Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Named by God: Overcoming Your Past, Transforming Your Present, Embracing Your Future

Tyndale House Named by God: Overcoming Your Past, Transforming Your Present, Embracing Your Future

Sometimes life is more sour than sweet. Van Norman knows because she's tasted the bitterness of her parents' divorce, date rape, sex addiction, and rejection by her friends and family. But she's also feasted on God's mercy and healing! Read her amazing story and discover how God's love is flavored with infinite compassion, acceptance, and forgiveness. 256 pages, softcover from Tyndale.
Average Customer Rating:
4.538 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 out of 13100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Named by God: Overcoming Your Past, Transforming Your Present, Embracing Your Future
Review 1 for Named by God: Overcoming Your Past, Transforming Your Present, Embracing Your Future
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great book

Date:September 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
hollyroc
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In Named by God, Kasey Van Norman shares the message that is on her heart for helping people realize the importance of reaching out to the hurting people. She shares in an honest way, the falling down and getting back up that she experienced in this new way of living for and with Jesus. She offers solid advice to readers on how to obtain love and happiness while dealing with the battles within and obstacles on the outside threatening to prevent us from becoming the person God has intended us to be. Each chapter starts with a personal experience or a story and then uses scriptures to show how God works in awesome ways.
I think this would be a good book for anyone to read, especially women and those that have been hurt in their past. It is an inspiring book and has the potential to reveal the truth of living your life with purpose.
I received a complimentary copy of the book for review purposes from Tyndale House.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Named by God: Overcoming Your Past, Transforming Your Present, Embracing Your Future
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Named by God

Date:August 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ma Ingalls
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Kasey van Norman
This book is BIG. It is worth buying, reading, gleaning, applying, highlighting, and passing onto a dear sister who is struggling. Ms. van Norman writes in a very have-a-cup-of-coffee-with-a-sister conversational style. At one point, she may even attempt to hug the reader through her verbiage.
Ms. van Norman calls readers to make an honest assessment. Some of the author's testimony parallels my own. I now see how Satan set up situations for me to sin (knowing my weaknesses and punching my buttons) and I take responsibility for the choices I made in those moments. I am thankful for Ms. van Norman using the story of David and Bathsheba to provide evidence to the reader what repentance and godly sorrow look like.
Like Ms. van Norman, I fear what others might think and say. As an oldest child, I long to please. It has been a long time comin' for me to find a set of sisters who can accept me just as I am when my brokenness finds the light of day. On p. 131 You do not want to pay the price of pleasing people rather than pleasing God. So, convicting... leading me to follow through on callings God has laid on my heart.
On p. 139 When God calls people, he doesn't always choose those with the best resumes. I found this particular quote convicting as I look at the calling God has on my life and the reasons I am stalling to follow thorough God desires to raise us up out of the brokenness like: Gideon, Abraham, and Esther so that He alone may receive the glory.
On p. 143, beautiful echoes from Beth Moore's Believing God and Patriarchs Bible study. One must believe God is who He says He is and He can do what He says He can do.God throws us curve balls in life, I am living proof of that statement but after reading Ms. van Norman's testimony and intertwining God's word into her story, I believe and trust God's ultimate plan for my life.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Named by God: Overcoming Your Past, Transforming Your Present, Embracing Your Future
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bunkogirl
Location:Oregon
Age:45-54
Gender:female
It was an amazing book. I loved it.
Life changing. Thank you so much
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Named by God: Overcoming Your Past, Transforming Your Present, Embracing Your Future
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Highly Recommended!

Date:June 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
kattrox
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What does it truly mean to be named by God?
The author tells of the struggles she has overcome, the mountains she has climbed, and what she has endured to get there. She offers solid advice to readers on how to obtain love and happiness while dealing with the battles within and obstacles on the outside threatening to prevent us from becoming the person God has intended us to be. The target audience is women. Bible passages and stories are highlighted throughout this book that have much meaning to the material being presented and discussed.
I feel there is something in this inspiring and faith challenging book for every woman. I found myself within the pages about my challenges as a Christian, and know I will be able to apply some of the principles the author has discussed. I learned alot and appreciate the author's style of writing, compassionate and graceful, and thoroughly enjoyed spending the time devouring this helpful, truthful and down to earth read. Highly recommend this well written nonfiction book! 5 Stars!!!! Get to know yourself and others the way that God knows you... by name!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Named by God: Overcoming Your Past, Transforming Your Present, Embracing Your Future
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Named By God (Tyndale Book Review)

Date:May 22, 2012
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My latest book review is a book from author, Kasey Van Norman titled "Named by God (overcoming your past, transforming your present, embracing your future)." Kasey Van Norman is the founder and president of Kasey Van Norman Ministries, and is a respected Bible teacher in Texas. I had never heard of her before, but thought the description of her book was interesting and so I wanted to review the book.
This book is a blend of Kasey's personal life testimony and teachings she has learned from the scriptures. As to not give away too much information from the book, it begins with Kasey sharing memories from her childhood, including a tragic and devastating experience that marked her for life. Kasey then goes on to share how her childhood affected her future, and how that led her to a personal failure that took her life in another direction. It would seem that all would end sadly for Kasey, but God intervened in her life in a powerful way and redeemed her to serve and live her life fully devoted to Him.
"In Named by God, Kasey shows what it means to find our true identity in Christ, to live the surrendered life of the redeemed, and to find life by losing it. (previous sentence taken from the back of the book)." I did enjoy this book and I am always encouraged by reading others' personal testimonies of how they overcame life's obstacles by trusting in God. Kasey does a great job of encouraging her readers to not give up, and she reminds them that God can use anyone, even those with tainted and dark pasts. Just from reading her book, I can tell that she is in love with God and has dedicated her life to serving Him no matter the cost.
I think this would be a good book for anyone to read, especially women and those that have been hurt in their past. This would also be a good book to read with a group of women, as it has many different topics that could be discussed in a group setting.
Thank you Tyndale for providing me with this complimentary copy of this book. (I in turn agreed to post this review)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Named by God: Overcoming Your Past, Transforming Your Present, Embracing Your Future
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

your past need not determine your legacy

Date:April 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It took Kasey a long time to get it. She splashed in the shallows of Christianity for decades. She became plagued with questions and doubts. “How is it,” she writes, “that this devoted Christian girl from East Texas who sang in the church choir and led small-group Bible study suddenly found herself tossing back a bottleful of Xanax to end it all?” (ix)
Kasey has written this book so we may no longer just talk about a life filled with hope and peace, but actually live it. That we might live not as victim but as victor. That we would strip away our masks. That a passion deep within our soul would be ignited. That we would no longer wade in the shallows but plunge into the deep end with the Lord.
She takes us through the journey, down the winding road of our past, seeing its potential to make us stronger people of God. We hit the rest stop of the present, keeping our focus on God. We feel the brisk wind of the future, God inviting us into his plans.
She shares her own story – raped as a teen, promiscuity following, hospitalized for an eating disorder, cutting herself, living a life of hypocrisy. She realized that it was not what was done to her but her reactions to them that were important. Her mistakes in the past did not have to determine her legacy. As with David, “God can give you a new legacy and allow you to pass on a blessing, not a curse, to the next generation.” (39)
She helps us understand the pain from our past and why God allows it. “What I have learned along the way … is that it is better to know God than to know the answers!” (55) She takes us through the steps of letting God heal our hurts. Then she works on the present and how God will still love us in the midst of our failures. She pays particular attention to how Satan can deceive us and what to do when we sin.
The last section of her book is on the future. We can look to the future with hope. She reminds us that the path to maturity is not an easy one. She encourages us to not be complacent, remembering, “there is nothing sweeter in this world than an intimate relationship with Jesus Christ.” (219)
I received an advanced reading copy of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Named by God: Overcoming Your Past, Transforming Your Present, Embracing Your Future
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good scripture useage

Date:April 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Flame
Location:Michigan
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a book about a woman's walk from simply being raised in the "Bible Belt" and being around religion to a real walk with Jesus. She shares in an honest way, the falling down and getting back up that she experienced in this new way of living for and with Jesus. She pinpoints the many times she was humiliated by what happened to her and her own choices as well. She paints a picture of how valuable we are to the heart of God; even when people hurt us and it LOOKS like God is nowhere around.
I liked the fact that Kasey, used scripture in her book and also took each scripture and enlarged on its meaning in an easy to understand way. At the end of each chapter there was a short one sentence note that reminded you what the main idea of the chapter was. There were times, I'm sorry to say, where it felt a little dry and was harder to read through. Its not that the information wasn't good or true. I guess because at this stage in my life I've already been through much of the forgiveness that she's talking about. I probably should keep it on hand though; because life isn't over yet and I may just need to be reminded. One really good thing I was reminded of was asking for the fresh infilling of Holy Spirit every day. Anyone who is torn between their love for God and keeping their hurts needs to read this.
I was given this book from Tyndale House Publishing in exchange for an honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Named by God: Overcoming Your Past, Transforming Your Present, Embracing Your Future
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellect and Encouraging

Date:April 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
India Girl
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WOW! “Named by God” is a powerful and life-altering book. Kasey Van Norman finds the courage to be completely transparent in retelling the story of her life’s journey with God amidst pain, heartache, failures, joys, and overcoming her sinful past. Kasey breaks the book into three sections: finding purpose in your past, taking responsibility for your present, and having hope for your future. All chapters and issues are clearly written out and easy to follow and understand.
Reading this book while going through my own dark valley has been a blessing and with Kasey’s strong use of scripture, Biblical and personal examples, along with a bluntly honest, yet gentle look at truth about sin and our responsibility, I have found myself encouraged not to give-up. This book has pointed me to the Truth and to the true source of hope. Reading “Named by God” helped me see that though my story and struggles are different from Kasey’s, I am not alone during this dark period of my life. There are individuals who have made it through similar struggles to mine, along with those who will go through them in the future, and one day, I may just be able to encourage those individuals as they struggle through their difficulties.
I would highly recommend this book to anyone who is in need of counseling, or who is struggling with their past or self-worth. This book is both encouraging and convicting.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Named by God: Overcoming Your Past, Transforming Your Present, Embracing Your Future
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great tool to help one another

Date:April 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Adoption Mama
Location:Tampa, Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Refreshing.
This is a word I use to describe Kasey Van Norman's new book, Named by God. It is extremely difficult in this psychology-saturated culture to find a book with a Biblical Perspective to help the hurting. Mrs. Van Norman's book does this.
She is clear in her presentation of the problem to all hurts in life. Sin.
She is clear in her presentation of the remedy of all hurts in life. Jesus.
Named by God reminds those who have been hurt, even deep, deep hurt, that Jesus is the Healer. The author journeys through her own hurt, which was mighty significant, to help the reader embrace the truth from God's Word. This is where true change comes.
Kasey writes in a very gentle and compassionate way that will tell the reader she really understands, but then gives the reader the answer to freedom. As I read this, I saw the path from hurt to healing come alive; the problem to the cure; the pain to servant hood and bonding with the body of Christ.
Anyone, wherever you may be in these equations can use this as a great resource.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Named by God: Overcoming Your Past, Transforming Your Present, Embracing Your Future
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Learn how to overcome your past

Date:April 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Miss Lynn
Location:Tennessee
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Named By God
Kasey Van Norman
Tyndale House Publisher
Christian Inspirational, Memoir
April 19, 2012
4 stars
Everyone has a past that would just as soon forget about but as a Christian it seems the past keeps jumping up and pestering you. In her book the author relates her past and how she finally was able to break free from it and become the person God had planned for her. Although a Christian she continually fell back into sin to the point of self destruction. She now sets focus on her main agenda through this book, to reach out to those that have strayed away from God and to highten the flame of those that know Him. I did like her analysis of those that that were transformed . Abraham, Joseph, David, Paul are just a few mentioned andthen your own name.
As I read I could see myself in a few of the situations as far as forgiveness goes , serving in the church, I could do more along with mind wondering if the sermon gets dull.. With plenty of scripture throughout the book to back up her points I always advise everyone when they read this type of book , pull out your Bible and read along. Always read the scripture before and after a verse because that could change the whole perspective or outlook of the scripture. This is the type of book that one needs to keep a highlighter beside them as they read and highlight parts that have a special meaning to you, then its so much easier to find as you continue your Christian journey and you want to remember something you read earlier in the book. I always say a highlighter and pencil notes is the roadmap on your journey.
I do recommend this book. There are many good points throughout. What drew me to the book was her story. Like the prodigal son she came out of her pig sty of sin to be used by God.
I received this complimentary ARC from Tyndale Publishers. A positive review was not required and the opinions expressed here on my own honest thoughts on the book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Named by God: Overcoming Your Past, Transforming Your Present, Embracing Your Future
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Named by God Book Review

Date:April 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ihopeyoudance
Location:Kansas
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Named by God is written by Kasey Van Norman, who is a new author to me. I chose this book because I was intrigued by her story. She has an obvious passion for God and people and I was curious to read her thoughts.
I enjoyed this book because she takes her own life situations and is able to see the good in everything that happened in her life. Each chapter she starts with a personal experience or a story and then weaves the scriptures in to show how God works in crazy awesome ways.
Kasey has some great points and many things I could understand and appreciate. She was born and raised a Christian and yet God had so many plans for her life to get her to where she is in ministry today.
Overall it is a very good book that is thought provoking, don't expect to sit down and read it all at once.
"I received this book for free from Tyndale House Publishing. This is my honest opinion on the book."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Named by God: Overcoming Your Past, Transforming Your Present, Embracing Your Future
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

THE REDEEMED.

Date:April 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jason
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Let me be honest right from the start -- I'm no woman, and I am certain that with the beautiful pastel colors might be a bit more welcoming to women.
BUT!
I went ahead and journeyed through the book because it was given to me for a free review (Tyndale), and who would turn down a free book? What this also means is that my review is unbiased because I have no reason to write a response based on whether or not the book was worth the money I forked out for it. Now, with all of that being said...
The title, "Named by God," is in part really a sub-thought to the message that Kasey wants to proclaim to her audience. This is ironic because what I believe to be the true message is what is found on the cover of her book only by the attentive audience ... Her tattoo on her left wrist, which is posed next to her face, reads "Redeemed." It is this word, REDEEMED, that reoccurs through the personal stories, biblical verses, and adamant preaching from front to back of her book.
She takes readers on their own "highway of redemption" as she tells her story. The journey travels from where you were, or where you might presently be, to the working out of that redemption in the present time, to the future to be embrace (as a result of being REDEEMED). All of this is only at the cost of you being named by God, what began in Genesis 1 comes full circle in the lives of every single one of God's chosen people.
You are beloved - treasured - free from sin - TRANSFORMED - victorious - divinely gifted - and so much more.
The message is powerful and provocative, and I would say we all need a bit of a kick in the pants (like her closing message of pretending that you were at a rock concert). I would say that if you are feeling down and out and are looking for a practical, encouraging book, than this might be for you. She jam-packs her book with Scripture (just be careful with how it is being used, as I was unable to assess her methods -- just a cautionary statement). The Scriptures mentioned would give readers a solid foundation to secure their place alongside their Father.
Blessings readers - you are redeemed.
Tyndale House Publishers has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book or ARC.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Named by God: Overcoming Your Past, Transforming Your Present, Embracing Your Future
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Named By God- By Kasey Van Norman

Date:April 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
marybeth
Location:ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I haven’t read anything like this. Kesey’s heartache, honesty, & experiences. She tells of her life. Where she was and who she is now. What has made her who she is. God brought her through so much and she tells us without him we are nothing. She is right. She talks about healing, forgiveness and truth. Some of what she has gone through and experienced will tug at your heart strings. You won’t get through this book without feeling her pain, joy and love. Tears will shed. I can relate to a lot of her experiences-miscarriage, the death of my father, eating disorder and more. She will touch your life. You will share an experience like hers in one way or another. She will make you think about who you are and where you’ve been. You will want to read this book and really take to heart what she is saying. We all need to evaluate our lives. See where we have been and enjoy where we are now. Great read.. I do recommend this 5 star book. Excellent!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.