Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Sinner's Creed

Tyndale House Sinner's Creed

The uncensored memoir of Scott Stapp---Grammy Award-winning leader of the rock band Creed! Raised by an abusive stepfather, Scott was always aware of God's presence. But despite his success, it was his band breakup, divorce, ongoing battle with addiction, and 2006 suicide attempt that brought him to a place of life-changing reconciliation with Christ. Riveting! 326 pages, hardcover from Tyndale.
Average Customer Rating:
4.562 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 out of 1694%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sinner's Creed
Review 1 for Sinner's Creed
This review is fromSinner's Creed.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is a great memoir about finding Christ

Date:December 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
recoverylife101 wordpress
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The book Sinner's Creed offers the reader an in depth look into the world of author Scott Stapp. Scott was the lead singer of the band Creed. This memoir shows Scott's struggles in the world of self destruction and addiction. His faith in Christ and his second wife lead him on a wonderful journey of recovery. His recovery from addiction lead him back to Christ and opened up new opportunities for him. He presently has a new solo album out called Proof of life. I would highly recommend the book Sinner's Creed for those individuals who are struggling with their faith in God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sinner's Creed
This review is fromSinner's Creed.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Stapp bares his soul.

Date:November 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
tweezle
Location:PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In Scott's book, "Sinner's Creed", he lays his whole life out on the line. He divulges so many things that make one realize how difficult and confusing life must have been for him. He did his best, but even his best wasn't good enough at times. That message came through time and time again and explained how he ended up losing his frontman position with Creed.
I enjoyed Scott's candor and honesty. He laid it all out there and one cannot help but feel empathy and for this man. The discussion of life, abuse, loss, fame, addiction, recover and love is powerful, but his most powerful message was when he gave his all over to God. Then the real healing could and did begin.
I was a but confused by some of the comments that Scott made about how he felt the band abandoned him. He admitted to his addiction, but it seemed he wasn't getting why he was left behind. I don't know if this wasn't stated correctly by David Ritz or if Scott was truly clueless. I can't imagine the latter, but that's how the message seemed to be conveyed.
Throughout the book, Scott gives insights on how the songs were developed - how and where he got his inspiration from. It's truly an enlightening story that is well worth reading, not only by fans of Creed or Stapp, but by those that want a story of how God can work in one's life when we finally give Him a chance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sinner's Creed
This review is fromSinner's Creed.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

THE TRUTH OF CREED'S LEAD SINGER

Date:November 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
bemiown
Location:Missouri
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
REVIEW
SINNER'S CREED is the autobiography of Scott Stapp. He's the lead singer for the band that started in the 1990's.The rock and roll band that became big. How many of us remember Creed? They hooked up with a label that led them to fame and just as fast destroyed them., tour by tour. Scott became an alcoholic. Stapp decided to tell about his faith in God and the many bad and self destructive things he did after the success Creed. Scott was very honest in the story he told. Scott lays on the line the rough and abusive childhood he had at the hands of his father. and step-father.. It wasn't just abuse towards Scott but everyone in the household. His father was a believer in God but to the extreme. He thought he could beat the good in and the bad out. Scott believed in God and his faith but his step-father made him fear God. Scott was always afraid he wouldn't please God. Scott attended a Christian college but was expelled for smoking pot. Scott finally ran away. He didn't want to go back home so he lived on his own the best he could. He then went to Florida State College and with a college friend, Creed was born. As with a lot of the bands that hit fame, the drugs, alcohol, lifestyle, and jealousy slowly take over. It often splits the band up and that is what happened with Creed. Despite his addiction to drugs and alcohol, being a single father to his son, and lead singer for Creed, Scott's redemption was in the horizon.He had remarried and had two more sons. He also re-dedicated his life to God. Stapp had God's grace and his forgiving wife helping him to get sober. His wife stood by his side. His family means everything to him. So much can be accomplished when you have the Lord in your heart and you live by his love. If you remember Creed or if you are a rock and roll fan, pick up a copy and find out what sometimes happens to overnight rock and roll fame.
I would give this book 4 STARS.
I was given a complimentary copy of SINNER'S CREED by Scott Stapp from Tyndale House Publishers for my unbiased view.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sinner's Creed
This review is fromSinner's Creed - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome Read!!

Date:September 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
maciemollysdad
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been a Creed fan since the release of their first album & was very excited to read this book. I love the open honesty that Scott shares in this book & how he accepts the blame where he went wrong in areas & lets everybody in to what he went through in his life growing up. You really feel what Scott went through to get him to where he is today. Great read. It made me also break out all of my Creed & his solo cd that I hadn't listened to in a while & you understand where he was coming from lyrically at different points in time
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sinner's Creed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Rock Star autobiography

Date:August 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
luvs to cook
Location:Virginia Beach, VA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Now that I've read his book, my big regret is I've never heard him perform. For this man to have successfully survived his terrible childhood speaks loudly of both his tenacity and God's grace. He was raised in a God fearing home by his mother and abusive stepfather. Not only was he beaten for what he did wrong, but he also was beaten weekly for unknown wrongs. His stepfather had him write a biblical analysis of the books in the Bible which gave him a deeper understanding of God and the Bible. Not allowed to date or go to the movies, he listened to black gospel music, concealed other music and became a fabulous basketball and baseball player with full scholarships offered for college. He left home when his stepfather spanked his mother and brutally beat him, but was allowed to stay at his private school because of his high academic and athletic status plus working as a janitor. After graduation, self-doubt led him to ask his father for advice about the offers from the Naval Academy, Vanderbilt, and the University of Pennsylvania. His lying father said they weren't full scholarships and he should go to Lee, a Christian school in Tennessee. What a mistake! After he went hiking with two boys there and was persuaded to smoke marijuana, he was questioned by the administration and admitted he had smoked it. They promptly expelled him. What appeared to be the worst thing turned out to set Scott on a course of going to Florida, putting together a band of four, and naming it Creed. He wrote lyrics based on his own life that are interspersed throughout the book or written at the end. But an inner storm was growing. He experienced enormous physical and emotional pain. His wife tried to commit suicide due to extreme postpartum depression, his infant son needed care, his parents came to help him, and his throat was hurting horribly. Ultimately the steroid, anti-inflammatory drugs given him for his throat would be the start of more and more drugs for pain, depression, and sleep. It would take the intervention of his next wife, the loss of his band and his attendance at two different drug and alcohol centers to get him back on track and once more performing. This book is so amazing you must read it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sinner's Creed
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Behind the scenes of a rockstar's life

Date:July 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kris
Location:Fairfax, VA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the story of the lead singer of the band Creed. Honestly, I had never heard of them but found the book interesting and well written. It starts with a most dramatic, near death experience Scott experienced and then goes back to his childhood. He was raised knowing God by a Bible thumping, overly strict, hypocrite stepfather, which caused extreme emotional problems, both then and for many years to come. Scott also details the events leading up to and the start of Creed, and even how the band dissolved. He is open about how his fame led to drinking and drug abuse. But then Scott continues to be open about his life, detailing how through his children and wife he has come to a place of healing. I enjoyed seeing the pictures in the book and if you are a fan of Creed, he has all the lyrics to his songs in the back.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sinner's Creed
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Engaging confessional tale

Date:June 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sean
Location:Oregon
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Scott Stapp suffered some very public falls, and was the subject of much criticism from those in the music industry, from critics, even from fans. As public as his disgraces and redemption were, much of Stapp’s life remained private until now. Sinner’s Creed is a revealing look at Stapp’s childhood, upbringing in the Faith, personal betrayals, rise to stardom, fall from grace, and eventual return to God. Fan’s of Creed will appreciate the insight into the history and music of the band, including the meanings and motivations behind many of their songs; fans of Stapp will be drawn to the confessional recounting of his many challenges and God-given triumphs; and fans of the Gospel will be heartened by this story of a prodigal son remembering the God who claimed him and publicly returning to grace. Worth the read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sinner's Creed
This review is fromSinner's Creed.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sinner's Creed: A Life Changed by God

Date:July 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
bookworm
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sinner’s Creed is the autobiography of the lead singer of Creed. Scott Stapp is very honest in the telling of his story starting out with the pain he endured as a child, first with the abandonment of his father and the excessive mistreatment of his step-father who claimed he punished him to “save his soul”. Though Scott had a great love for God and the Bible, his step-father’s legalistic view of Christianity caused him to grow up with a fear of God and displeasing Him. When Scott graduated high school, he went to a Christian college but was expelled due to smoking pot and rather than return home to his step-father, he struggled in the real world doing whatever it took to survive. After a time, he went to Florida State University and there, the rock band Creed was born. The rest of Scott’s story talks of what it was like being the lead singer of Creed, becoming a single father to his son, and falling into the addiction of drugs and alcohol. Despite the mess that his life had become, redemption was not far from Scott. He remarried, had two more children, and rededicated his life back to Jesus. I really enjoyed reading this book and found Scott’s story to be both sad and inspirational. I think it is amazing how God takes a person, no matter how damaged they are or how much of a mess they are, and turns him into an instrument sold out for Him. Scott’s story is another example of what can happen when God is Lord in a person’s life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sinner's Creed
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Easy read

Date:November 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dianne Rogers
Location:alberta, canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
what a great testimony of the love and power of God in ones life ....Its amazing to find christians in the most unlikely places or situations What a brave man to tell his story in such detail....Most dare not go there ...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sinner's Creed
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:October 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Angel
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I jumped at the chance to review Sinner's Creed by Scott Stapp. I'd been praying for him for years, and Creed has been part of my life for a long time. I first heard Creed because of my dad. He had found this new band that he liked because they were "Christian without preaching". I started hearing more of them and I really liked them.In fact, when I was 15, Creed was the band that I snuck out to go see, since I had been told I was too young to go to concerts. Then later, I became pregnant with my son the same time "With Arms Wide Open" was released. I cried every time it came on the radio, because that was how I felt about my unborn son as well.
A few years later I gave my life to Christ.
I started hearing about how Creed had broken up, and all the trouble Scott was getting into. My heart was burdened to pray fervently for him. He had loved God (I knew because I had heard it in his music), but had turned away and it broke my heart.
In Sinner's Creed, Scott shares his story for the first time His strict fundamentalist upbringing, the rise and fall of CREED, and his ongoing battle with addiction, the rediscovery of his faith, and the launch of his solo career.
This book was strictly an autobiography. I was hoping to read more about following Christ, but he just isn't there yet.
I received this book free from Tyndale Publishing in return for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sinner's Creed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great read

Date:October 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
jnjdet
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed Scott Stapp's memoir. It was definitely revealing and from the heart. I was impressed with his writing. You can tell he is a poet and and his heart is in the writing. The environment he grew up in was quite terrible and its no wonder he was confused with who he was and who God really was. Having a father who beats you and puts himself in a position of him and God being one and the same would definitely cause some confusion in one's life. Scott sure has a firm knowledge of the Bible. He kept trying to reconcile the God He knew from the Bible and the God that was displayed through his step-father and Christian's he knew. I love that his song writing reflects his knowledge of the Scripture. I do find it interesting that their band took so much heat for being called a "Christian" band just because of some of his lyrics. It's so clear to me that his lyrics were filled with brokenness and searching. He is very candid about his struggles with addiction, depression and not being the Christian he knew he should be. This is a great read for anyone who has struggled with depression or feeling like you have to be perfect in order to please God. After reading this book, I had to find my old Creed music! I'm glad to know the band is back!
I received this book free from Tyndale publisher in exchange for my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sinner's Creed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Honest

Date:October 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
kattrox
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a boy the author felt the need to protect his family. When his father had abandoned the family a new one became a replacement. A new name, a new life, a new age, and the world as he knew it had changed drastically. The years that followed, the trails, tribulations and victories would ultimately shape him into the man he is today.
Quite an exquisite and keeper volume also includes within its pages: How he and his fellow band members got together to form the band known as Creed, where their songs originated and also includes color photos and lyrics that make up their albums.
Honest, raw, revealing and spiritual, this book promises hope from the challenges of a difficult childhood. What an encouragement this book is to others! If you are a fan of Creed, or even if you are not as familiar this memoir is guaranteed to grab you as it did me and will keep you hanging on every word. This book may become a tool for reflection and encouragement long after the book is closed and put on the shelf. I was challenged in my faith about his journey and will highly recommend this well written book to others. I received a complimentary copy of this book from Tyndale House Publishers for my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sinner's Creed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great read!!

Date:October 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Childoftheking84
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently got to read and review "Sinners Creed" by Scott Stapp. He's a member of the popular band known around the world as Creed. I loved their songs and was excited to read his book. He says most people thought they were a Christian band. It's funny I never thought they were one and didn't know he was raised in a very religious home. Someone had told me he was a Christian. This book takes us through when his father left and his mother married a new man. He became Scott's father in every way. Years though of being raised in a really strict religious home by him lead to Scott leaving home and wanting nothing to do with him. It goes into how the band started and how he got caught up in the Rock lifestyle of Drugs and wild living. He always through the whole time wrestled with his religion. This book is about finding forgiveness and about God's love and forgiveness and how he came back to God. I really enjoyed reading about his journey and what he went through in his walk with Christ. It also includes tons of his song lyrics at the back of the book. Great read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sinner's Creed
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Captivating, conversational

Date:October 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Melissa R
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
New from Scott Stapp, lead singer of the band Creed, is Sinner's Creed. This memoir traces his life beginning with his early childhood to the present. Stapp's childhood was tainted by abuse at the hand of his stepfather. Because of that abuse, he left home at a young age.
Music gave him a creative outlet, and success opened new doors, but they also led him into serious troubles, not the least of which was substance abuse.
Through it all, Stapp found himself searching for God. He'd received false teachings in his childhood, and as an adult, he was searching for truth.
Even though I knew nothing of Creed or their music, I found Sinner's Creed captivating. I read it at every opportunity until I was finished. The tone is so conversational and some passages so intimate, I felt as though I knew the author personally. I appreciated the expressive descriptions, like this one about depression:
"I found myself in a cloudy space. My perception of the world suddenly had no color, light, or music. It was like the bottom fell out. The hope and clarity I'd once had were gone. I began isolating myself from my family and the rest of the world. All I could focus on was how much was wrong in my life--and all I had lost."
( I received a copy of this book, at no cost to me, for review purposes. Thanks to Tyndale Blog Network for the opportunity! I was not required to write a positive review, and all opinions in this review are my own.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sinner's Creed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An amazing story

Date:September 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jamie Little
Location:Kihei, HI
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anyone who has listened to Creed knows that many of their songs seems to have religious themes and undertones; some have even branded them a Christian band. What you may not know is that many of their lyrics penned were based on Scott Stapp's yearning to make sense of a God he thought he knew, but at times couldn't understand. Stapp had no desire for Creed to be labeled a Christian band or even for himself to labeled as such because he knew he was not living that life. One would imagine that life for a band as big as Creed would be a piece of cake, but there were struggles with jealousy, betrayal and addictions that led to anger, resentment and the eventual downfall of the band. Sinner's Creed invites the reader into Scott Stapp's life, his upbringing, rebellion, addiction and eventually his complete surrender to God. The writing in this book is so captivating and intriguing that I didn't want to put it down; I finished it in just a few days.
I'm not usually a fan of celebrity memoirs and autobiographies, but I loved this book. Scott tells his story with bold honesty and truth, holding nothing back. This books is more than just a memoir, it's a testimony to what God can do in someone's life when they turn over full control and let Him take the reigns. If you've ever been a fan of Creed, you should read this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sinner's Creed
This review is fromSinner's Creed - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Scott is a good buy from Orlando

Date:August 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ari Gold
Location:Florida
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Now if Scott has done all this that his book states, he has one thing left, he needs to rekindle his relationship with his Parents & Sisters.. That is all that is missing now, family is not just your wife and kids, it the person who gave you birth. Time to come home Scott your family misses you. Best wishes always in any endeavor you choose!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.