Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House The Search Committee

Tyndale House The Search Committee

It's time to find a new preacher; and what better way to do so then a road trip, with seven unlikely volunteers in an Econoline van. They slip into services all across the southeast, and through this journey start forming unlikely friendships and deep bonds as they share their burdens and life experiences with one another. What started as seven individuals only able to agree on stopping for coffee became a journey of discovery and laughter that profoundly changed their lives.
Average Customer Rating:
4.08 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
13
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
0
22 out of 2588%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Search Committee
Review 1 for The Search Committee
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Pleasant Surprise

Date:July 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Hersheyreader
Location:Hershey, PA
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have to admit, I purchased this book because it was a really good price at a book sale. However, I reluctantly opened it, and had a preconceived idea that I wasn't going to enjoy it. I was wrong! It was a pleasant surprise. I really enjoyed it. It was a lighthearted, humorous read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Search Committee
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A surprising treat for readers...

Date:August 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Deena Peterson
Location:Olivehurst, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
This is one of those books that takes you by surprise. I was prepared to read about a denominational church looking for a new pastor. What I found was a Mitford-like cast of unlikely characters, banded together in an old church van traveling the countryside in search of...
...themselves in Christ. From Travis who can't seem to conquer lust and fear of being a father, to Dot...a woman who has 'let herself go' and fears losing her husband to a woman more kept together, you'll be likely to find someone to identify with.
After a few chapters I began skipping the opening excerpts from a Presbyterian guide book/hand book...for me, that took away from the novel. Popping into a variety of churches and looking over the shoulders of the search committee...now, that was worth digging in and reading!
Tim Owens is a deserving winner of "Operation First Novel", and has written an engaging story of believers working out their relationships with God and with one another...all while searching for the ideal shepherd to guide their flock.
I received an advance copy via NetGalley from Tyndale Publishing in exchange for an honest review. Honestly...don't miss this one! Highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Search Committee
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fun book with quirky characters

Date:August 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A plethora of personalities!
Seven church members are on a mission, to find a preacher for their small Presbyterian congregation. A van of personalities could not be more mixed, come along with The Search Committee as they look for their next pastor and reminisce about days gone past.
Will they find the pastor of their dreams?
I loved the character diversity, and how each person had their own stand-out personality. I really liked getting to know the characters and when it went back to revive some of their memories was really great because through their memories I got to see another side of them or perhaps a bit of buried hurt.
There were many humorous parts, or even just the way that certain characters handled themselves in certain situations. This book felt like a small town read, even though the actual town wasn't really in the book, through the characters we could see the sense of community and diversity just through the few in the van.
Overall this was a highly enjoyable read, that was fun and really focused on the characters, we got to see how they each had different expectations for what they wanted to shepherd their congregation.
A relaxing read, that is also highly engaging.
No review required :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Search Committee
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A good read

Date:August 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Shirley Pease
Location:upstate New York
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I very much enjoyed this book--funny and poignant!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Search Committee
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Epic - A must read

Date:July 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
hannah97
Location:Cottonwood, CA
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Search Committee is a good book that kept me entertained. It was humorous and serious; the author did a good job blending it all together. I would recommend this book to a friend in a heartbeat.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Search Committee
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A Truly Unique Story

Date:July 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Columbus, GA
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"The Search Committee" is a truly unique book. I enjoyed reading it, though. There are some things I’d like to say about it, but can’t because it would give away the ending. I won’t do that to you. Thankfully, the author discusses these things in the reading guide at the end of the book—so, if you read the book, don’t skip that part.
"The Search Committee" is the story of a diverse group of people chosen by their church to find a new minister. Over the course of a year, they travel on weekends to visit different churches in three southern states to listen to pastors who have indicated a desire to move. Our denomination doesn’t use search committees, so this process was new to me. The characters themselves weren’t entirely comfortable with it, as they had to try to slip in unnoticed and not let people know they were thinking of luring their pastors away.
The story wasn’t really about one church’s search for a new pastor, though. Between accounts of visits to churches were chapters about the individuals’ lives—all the stories behind the story. The search committee was made up of people, not saints, who were serving their church while also living out their unique lives, recovering from their pasts, figuring out their presents, and looking toward their futures.
Living in the South for now myself, I didn’t feel like the author’s portrayal of this location was entirely accurate. Sometimes he was right on target, but most of the time, it seemed the book must have really been set forty or more years back in time. The author does say, in an interview at the back of the book, that the idea for the book came from his own experience on a real search committee.
I am reviewing this book, which I obtained on my own, as part of Tyndale House Publisher’s Summer Reading Program.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Search Committee
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Review from a Man's Perspective

Date:June 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rick
Location:Middleburg, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Having grown up in church all my life, I've seen the formation and conclusion of many search committees. I haven't, though, ever seen the intricate inner working of what makes up this group of individuals.
In "The Search Committee" by Tim Owens, we are introduced to 7 members of the church that have been tasked to travel to various churches to listen to and observe prospective ministers. When I saw this book, I thought it would be a interesting read, one that would be fun to see what happens when this group heads out to find a new pastor. I won't say that I was disappointed, but I will say that this wasn't what I thought it would be. The characters seem to be made up of some of the shallowest members of the congregation from this church. The story seemed to drag on up until its predictable ending. There really wasn't any character that made me cheer, cry, laugh or cringe.
So is this a "man's book"? This book doesn't really contain any of the main characteristics that I would look for to call a book a "man's book". I would say that some people may enjoy this book, but this isn't one for "this man".
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Search Committee
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
hapekmpr
Location:chicago
Age:45-54
Gender:female
i loved this book, it was a fun read with characters that felt like someone you would know from your own church. ending was good not a cheesy quick tell to get the book over with.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Search Committee
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Instant download

Date:July 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Gnsy girl
Location:Uk
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Although almost predictable it was a relaxing read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Search Committee
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Entertaining

Date:May 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Melinda
I enjoyed this books twists and turns. Peppered with humor and insight.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Search Committee
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Fun Read

Date:March 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Search Committee is written by Tim Owens and published by Tyndale House Publishers.
This is a fun book! The characters are all interesting and make this book an easy read. The plot centers on a group of church members looking for a new pastor. Their personalities are well developed and make this book a must read.
Each person in this group of searchers has their own life and problems to handle as well as trying to find the right person to be their new pastor. From a single mom to a husband not sure about being ready for fatherhood, each person encounters struggles you will relate to. How the characters interact with each other is very real to life. I liked how they helped each other even though they were going through their own struggles. I especially liked the conclusions of all the story lines.
The ending of the book has some great discussion questions to talk about if you are reading this book in a group setting. I found the questions very helpful in making me think more about the story the author was presenting in the book. Although it is a fictional story you can still learn some great practical and Biblical principles that will help you grow as a Christian. Overall it was an enjoyable read that you can actually learn from!
I would like to thank NetGalley and the publisher for the copy of this book I enjoyed reading. I gave an honest review based on my opinion of what I read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Search Committee
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
matt5fourteen
Location:Dresden, OH
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I happened to get this book from CBD because I saw that it had a good price and I had been craving a Christian novel. The Search Committee is a pretty easy read. While it wasn't the best book I've ever read, I'd definitely pass it on to my reader friends.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Search Committee
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Sweet Story

Date:February 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A good reminder that we never know what another person is living with.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Search Committee
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Imperfect People Looking For A Perfect Pastor

Date:February 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Floyd Johnson
Location:Upstate NY
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
People are broken - whether they are member of a church or not, whether they are members of a search committee or not, or whether they are pastors looking for a place to serve. Tim Owens understood this as he wrote The Search Committee.
The book draws the reader in - I became attached in small ways to each member of the search committee and to others. I found tears as Pastor John found his voice anew and as Matt realized the grace he was allowed to show to Julie. I cried for Dot and Bill as they each experienced loss in their unique ways. As Pastor John says in one sermon, these events are all evidence of the brokeness that is part of the human race. And it is for this brokeness that Christ gave his life.
God is not about meeting perfect people - God reaches out to imperfect, broken people, and uses them where they are. And when he does, amazing things can happen. This is the story of The Search Committee.
______________
This review is based on a free electronic copy provided by the publisher for the purpose of creating this review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Search Committee
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

searching, searching, found

Date:January 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
beckie
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I received "The Search Committee" by Tim Owens for free from Tyndale Media Center. This novel is about a church in North Carolina that is searching for a pastor. Theirs has gone on to the "big time" and they now have a temp. The group is 7 people who are supposed to represent the congregation in age, sex, and relationship status. They travel every week to different churches that the minister is interested in the job to see him (or in one case, her) in action. During this period, the author leads us to get to know the members of the search committee and the temporary minister on a personal level.
This is a really good book and a think piece. I kept thinking through out the book, "how well do I really know my fellow congregation?" I don't really. I don't know what they have nightmares about, I don't know who has a crush on who, I don't know who was abused by their father's as children, I don't know who is abusing their children now. The characters are portrayed as real church members. Goody-goody, holier-than-thou while at church (admit it, we all do that), but at home they are broken, nervous, funny, sad, dependable, not dependable, stupid, smart, regular people. This novel also shares some of the sermons that the search committee hears while on the road. I like this one. It is Tim Owens' first novel and I hope he writes more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Search Committee
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Must Read for Church Leaders!

Date:January 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jim Kane
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
“It had occurred to Travis that it was hard work trying to steal a preacher. There was no easy way to do it.”
When Tim Owens’ book became available via the Tyndale House Blogger Review program, I had to get it. Its title, ‘The Search Committee,” caught my attention as I had an idea of what it would be about. I was not disappointed. And it was about more than I expected with an ending (that you will have to read for yourself) that I did not see coming.
Now in my 25th year of being a minister/pastor/Reverend, I have had some interesting experiences as a pastoral candidate having served 4 churches in that time period. But I have been interviewed by probably another four to five churches as well.
I have also interviewed search committees as well. (The interview with my current congregation’s search committee lasted three hours at the local Pizza Hut!) However, the experience of being visited by a search committee (incognito) has not (as far as I know) been done to me. I have made judgments (yes judgments) about those sitting around a table in a room or restaurant as to their motivations and expectations.
And yet in the journey in that ancient Ford van which forms the basic setting in Owens’ novel, seven members of a North Carolina Presbyterian church; Travis, Bill, Frankie, Matt, Dot, Joyce, and Susie; present us with an unforgettable journey not just to churches and preachers and bathrooms as they seek a pastor. They are also generational representatives of the various groups which congregations and their leaders spend so much time, print/pixel, and money on trying to understand and reach.
There is: Travis and Matt the young adults who are still trying to figure what they want to do and what life is about. Susie, the single parent in her thirties. Bill and Frankie the retired members. Dot and Joyce, the former the church gossip and the latter a widow who is not from the area. They take us on the journeyinward to their souls and backward into their pasts that affect who they are and which, I think, shapes in ways apparent and not-so-apparent their likes and dislikes; their preferences and their revulsions; in and with ministers.
And it is this journey, their back stories, that constitute the core of this award winning novel. For it is in their journeys, their flashbacks, the vivid dreams, and the unfolding events of their lives outside the van trips and church visits, we see that in their search for a pastor, they are in search of grace, hope, direction, and love, both human and divine, in their own lives. And we see them, not as representatives of a local church, but of the human race as well.
And though the chapters begin with quotes from the Presbyterian Book of Order as well as references from the Bible, and there are brief passages of sermons appropriate to the story setting, there is only a cursory discussion of theology per se. Rather, the deeper and more important takes places within the characters themselves. What is more germane to this book is the human element of ministry and not the theological issues of the day.
This book is well written with credible characters and I give it a 4 out of 5 star rating.
Note: I received a free copy of this book from Tyndale House Publishers in exchange for a review of this book. I was not required to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Search Committee
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Itty-Bitty Faith

Date:January 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Life Worth Serving
Location:Paulding Co., Ga
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If any of you have ever attended a church long enough, you will discover there are times when a Pastor must move on to bigger or better things. For whatever reason God calls them to move on and with moving on it leaves a congregation searching. In The Search Committee Tim Owens pairs up seven of the most diverse group of characters to search for a new pastor for their Presbyterian church. This diverse group of characters represent the people groups of the church.
We are introduced to Travis who represents the young married professionals of the church. We also see Bill who is a retiree. and Frankie who is about 70 yrs. old...and the leader of the pact. We find Matt, who is in his early 30's, unemployed, with a PhD living with his dad. We are also introduced to Dot, a middle-aged housewife and gossip. Then there is Joyce, a widowed 60 yr old misplaced from NY. Last but not least, we find a 30 something divorcee who is raising a teenaged son.
At the beginning of each chapter Tim Owens scribes either a scripture from the Bible or an excerpt from the Book of Confessions or the Book of Order from the Presbyterian Church which leads his readers into what the chapter will focus on. I found this tidbit of info to be helpful simply because I have never attended a Presbyterian church and know nothing of this denomination or its beliefs. I was able to more fully understand the beliefs and ideologies of the church.
What I loved most about the book as a whole is that Tim didn't try to create over-spiritual characters that we couldn't relate to. They each represented what we would, as mere humans, experience in our own lives. I could relate to many of the "issues" that this small group of people had, which makes it a good read in and of itself.
"If you believe just a little, itty-bitty bit, you can say to the mountain, 'Move', and the mountain has to move." ~Mrs. Bryant (a small but powerful character)
As this search committee heads out across three states in search of a new pastor for their church, they find themselves on some of the most hilarious adventures as they enter different restaurants and churches. As they drive along, the committee takes notice of the different church signs along the way...in which Travis writes them all down. As the search unfolds, so do the issues of their own lives. Will this group of rag-tag characters find the right pastor that will lead them into a more Christ-like life? Or will the itty-bitty bit of faith be the moving force of the mountains in their lives? Each member of the group is searching for something...will that searching truly be found through finding a pastor or will they bond as a group and find what they are truly longing for?
I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who has ever had to deal with lust, gossip, loss, divorce, love, or searching for God while feeling like their faith is too small. (Which I think would be everyone).
I received this book free to review from Tyndale House. The review and opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Search Committee
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

great entertaining read

Date:January 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mark
Location:USA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Take seven people with different personalities, put them in a van to travel in search of a new pastor, and you have the makings of some funny stuff, or a disaster.
The book has a lot of humor in it. To me, the idea of a search committee is foreign to me. A handful (sometimes I think it boils down to one guy, the church boss) of people decide who the church will call, and members vote on him, so I was interested and entertained by how the search committee works. It actually sounds kind of fun.
Each individual on the committee has problems and struggles they are dealing with. None of them are perfect. One struggles with lust. Another loses a spouse. As they travel from church to church, they learn more about each other and how to be there for others.
If there is a lesson to be learned from this book, I would say there are two actually. First off, none of us are perfect, but God loves us anyway and keeps working on us. Secondly, sometimes what we are looking for is right in front of us, and we don't need to go looking elsewhere. I enjoyed reading this book, and would recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Search Committee
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Has Potential but Disappointing

Date:January 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mocha with Linda
Location:Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I wanted to really like this book and I stayed with it all the way through, but I was disappointed in it overall. I always hesitate to give less than positive reviews, as opinions are so subjective, but I won't rubber stamp my approval on a book that doesn't meet my standards. This novel has the potential to be really good with some additional editing. It has some great moments that folks who are long-time church goers will recognize all too well. Some will give a smile, while others might make you wince! Chapters vary between the committee's Sunday visits as a group to screen pastoral candidates and their individual lives and difficulties. It includes several of the sermons preached by those being considered, and some good points are made in those. I like that the committee members are real and flawed and dealing with a variety of very believable challenges and hurts. However, the resolutions fall short of what I expect from Christian fiction and are more in line with what I consider marginally "religious" books. To top it off, a portrayal of an incident in a neighboring church near the end of the book is a caricature that only perpetuates extreme denominational stereotypes and is disappointing to see in a Christian novel. I found it over the top and rather offensive. Tyndale's name has always been associated with some great books, but this one needs some work before I can recommend it.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Tyndale as part of their Blogger Review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Search Committee
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fun, thoughtful and delightful read

Date:January 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
BroCraig
Location:Winnsboro, LA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received a complimentary copy of this book for review purposes from Tyndale House. The book, in short, is a hilarious, but serious look at a seven member committee charged with finding a new pastor for their small church. It has a "Jan Karon Mitford series" kind of ring to it. That brought a smile to my face. Tim is not copying Jan, but his book falls in the same vein and is much appreciated by those looking for such a ride that this book takes you on.
Having only been on the Pastor end of such a situation I do feel that this book truly "tells it like it is" when a committee heads to a church to hear a prospective candidate.
The characters are well developed and truly human. One gets the feeling one knows them. There were some unexpected incidents that truly made the story believable. I highly encourage all church members to read this book, even if you haven't served on a search committee. It's a light and easy read, but has enough depth to make you want to look for another book by Tim Owens. I certainly hope he is working on another.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>