Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell Picture Perfect, Weddings by Design Series #1 -eBook

Revell Picture Perfect, Weddings by Design Series #1 -eBook

Feisty wedding photographer Hannah McDermott has dealt with her share of difficult brides. But none can compare to the ultimate Bridezilla she's dealing with now. Still, she's trying desperately to impress Bella Neeley, Galveston Island's most sought-after wedding planner, so she can take the top spot in Bella's list of recommended photographers--a spot currently occupied by her arch-rival, Drew Kincaid. What she doesn't count on, however, is falling head over heels for the competition.
Average Customer Rating:
4.455 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
22 out of 22100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Picture Perfect, Weddings by Design Series #1 -eBook
Review 1 for Picture Perfect, Weddings by Design Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome book

Date:March 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Wilani
Location:Franklin, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an awesome book. I could feel like I was right there in Galveston Texas. The characters were so loveable. She is a great writer and I can’t wait to read the next book in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Picture Perfect, Weddings by Design Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Romantic comedy at it's best!

Date:August 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
TellNJasmine
Location:Montana
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What the movies we chicks love to watch SHOULD be like!
Sometimes a reader just needs to sit back and enjoy a book that will make them laugh. Picture Perfect fit that bill perfectly for me. This book was a delightful read, like a breath of air!
Most of the time when I read books I have very little in common with the heroine but this time I was in for a surprise. Hannah's life is almost eerily like my own, some differences being that I do not live in Texas, I am only a fraction Irish, and I am not a business owner. But even then she reminded me of myself, even her insecurities are similar to ones I struggle with. Now all I need is my own 'Drew' and I'll be all set.
Hannah's life is flowing steadily on, hardly a ripple, her business is doing well. But not matter how hard she tries she always seems to come out second best. Everywhere she goes she finds her “Jacquie Goldfarb”, the girl that bested her in high school, and the name she now uses as euphemism for person or situation that beats her or leaves her feeling inadequate. It takes an Italian family, her grandfather's wise sayings, and three ladies from Splendora to help set her aright. Of course a handsome guy and a wonderful best friend don't hurt either. Hannah has to learn to trust God and to stand up for herself with His power.
One of the things I just loved about this book were the chapter headings, all Irish proverbs. I found some familiar and favorite ones “May those who love us, love us. And for those who don't love us, May God turn their hearts. And if He cannot turn their hearts, may He turn their ankles, So we may know them by their limping” (Chapter 2), and some new ones that will become favorites “Blessed are those that can laugh at themselves, For they shall never cease to be amused” (Chapter 21).
This is only the second Janice Thompson book I have read, the first was Fools Rush In, and not only will I be looking for the 2nd and 3rd Weddings By Bella books but I am anxiously awaiting the next Weddings By Design book, The Icing On The Cake. Janice is a master of the Romantic Comedy genre and I am definitely looking forward to more.
If you are looking for a light and absolutely fun read that manages to slip in some valuable lessons about faith and trust, this book is for you.
(I won a copy of this book in a giveaway and am in no way required to review it. All opinions are my own.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Picture Perfect, Weddings by Design Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A PERFECT READ

Date:April 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
barbjan10
Location:Arlington, TX
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It couldn’t have been more apropos that I read Janice Thompson’s story “Picture Perfect” over the St. Patrick’s Day weekend. Perhaps I should say that I giggled, chuckled and laughed aloud throughout my entire read of Hannah McDermott’s situation at this crazy point in her life.
One of my favorite parts of Ms Thompson’s book were all the Irish blessings, sayings, proverbs, and limericks at the beginning of each chapter; and of course Hannah’s Grandfather Aengus’s favorite sayings. But….this story went far beyond the humor to deeper emotions of each main character that the reader could easily relate.
It did my heart good to see the changes taking place between Hannah’s parents after meeting Bella’s large Italian family and friends who were so big hearted and loving toward one and all. A lot of the unexpected became a hectic and normal occurrence in both families’ lives. The Bing and Bob party thrown annually for all the McDermott Irish friends became a huge invasion of the Italian Rossi/Neeley clan. This party turned into a big noisy bash and I can’t understand why the neighbors didn’t complain about all the loud singing. That’s just the luck of the Irish. I do wish I could have imbibed in the Irish and Italian food that fed that bunch. All in fun this intermingling of cultures.
Let’s get to the real story. Hannah McDermott is a wedding photographer located in Galveston, Texas and about to be featured in the Texas Bride Magazine. Hannah has an infamous bride client whose demands on photo details are slightly erratic, including the agent putting intense and not so honest guidelines on Hannah to involve herself in a scam involving wedding publicity. Then, there is Drew Kincaid her archrival photographer. Hannah finds it hard to really dislike this handsome man who shows his considerate sweet side to Hannah, and then she hasn’t a chance of not falling in love with him. God is still in control and moving in His mysterious ways throughout the story.
Having not read any of Janice Thompson’s writings before, I’m now enticed to read the books leading up to this delightful story. It is a fast paced novel with many characters and sentimental moments. If you need a boost out of a low moment – read Ms Thompson’s Picture Perfect of the Weddings by Design series. Oh yes, I forgot to tell you about the McDermott/Kincaid historical feud…..well, I guess you will need to read the book to find out!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Picture Perfect, Weddings by Design Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fun to read but light on plot

Date:March 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Julieanne Miller
Location:Oregon
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Perfect by Janice Thompson is a quirky, interesting book about a wedding photographer who lives in, of all places, Galveston Island. Hannah has two problem people in her life. The first is David Kincaid, who is her competition. David has two strikes against him. He is a very attractive male, and he is a Kincaid.
Why is this a problem?
Well, it seems as if there is a hundred-year feud between the McDermott and Kincaid clans, and Hannah is a McDermott. Also, David is a very good and very good looking successful photographer.
Hannah also has a long time thorn in her flesh, named Jacquie Goldfarb, who has just moved back to town. Jacquie has moved back to town, and seems to want Hannah's friendship! What's that all about? How is Hannah going to keep her business going and deal with these troublesome people without losing her business or her mind?
The book was fun to read, but rather light on plot. Also, a little too much was made of the "TV and movie stars" that just happened to be very friendly and need the services of the wedding photographer on the island.
I enjoyed the Irish sayings at the beginning of each chapter and the information about Galveston Island. Picture Perfect by Janice Thompson is great for a quick light read on a rainy Sunday afternoon.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Picture Perfect, Weddings by Design Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Bella is baaaaack!!!

Date:February 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Janna Ryan
Location:North Platte, NE
Age:35-44
Gender:female
One of my favorite series is the Weddings by Bella series by Janice Thompson. When I found out that Bella was coming back in this new Weddings by Design series I was soooooo excited! She isn't the main character but she is more than a cameo and I couldn't be happier. We get Bella back AND some new starring characters along with all our old favorites. This series is sheer genius and I can NOT wait for books #2 and #3. I just don't think it can get any better than this!
Hannah and Drew make great rivals but even better potential romance interests but how long will it take Hannah to figure that out? Bridezilla is chomping at the bit, having her own storefront for her photography business isn't all its cracked up to be and Hannah just doesn't know how it is all going to work out or if she will just have to throw the towel in. It sure is fun to go along for the ride while she figures it all out!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Picture Perfect, Weddings by Design Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fun Contemporary Romance

Date:February 23, 2013
After reading Janice Thompson's Backstage Pass series last year, I was excited to read Picture Perfect, the first book in the Weddings by Design series. While many readers have been excited to see that Bella's back (!!!), this was my first introduction to Bella and her quirky, fun family. I quickly decided that I needed to go back and read the previous Bella books ASAP!
The beginning was a little slow for me, with the huge emphasis on the Irish family background. It was a little over the top. I grew to really like Hannah and Drew. Despite their competitive start, there was a great chemistry there. It was fun to see their friendship grow. And Bella and her family were a large part of the story and really added a lot of depth. This was a great "chick lit" book, and I'm looking forward to the rest of the series. [4 stars]
I received a free copy of this book from Revell in exchange for my fair and honest review.
Available January 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Picture Perfect, Weddings by Design Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
sunny island breezes
Location:a sunny island
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Janice is back and she’s brought that wonderful group of people in Galveston with her. Add in the Splendora bunch, toss some Irish Americans into the Italian mix, and it turns into a hilarious bunch of quirky characters.
We have super hunk Brock back for awhile, but Drew is a heart stopper I hope ww have around for a nice long while.
He’s Hannah’s competition in the bridal photography business. Both want to be number one on Bella’s list of recommended photographers. In order to do that Hannah has to get through her Bridezilla client’s wedding without doing bodily damage to the bride.
Will she survive long enough to find a love of her own? What kind of obstacle course is out there waiting for her? If this book doesn’t make you smile and feel good, then there’s something terribly amiss with your feelgooder.
***A special thank you to Donna Hausler for providing a review copy.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Picture Perfect, Weddings by Design Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Picture perfect is the perfect read

Date:February 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Loren McGhee
Location:OK
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first time to read a book by Janice Thompson and I really enjoyed it! Picture Perfect is a feel good story that captures perfectly, the love and joy of family, falling in love, and the ups and downs of discovering who we are! Bella is a very successful photographer, however, she feels in life she may never get past the disappointments and the "almosts" that she has faced and recalled endlessly in her mind. It seems with every amazing opportunity she is given, she always seems to fall just short of where she should be. It doesn't help when Bella is given yet another phenomenal opportunity to photograph a wedding, but also in the running is her #1 competitor, Drew Kincaid, who also happens to be oh so handsome! Will Bella be able to believe in herself or will she come up short yet again??
Janice Thompson introduces us to some awesome people and families that would be a blast to spend time with! I could just hear the clanging of the dishes, the laughter and conversations as they all sat around the dinner table and I felt like I could just see the beautiful shots Bella captured through the eyes of her camera. I truly appreciated Bella's journey and how her awareness of who she is in Christ was portrayed. She shared her feelings of doubt and like so many of us, it took time to believe just how much we have to offer and how very special we are in Gods eyes!
I recommend Picture Perfect for any and all! If you have any teens that love to read, this would be a GREAT series for them to begin!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Picture Perfect, Weddings by Design Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Feuding Wedding Photographers and Romance

Date:February 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Janice Thompson in her new book, “Picture Perfect” Book One in the Weddings by Design series published by Revell returns us to Galveston Island and into the life of Hannah McDermott.
From the back cover: She’s trying to focus on her future. How can one man make everything feel so . . . fuzzy?
Hannah McDermott has a successful photography studio. She’ll soon be featured in Texas Bride magazine. And she has a celebrity client whose Galveston ceremony will be her ticket to the top spot on wedding coordinator Bella Neeley’s list of recommended photographers. But it could all come crashing down around her because of one man: archrival and photographer extraordinaire Drew Kincaid.
As the competition between Hannah and Drew heats up, Hannah is surprised to find that it’s not the only thing getting more intense. She can’t get the handsome man out of her thoughts–or even out of her line of sight–and the job of her dreams is turning into a nightmare. Will everything she’s worked for slip out of her hands? And can she see past her pride to find a picture-perfect love?
With contagious humor and a cast of quirky characters, Janice Thompson gives you crazy bridal-business drama, sweet romance, and a satisfying dose of laughter.
It is my experience that, at a wedding, you are just not aware of the wedding photographer. Just like the caterer you know they are there but you just don’t see them. Who would ever think that there could be feuding wedding photographers? Well Janice Thompson for one. What a mind this woman has I am so impressed. Ms. Thompson takes us back to Galveston Island and gives us a new set of characters to go along with Bella and her Italian family from the Weddings By Bella series. Bella is a wedding coordinator and Hannah wants to be one of her recommended photographers. However there is another photographer that also wants that spot and this is where all the fun is. This book is all about relationships within the family and also among friends and how these relationships can affect those we come in contact with. All the characters are likable and Ms. Thompson has a way of bringing you into the story and making the characters lives very real. I am so looking forward to the next book in this series.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
Available February 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Picture Perfect, Weddings by Design Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I ADORED this book!

Date:February 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rosie
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ADORED this book!
I couldn't set it down after I started reading! I truthfully don't know why I haven't read any of Miss Thompson's work until yesterday. Her wonderful writing combined with her humor and relatable characters made for such a great afternoon read. Yes, I did read Picture Perfect in an afternoon. No regrets.
In Picture Perfect we are in the head of the lovely Hannah McDermott. All her life she's believed she's come up second and she's ready to be first. The only negative thing I can think to say about Hannah is that she isn't very close to God yet, however, she is on the right track. We get so up-close and personal with Hannah's thoughts that it really made me feel like I could relate to her and understand her better.
Before I close this review there's a peeve I had that I would like to mention. I did not like how the married women made dreamy/infatuated comments about an actor right in front of their husbands. I mean, how disrespectful is that? But like I said, it was my only big peeve with Picture Perfect and it did not occur often enough to take away from my reading experience.
If you like a good romance tale with some humor, this is the book for you. :-)
Available February 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
I received this book from Revell in return for an honest review of my opinions, which I have done. Thanks!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Picture Perfect, Weddings by Design Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fun, Light-hearted Fiction: Picture Perfect (Weddi

Date:February 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Renee C
Location:PA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ever since I read the Weddings by Bella series many moons ago I've been in love with the Rossi clan and I was sad to see those characters go by the end of book 3. I am so excited that Janice Thompson has decided to bring them back in this brand new series. While they don't have quite as much "page time" in this series the fun, quirky Italian family is back and they're better than ever! Along with some old familiar faces this book introduces us to a new face, Hannah McDermott, Irish woman and photographer extraordinaire as well as a few others. I'd be remiss if I didn't mention that D. J. Neeley the hunky cowboy from the first series makes a cameo BUT he's no longer the only hunk on the scene. Drew Kincaid, Hannah's gorgeous; oh-so-sweet competition will steal your heart. This series is off to a great start, although reading all these books where food is such a big part of the story is not going to be good for my waistline. Hannah, her family along with Drew and others are entertaining and fun. Hannah's struggle with having to be #1 in everything from high school till adulthood but being denied it by a nemesis is something that we can all relate to -- think a toned down, grown-up Mean Girls. Picture Perfect has it all, some laugh-out-loud moments and that curl-your-toes romance. I was so pleased with this story and hope that the next book will be just as cute!
~ My Rating: 4 out of 5 stars ~
“Available February 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.”
*I received a complimentary copy of this book for review from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Picture Perfect, Weddings by Design Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rel Mollet
Location:Australia
You’ve gotta love a Janice Thompson book ~ guaranteed feel good reading, fun and quirky characters, lots of laughs and joyful moments. Picture Perfect is the first in a new series that introduces fresh characters into the world of wedding planner extraordinaire, Bella Neeley, the subject of Janice’s earlier Weddings by Bella series. Janice does a terrific job of creating new characters to love and cheer for as Hannah and Drew search for love and success in their chosen careers as wedding photographers. With plenty of cameo appearances from the Splendora sisters, Rosa, Brock, and DJ, readers old and new alike with enjoy Picture Perfect and be keen to discover Scarlet’s journey towards love and cup cake perfection in The Icing on the Cake this August.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Picture Perfect, Weddings by Design Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fun Read

Date:February 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sally
Location:Tampa, FL
I'd love to live next door to Janice Thompson; she has such a positive outlook. I'm sure we'd be BFFs. I've read several of her novels, and each one has a lighthearted, bouncy plot. As I finished reading this her latest Christian fiction, I closed the book with a contented sigh and a smile on my face. Thompson's done it again!
The protagonist, Hannah McDermott, photographer, nicknamed Shutter Speed by her father still lives at home with her parents. The reader watches as this flawed character struggles with her fledgling business, relationship worries, and low self-esteem. She's easy to like because she thinks and acts like real people.
Clan McDermotts are a proud people, and each chapter offers an Irish blessing at its beginning. References to Grandpa Aengus are interspersed throughout the story, adding more Irish flavor. How I'd love to be invited to their annual Bing and Bob party. What a fun idea!
As a fan of Dancing with the Stars, I've introduced it to my husband, and therefore, I understand the resistance of Hannah's father, Michael McDermott to viewing it. I chucked as he, like my husband, is drawn bit by bit to sneek a peek until (at last!) he becomes a fan.
It's fun to watch Hannah blossom into her happy ending.
If you want a fun book to read, get a copy of this one. I sure enjoyed it.
Thank you to Donna Hausler at Baker Publishing Group for my copy.
Available February, 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Picture Perfect, Weddings by Design Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

QUICK FUN READ!

Date:February 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
My Book Addiction
Location:North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
PICTURE PERFECT(WEDDINGS BY DESIGN) by Janice Thompson is an interesting inspirational contemporary romance set in Galveston. Book 1 in the new series "Weddings By Design". If you read any of Ms. Thompson's stories than you know she enjoys writing about weddings,and love with quirky characters and a bit of humor. You will not be disappointed with "Picture Perfect". Follow Hannah McDermott, photographer,and her archival Drew Kincaid on a journey of drama,a strong attraction to each other with a bit of humor on the way. Filled with wedding business drama,romance,faith,and love. With a bit of Irish charm included you will find your "Picture Perfect" read. A really great,quick,fun read! Bella is back in town,if you enjoyed the "Bella" series, you will enjoy this one just as much if not more. Received for an honest review from the publisher.
RATING: 4
HEAT RATING: SWEET
REVIEWED BY: AprilR, My Book Addiction and More/My Book Addiction Reviews
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Picture Perfect, Weddings by Design Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Picture Perfect

Date:February 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the first book in a new series based on The Bella Series. This one will give you a lot of chuckles, and warm your heart!
Hannah McDermott is a very talented and successful photographer. What she does have is very low self esteem, which she tributes to her high school nemesis Jacquie Goldfarb.
There is also a person who she feels is her today's Jacquie...another local photographer Drew Kincaid. She feels he is out to get her!! What she does to him at the restaurant...ugh!! and funny!
They are both on Bella list of the top photographer's...Jacquie, aka Drew is number 1, and Hannah is number 2.
Your in for a delightful treat when you read this one. Be ready for some really great Italian meals, yes!, and some Irish ones thrown in. Your also going to a fun Bing and Bob party! Who are Bing and Bob, why Bing Crosby and Bob Hope. On the Road!!
Wait until you hear the tales Hannah's Dad tells, his nose should be growing. All in all this is a fun, quick read.
I received this book through Revell's Blogging Program, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Picture Perfect, Weddings by Design Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Picture Perfect is a cute, humorously sweet story

Date:February 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Blooming with Books
Location:Bloomer, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Perfect
Weddings by Design # 1
By Janice Thompson
Hannah McDermott's photography career is about to take off big time unless she manages to somehow sabotage herself. She's going to be featured in Texas Bride and she she's shooting country-western singer Sierra Caswell's wedding. All she needs now is to get to the top spot on Bella Neeley's list of recommended photographers.
But the competition comes in a hard to top photographer named Drew Kincaid. Everywhere she goes it seems Drew is there too. The interviewer for Texas Bride schedules an interview with Drew just as Hannah's is wrapping up. To top it off Hannah accidentally drops her coffee in Drew's lap just as she notices her mismatched shoes.
But does Hannah's career and happiness truly depend on impressing Bella? Hannah feels that her worth depends on the success of her photography studio. After all she's the oldest of four girls and the only one unmarried and still living at home with her parents.
But her parents are in a rut. Every night it is the same thing - dinner at 6:01, television, and bed. Hannah's mother wants to cook something other than the same old standard meals that her father insists on. Her father is all things Irish - telling the stories of Grandpa Aengus and Irish proverbs for every situation.
As Hannah gets the chance to know Drew she discovers that he's a nice guy who cares about people. Can the competition become something more or will the McDermott/Kincaid feud from Ireland carry over in Galveston, Texas? But when her golden opportunity begins turning into a nightmare can Hannah turn to the competition for help? And even more important will Drew want to help her save her studio?
Picture Perfect is a cute, humorously sweet story that will leaving you waiting for book 2 in the Weddings by Design series! It is truly a story about family and finding satisfaction in what we have and not being afraid to become more than what we are.
I was provided a copy of this book by the publisher for the purpose of this review and all opinions are my own.
Available February 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Picture Perfect, Weddings by Design Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Who's on First?

Date:February 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Valerie
Location:BC, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Hannah McDermott has struggled with feelings of inadequacy all her life. She's always done "pretty well," with first prize going to someone else. So, though her wedding photography business is expanding and thriving, she feels she's going to lose her edge when handsome Drew Kincaid opens a photography studio nearby.
Hannah is desperate to impress the premier wedding planner on Galveston Island, Texas, but it's not going to be an easy road to the top of Bella Neeley's list. Not when it seems that Drew is already a personal friend of Bella's. Hannah has been hired to shoot a major country music star's nuptials, but the woman is a total diva. Is this make-it-or-break-it wedding going to be worth the agony to Hannah? Or should she just let it go to her rival?
It's hard to vie against someone who just wants to share tips and be your friend--or possibly more. Drew doesn't seem to have a competitive bone in his body, and it drives Hannah crazy. Before long, he's disrupted her life, won over her parents (no easy feat--she got her Irish competitiveness from somewhere!), and managed to haunt Hannah's nights and daylight hours.
All the while, the diva's wedding date is marching closer and the demands are increasing. Will following through with her signed contract cost Hannah everything?
Just once, she'd like to come in first. Not just with Bridezilla but, to her surprise, with Drew. But to reach into her future, she has to come to grips with her past and shake the curse of second-best once and for all.
If you're a fan of Janice Thompson's earlier books, you won't be disappointed in Picture Perfect, first in her new Weddings by Design series. Some characters from the Weddings by Bella series and Backstage Pass series grace this book, and I have my guesses as to where the current series will take us. However, if you haven't read the others stories, I don't think you'll be too lost.
Enjoy light-hearted but distinctly Christian contemporary romance? Pick up Picture Perfect and settle in for a fun read about the wedding business.
Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Picture Perfect, Weddings by Design Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

PERFECT way to bring back Bella, etc.!

Date:February 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Regina
Location:Kentucky
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PICTURE PERFECT was the PERFECT way to bring back the characters from the “Weddings by Bella” series, while branching out to all the other fascinating aspects of organizing a wedding! As a true “Bella” fan who has read the earlier series more than once, PICTURE PERFECT has the same feeling of humor and spiritual awareness that I have come to expect in Janice Thompson’s writing.
Written in first person from the perspective of Hannah Grace McDermott, her Irish American sensibilities and family add yet another aspect of fun to the whole Texas-Italian flavor of the “Bella” books. As an up-and-coming photographer in Galveston, TX, how is a good Irish girl supposed to compete with a photographer who is not only a great photographer . . . but a great catch, as well?
Come along as we watch Dancing with the Stars, eat lots of Italian food, see Hannah’s mother doing very non-Irish things, and meet wedding-planner Bella’s adorable children and reconnect with her zany family – including the amazing Splendora Sisters!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Picture Perfect, Weddings by Design Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another great book by Janice Thompson

Date:February 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
ECowgill
Location:Georgia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Janice Thompson has done it again. She has a new series of wedding stories and the first one, "Picture Perfect," recently hit the bookstores. Fans of her first wedding series "Weddings by Bella" will be pleased to know that Bella is back in this second series titled, "Weddings by Design."
In "Picture Perfect, the focus is on two competitive, successful photographers, Hannah Grace McDermott and Drew Kincaid. As they compete for the top-rated photographer in Galveston Texas...well, I won't give the plot away - you simply must buy the book!
Janice has the most delightful sense of humor and that shines through in all of her books. In my opinion, this book is her best yet as she sprinkles humor throughout the book. Her humor is added with such finesse, that it sneaks up on you and you find yourself laughing at unexpected moments. Another enjoyable feature of "Picture Perfect" are the Irish sayings and/or blessings at the beginning of each chapter and the Bonus Feature of Grandpa Aengus's Favorite Irish Sayings at the end of the book.
Fans of Janice Thompson's books will love "Picture Perfect" as much as her other wedding-themed books. And if you've never read any of Janice's books, you really must read this one--and then go back and read the series "Weddings by Bella." Or read the series first and then "Picture Perfect." Just read them. You won't regret it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Picture Perfect, Weddings by Design Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Bella's Back!!

Date:February 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Casey
Location:Oregon
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The title pretty much says it all: picture perfect. You might think me sappy or a hopeless romantic (both of which I am), but I think this novel was pretty close to being the fun romantic read I expected it to be.
Have you read the Weddings by Bella series? Well if you haven’t, I’ll try to forgive you, but in all seriousness you don’t need to have read them before picking this one up. That said, you’ll have so much more fun with the cast and crew of this novel if you have. Every single member of our large Italian family (and some new additions) are back for round two and are bringing the fun with them!
Hannah and Drew are “feuding” photographers that well…sigh... (and that pretty much says it all). It’s a sweet romance with humor a plenty and good times by abundance. I also appreciate the liberal mention of food. Haha!
Plenty of dialogue for a rom-com and a kiss or two that makes you wiggle your toes and sigh (or is that just me??).
It’s a winner. Plenty of sweetness. Plenty of romance. And like reconnecting with old friends that you never forgot for one day how much you loved them.
This review is my honest opinion. Thanks to the publishers for my copy to review.
**Available February 2013 from Revell, a division of Baker Publishers**
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>