Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Avon Inspire Twice Loved: Belles of Timber Creek Series #1

Avon Inspire Twice Loved: Belles of Timber Creek Series #1

Following the Civil War, Willow Madison is determined to rebuild her life and care for those she loves. Though much older than the penniless schoolteacher, wealthy Silas Sterling wants her to marry him. And she would if handsome mill owner Tucker Gray would stay out of her way! Will she choose duty---or love? 256 pages, softcover from Avon Inspire.
Average Customer Rating:
4.389 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
2
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for Twice Loved: Belles of Timber Creek Series #1
Review 1 for Twice Loved: Belles of Timber Creek Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:July 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Norma Harris
A few 'not-so-belivable' issues besides what was already pointed out. Where did the buttermilk come from? Where did the beef come from? The land was admitedly so dry it wouldn't 'support a goat'. If beef was purchased, where did the money come from?This was my first book of hers - don't know if I'll read any others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Twice Loved: Belles of Timber Creek Series #1
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:March 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Penny Macias
usually love Lori copeland, but this was not her best work by far. The leading characters were not that likable and the leading man didn't seem to have much depth to him. Boring and predictable. Those of us who like old fashioned values still like the guy to take the lead when it comes to kissing
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Twice Loved: Belles of Timber Creek Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kristine Howe
Takes you there! It's like you are living right along side Willow, Wallace, and all the other characters in the book. I look forward to reading the rest of this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Twice Loved: Belles of Timber Creek Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sara Thornton
I loved this story, It was so adorable and well put together. Every thing flowed smoothly! I know that there are a few edtiorial errors here and there but nothing to take away from the story line. very enjoyable read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Twice Loved: Belles of Timber Creek Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Mariah
This is a great read!! I loved this book!! I can't wait to read the 2nd one!! I highly recommend it!! It didn't take me long to read because i couldn't put it down. I hope you enjoy reading it as much as I did!! <3mariah ;D
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Twice Loved: Belles of Timber Creek Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Rebecca Dewey
This was a fun book to read. It wasn't overly serious, but was a good story with a touch of humor. My favorite part was the unloading of the organ and "God changing his mind". I look forward to reading the rest of the books in this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Twice Loved: Belles of Timber Creek Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Camila
Amazing... can't wait for numbers 2 and 3...a must read... full of love and sensibility on how to make a choice
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Twice Loved: Belles of Timber Creek Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Somebody
It was a very good and easy to read...But I did not like the way Willow threw herself at Tucker at the end. But other then that I loved it. I can not wait till the next book!Kepp the coming faster Lori!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Twice Loved: Belles of Timber Creek Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 4, 2008
Customer Avatar
Tara Robertson
This was a cute summer read. Sure I knew who Willow would end up with from the beginning but it was enjoyable to read how she got there anyway! I finished this book in a couple hours- while being interrupted by my kids- so it is a pretty easy read. I expect there to be sequels involving Willow's two friends and I intend to read them when they come out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Twice Loved: Belles of Timber Creek Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 26, 2008
Customer Avatar
Rachel Frith
I really enjoyed reading this book. I can hardly wait for the other books in the series to be released.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Twice Loved: Belles of Timber Creek Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 25, 2008
Lori Copeland's book are always enjoyable so I was looking forward to reading her newest historical fiction addition. The premise of women having to fight in the Civil War was quite interesting. They did it out of necessity and no one looks down on them for fighting for survival. It gives a stark contrast to the wealthy women back east who have been enjoying a life of luxury even during the war. Willow and Tucker get off to a bad start right from the beginning and the whole novel shows their rocky relationship. It's interesting to see their chemistry evolve throughout the whole novel. Equally interesting is Willow's relationship with the man she is supposed to marry and the difference in how she treats him vs Tucker.While I enjoyed this book very much, there were several points I found not to my liking. One, the reason of why the kerosene was in Willow's possession is never fully explained or to the very least she doesn't seem to realize that this was the cause for the fire. Second, Willow would act in the very way that I hate seeing females act in romances. She finds herself tongue tied around Tucker and cannot stand up for herself along him to bulldoze himself over her. After reading so many books with strong females, I just can't stand to see women who let men run over them and then find themselves falling in love with the same man. Otherwise I did enjoy reading this historical novel very much. I am looking forward to the next book in the series as we hopefully will hear about Willow's friends Copper and Audrey. I also am very impressed with the new Avon Inspire line. Every book that has been published so far has been a winner.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Twice Loved: Belles of Timber Creek Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 23, 2008
This is a beautiful book and a great start to a series. The setting was completely unique, the characters were wonderful and I can't wait to see them again in the next books!It was a refreshing romance and I thoroughly enjoyed it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Twice Loved: Belles of Timber Creek Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
Patricia Stucker
Wonderful! The characters were engaging, the plot was creative and the setting was interesting. I love Lori Copeland's books and this one did not disappoint.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Twice Loved: Belles of Timber Creek Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
Creative Madness Mama
As I have said before, I will now say again, I love Avon Inspire, and imprint of HarperCollins. And I absolutely love the covers of their books, not one book has been a disappointment to me yet! The only problem I did have with this cover, (it's beautiful don't get me wrong) the character is described with strawberry blonde hair??? How do I envision her with strawberry blonde, when the cover is very clearly toward an ebony? hmmm... Oh well, discrepancy aside, this is a delightful story.In my opinion the tale of Willow Madison is right up there with the likes of Tamera Alexander, Tracey Bateman, and Tracie Peterson. Just wonderful and a great read. There were a few sections that seemed to jump in the characters growing, but it flowed well enough and I loved it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Twice Loved: Belles of Timber Creek Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
Marilyn Treece
This book is one of Lori's finest. It makes you laugh so much you could almost cry! Truly one of her best.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Twice Loved: Belles of Timber Creek Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Linda Roome
Fun book to read and easy to enjoy! I recommend it highly. I found the characters fun and real.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Twice Loved: Belles of Timber Creek Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:July 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
Cay
I was a little disappointed with this offering. I didn't feel the characters where up to Ms. Copeland's standards. On the other side, I loved the humor, it did make me laugh quite a bit and I loved the story line. This hasn't put me off reading the rest of the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Twice Loved: Belles of Timber Creek Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:July 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
Katie
I must say that I do enjoy Lori Copeland's books, but this one was a little bit of a let down. There were several mistakes I just could not ignore. A few being the cover showing Willow's hair as very dark, but she is described as having strawberry blonde hair in the book. Another was the relationship of the the three Gray cousins-if their mothers were sisters, how did they all have the same last name? One other thing that bothered me a little was how in the beginning of the book, Tucker was described as having brown eyes, but later in the book he had hazel eyes. I normally am not so petty about the mistakes I notice in books, but I expected a little more of Lori Copeland. She is an excellent writer, but I think she could have done better job and maybe have made Twice Loved a little more exciting. It is a sweet story, but a little slow moving.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.