Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Courageous Grace: Following the Way of Christ

Tyndale House Courageous Grace: Following the Way of Christ

As a Bible teacher and pastor's wife, Gayle has spoken for decades about the amazing power of grace. But it took a crisis in her husband's life and the crumbling of her own for her to have an epiphany about the true nature of God's grace---and the courage it takes to extend it to others!
Average Customer Rating:
4.125 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
7 out of 888%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Courageous Grace: Following the Way of Christ
Review 1 for Courageous Grace: Following the Way of Christ
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Grace is giving to someone what they don't deserve

Date:March 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
PstrM
Location:Nebraska
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Gayle Haggard brings us this challenge to understand grace like never before. She is speaking from experience as the wife of the high profile pastor who failed morally. Gayle reminds us the goal is restoration and that he who is without cast the first stone. People seem to forget that, and can't wait to remove someone who has failed. Guess what? You're time is coming. Hopefully they picked up a copy of this humbling book on grace.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Courageous Grace: Following the Way of Christ
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jessica Bates
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Courageous Grace by Gayle Haggard is a book about grace and forgiveness. From the publisher's website:"As a Bible teacher, Gayle had taught for decades about the amazing power of grace in a person’s life. Yet it took a crisis in her husband’s life and the crumbling of her own life around her for her to have an epiphany about the true nature of grace. In Courageous Grace, Gayle chronicles and explains her newfound insights."
This book came at a really wonderful time for me. I often struggle with grace and forgiveness. I know that God is a God who forgives but sometimes I have a really hard time forgiving myself. I can forgive others but sometimes I have a hard time forgiving my family. These are not good things or good aspects of my personality. Mrs Haggard's book deals with all of these topics and more.
She talks about God's forgiveness, about accepting forgiveness, about being forgiving and extending grace on our enemies. This book is wonderfully written and easy to read. Even though it is easy to read, it is not a light book by any means. She digs into each section with lots of scripture and personal insight to help the reader learn the message of grace. Grace is something all of us really need to learn and use in our every day lives. I'm better for reading this book and I hope you will be too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Courageous Grace: Following the Way of Christ
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Grace Extended

Date:August 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
rlighthouse
Location:PA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Courageous Grace by Gayle Haggard is her story of grace. Gayle and her family reached a point in their life that they needed grace extended to them. After living through those circumstances in her life she is able to teach other people about extending grace to everyone around them which was a thought-provoking concept to me. I know what the Bible tells us to do but that can be different then actually doing it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Courageous Grace: Following the Way of Christ
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Courageous Grace

Date:August 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
bookworm
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Courageous Grace is a great book that tells its readers what real grace looks like and how it can impact not only your life, but also the lives of others. The authors starts out by recounted a hard time in her life when she was desperate for grace to be shown to her and how her experience has changed her life. The author teaches why people need grace, which is because we are all sinful, broken people. She also teaches her readers what sin is, how it affects people, and what our response to sin and sinful people should be as Christians. The author used many examples from Scripture to explain that real grace is not judging others because we all sin, instead, we should show others love, support, and help them to be reconciled instead of shunning or ostracizing them. The book taught that if we show people grace, especially when they are broken in their sin, then that grace shown will not only help bring restoration and healing to people, but also make us more like Christ. The author also wrote of the importance of forgiveness and what real forgiveness looks like and why forgiveness is necessary in showing grace to others. I really liked this book because the author taught important Biblical concepts with gentleness, respect, and in a practical manner. I had no trouble understanding what the author was trying to say and I agree with her that if the Church would show forgiveness without judging those that sin in their congregations but instead support them and help bring restoration/healing in their lives, then Christianity would be viewed better by non-Christians. I think that if every Christian were to act more like Jesus with their attitudes and actions concerning this topic, then I think that more “sinners” would be drawn to Christ and our world would be changed dramatically and in a more positive way.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Courageous Grace: Following the Way of Christ
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good

Date:August 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Virginia
Location:upstate NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
God has given us grace, and we humans don't always realize how great that is. People tend to not show grace to others. The author uses the Bible story of the woman caught in adultery as one example of God's grace to us. As the wife of a pastor caught in a scandal, she knows firsthand how much grace is needed. I thought the book was a good read with plenty of Scripture verses to emphasize the concept of grace.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Courageous Grace: Following the Way of Christ
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Good Read!

Date:August 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
hannah97
Location:Cottonwood, CA
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Courageous Grace by Gayle Haggard was wonderful book that will satisfy you for weeks to come. I picked it up and I didn’t want to put it down till I was finished.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Courageous Grace: Following the Way of Christ
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Rather one-sided

Date:August 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
reli
Location:WI
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This book has some really good points that challenged my thinking.  There was the one conversation that stuck out to me where the non-Christian said the reason he isn't a Christian is because of how Christians can condemn and gossip about other Christians who have sinned and repented.  That was a challenge to me to extend grace to those around me.  However, the whole book left me wanting something more.  Gayle didn't seem to ever really go into the heart of the betrayal.  I can't believe that your husband could let you down like hers did and you just forgive the next day  and move on.  It almost seemed like she struggled more with the fact that anyone would have an issue with Ted's sin more than she did with the sin itself.  I believe for there to be true healing she needed to wrestle deeply with her heart and work through the struggle.  Forgiveness is not glib; not if it is true forgiveness.  That is the part I didn't like about the book.  I don't like to think i am legalistic, but sin's consequences do not always just go away because you have apologized and repented.  Trust must be earned again and it is painful and time-consuming to reconcile and restore and maybe that is just because we are all still humans and it shouldn't be; that I don't know.  
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Courageous Grace: Following the Way of Christ
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Her Beautiful Healing, Learning Grace + Compassion

Date:August 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
eb7bibliophile
Location:High Desert West
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is excellently written. The teaching is strong in Scriptural basis, and has wonderful quotes from others. Forgiveness and compassion are indeed hard concepts to master, and the church in some ways fails to wield it generously. There is much that is thought-provoking. For example, I understand that we are admonished to forgive repeatedly, but putting it into practice is not easy. These principles are true, but she shows me where I had not realized them and put them to use. I, too, tend to hide my flaws; our society is set up that way. In the church especially, we should drop the façade. I learned so much, and so many things struck a chord, I wanted to highlight the whole book. I will be reading this book again, taking more time to go deeper.
One of many appropriate quotes: “Without justifying sin, as I have already made clear its destructive power, the truth is, every time we stumble and fall, we are given an opportunity to discover once again how merciful, patient, and kind God is toward us.” She follows up with the Bible verse. I agree with the fellow reader who said it is easy to read and to the point.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.