide Open #1, eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

4.5 stars

Date:November 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jessica Allen
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Plot: I found the plot of this book to be very entertaining and thought provoking. I find the notion of this predicament to be highly enticing. In a way, we can all relate on some level with the situation that Christy finds herself in.
Characters: You know absolutely nothing about the characters in this book, but it is completely imperative to the story that you don't. It adds to the intrigue of the plot and keeps you on the edge.
Themes: As the title itself lends to, the theme of this book is identity. Who are the characters of this book? Who are we all? Sometimes, even if we think we know everything about ourselves, situations and circumstances will force us to really examine if we know who we are at all.
Emotion: As you read, you can feel the panic, fear, and confusion that Christy feels. Since this book is so short, it's not enough to leave you wondering, but it's enough to keep you engaged and connected with the characters.
Overall: This is a nice short read. One that, if desired, you could easily continue on with the series, or let yourself have time to mull over what happened before continuing on. It was a very fast paced book and while it wasn't over involved and the plot was simple, it was an excellent read that keeps you thinking.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Identity: Eyes Wide Open #1, eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Just the first chapter

Date:September 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Reisi
Location:Johnstown, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:female
First of all DO NOT read this book unless you plan on buying the whole book- this is NOT a complete book but only PART of a whole- and ends in a real cliffhanger. That said I bought the rest of the books (sections) and then the story got weird. It was sort of see through but I hung on to the end and then remembered that I hadn't liked another book of the author's that I had read. The Christian message was good though so I couldn't totally diss this. If you've never read this author before, I suggest you try another one of his books first.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Identity: Eyes Wide Open #1, eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Aunt B
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
loved it, can't wait to read the rest of the series
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Identity: Eyes Wide Open #1, eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
martybooks
Location:alabama
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ted Dekker is great as usual, you never know where the story came from or where it is going till the end
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Identity: Eyes Wide Open #1, eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good read

Date:April 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
BlueMamma7
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like Ddecker's insight into our psychy. How often don't
We feel trapped till we give all to Jesus.
Great read, definitely encourage others to read it
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Identity: Eyes Wide Open #1, eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

It held my interest

Date:March 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
newbie
Location:Allentown, PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm a new ebook reader, never thought I could get into reading without holding the pages of paper in my hand. This first episode kept me so interested I got caught up in the adventure before I realized it was the end! Can't wait for the next episode.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Identity: Eyes Wide Open #1, eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not Sure

Date:March 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Grace46
Location:Michigan
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I thought I was getting a whole book, but I don't think it was. The story was interesting but seemed to stop mid story. I guess you then need to purchase the rest of the ebooks to get the whole story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Identity: Eyes Wide Open #1, eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

good book

Date:February 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
anthue
Location:perth wa
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent read , as usual ted dekker is an awesome writer
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Identity: Eyes Wide Open #1, eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:February 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
scrapper
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
disappointing in the length of the book as it stops when the story actually is starting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Identity: Eyes Wide Open #1, eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Love his early books, but the later...not so much

Date:February 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Carolyn
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I loved Dekker’s earlier books—the ones with impossible situations where he somehow logically found a solution. Then came his later books, darker, esoteric, and for me, at least, with less than satisfying conclusions. This one starts out like the earlier books (Thr3e, Blink of an Eye, Obsessed, etc.) and this one was exciting enough that I bought the entire book. Even part 2 was exciting. Then came part 3 and it started leaving reality (and me) behind again. Although I could understand where he was going, I did not find this book to have a satisfactory and/or realistic conclusion. I guess I will be leaving Ted Dekker’s books alone in the future….unless I reread some of his earlier ones, which I really enjoyed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Identity: Eyes Wide Open #1, eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
jdiraymond
Age:Over 65
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this was a very good read. Thank you for the ebook!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Identity: Eyes Wide Open #1, eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Identity crisis

Date:January 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
didi
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Not to sure of what to say. I have to read all 4 books before I come to a conclusion.
On one hand, I am kinda confused; on the other can one really be that delusional?
Makes me think if the world that I see today is real or just my imagination.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Identity: Eyes Wide Open #1, eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tami
Location:WI
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a Great book. If you get this one, you'll have to have them all!!! This book is right up there w/ the high expectations you ALWAYS get with Ted Dekker!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Identity: Eyes Wide Open #1, eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Like a TV series

Date:January 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Amanda B
Location:Iowa
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you love Dekker, or love suspense, you'll find yourself devouring this mini-book and begging for more!
Ted Dekker's e-newsletter said about these books: "Think of each shorter eBook as a TV episode and Eyes Wide Open as the full season." And how do you judge whether or not you'll like a TV series? Watch the pilot. Or in this case, download the first very intriguing, very free eBook. You'll be hooked.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Identity: Eyes Wide Open #1, eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good start to a book

Date:December 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
touchdown
Location:OH
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a young adult book. It didn't take long to get involved. I enjoyed the writing. At this point it is hard to say a lot as I just read maybe 1/5 of the book. I did find it interesting how Christie and Austin are trapped and how will they get out. I don't know if they really are trapped. I keep trying to think of different scenerios. Well I will definitely have to get the next book. I am not a young adult but I did enjoy this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.