Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Publishers Firefly Island, Moses Lake Series #3 -eBook

Bethany House Publishers Firefly Island, Moses Lake Series #3 -eBook

At thirty-four, congressional staffer Mallory Hale is about to embark on an adventure completely off the map. After a whirlwind romance, she is hopelessly in love with two men--fortunately, they're related. Daniel Everson and his little boy, Nick, are a package deal, and Mallory suddenly can't imagine her future without them.

Mallory couldn't be more shocked when Daniel asks her to marry him, move to Texas, and form a family with him and motherless Nick. The idea is both thrilling and terrifying.

Average Customer Rating:
4.552 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(58 Reviews) 58
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (58 reviews)
5 stars
37
4 stars
16
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 star
0
56 out of 5897%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Firefly Island, Moses Lake Series #3 -eBook
Review 1 for Firefly Island, Moses Lake Series #3 -eBook
This review is fromFirefly Island, Moses Lake #3.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:January 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
nomer15
Gender:female
"Firefly Island" by Lisa Wingate is the third book in the "Moses Lake" series. Mallory Hale was working as a legislative assistant on Capitol Hill when a chance encounter allowed her to meet Daniel Everson, a biochemist working for the USDA. A whirlwind courtship culminates is a quick marriage and move to Moses Lake, Texas, where Daniel begins a unique job opportunity. Daniel is immediately immersed in his work, leaving Mallory to adjust to life as stepmom to three-year-old Nick and figure out a way to fit in rural Texas.
Questions are immediately raised about Daniel's new boss, who comes across as mysterious, demanding, and intimidating. As Daniel spends more and more time away from home, Mallory immerses herself in settling in. She starts a blog about her transition from city girl to cow girl. As she gets to know the people in her new town, she begins to see great needs there for things like education and making healthier foods available to all. The last few chapters of the book are dedicated to the unraveling of political intrigue.
Overall, the book was just okay. It was told in the first-person, which caused it to fall a little bit flat. The characters lacked depth. There were a number of interesting pieces to the storyline, but they felt a little disconnected from one another. It was a bit slow and unrealistic to start off, but the action picked up in the second half of the book. This was my first dive into a Lisa Wingate novel; I liked it enough to try another one, but I will "proceed with caution".
(I’ve received this complimentary book from Bethany House Publishers through the Book Blogger program in exchange for a review. A positive review was not required and the views expressed in my review are strictly my own.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Firefly Island, Moses Lake Series #3 -eBook
This review is fromFirefly Island, Moses Lake #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Pleasantly Surprised!

Date:December 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bern
Location:California
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really wasn't sure what to expect when I started reading this book. I was not familiar with the author and unsure if I would be able to "get into the book". I was pleasantly surprised!
Lisa Wingate is a wonderful storyteller! I thoroughly enjoyed her voice and how she pulled me. The beginning of the book immediately brought out the curiosity in me, as I wondered, "where is this going?"
In the beginning, we're introduced to Mallory, a single gal in her 30's working on Capitol Hill as a legislative assistant. She's focused on her career and really thought that family life was not in the cards for her. In steps, Daniel and all that changes. And she doesn't just fall in love with her "soul mate", Daniel is a package deal that comes with 3 year old, Nick. Despite her reservation and to her utter surprise, her bond with Nick happens more quickly than she would have imagined. And before she can blink an eye, she's married to Daniel, a mother to Nick, and off on an "adventure" as her new husband accepts a position in a remote part of Texas, Moses Lake.
Initially, Moses Lake seems like a slow, small town. But over time, Mallory comes to find that the people she meets are not what they appear to be. As Mallory becomes more involved with the people of Moses Lake, she finds that they are simply people much different from her city upbringing and upper middle class ways - but people nonetheless. And it is at this time, that Mallory changes.
As I began reading the book, there was no mention of faith or even a belief in God. In fact, the characters of Mallory and Daniel, were not church attenders and there was no any mention of a faith based upbringing. Lisa Wingate was able to seamlessly weave in the notion of God and His sovereignty through one of the supporting characters, Keren. Through Mallory's friendship with Keren, God's hand in our lives comes to life as Mallory wrestles with the idea of God using us right where we are.
This is where I was pleasantly surprised. Normally, I prefer that the books I read, have more faith-based characters, but I have to admit that I appreciated the way Mallory's life was written in a very honest way and how her relationship with God is evolving and growing, slowly. The storyline was compelling enough to make the reader wonder where it was going and it was all woven together so well, that I needed to finish the book. It was pleasant surprise to see the story come full circle and not in the way I had imagined.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Firefly Island, Moses Lake Series #3 -eBook
This review is fromFirefly Island, Moses Lake #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Delightful style of writing

Date:September 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pamla
Location:Arkansas, USA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When reading Firefly Island I felt like the main character Mallory could have easily been me. A career driven woman with a family that loves her and a dream job that she is willing to leave all behind for a man she loves. I like the mystery behind the small town, Moses Lake, her laughable "honeymoon" destination that is her new home. She quickly finds out that small town like is no much different than the politics of Washington, D.C. where she came from. Mallory has to learn to TRUST, which is hard for her but in the end is part of the beautiful reward she receives.
I asked my friend Hannah to finish reading this book for me and write the review. I was only a third of the way thru the book (and enjoying it very much) when circumstances intervened that did not allow me to finish it in a timely manner. What I was able to read I found delightful and appreciated Lisa Wingate's style in bringing Mallory to life. No matter what your age and where you are in your life we all have doubts when starting a relationship and trust in God is what brings us thru. I recommend the book and hope you will make it a point to read it. I received a free copy from Bethany House for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Firefly Island, Moses Lake Series #3 -eBook
This review is fromFirefly Island, Moses Lake #3.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

what a lake

Date:June 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
beckie
Age:35-44
Gender:female
"Firefly Island" by Lisa Wingate is book #3 in the Moses Lake series. These books do not need to be read in order to be understood and enjoyed. I have read #2, but not #1. Moses Lake is a very dramatically charged lake. I have reviewed "Blue Moon Bay" and this is another politically dynamic novel. The story centers on the same area and some of the characters intermix, but are not main characters or even side characters; they are mentioned. Mallory is a working in DC when she meets Daniel on St Patrick's Day. It is love at first sight. Daniel, a single father, soon after the meeting, gets a job in Texas. In a whirlwind romance and engagement, they are married and living in Texas with their son, Nick, two months later. Mallory has a lot to learn about being on her own and living in the country. The more she learns, the more she realizes that something is going on on Moses Lake. She's just the woman to find out what.
This is a sort of Nancy Drew mystery for adults. It's got romance, (step)parenting, farm life, small town affairs, you name it. I really enjoyed this book. This make two A books for Wingate and I will now be adding her to my list of must-read authors. A-. I received this book for free from Bethany House Publishers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Firefly Island, Moses Lake Series #3 -eBook
This review is fromFirefly Island, Moses Lake #3.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Political Intrigue Meets Romance

Date:May 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Laundry Lady
Location:Bethlehem, PA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I can honestly say that I’ve never read a book quite like this one. When I read the description I figured this was just another romance novel, perhaps a unique take on it, but still a romance.
Young lobbyist accidentally meets a young environmental researcher and they fall in love. Causing her to leave the rigors of politics behind, following him and his six year old son to a once in a lifetime opportunity to do research. But very quickly, the romance becomes nearly secondary to the story. While the book mostly focuses on political intrigue there is definitely a flavor of thriller to it as well.
Mallory Hale is a classic high powered career woman but with uncharacteristic domestic yearnings. Daniel Everson is every inch the quiet, brooding but tender scientist. Top it off with Daniel’s young son Nick who is adorable though perhaps not entirely realistic, you can’t help but love this trio. Mallory’s attempts to become a wife and mother practically overnight in a small rural town where she knows no one is compelling and accessible. The minor characters of the locals fill out the cast and make me want to leave it all behind too and start over in Moses Lake.
Would I recommend it? Yes, it’s definitely an unusual piece of fiction that is worth a read.
I was not compensated for this review but I did receive a free copy of the book to review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Firefly Island, Moses Lake Series #3 -eBook
This review is fromFirefly Island, Moses Lake #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Intriguing Contemporary Fiction!

Date:May 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
dianaFlow
Location:W Columbia, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In Firefly Island, Lisa Wingate once again takes the reader off on an intriguing, romantic journey to Moses Lake---beautiful in its isolation; with fresh water-scented air, a vast array of wildflowers blooming under huge oaks, horses, and bluebirds flitting about. A seemingly idyllic place to live, but shrouded in an aura of mystery.
Mallory Hale is use to the hustle and bustle of life on Capitol Hill, but a chance encounter with a green eyed, handsome man with the most winsome smile, changes the course of her life forever. After a whirlwind courtship, Mallory agrees to marry the man of her dreams, Daniel Everson, and start a new life with him and his stepson, Nick.
All too soon, Mallory finds her whole life swiftly changing as Daniel accepts a job in Moses Lake, Texas. Mallory quickly adapts to motherhood, but not to the bug and rat infested, nasty cabin she and her new family is expected to live in---nor the isolation of Moses Lake. As she meets the few residents of Moses Lake and hears rumors of a murder mystery surrounding Daniel's new boss...can Mallory find the courage to risk everthing to save the very place she isn't sure she wants in the first place?
This is my first novel by Lisa Wingate and what a truly talented and intelligent author she is. With realistic fleshed out characters, and an intriguing storyline this is a must read for all contemporary fiction lovers. The story is written in first person so the reader gets to feel what the heroine is actually going through and live the details of her everyday life. With the exception of adorable three year old Nick, I just didn't fall in love with any of the secondary characters. Liked them--yes...loved them--no. I just couldn't identify with any of them, I suppose, realistic though they were. But the main characters more than made up for that, and with an exciting conclusion, and a spiritual (but not overpowering) theme throughout, this book is one to put at the top of your TBR list! Nicely done, Lisa Wingate.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Firefly Island, Moses Lake Series #3 -eBook
This review is fromFirefly Island, Moses Lake #3.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Thoroughly Enjoyed!

Date:May 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Casey
Location:Oregon
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It’s a romance flip. The wedding doesn’t close the book, it opens the story and I think I was pretty much captured by that premise alone.
I personally love the first person writing style. Done really well, the reader is welcomed into the story in one of the most intimate ways. To do so, you really have to come to like the main character and I loved Mallory. She struggled and fought through what was less than the ideal, but she transformed through her circumstances. Now true, every good novel character is going to change, but I love to watch a good character refuse to let her circumstances define her.
Mallory and Daniel truly love each other in this story. There is no false glamour, (though there are false expectations for sure), but it broke the mold of the normal tried and true romance formula.
The premise of the book definitely has some high concept elements with the politics, and the lies and cheats woven amongst our less-than-shining secondary cast of seedy characters. A hint of mystery and intrigue to mix with our romance.
Beginning to end I thought the story crafting was fabulous. The characters very likeable and the pace exceptional. All in all: a thumbs-up read!
This review is my honest opinion. Thanks to the publishers for my copy to review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Firefly Island, Moses Lake Series #3 -eBook
This review is fromFirefly Island, Moses Lake #3.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Watch God work!

Date:May 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
GodBlessAmerica
Location:Hills of Kentucky
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Firefly Island was the first Lisa Wingate book I have had the pleasure of reading and will not be the last. I loved Mallory and Daniel's love story. What comes next? Total culture shock. You will have to read this highly entertaining book yourself to find out why. I have been in situations similar to Mallory, so found myself laughing out loud many times. I especially loved the growing relationship between Mallory and Nick. God does not take long to soften Mallory's heart to Nick. You will find Firefly Island a highly entertaining romance with a few mysteries to keep you guessing. Firefly Island is book #3 in the Moses Lake Series. I give it 4 out of 5 stars.
I received the book from Bethany House Publishing for my honest review. I was not paid in any way.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Firefly Island, Moses Lake Series #3 -eBook
This review is fromFirefly Island, Moses Lake #3.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Enjoyed going along for the ride ...

Date:April 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
MetalDawn
Location:Manassas, VA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I really enjoyed this book. More mystery than romance, her writing style was casual, current and fun. If only there really were a “The Frontier Woman” blog … I would enjoy following along.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Firefly Island, Moses Lake Series #3 -eBook
This review is fromFirefly Island, Moses Lake #3.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Romance and Suspense

Date:April 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kris Bush
Location:Orlando, FL
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the first fiction novel I’ve reviewed in quite a while. And I thoroughly enjoyed it. It had an air of romance and suspense to it while showing a character who learns to trust and to get closer to God. One thing I will say is that there are of course the slow chapters (ones I am absolute certain are in every novel) but once you get to the fast chapters you WILL NOT want to put the book down…especially the last few chapters where everything in the story starts to finally make sense. If ever you thought you’d do anything for love, that you’d endure anything for love. I’m married to my husband and granted I’ve done the move across the country away from family…never to the degree that Mallory does. Mallory seems to be the epitome of strength and courage..even in the face of potential danger. She does what's necessary to protect those she came to love, for a town she came to adore.
I think its a great read, worthy of reading. I may eventually pass the book on to my daughter when she gets a little bit older and starts reading chapter novels.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Firefly Island, Moses Lake Series #3 -eBook
This review is fromFirefly Island, Moses Lake #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Firefly Island

Date:April 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
muffin
Location:Honea Path, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received this book from www.bookfun.org to read for my honest opinion.
I recently read Firefly Island by Lisa Wingate. This was a really good book. The book is about a young lady named Mallory and her adventure in life. The story is told from her point of view. At first I thought it was just going to be your typical love story but it ended up having some adventure and suspense near the end of the book. I was very interested especially in that part in finding out what happens. This is the first book I've read by Lisa Wingate. I will definitely read another book by her. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a good fiction novel.
"This book was given to me by Bethany House Publishers in exchange for a fair and honest review."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Firefly Island, Moses Lake Series #3 -eBook
This review is fromFirefly Island, Moses Lake #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Firefly Island

Date:April 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rebaka
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you like to live in Moses Lake, Texas? That's exactly what Mallory Hale has done. Firefly Island by Lisa Wingate is the 3rd book of her Moses Lake series. It is written in first person which I find interesting because it made me feel as if I was there. This story has romance, intrigue and mystery to it. It will leave you crying, laughing and feeling a little perplexed and give you something to think about. You will fall in love with the characters and I found myself relating to Mallory on so many different levels.
I have not read the first 2 in the series but this can be read as a stand along, but I am off to start reading the first book.
This was given in a giveaway by bookfun.org and Bethany House Publishers in exchange for a fair and honest review.
Lisa Wingate is a talented author who I am happy to say lives in the same great state of Texas as I do.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Firefly Island, Moses Lake Series #3 -eBook
This review is fromFirefly Island, Moses Lake #3.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Transformation in the midst of mystery

Date:April 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
GennaReads
Location:Evergreen, CO
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Firefly, was a well written novel. There was clever vocabulary, bold imagery, and the main character was multi-dimensional.
Although I thought that Mallory (the protagonist) was intriguing (she began the book as an early 30, unmarried, career woman) I quickly became weary of her worry-wort mentality. She is a complainer, and a dooms day pessimist. Mallory has reason to be worried, as there are mysterious things happening in her little world, but Wingate lets her worry about the mystery for 3/4ths of the novel. And the mystery? Not nearly as mysterious or as interesting as all the lead up suggests it should be.
In the end, I enjoyed the descriptions of a small town in Texas, good people trying to do good things, and a woman who is transforming into a wife and mother.
Thanks Bethany House publishers for allowing me to review your novel in exchange for a free copy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Firefly Island, Moses Lake Series #3 -eBook
This review is fromFirefly Island, Moses Lake #3.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A bit all over the place, but still enjoyable

Date:April 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
tmurrell
Location:TN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mallory's life is changed completely when she leaves her hometown of DC to head to Texas with her new husband and step-son. They arrive in Moses Lake to find conditions that are the polar opposite of what they expected and what they are use to. Can Mallory learn to trust or will she die of loneliness in this forsaken town?
I'm not sure how to describe this book. It has a bit of romance, some intrigue and mystery, and plenty of southern charm. It's small town living mixed with politics and city life. It was interesting from the very beginning and kept me entertained the entire way through. It has elements that will probably speak to almost every reader. My favorite parts were the ones that focused on Mallory's decisions to work with what she had and learn joy in her circumstances. When I checked out the reviews before reading the story I noticed several talked about the disjointed plot line. It was there, for sure, but not bad enough that it distracted me from enjoying the story.
I received this book free of charge from Bethany House and Book Club Network in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Firefly Island, Moses Lake Series #3 -eBook
This review is fromFirefly Island, Moses Lake #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Unexpected Circumstances!

Date:April 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Nancee
Location:Grand Rapids, Michigan
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mallory Hale has experienced adventure in her life, but love at first sight propels her into a whirlwind romance with Daniel Everson and his 4-year-old son. Leaving her home and family in Washington, DC to live on a remote ranch in Moses Lake, Texas, Mallory questions her sanity. Daniel's boss, Jack West, has a questionable past with rumors of murder. Numerous questions and fears arise regarding their safety in this new and remote location. Life will never be the same for the Everson family as they are plummeted into a dramatically changing lifestyle. As Daniel spends long hours with his new employer Mallory finds herself isolated and resentful. She develops a friendship with a rather eccentric character who introduces her to some rather bizarre experiences. Suspense heightens as events create serious concerns about what might be occuring on Firefly Island where unexplained lights glow in the dark of night. Mallory's dreams turn into nightmares as mysterious events outweigh any sense of normalcy for this young family.
Firefly Island is filled with adventure, romance, and suspense. There are numerous unexpected events and colorful characters in this story of uncertainty and radical changes regarding not only physical location, but changes in character. Mallory is suddenly a wife and mother to a 4-year-old son, which throws her off balance but she has a strong constitution and ability to change with the situations. Questioning whether her life is in God's hands and the events surrounding her are just a part of a larger plan, Mallory's character evolves into a more purposeful existence. Acceptance and resolution are important aspects in this story.
Lisa Wingate is a new author to me, and I'm impressed with her talents as an author. I will definitely read the prequels to "Firefly Island." I found this suspense-filled, delightful story to be highly entertaining, and found it difficult to put down. The story moved swiftly and contained unexpected events that kept me up late at night! I highly recommend this author and "Firefly Island." if you're interested in a thrill ride in remote Moses Lake, Texas.
Disclaimer: I was given a copy of this book from www.bookfun.org in exchange for my honest review. Thank you to Bethany House and Fred St. Laurent from The Book Club Network for making this review program possible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Firefly Island, Moses Lake Series #3 -eBook
This review is fromFirefly Island, Moses Lake #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

ANOTHER WINNER FROM WINGATE!!!

Date:March 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
jojosutiscorner
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely LUV books where characters are taken out of their element and FIREFLY ISLAND is one of my FAVES!!!
Main character Mallory Hale thinks she has her life all planned out...until Daniel and Nick!
From DC to a very different life in Moses Lake, they encounter memorable characters, beautiful scenery- but Moses Lake is also mysterious and comes with its own "issues".
Full of ups and downs, twists and turns,
Enjoyed every minute!!!
Can't wait for more from Lisa:-)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Firefly Island, Moses Lake Series #3 -eBook
This review is fromFirefly Island, Moses Lake #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Book of Love, Mystery, & Intrigue

Date:March 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dea Mundy
Location:Mitchell, IN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Told in first person, we get to experience first hand how life can get so chaotic when we are uprooted from all we know. While we may not feel that we are snobbish or stereotypical, Firefly Island teaches us that we must overcome these behaviors by being nonjudgmental and learn how to coexist with others and find ways to work together to help one another out. Mallory Hale learns a lot of life's lessons as she is transplanted from Washington D.C. To Moses Lake, TX. As she learns about being a wife and mother, Mallory also learns plenty about the lives of those living in and around Moses Lake. Mystery and secrets are more than enough to make a city girl want to flee but the people have won Mallory's heart and with the help of others, she is able to end the mystery and secrets surrounding Firefly Island.
Disclaimer: I received this book from Bethany House in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Firefly Island, Moses Lake Series #3 -eBook
This review is fromFirefly Island, Moses Lake #3.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:March 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
kelisni
Age:25-34
Gender:female
I didn't realize that this was book three of a series. I don't feel that you needed to read the other books to understand what was going on in this book. Granted, I didn't even look at the other two books and their descriptions, so don't exactly take my word on that.
Lisa Wingate is a very skilled writer. She can pull you in within minutes of the opening story. I felt each and every struggle that Mallory went through, I could envision every little minute detail that was given to me about anything and everything because Wingate's writing was just that good.
At thirty-four, congressional staffer Mallory Hale is about to embark on an adventure completely off the map. After a whirlwind romance, she is hopelessly in love with two men--fortunately, they're related. Daniel Everson and his little boy, Nick, are a package deal, and Mallory suddenly can't imagine her future without them.
Mallory couldn't be more shocked when Daniel asks her to marry him, move to Texas, and form a family with him and motherless Nick. The idea is both thrilling and terrifying. Yet, she says yes and the adventure begins...all be it to a rough start of a very long road trip.
A sweet, mishap-filled journey into marriage, motherhood, and ranch living ensues, and Mallory is filled with both the wonderment of love and the insecurities of change. But what she can't shake is the unease she feels around her husband's new boss, Jack West. Jack's presence--and his mysterious past--set her on edge, and when hints of a scandal emerge, Mallory finds herself seeking answers . . . and comes to realize that the middle-of-nowhere home she wasn't sure she wanted is the very place she'll risk everything to save.
I do have some reservations about this book. I felt that Wingate took a little too much liberty in her descriptions in some parts of the book. As a single person, I don't want to read about that - even if the book is considered to be Christian....to me that should set a standard to steer clear of certain detailed descriptions. Again, this is my own opinion and I'm sure others don't mind it at all. In my good conscience I can't recommend this book to others.
I was given a complimentary copy of this book for review from Bethany House.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Firefly Island, Moses Lake Series #3 -eBook
This review is fromFirefly Island, Moses Lake #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Unusual plot

Date:March 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
JoyAnne
Location:TN
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mallory meets and then marries Daniel a short time later. The day after their wedding they're on their way to Texas with Daniel's four year old son to start a new life. Daniel has accepted a job working for a man who frightens Mallory because of his mysterious past. Moving to Moses Lake is not at all what they expected to find, the ranch house is a run down critter infested mess. It doesn't take long for Jack's past to catch up with him and Mallory and Daniel are right in the middle of a dangerous situation.
Love Lisa Wingate's books and this one was no exception. She gives us wonderful characters, a mystery, and a little romance. A great story!
I received a copy of this book free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Firefly Island, Moses Lake Series #3 -eBook
This review is fromFirefly Island, Moses Lake #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

touching and suspenseful

Date:March 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
msharry
Location:Georgia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The first thing that struck me about this book was the vivid imagery. From the first line: “There are times when life is a cursor on a blank page………………tapping out a question in three little words.
What.
Comes.
Next.” , the author’s lush use of metaphor and simile made me want to read slowly and savor the mental pictures they created. Mallory’s klutziness, her weekend initiation as a mother figure coping with stomach flu, her wedding night décor were all humorously described. Expressions such as these: “Past pain leaves behind an unfortunate slug trail of cynicism.” “ I felt reality staring me down like a Rottweiler,dark-eyed and malevolent.” “ The pressure pinching like a hermit crab nested under the mop of hair at the nape of my neck.”, pulled this reader into the emotions and drama of the story.
The second thing to mention is the characterization. Daniel and Nick were portrayed through their actions-Daniel’s proposal snafu and Nick’s upraised hands wanting to be picked up after pushing his dad away from Mallory said much more than a lot of syrupy romantic dialogue about the new family being created. Mallory revealed all in her chaotic, tumbling thoughts as she told her story. Her painful transformation from D.C. legislative assistant with dreams of political influence to Texan ranch life in the middle of nowhere had this reader empathizing and cheering her on.
The third thing is the story line. After I had fallen in love with Nick, Daniel, and Mallory, the author brought them, and me, to a nightmarish situation of an uninhabitable house, nasty ranch owner ( and Daniel’s boss), marital woes, frightening dreams ,dark secrets and strange goings-on. The undercurrent of danger and suspense were totally absorbing as the action rushed toward a satisfying ending. Along the way, Mallory grew and learned and soon had her own wisdom to share on the wall of the fish bait and café in town--the source of the gems of quotations at the beginning of each chapter of the book.
This book is a touching portrayal of mature love, faith and redemption –and great storytelling. I enthusiastically recommend it.
I received this book in exchange for a fair and honest review. The opinions expressed are solely mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.